(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Back from my gynae visit. Dr Adrian says BB head is pretty low already. He didn't do VE today. As he says latest by sunday must admit hospital to indcue, we decided to admit to TMC on Fri nite and deliver on Sat...neck very long already from waiting and also hubby don need to take so many days leave.

mangogal:
U going this Sat to TMC to induce? Haha, maybe will see u wor

Oxgal:
Your gynae never give u a emergency no. or her hp? Think the breastpump need to wash after every use, but juz need to sterilize once a day...that's what my cousins do. After washing air dry it then put in zip lock bag if you want. Not sure how other mummies are doing it??

Propser:
Oh dear, hope ur fever is not due to any infection? Ya, actually u can still feed BB BM even if sick, cos b4 u feel sick, already got the virus. Continuing to feed BM to BB is good cos got antibodies in the BM

St:
U deliver already?

Miss83:
Wah, his SK clinic in p.m super duper crowded. My hubby gotta queue OUTSIDE the clinic...never seen it so crowded b4, scary!

seabreeze

what's the bb name?
during last check up, what is ur bb weight?

Seabreeze congrats!! wah ur bb is so chubby

Teddybaby ya gng to be admitted on Sat early morn, so u gng on Fri nite ah?
hee..hope to see u, u hv very short hair right?

teddybaby
so fast ur turn already. Jia you, u r in gd hands. Dr Adrian is good!

me gg to see him tmr regarding my c-sect wound. hope it's nicely healed

teddybaby
thursday PM is always very crowded! I went there once when i got terrible flu..need medicine asap frm dr adrian but queue was too long and nurse didnt let me cut the Queue also

but anyway I find that evening time is less crowded..
so u'll admit tomorrow nite?
all the best teddybb..wish u a smooth delivery

mangogal:
Yup, Fri nite ard 11+...yup, me short hair, u have gd memory
Sorry, I can't really remember the faces at the next table at the last gathering, except for Kome & Prosper cos I saw them b4 at the free 3D scan.

Minnie24,
Thanks! U also taking antibiotics with logan/red date water? Th

miss83,
I only went there once in thurs pm, cos sick also that time, but don recall sooo many pple. Wonder why on weekday p.m got so many patients huh...in the end told hubby to go back office first cos he used lunch break to accompany me.

teddybaby,
huh.. i thrown away le. if i know can keep, then i will keep le. The previous nite already not feeling well, i still give EBM, already feel guilty but now since u say it's ok i feel much secured

queenie...yah lor so happy she's leaving hee...agree she's very gd at hsework but interms of taking care of bb, i have to open 1 eye close 1 eye... =)
i also cried when i see my cl fed bb with FM first time...felt so guilty n sad tat why i gt sore n bled nipples. i guess all mummies wld wan to give the best/ do the best for bb ba...tats why emotional..

minnie...i've been grumbling here abt my cl during my confinement haha...gt to let out the anger else i will go crazy...tink tmr can really celebrate liao...finally see the sunlight.. haha

seabreeze, congrats!!! short labour wor...so gd. rest well!!

hee i left gynae card in my hubby car and he is off to work in his dad's car so its somewhere downstair now..and so far i feel ok so wait til he come back lo. and i gg to ve dinner with my family cos bro birthday so scare i call they ask me to go hosp!so pray hard nothing is going to happen within the next17hrs!!

quennie
so good ah juz pump once a day? i dunno if i can latch bb anot but so far tot i wld prefer pumping..

minnie/ kome
so good to ve CL.haha MIL = CL..thinking of e food i m gg to eat from tmr onwards really sian..i hate fishhhhh. My MIL gonna force fishy fishy down my throat for sure cos c sect. (is fish supposed to speed up recovery for c sect?)

actually Mommies? beside eating those ginger/wine/vinegar stuff? are there things that we are not supposed to eat? like tibits? choco? biscuit? cos i scare my mouth cant stop looking for these stuff. i grow up on junk food!

CONGRATS Seebreeze!!
Wow..ur baby is really big leh. Hope mine also as big. Hehe.

minnie,
I know what ur MIL give.
Powder (Jing Feng Shan) It helps to 去风 and prevent shock for baby. Just abit of powder with plain water. It will be better if there is pearl powder.
Fei Zai Shui - Another words it is Woodwards Gripe Water. Supposed to dilute with plain water and feed baby. Can 去风 also.

