(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

mangogal
My pd did a small test on my boy, he got reaction. So I hope he can pass the hearing test next month.

bTW, your ms seems to be doing very well. Not like me, my breasts are hard but each time I can only express about 30ml and is a combination of both breasts some more. I couldn't latch on my bb cos of my cracked and bleeding nipples. But I will try to latch again when the nipples are better.

My emotions also quite bad, I cried when I saw the first drop of BM, cos my breasts were so engorged and painful. The first drop of BM really made my day.

And then, I cried again thinking of how bo-chap my in-laws are with me and baby. But more thankfully, my mum gave me the full support and take care of me and bb really well. My hubby also very supportive in my Breast feeding and quite hands-on with bb.

And I am so bored during confinement. I can't wait to get out of house and be able to bath in cold water under the shower head. Now bath using warm herb water, didn't feel refresh at all cos it made me sweat more.

I defintely enjoy my pregnancy days better. The only comfort thing now is I get to see and cuddle my bb.

Jo,
My MS started out pretty low as well. However, bcos bb was in NICU & I had no chance to latch him, I pumped abt 8x a day.....I guess tat helped.

As for the emotional part, if you had read some earlier posts, some mummies are oso like tat. For me, when I had #1, I was oso like tat!! So now, when its my #2, I "see broken" and take things better!!! I guess it'll be good to talk to ur hubby if u're feeling down, they'll be there to give you the support & help!!! =)

vomiting - my bb does vomit sometimes even after burping ... for awhile i was worried... but lucky nw like better *cross fingers* she so far has vomited ard 3 times ba... then i jus have to prepare myself that 1 hr later she wil cry for milk again... *sigh*

scrumpee - u r not alone... today is Day 20 for me and both boobs only pump out 30mls... also because im not very hardworking when it comes to pumping.. i only pump 2 times a day... sometimes i will latch... usually i will feed FM... then 1 or 2 times of EBM ...

Jo - most of us experience that overwhelming feeling.. in fact i still experience it.. especially during pumping time.. i feel really upset... not abt the amt i get but jus this feeling ba... hope it goes away soon... im tryin to be positive! =)

Hi Everyone
Not sure if u all know. I'm from Feb 09 mummies. I received an sms from IDARSHAD tha she already delivered. Normal delivery and i think without epi. Her baby is boy and 4.14kg if i'm not wrong.If anyone update, i'm sorry

janbebe,
Even with correct latching, the nipples will look elongated and sometimes pointed after the baby has suckled. That is normal. However, you should not feel pain when baby is latched on correctly and suckling away, nor should you hear any sucking sound other than swallowing sound from the baby.

Keep applying your nipple cream inbetween feeds/pumps to help heal your nipple. Never hear of cream clotting nipple. If you are really disturbed, clean off the cream before feeding or pumping, but you need the cream to help heal.

Give yourself some time... supply will kick in slow and steadily. The part about being tearing and feeling very overwhelmed with emotions is due to our raging hormones. Once you understand that it is your hormones that is doing the crying, not yourself per se, you will feel better. Need to cry just cry it out and tomorrow will be a better day!

missycandy,
Enfalac is not the most expensive milk lah... Anyway, it is still possible for you to switch brand now. Just get small tin and try to see if baby can adapt to it. Friso is fine... but heard that S26 is more "heaty". So, if your baby is prone to hard stools, you may want to give S26 a miss.

Grace,
If your boy consistently throw out milk, then try cutting back on the amount and see how it goes?

im confirmed gg for c-sect tmr morning at 6am, so tmr tis time, i will c my lil princess, so excited n nervous

scrumpee,
if ur breasts r hard, it might means engorgement, dat means to much milk dat it cant flow out. dat happens to my #1 oso. u got to get hb to massage ur breasts with hot towel b4 u pump but the massage got to b reli hard. if u need help, can get a lactation consultant to go ur hse.

Pups,
Thanks. After I asked that qn, he didn't throw out milk liao....but anyhow, was thinking of reducing his feed to see how oso!

Grace,

Parentcraft at TMC recommend cup feeding so that not to confuse bb on bottle and breast leh. After reading ur post, i am confused on whether to continue my cup feeding or to start bottle feeding. How u know ur bb has coordination problem between sucking & swallowing? My problem is that i got lots of milk but let down is slow so my bb get very pek chek and dont want to latch. Trying to find an answer to my problem. Very tiring to have to feed and pump every session.

Pinkdemoness,

For EBM, u can store milk expressed within 24 hrs together. But u got to make sure they are of the same temperature. So means, u got to chill the newly expressed milk to the same temperature as the previously expressed milk before mixing them. Hope this helps.

pinksorbet,

I got no problem with the milk quantity produced. Only thing is i got very badly blocked ducts and engorgement that starts to come in after 3 hrs. Let is slow cos the boobs are hard plus the blocked ducts so bb refuse to latch... she does try but would later use her tongue to push my nipple away and give me a pek chek look before wailing for faster feed.

