(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

alfafa
actually jamu n those malay woman massage are same one right?

irene
dun be scare la... hope yr glucose test is ok... =)

alfafa
u apply the clarins oil aft shower daily, one time daily? or twice daily?
norm i apply the oil aft i shower when i'm home aft work, morning will apply the clarins SM cream instead...

Devil, yah Gingal delivered at 210am on 1 Jan. (Congrats again, Gingal!) If you back track to the threads on Jan 6 you can read all about her birtyh story. VERY EXCITING! So happy for her. She's really brave. Think baby still in NICU cos she's a preemie. Gingal delivered at 29 weeks.

I was 39.5 before. Me very short that's why. Have high metabolic rate coupled with very small bones so no matter how much junk food I eat before I was always that weight. But now different. At one time I put on 4kgs in 4 weeks. Nurse couldn't believe it. Was hoping to gain 12kg through the pregnancy but gave up on that idea already. Hahahah more likely 14kg to 15 kg.

Sunshine, I hope those are not cellulite that I saw on my butt cheeks.

Sung, oh yes. Boys tend to be bigger. My mom told me that both my elder sis and I were delivered at 5plus pounds (about 2plus kg) but my bro, who is not big sized in his adulthoofd, came out at 8 pounds, about 4kg!

sunshinebaby
the oils is suppose to be twice a day morning and night

me too lazy sometimes even forget to apply

i heard SM is heritary too...
also i think it depends on the elasticity of the skin...the more elastic it is, the less SM you have?

St, Sunshine,
yah I think Jamu and Malay massage are the same. Not sure how it works. She said the lady came to her house. I'll try to get hold of my friend to get the details.

Irene, yah same here. I scared of even a pin prick. Doc suspected I had gestational diabetes from my urine test so wanted to a blood test. I jumped visibily when he pricked my fingers. My husband is dead worried that I cannot handle delivery pains. He says I cannot even handle a needle. How to give birth. Hahahaha

Sunshine, I only apply once after shower at night. And I never follow the instructions strictly. Supposed to apply after shower and then take a quick cold shower rinse before dabbing dry right? I simply rubbed on after my hot shower and that was it. :p Am wondering if I should start applying twice a day also, since we are now entering the crucial ballooning period.

May,
yah that's what I am worried about too. Have a funny feeling that I will have to go for C-sect in the end. Don't know why I feel that way. If so then cannot go for jamu massage.

ST, alamak, I thought once a day only.

MooMoo, yah you are right. Actually I don't even know if the creams/oils are worth spending on. But then, as long as the jury is not out on that, I figured it's worth spending just to minimise the risk. Kiasu a bit.

alfafa77
ya it's twice per day..my SIL still tell me must not be lazy but sometime i am really lazy cos i dun like the after feeling my hands very oily one.

imagine my SIL used 4 bottles so i bought 3 bottles in the end 1 bottle not finish yet.

St, oh shoot. That means I need to buy even more than I thought. Wow morning and night. That's quite a regiment. I am already missing my babyplus sessions sometimes. :p

mornings mummies,
i tot the thread was quite cos no new emails came into my mail box. Then come in see so many tumtums.

missycandy,
i get what u mean liaoz. but urs look like u wore pants at that level then too tight so got this indent leh.

may,
urs look big to me. u feel the heaviness? think my SM will end up like urs sobsob

daphne,
realise urs seem to "sit" much lower. saw a lot of small frame mums' tumtum mostly like tt.

envy alfafa and queenie best. tumtum small small nice nice. heehee

irene, you going glucose test tomororw, got urine test as well. so is 3 times urine, 3 times blood test. once you start taking the first time, cannot drink any plain water even. so if you thirsty make sure to take a few sips before your appt. i din noe cannot even take plain water after started, horrid 2 hrs cannot take any water, esp after drinking the sweet glucose drink, so suckling sweet!

Went for Mrs Wong last lesson yesterday. It was about bottle feeding and breast feeding. She said medala PIS was good and that the medala swing wasnt really good as someone in the class asked her about breast pump.

I feel that I cant really walk so much now. My calves feel painful after walking a while.

alfafa77, my baby girl is also 1.8kg at 31 weeks. My gynae says her weight is at the 50 percentile.