I feed my gal these usually after bath. Before that, I will use RU YI oil, rub on my palm and gently massage on her tummy. These will 去风 for them as well. Good method which I dun believe at first, but after using on my first gal, I believe already. I will continue for this time round as well.

prosper...400ml is alot alot to me..neh mind lah..although real heartpain...work harder n con't to pump for our bbs!! =)

oxgal, i wash n steriliser after i pump..bor bian just incase gt bateria growing...

congrats seabreeze!!!! big bb!!

my bb dun let me put her dwn!!!! evrytime i put dwn she cries the hse dwn! dunno why today lidat... =( tired... morning she slept 10+ til 1 for nxt feed... wake up.. fed her my ebm... 80mls.. then dun wan slp... eyes open wide... dn cry... fed her fm again 2plus-3plus on n off... den latch on also... suck..suck.. sleep but refuse let me put her dwn lehhh.... sleep in my arms... i put dwn cry n wake up... how? i need to pump... my nipple cn feel sore n stinging... nw she in my arms sleeping... -_-"

oxgal
i thought we're not supposed to eat ginger? might affect our BM and bb become jaundice

oh..are we allowed to eat seafood/fish during confinement? wont be itchy to our wounds/stitches?

oxgal, i hate fish also but bor bian...gt to bf bb...so must force myself to eat!! erm..my mil says can eat chocolate. hee...

starflower
i oso got the stinging feeling down where i urine, or to be more precise is like pressure down there, so itz the effect of red date tea ar? will drink more plain water then...

seabreeze
congrat! rest well...

prosper
wa.. 400ml abit wasted wo..

teddybaby
jia you on ur coming delivery..!!

Prosper,
U can check with gynae personally. I think it is ok to BF when u are sick and if the medication is proved to be safe for BF mummies. Cos being sick and still BF, u give the baby the antibodies as well. It is good for the baby immunity. Try calling TMC lactation dept to enquire also?

mummies who are bf...hw many meals r u all eating ah? my mil says i gt to eat 5meals!!
tea break + supper apart frm 3 meals....hiaz...

seabreeze,
Congrats! Big BB and still managed to do it via natural? How big was your BB during last scan?

Prosper,
Nvm, since throw away liao, then forget it. Fyi, this is a para from http://www.kellymom.com/health/illness/mom-illness.html

"The best thing you can do for your baby when you're sick is to continue to breastfeed. When you have a contagious illness such as a cold, flu, or other mild virus, your baby was exposed to the illness before you even knew you were sick. Your milk will not transmit your illness to baby, but it does have antibodies in it that are specific to your illness (plus anything else you or baby have been exposed to) - they'll help prevent baby from getting sick, or if he does get sick, he'll probably not be as sick as you"

missycandy,
it is a type of chinese medicated oil to apply on tummy of kids so that the wind inside the tummy will get purge out. Let me go take a pic of the oil for u.

Oxgal
Same as you. I like to junk food. Now i miss my long john, macdonald etc. Yum yum......I hate fish also but no choice, because need to breastfeed so force myself to take some.

Missycandy
Its a baby medicated oil which can help to relieve stomach pain etc.

SG
Apart from normal 3 meals. I take 2 soups each during te break and supper break. Sometimes will take milo took. I took little bit of rice for the 3 meals so get hungry easily. Heehee....my secrets of getting back my pre-pregnancy weight and even lose another 0.3kg.

sg,
i heard b4, they say during confinement, we should eat 5 meals a day. we r not allowed to hunger. But i only ate 3 meals a day. cos i am not hungry interval.

miss83

I dunno if my MIL in law know eating gingers affect the BM? only know tat is wat we are supposed to take during confinement//i saw alot of ginger in e kitchen liao. scare wait i ask her she tot i Question her? cos alot of kids( my hubby and his cousins) was taken care of by her Last time.

So fish cause wound to be itchy??arghhh i also dunno leh. but heard my hubby say i ve to eat fish even if i dun like cos help wound to recover faster..

SG
i scare i ll puke if i eat those stuff tat my mind rejects. Anyway if i really do i think tat is nothing my MIL can do..i dun mind eating bee hoon soup and plain porridge EVEYDAY..pls spare me from the so call confinement food..
Hope its not as bad as i think la..
(ANYWAY WE MUZ FEEL BLESSED TAT WE VE FOOD TO EAT!)

congrats to seabreeze and those who had popped!!

TeddyBB when u gg?

May
Yup, that's the one my MIL gave BB. She bought the pearl powder too. But I told her to give it to BB after he finished the Jin Feng San.

SG
I try to take regular meals. 3 meals per day. But MIL n CL try to make me take soups wit alcohol and herbal soups now in the afternoon and at nite. So scare of drinking the soups... I dun have much appetite since i discharge from hospital but managed to eat regular 3 meals. Maybe I perspires profusely after every meal, so uncomfortable.