Asura79,
Hmm...how i know abt the coordination problem?
Well, when he was at NICU, they bottle fed him. He can suck but dunno how to swallow. Or if he swallows, it's not fully swallowed & get stuck @ the throat. Tats when he'll get choke and he'll turn blue when this happens as he lacks oxygen.

Whether he is on the breast or using the bottle, there is no confusion...heee~~

Grace,

Oh.. i see.. haiz.. so means different problem, i need to work on my let down and then on my latching position.. 3 weeks liao.. so tiring.

Morning Ladies,

My CL finally left on sat evening. Now i have move back to my mum place, she will help me to do confinement for another 2 weeks. My mum quite strict leh......don't allow me to have any fan blowing even night time on air con can only on for 20 mins and must wear long pants and shirt.
But at least she means well to me.

This friday will be distributing out my son's full month cakes to relatives and friends.

seems like I am not the onli 1 with low supply.The most I can get is 50ml.I pump usually every 3hr but supply still low however i dun get up middle of the night to pump usually latch my baby at around 12plus than go slp till morning than pump.That is when I can get the most usually.Else sometime onli can get 20ml.

Jo,missycandy,srumpee
u are not alone I think I have gt to least supply.Today is my day 15. Onli sometime get 20ml lor so miserble everytime see the amount after pumping will get very sad wan to give up.But eerytime time of hubby invested 469 at this pump cannot give up pumping.Must stay on.

Vomitting
Babies who throw out usually is due to over feeding or gt flame usually this will happen more on formula feed babies.When I told my gynae I feed 80ml for my baby girl when she is like 10days old he say I over feed her le.

Asura
can i ask are u the one getting the vouchers.If yes when will u be getting I am interested but will onli need very little.

I managed to latch my bb today, but the feed only lasted 45min and he is hungry agn. My breasts still hard but much better than 2 days ago. Very thankful for my massage lady, she really helped to massage my breasts real hard.

relieve to know that i m not the only one who had to supplement with fm.

missycandy
I am using Friso, so far so gd.

Thanks for the reply. It's comforting to know im not alone. I a bit regret giving bb the bottle in the hospital. I wonder if it's the reason that bb doesn't want to latch on. I think I will go down parentcraft tomorrow and see if they can provide a solution to my prob..

It's such irony when breastfeeding seems such a natural process and here I am, struggling with it! EEKS!

Seabreeze
ya i understand but hor my bb will only latch one side then sleep liao so in the end i need to pump out the other side

Vomitting
I think the most important thing to do to prevent it is to let the bb sit upright and dun move him/her too much. Of cos, we can also consider breaking feed (ie drink xx ML then break for a burp then continue with the milk). I think it'll help! =P

Scrumpee...great to hear that ur bb hearing is doing well, dun worry oki?

MS:
Ya my ms so far been nt bad, did u drink papaya wif fishbone soup? It really helps to maintain my suppy at least 2 or 3 days...cos i gt to drink other soup to bu so will drink papaya once every 2 or 3 days to maintain supply.
My CL said can continue drinking as long as we continue to breastfeed. So she will teach me how to brew before she left.

Cooing sound:
Just now my 9 day old gal makes her 1st Cooing sound 2x! Sooo cute :p
Hope to capture more of her cutie sound,hehe

Burp after feeding:
BTW mummies, does all ur babies burp everytiome after drinking? My gal dun really, CL burp her after feed but she didnt lo...sometimes bb farted, consider also release gas hor?

Bathing:
P3, my gal also cry during bathing time..hiaz...hope she get use ot it soon...

Fullmth:
U all start full mth guest list liao?
Nw I am asking for good bb full mth cake..is sweetest moment good? Anyone hving their cakes??

enfalac not most exp but one of the more expensive ones lor... anyway i olredi ordered a few tins thru my company le.. today jus came... so i have ard 9tins to last me for awhile... after i finish then il see if cn switch to something else ba...

bottle/breast feeding - my bb doesnt have confusion leh... i cn latch on she wil suck... use bottle also will suck... ive been using avent & nuk teats.. but i realise avent teats she tend to choke more... plus dunno why some of the caps leak leh... so pek chek... so ive decided to boycott Avent bottles liaos!!! currently using glass bottles from the hospital and my medela bottles... then using NUK teats... lucky i bought frm the hospital that time... hee...

Scrumpee - Friso now NTUC having promotion leh.. if u wish to stock can go buy =D

Kris - very fast de! soon u cn hold her le... dont worrie okie? then after that when u free come in here for moral support.. hee hee..

caca,

Yes, i am getting the vouchers. How much are u interested in? there is 10% for ordering $150 and above, 12% for ordering $1000 and above and 15% for ordering $3000 and above.
Am only going to combine ordering if we can get $3000 and above. If not, then we would order individually. however, if u cant meet $150 on ur own, i am happy to let u combine with me to get the 10% discount. But must collect at either AMK or Tiong Bahru

missycandy,

I think the way u massage ur boobs is not correct leh. Cos rightfully, no matter how hard u squeeze, there should not be bruises. try to squeeze 3 fingers space away from the aerola..

