(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Ivy - i went to the ladies and observe carefully again...i realise its yellowish so i deduce it is like vaginal discharge....and now seems ok already cos i dun feel any leakage and my little darling is kicking me....

sorbet
my gf told me last trimester hv more discharge, i'm hving tat too... will chk w my gynae next wk to see is it norm to hv more discharge...
my gf told me to put panty liner n chg freq to keep clean...

hello mummies...

long time din log in.. realised so many going for the doc's talk tomorrow... see u all!

prosper

my LMP is the same as yours. Our EDD is 7th March... So today we are 32 weeks and 2 days.. =) your tum tum is nice... the other day i went for check up...baby weighs 1.6kg at 31 weeks 2 days... doc said oso good range.. most likely my baby will be around 2.8kg - 3kg at birth.. i was only 2.7kg when i was born.. maybe follow mummy..

Re: Sleep

I will be very lucky if can get 7 hours... Backache.. all sides not comfortable.. i wonder if i sleep sitting down will help.. hehehe...

Re: Braxton Hicks

Been getting it very often now.. scary... after i read gingal's story.. i kept having nightmare of it.. gingal.. great salute to u.. u are one brave mummy...i packed my hospital bag oredi.. very ks... now got energy..

Re: Baby's clothes

Washed my baby clothes oredi.. but only for those meant for less than 3 months use.. the rest maybe next time.. so many not even enough bamboo poles to hang up.. but yet to wash the mattress sheet... sigh..

Re: Massage

Any mummies went for prenatal massage? I think i need it badly. My dh refused to let me go. He scared the masseur would massage wrongly. I just want back massage. Feet and tum tum no need. Sigh... Oh.. i booked my post natal massage oredi.. 7 days for $350.. my masseur going to bathe the baby.. massage.. recommended my gf who is in feb thread...

sunshine

exercising is ok.. i am still doing yoga weekly.. after cny going to do twice weekly to streghten my pelvic... etc.. anyway it helped to ease my backache oso.. btw did dr foong still give u the u/s pics after each visit? he neva give me anymore leh.. i wonder if it is bcos baby big and cant see the whole pic..

Jasmine
yeah, i just bought the breast pump on saturday. i didn't get the avent duo, i bought the avent uno. told my hubby that if my supply stabilise in the later stage, then i might go for the avent duo to minimise pumping time at work.

i also bought the avent bottom balm, thermometer, playpen mattress & sheet and sanitary pads on saturday. now i'm left with things such as baby monitor, weighing scale, sling/carrier, cotton buds, cotton wool balls, waterproof sheets and diapers to buy.

nana
dr foong still give me... my hb always remind him too, scare he'll forget...keke
btw, hv u done yr registration w hospital? when we suppose to do tat? now yr gynae visit how freq? once in 3 wks? u pack yr hospital bag liao? wat to pack huh? i still hvn't pack lei...

nana
during one of the prenatal class, the midwife mentioned that it will be good to monitor baby's weight. for the first few days, baby will initially loose weight due to release of water and something i cannot recall, but he/she should be able to put back on the weight by the 2nd week if he/she is being fed correctly. when i was reading a pregnancy book yesterday, i also read about the same thing in the book.

hubby and i more KS, so wanted to monitor baby's weight at home to make sure he is developing well.

sun - so good i will onli get to see my gynae on 3feb...like so long....

i'm fighting the urge not to close my eyes and sleep in the office....v v tired....

Re: washing bb clothes/items
Any of u put the items in ziplock bags after washing? Is it necessary?

Anyone knows where can I get people to sew names on top of uniforms (embriodery) kind? Need it for my girl's uniform. Please PM me. Thanks in advance.

Vernice
Thanks, so i can use might as prevention for nappy rash also.

