(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Babe He he I think TV was more worthwhile investment.
Royal Melb is good I believe. If it's so near you can even walk there to admit
Man, I miss VicMart. Heard the city has changed alot since I left. Spencer Street station and Docklands must be completed by now.
Are gynaes in Melb expensive? Are you using Medisave? I remember my Medishield was super good. I claimed so much for dentist and optician services.

Pumpkin Seed
Oh yeah, private gynaes are expensive. Consultation Package from week 20 is around AUD3500, Private hospitals like St Vincent, Frances Perry is around AUD6000-8000 based on 5 days. With private health insurance, patients will have to pay around 3k out-of-pocket after reimbursement.

In the end, hubby and I opt for public as we didn't have private health insurance prior to my pregnancy. RWH is a public hospital so everything is covered with Medicare which we are entitled to as he's an Aussie PR and I'm currently on temp Spouse PR.

Oh good to know, I need to see a dentist after I give birth! Got a chipped filling, I think. :]

babe - ?!?! I knew St V and Frances Perry were exxy but 6-8k!! Is there no gap cover for the remaining 3k plus? I was also waiting til after delivery to go see optician and dentist. Lucky I am covered under spousal insurance too in Singapore. Now have to worry about the hospital bills cause of the ICU charges.

Do you check out essentialbaby.com.au? The forum there is pretty good.

Re: Docklands,

It's beautiful open shopping area. Been there twice already. Just opened 2 months ago but still a bit quiet, unlike in S'pore, when Vivo City opened, it was packed. The "flyer", similar to Singapore Flyer is not operational yet.

Apparently, in Aussie, to admit to the public hospital of our choice, we have to live within the postal area code of that particular hospital. Which is why we purposely looked for a place near RWH.

I'm not sure if anything can cover the 3k. I have a Malaysian friend living here on PR status. She delivered her bubs in a private hospital (Waverley) with private insurance cover and she told me she still paid roughly 3k in the end for each of her pregnancy.

With Medicare, going to public hospital would cover everything which we are glad! Of course concerned at the beginning as I'll only be delivered by a midwife. A staff on duty gynae will be around for complications and stitching. But having seen quite a few midwives here, I think I'm quite confident they are experienced to do the job.

essentialbaby? okie, thanks. will check it out.

Pumpkin seed,

My heart goes out to you when i read that your bb is in ICU. I think nothing feels more distressing than to give birth and not be able to hold bb after that... YOur bb would be discharged soon ok!

clio,

Wah... when i was reading your story at the beginning, i really thought u went on for ur movie.. lol... i hope i am playing mj when my contractions start... hahaha.. that would take my mind off the contractions though...

Your bb really guai to rush out and share bd with her grandpa. Am sure her grandpa would dote her lots..

Asura79 thanks for your wishes! Really helps me get through every moment she is still in there. Can't wait for her papa to get arrive then we can visit her together. He stayed at home last night. Quick papa quick!

pumpkin
congras!!! hope yr bb would be discharged soon!!!
take care!!!

clio
congras!!! take care!!!

alfafa
yr bb ger so cute... love her eyes, she must be wondering wat's the thing infront of her when u taking a shot of her...

sunshinebaby, I woke up early because my stitches hurt. Can't bf yet
She is 'eating' through drip until she can breathe properly. Waiting for her Papa to arrive so can visit her. Just finished my kway teow soup, yummy!
When are you due?

pumpkin
ic... u taking any painkillers now??
my EDD 27 Mar... still got abt a mth fr now... keke

wow... yr bb really bring yr family lucks!!!

sunshinebaby, yes my doc just came in and prescrbed more painkillers woohoo! If I don't take, really can't even get out of bed on my own. Oh ok take it easy til then and swim or walk more. Will help with stamina and recovery.

Yeah my godma bought for herself and my mum. I don't think the amount is much but they are happy enough. Now hopefully the luck will go back to her. PD was very reassuring.

Congrats Clio..

Welcome Louie..

Alfafa
Congrats!! Your baby ger is sooo cute....

Pumpkin Seed
37 hours??? Wow.. That's really very long...
Hope your bb will be discharged soon...
Jiayou on BFing...

Clio & Pumpkin:
Congrats!!! Pumpkin, u r really strong to be able to stand labour for 37hrs! Salute u
Hope ur BB will be out of NICU soon.

Alfafa:
Glad to hear that your c-sec went well and u have no prob BF. BB Grace looks like u?

devil and teddybaby, thanks!
sunshinebaby, she was 3.3kg so healthy weight. Can't think of name yet, nevermind still have 10 days.

Good news! Just went to see her. They took out most of the tubes. Only on drip now. And nurse said maybe I can try direct BF later on before I discharge. SO HAPPY. The good wishes from all of you must have reached her. Big big thank you!!

Happiest day of my life!!!!!!

Congrats to Clio, Alfafa & Pumpkin for the touching birth story!!
Ya indeed to see our precious the moment they born..