Burp after feeding:
BTW mummies, does all ur babies burp everytiome after drinking? My gal dun really, CL burp her after feed but she didnt lo...sometimes bb farted, consider also release gas hor?

Fullmth:
U all start full mth guest list liao?
Nw I am asking for good bb full mth cake..is sweetest moment good? Anyone hving their cakes??

Please respond my post, hor

Hi Mangogal,

My boy does burp but I rem from my childbirth class that it's ok that bb dun burp so much. Im not too sure abt sweetest moments although Im also looking at it..

Asura
Its ok Thanks cos I think my order very little.And I stay bukit panjang hard to get from u.I will ask hubby go get anyway thanks alot.

Asura - maybe i use a lot of strength? hmmm plus my boobs like always soft leh... =\ so i jus massage the whole boob round n round... then from top to aerola.. side to aerola... then squeeze the sides together... lol... i dont usually go near the aerola... only at the end then i will squeeze aerola area to see if any more milk...

Mango - i always try to burp my bb leh... she will fart a lot.. LOL.. but i try to burp her.. becos see her merlion a few times so im afraid if dont burp will merlion... but PD says during the feeding only if she squirms then burp her.. if not let her drink all finish then burP her... if not wait she wun finish her feeds... which is quite true..

Burping:
We will burp him after feeding but he will not burp.. only once in a blue moon then he will burp. What I do is after feeding, hold him for awhile, then put him down to sleep.

Farting:
He fart a lot... and poos a lot also..

mangogal- sweetest moments is v good. I like their service and simply love the personalised giftcard and design of the box.if u order more than $200, fbi card discount applies too. go for it! don't go for e creative...

Moomooland, which package did u take frm sweetest moment? I like their packaging, for gal is so sweet lo
thks for advise!

Irene and Candy,
ya if my gal dun burp, my hubby will hold her and put on his chest straight n hold her neck for milk to digest dwn and she looks so comforting,hee..think if bb dun burp gt to hold for while

Jo mickey so u decide which full mth cakes to order? Seems like sweetest moment is good...

Scrumpee...
oh ya did u go Dr Chua for follow up after birth? She will prescribe you some medication to boost BM supply, dun be stress oki

HI,
Any of ur bb always make cross eyes? my ger will cross eye if she stare for something for too long. sometimes, i dun dare to look into her too close..

baby shower:
I just had celebration yesterday...Felt achy after a long day wearing heels

Irene,
I also same as u. Last pump 10pm plus, wake up 2-3am pump again, then 6 or 7am pump again. In a day pump every 3hrs... this is my fourth week, my milk supply only 100-120ml

my CL will leave this thur and i will be alone. But my mum wants me to do 40 days confinment. How huh, no water to bath, no longan drink..

prosper - early days its normal for them to looked cross eyed... it shld go away de...

the longan drink is very easy to make wor.. if u have thermo pot then just boil the longan, dates & wolf berries for ard 15mins-30mins then transfer to the thermopot to keep hot/warm.. thats what my mum does every morning... if not cn also boil then put into airpot.. but pls make sure u strain it b4 putting into airpot.. my mum that time put the "liao" inside airpot as well then stuck -_-" zzz... LOL

if ur mum wans u to do 40days ask her to help out lor... why no water to bathe ah?

Can I check, do u girls know anything abt this confinement sweet wine for cooking chicken? My mum is asking if anyone is selling then we can buy from them?

missycandy,
my mum working, but ask me to take care of myself for another 10 days.
my mil ask me to go over her place to stay, she can cook for me, but i find it troublesome.

cos i dunno how to cook herb water to bathe...

Prosper,

Not necessary u need to boil herb water. For me, I turn my heater to the max heat from shower then pour in rice wine. The water is equally as hot as boiling water...

mangogal- I took the joyous something package $8.90 one. changed 2 swiss rolls to custard puff, at no additional cost. some items are customisable, while others u need to top up. overall, svc is good, as they are able to accommodate to my order just 2 days before the full month. it was v last min. do check out their website, quite comprehensive.

grace
the PD said it's becoz of bb digestion still slow..and formula milk are not as easy digest as BM. my bb only vomit when i feed him FM..BM never vomit.

srumpee
the last time i pumped was 2 days ago..only 30ml as well (combined both breasts). since yesterday I always latch on..never pump again..sometimes bb takes 1 hour keep suckling n fell asleep..but sometimes only 30 mins and doesnt want to latch anymore..i think my breast also no supply anymore..so got to top up a few ml of FM

Now I always latch bb whenever he's hungry...only top up FM a bit if he seems unsatisfied. if i always let bb latch every 2-3 hourly, do I need to pump also?

missycandy
agree with u! my boy also dont like avent teats..1st day i was so worried why bb takes 2 hours to finish his 30ml milk! then i change the teat to NUK and within 10 mins he can finish..