Jtho
I just brought cotton balls from mothercare. Wow......so exp manz...........

sunshine

dr still give u? hmm.. i will ask him next week.. now mine every 2 weeks.. first 3 weeks.. then 2 weeks.. next week i week 34..i think after that weekly..registration done week 34.. i asked doc.. he said to go for the hospital tour.. told him i went long time ago.. are u going to choose gleneagles?

my hospital bag:

for me-

2 pajamas
disposable panties
maternity pads and overnight pads
breast pads - both disposable and washable
nipple cream
nursing bra X 3
socks
bedroom slippers
discharge clothes

for baby:
receiving blanket
booties/mittens
diapers
bodysuit x 2
hat
baby wipes
cotton wool

docs:
my marriage cert
all prenatal receipts

so still waiting for doc's letter then will go register..and left my camera, toiletries and my mozart cd.. i will be playing cd in the labor ward.. doc said he dun require birth plan...

i have no idea what goodies gleneagles provide

pinksorbet
i guess if you already have the cabinet or drawers for your baby's clothings/items, then u dun need to put in ziplock bags.

for me, my baby's drawers will only be delivered next month. so i am thinking of buying big ziplock bags to store the clothings after wash. probably will drag my lazy butt and start washing this weekend

pinksorbet

i din put in zip lock bags.. to me i think it is inside the drawer so should be ok.. if not u will need a lot of zip lock bags...

kome
good idea. i should drop by mothercare these few days and finish buying all those small small items... drag too long already. exp? how much are they?

jtho

thanks for the info... i thought after delivery we will go back to the doc .. he will view our stiches and maybe weigh baby..

Pinksorbet,
I intend to wash then fold and keep all together inside those red plastic bag. When about to due, then I put inside the drawer.

RE: Present for #1
I am observing what my #1 like. Am going to get it secretly and bring it to hospital with me. At least I know she will like the "present" that meimei give her. hehe.

Nana
I don't think you will need to bring any diapers. I think hospital will preovide. Of course normally will charge to your bill. =P

Jtho
I brought 1 pkt of cotton balls which have 100pcs inside each pkt @ $5.90, but the cotton balls very soft and thick. Maybe i should buy those 1 whole pc of the cotton and roll into balls by myself. =P Too bad i am lazy

jtho - i guess so...since i have bb's drawer, tho its old but i guess i need to wipe it clean before storing bb's stuffs in there....was thinking of place a clean sheet over it in the respective units....will go and buy the sheets...

nana - ya.... i tot i will need lots of ziplock bags which seem kind of silly...cos previously saw a mummy stating can put bb's washed items/clothings in ziplock bags to prevent dust, so wanted to ask if its necessary though i tot its a good idea to store in ziplock bags too....

I put bb clothes in zip lock bag after washing coz my drawers are not bought yet. Got the ziplock bags from daiso, 6 pcs for $2 and I managed to stack like 8-10 pcs of clothes in each bag.

pinksorbet
If u have drawers/cupboards for BB,, can just put them in there.Dun need ziplock, like nana & jtho say. If dun have then have to put.

Discharge
I have alot of white watery discharge these 2 days.. So scare everytime i feel it coming out. Thought it's something else...

kome

is it? i have no idea.. but i just brought the samples u get when u go for hospital tours.. hehe.. but i want my baby to room in with me.. cos i want my dh to start learning to put diapers.. so like that i have to bring right? btw i think the densitin cream.. got one for day and night..

Wow.. Everyone talking about delivery now... So scary...
Finally have some time to read and post in forum...
Looks like 2009 not a good year...

So many work to do in the beginning of the year... Really stacked up with work and work...

jtho,
Humm.... you buying Uno ah. I was actually thinking to sell away mine. As after trying I felt not as good suction as a duo pump. That's why I tell myself have to invest on a duo pump instead. So now my Uno pump is a spare pump for me. Diapers can start buying as now NTUC got sell going on.