Miss83
Can wear a mask when u breastfeed. That's what my neighbour did when she's down with a flu.

Missycandy,
This is the oil. But cannot apply directly onto the skin of baby cos it is too delicate. Just 2-3 drops and rub on ur palm first till warm then gently massage downward on the tummy for abt 3-5times. Baby will feel very comfortable as it will expel wind after that.

2266400.jpg

Kome/Minnie, i think ur boy drinks ore at 60ml. My boy still drinks 50ml EBM only then he'll sleep (instantly). I call him instant boy: instant wake up, want milk, finish and instant sleep. But he goes on 3 hourly itervals at 50ml. So i think this works out the same as 60ml or 80ml every 4-5hrly interval. Maybe my boy stomach capacity smaller hehee. As for Ru Yi oil, do i put it after bath or bfore bath? I'm also thinking of buying gripe water for him. coz at nite or when my nipples very sore, i feed EBM using cup (no bottle teats until full month to prevent confusion). He latch 60-70mins, i roughly estimate this to be about 60ml so which works out about the same for a baby about 10+ days (3rd week). Anyway, we shudnt worry about their intake, hungy they will MAKE SURE we know one (hahahaa)

As for chocolate, dont eat consistently. Small amounts ok. I have read it will cause some brain disorder for young babies.

After every pump, i wash and sterlise. So end up the whole process 1 hour (20-30mins pump, bottle/label & wash/sterlise).

kome
I tot of asking hubby to smuggle some when possible! haha but i bet he ll..i wonder if eating those food once in a while during confinement bad for health? I dun think so rite? i m damn lack of self discipline.

Really salute those mummies who can do it!

Misscandy
poor gal.Ur BB only like tat today? hope she be guai guai if not damn tired man..

of cos excited la Kome
and thks for well wishes

hee..how come mummies here only wish Teddybabby for smooth delivery? I am gng on Sat early sat also mah

Teddybaby, if I happen to see you will cal you

oxgal,
ginger can still take, helps to expel wind, but as usual, everything in moderation la. Seafood, never hear of can take, except for fish. But also not all types of fish, my mum says only fish with scales can take, if not its "du", no gd. Fish is gd for BM too.

2 of my gf said buy sarong n use for bb to rock them n sleep...they buay tahan and buy once bb 1st mth over and they hv more peace to zz better,haa..think i will buy sarong also:0

minnie
thanks..that's a good idea..wearing mask!

oxgal
about eating fish- I'm not too sure but last time i got wounds, and the doctor advised me not to take seafood coz it'll be itchy..
about ginger..not sure too...I thought i read somewhere that ginger can cause jaundice..
maybe other mummies here can confirm us regarding this?

starflower
i also plan to use cup to feed my bb...but what kind of cup? and where can i get the cup?

mangogal
hee...sorry...
I wish you too "have a smooth and quick delivery" ^^

Oxgal
Cannot take salt during confinement as it will cause water retention. My hb won't help me to buy one lor....furthermore i breastfeeding, don't think will be too good for bb also. I miss those junk foods and my bubble tea.
Sometime thinking can i don't do confinement and hack care everything?

Mangogal
Baby can sleep well also if you lay them on their tummy. I don't want to let them sleep in sarong if not later they look for sarong when outside than i don't know how already.

Felt excited for you too. Jia you.....jia you.....

Prosper,
Pls take care!

SG,
So your son is drinking 90ml @ 1mth?
Wonder if there's a "benchmark" on how much shld babies be drinking??? Anyone knows?

haha manogal good luck to u then..I ll go one day b4 u.

the sarong u mention is the electronic one?? like those olden times hang to ceiling one ah? really diff to tell wat BB wants. My hubby cosuin bought but in the end never use cos BB dun wan..wasted $200plus, wanted to give us also but think MIL not keen to use so we never take

SG,

My gal is drinking 90ml @ 1 week. Dont think there is any benchmark on the amt bb should drink leh. As long as ur bb looks contented after each feed and got enough poo and pee is sufficient.

opps, miss out the wishes for u.. all the best n jia you for the coming delivery...!!

hahha.. i even thought of buying yao lan now le, but will ren till he hit 1 mth.. buay tahan he always sleep so little.. not very good for his brain development wo.. apparently he loves being carried n rock to sleep in my arms le.. nobody did tat before, i only manage to find out few days ago when he becomes very cranky despite after his drink n changing of diaper.. *tired*