I used up one bottle of oil in about a month and a half. So if I;m applying twice a day. even faster. In fact, I have already used up one bottle of clarins oil and one tube of Clarins SM cream. This is my 2nd bottle of oil and it's almost gone. Been applying since my 4th month.

Everyone is on leave today? Funny. Thought the thread usually moves so fast that I generally miss out on most postings.

I'm taking a break from my craftwork. The stupid hippo soft toy thingy doesn't seem to be working out. Sian. My other constant "duty" is to monitor the stock market. Made quite a bit the other day, then yesterday returned half. So today a bit sian.

Vernice, Candy,
yah I also agree with Vernice that it looks like your pants were a little too tight, thus the indent. It's not two layers, don't worry.

Vernice,
true true, mine sits a bit lower too.

Sportger,
I can't walk much too. Get lower back pains. And baby is sitting on my bladder so I feel the urge to pee all the time. Makes me walk funny. :p

What does being in the 50percentile means? Means she is about average weight?

Re: Jamu massage
Those in Mrs Wong's class, Mrs Wong mentioned something about Jamu rite? I cant remember liao..

Cheerios

C-sect mummies can still do malay/jamu massage, just have to wait two weeks compared to natural which can be done just couple days later.

RE: Buying Breast Pump
What is ur opinion on getting the pump ah?
Cos these few days alot of places having 20% sales. My hb ask me to buy during the Taka March Baby Fair. But scared the discount not so much leh. I only bf my #1 for 2wks due to low milk supply. And now I want to try again. Since I going to close shop after this one, would only want to invest on Manual Pump, which I have in mind Avent / Medela. So what would u all recommend? Buy now or wait till March?

Re: Nepia diapers

Heard from my sis that nepia diapers are quite good. She used that for both her children. May consider using that too.

For the TMC disposable panties, my friend was telling me its very good. The price is a bit ex, cost $5 or $5.50 for 1 piece.

alfafa,
mine sits like real up lor. thats why the whole area below cheat are bloated up together. but like that also ok lah. sometimes i see small frame mums then their tum so low and big till i felt scare for them. haha

meebaby, Mrs Wong mentioned that if want to do malay massage, for natural you can do it 1 week after birth while for c-sect, must wait till 6 weeks later then can do if I rem correctly.

Lately I've been wearing pyjamas most of the time liao.. thought the waist band of my shorts are strangling the tummy causing lines..
Sportyger.. I bought mine from robinson's..

Cheerios

Gingal..
was tearing when i read yr birthing ordeal... i really feel the pain in me when i read yr exp... really saluate u wif such brave attitude..u take care n rest more now n hope yr bb can go hm wif u soon..

Nancy,
really, 2 weeks wait for C-sec? I thought at least two months? Find it a bit scary to have someone pushing so vigoriously on the C-sec wound so soon after the surgery.

Meebaby,
heee baby moves alot. Very active and responsive to me and hubby. Not sure if this is attributed to Babyplus though. But it's such a chore to play it for two sessions per day, one hour each time. I usually play once. Sometimes I forget
altogether.

May, yah maybe the massage lady don't dare to go the whole 9 yards. I would be afraid too at just 2 weeks after a c-sect.

Sporty,
I hate it too. But what to do, feel the urge to pee in the middle of the night? In fact, hubby and I have temporarily moved to our downstairs bedroom so I don;t have to keep going up and down all the time. My place is one of those rare HDB terrace houses, only have toilet downstairs.

Vernice,
it's true. When baby sits low, it is very uncomfortable. Was advised by doc to be extra careful carrying heavy stuff too. I generally leave all the carrying to my hubby whenever possible.

Meebaby,
Think I heard 6 weeks also. 2 weeks too scary.

<font color="ff0000">RE: Studio Photo Shoot</font>
I had email all of you for the fund transfer for the deposit. Please reply soon as we might deliver early.

Vernice80
Crosailo
Keron&amp;jeris
Corene
Ilvena
fatfish
SG
Sinmey

May

May,
my sis swears by her manual breast pump. Think she uses medela. She BF her first for 1.5 years, 2nd for 6 mths and 3th for 3 months using that.

I am lucky to inherit a set of Medela PIS from my SIL so won't be using my sister's.