Buying present for #1:
Im also planning to buy a soft toy for my girl as I have ask her what she wanted from her little brother, and she says she wanted a Barney.

nana
yes, after delivery we will go back for checkups and at the same time can weigh baby. but like i said, we are more kiasu. we want to monitor more regularly. we cannot possibly go for checkups so regularly.

kome
$5.90 is really quite ex. but i guess at least the quality is soft and suitable for babies. those whole piece of cotton ones maybe a bit rough.

pinksorbet
if yours is an old cabinet, then like u said can put a sheet inside before putting the clothes in it. alternatively, u can buy those boxes for drawers from IKEA. should be quite useful also. i use them to organise my undergarments in my drawers.

nana
i'm choosing gleneagles too... hv went for their hospital tour in nov liao...
need to bring slipper too? we still need to bring bb's barang barang right? gleneagles dun provide for bb hor...

prosper

u are scaring me..hehe... i think when i deliver.. u oso should deliver.. hehe... i hope to carry full term.. or baby deliver on 6th Mar... my mum's bday and my gynae's bday.. they are one year apart.. then my mum's bday gift will be a grandson...

sunshine

u know dr foong's bday is on 6th Mar? This year he will be 48.. i told him if my baby comes out on 6th.. then he celebrates with my baby in the labour ward.. and after that with my mum outside the waiting room... hmm.. must tell bb to stay until 6th.. then i tell my dh to buy bday cake.. hehe

Nana
LAst time when i gave birth to my son, they got put 1 NB pamper below the trolley will baby sleep(=P Not sure what that call), so when they push or stay with you the diaper was always there.

Kristen_mum
Sorry, i have only 2 tubes which 1 tube i had already reserve for minnie.

Jasmine
uno suction not so good ah? anyway, i FTM dunno which is good, which is bad. a friend advised me to get a simple pump first. trial and error. she herself has like 4 or 5 pumps

if uno not good enough, i will buy duo at a later satge and use uno as a spare lor...

sunshine

i think so.. i feel that compared to other hospitals.. gleneagles quite stingy hor.. mount alvernia got the diaper bag.. thomson got bath tub.. gleneagles like nothing.. even for the tour.. we were not given anything except for refreshments.. oh i just bring bedroom slipper to walk around..

Marks & Spencers having final reductions sales:
Just now drop by Orchard happen to pass by there. Got a 2pcs set for my bb. Price from $49 reduce to $35 and further reduce to $25, a top and a cargo pants so cute, so tempted to buy and left with last set so I just grab it, brought 9-12mths size.

minnie - i'm oso scared when i feel something coming out, like watery too...i called the clinic and asked the nurse abt my case this morning when i was asking abt the GTT results...she said water bag leakage will exist if the pad gets soaked thru...and since mine is yellowish and one time thing it shouldn't be water bag leakage....we getting v paranoid rite? but can't help it lor....

jtho - yup i tink those IKEA boxes are useful, jus not their furniture....find them not v strong and lasting....

Pinksorbet,
Oh ya, Jasmin reminded me of Daiso. They also sell big ziplock where u can vacuum pack it. Just put all inside the bag then use vacuum cleaner to suck out the air. It will become flatten and u can keep inside store or other cupboard first. When it is nearer, just throw away the plastic bag. For me, I put inside red plastic bag and it goes into my 1st gal's wardrobe.

jtho,
I will advise for FTM to buy a duo as a start, as if suction not good, you will feel that your milk supply not much and will start to think you wouldn't have enough milk. For me I buy Ameda as start than Medela which I borrow from my colleague when my pump broke down. So I think for basic at least buy a Ameda or a Medela double at least to start with. Single pump can act as a standby incase your pump break down anytime.

Jasmine
I do agreed with you to get a duo pump. I am 1 good example. I asked HB to get me 1 cheap pump when i am in confinement. He got a Farlin single pump which i find it not very good to use and in the end i got no more supply.

jtho,
Hahaha... I work at Raffles Place, happen to go there to buy something. Normally I will drop by when they have further reduction sales.... more worth buying... and Im big in size mah... so normally when they have sales I will sure go a and see look... their size in UK so easy for me to look for my size there.

Jasmin,
I would say buy S size. NB very fast they can't wear le. Hospital will return the balance diapers which they charge us for when baby stay there. So when return home I start using S size diapers.

For two-bedded, baby cannot room in with us hor??
I still have not decided two-bedded or one bedded.
My mom was saying, since only staying for 2 nights, might as well opt for 2-bedded and save the money.
Mmm… hard decision…

jtho,
I think is best you can invest on a stronger suction pump for start. As I have say at start is very important for us to get the milk supply coming.... The Uno you can use it when you return to work or going out easy to bring along.