Pumpkin so glad ur bb is out of ICU liao...eh u give birth in spore or overseas?
U rest well and hv ample rest cos u hv a long labour

BTW any mummy taking leave tomr to go for BBcare festival?
Cos weekend I am nt free thought of taking leave tomr...cos I realise alot of good deals in the larest Mother & Baby magazine,esp the bb thermometer wif some free gifts.

mangogal,

U can join jtho, pinkdemoness and missycandy. They would be there tomorrow.. hee hee... then me joingin them for dinner at Rajah Inn... u wanna join for dinner as well?

RE: GOOD BUY at BBcare festival
I think u all can consider getting the Cadi Thermometer. It is small and easy to use. I bought is in 2005 cos expecting 1st child then. Still using now. Sometime she refused to let me scan thru ears, I scan across forehead.

mangogal
I'm also intending to visit the fair tmrw after my check-up but got no kaki. I also wanted to subscribe to the magazine & seems like got alot of goodies.

You wanna meet & go together?

jtho, pink, misscandy, mangogal
do update here if any gd offers as i'll be gg down most probably on sat morning...

Serene,
I bought at $80-90+ if I am not wrong. They are selling it at the same price this time round too. I saw the ads on this thermometer.

hello mommies, me just waiting for time to pass Haha. Tick tock tick tock, can't wait for the op time Heee.

I will try to sneak out to see Daphne and other bb.

Alfalfa, so nice to hear of your great experience Heee.don't know where u are so can't go see u Heee. Grace is adorable!

Clio, Congrats.

Pumpkin, hooray for u and bb!

mangogirl, I gave birth at Mt A. Baby still has to stay in ICU til Monday but at least not so worried now. It's just to finish up antibiotics course.

Lucky all of you can still go to BBcare festival. Let me know if any good deals then I can send the papa to pick up. I want to suscribe to te magazine and get the Winnie The Pooh feeding set.

Asura..aiyo u bad mummy tempt me for the buffet..hehe...I let u know again :p Cos scared tired after the fair...
Can u sms me jtho, pinkdemoness and missycandy HP no to confirm meetup wif them, thks

Jasmine, sure can join me and jtho, pinkdemoness and missycandy as kakis

U want to PM me ur hp so easy to arrange?

But hor..hope to go early like 11pm,mett for lunch than gt energy to jalan,keeke...

Pumpkinseed, hopefully your baby can be able to discharge soon.
Meanwhile, do take good care of yourself.

Clio, congratulation..

Alfafa, baby Grace looks so lovely.. I like her eyes. Thanks for sharing the details of the epidural C-section.

mangogal,

I think missycandy is there in the morning but jtho and pinkdemoness should only be able to reach after 1 pm cos jtho took PM leave and can only leave her office at 1230. That's why dinner with us is just nice mah... hee... we intending to start dinner at 6 pm..

jasmine, aiyo.. i m very hardworking liao.. pump every 3 hrs.. now ss getting a little better.. 50ml .. working towards 100,150 or even more.. wish me luck

clio, congrats darling on ur new born bb..

pumkin, hope you feeling much better now.. going through so many hrs of labour must b tough on you..

alfafa, congrats.. yes, your bb is quite tall for a gal.. my bb is 3.3kg and he's 50cm. hmm..your gal is so cutes..

cindy, today is the day!! jia you..

wow, surprised to see so many msg early in the morning.. think our thread is super active..

clio, congrats on the arrival of your bundle of joy!

pumpkin, wow 37hrs of labour is sooo long! Glad that you and baby are fine. Take care!

alfafa, grace is such a cutie!

Cindy, all the best for your c-sect later.

may, yes today! Haha.

Wintertime, Sunsun, mangogal, thank u.

I just back from seeing Daphne! Ugin is super duper cute!

moomooland,
Ya lor, seeing so many mummies getting stressed over BF, think I better read more to equip myself. Last nite after waking up to pee, hard time falling back to sleep cos was thinking abt giving birth, BF etc...sigh..

Cindy
All the best to ur delivery.Haha if I happen to give birth these few days than I will text u see u still in MT A hehe. Jiayou.

Clio
Congras on ur darling arrival.

Pumpkin
Wow u reali power can tong for so long.If me I think I give up le very fast.Anyway congras on ur baby arriavl.Your baby will get well soon dun worry.Recover soon.Jiayou.

cindy, all the best!

mangogal, dun worry abt getting tired la... we won't be eating till very late. we can meet up at the bbfair, after that find a nice place to sit down, relax, chit chat... then meet asura for dinner. we will start dinner latest by 6pm.

thank u everyone for the well wishes! I'm still waiting Haha, so nervous! And so hungry. My mouth stinks... Haha.

mangogal
got nice food, u wouldn't feel tired one!!! esp the fried durian!!!

jtho
if hv any gd deal at the fair, rem to update us hor!!!