Think given that manual pumps are not expensive, the discounts also do not make too big a difference in terms of dollar value? If so then might as well buy now? Seeing that so many mommies have pre-term contractions make me worry too. Will start buying stuffs from this weekend myself.

sportyger, yah it's the ones along stirling road, at queenstown. Bought it at resale valuation price 3 ytears ago. Lucky. Hehehehe price went up by alot. The neighbourhood is also changing with more and more young couples and young families moving in.

May, Mrs Wong mentioned about manual pump yesterday at the class. It would take quite long to pump the milk manually. Takes about 30 min for 1 side. She shown us the avent manual pump, think she quite pro avent product.

the other place with such houses is at Jalan Bahagia, which is at the balestier area. The houses there look even more like landed properties, many are far far bigger too with fences around. But the price is also far far higher :p I don't like the area though cos traffic is bad and they don't have as many public amenities at Queenstown.

We were lucky. Happened to chance upon a classified ad saying HDB terrace house back during the days when we were in the market for our matrimonial home. Got curious so drove there to see. Liked it so much that we decided on the house within a week. We bought at 363k, half a year ago my neighbour sold theirs at about 548k; theirs is bigger, but right by Commonwealth road which is very noisy.

may,
i bot avent manual pump coz ftm not sure if will get used to using it but want to make sure i hv something to express bm with hee. if can cont, then will buy medala pis before go back to work.

sportyger,
a lot of cny pasar malam around hsing estates now, can try buying your pajamas from there, i got mine at one pasar malam, $10 a set. cheaper than deptal stores. before that, i got 2 sets at og, karmy brand, very soft and comfy but more exp, after 20% discount, still abt $19 - 22 a set.

hi mummies..

i would like to share my exp too n remind all mummies to rest more n dun be like me...

6th jan
2318hrs
tummy pain aka menses cramp for 10mins wif tummy tightening..
thought is normal so dun bother..
2355hrs
cramp came back again n was getting more painful tis time n with the tummy tightening.. me was so afraid tat i got conraction but not sure.. then suddendly feel like pooing but dare not go cos heard bb come out like pooing.. but the urge to poo was so intense tat i went ahead.. poo was watery stool n a bit of brown discharge so was quite scared n gave gynae a cal @ 0010hrs n was told to admit to hospital..
but i as damn stubborn cos i told myself i cant be giving bith now cos i jux 33wks plus n i not ready yet.. so refused to go hospital despite hubby nagging.. me so in pain n he still so naggy.. really made me more angry n more determined not to go hospital..
(read stubborn: chi ruan bu chi yin)
n so i watch a bit of tv n start to pack my hospital bag juz in case..
0035hrs
halfway packing bag n the cramp is back again n i was wriggling on the floor wif pain tis time but i still stubborn n wan monitor first n the pain was gone again in 10mins so went to bed hopping tat sleep will not be in pain again..
0100hrs
pain back again but i stii stubborn.. trying my best to sleep n not bother bout pain.. tel myself i will go only if water bag leak or blood oozing out then finally fell asleep dunno wat time.. did wake up few times again cos os pain but juz dismiss it n go back sleep..
0900hrs
cal gynae nurse for appt but was told gynae busy n will only come in clinc at 1230hrs n so i went back n sleep..
1230hrs
reach clinic n was given pirority to see doc first.. doc checked n confirm contractions n also did VE n he say ok but me too nervous never ask him ok mean wat..
he ask me "tong" first at least for 10 days then can give birth if not bb hv to stay in nicu for weeks.. was ordered best rest for 10days.. no shopping.. no houseworks.. not even walking ard the hse... on ventilon now n going back next fri for gynae check..
tat my exp... now keeping my fingers cross n hope bb listen to me n not come out now n let me enjoy my cny first..

but hor naughty mummy still went for a bit of shopping b4 mrs wong class last nite.. n now cramp back again so now confine to bed by hubby...

gynae confirm tat most likely is i walked too much.. been going shopping for the past 2-3 weeks non stop micham like shopping is so addictive..

sung, didnt see any pasar malam around my place. last time I bought pyjamas from chinatown before, but now like dont really have. The ones at pasar malam is cheap, will try to look ard to see where got pasar malam.

princess, better take care and rest and not walk ard so much. Rem to tell baby to be guai guai and stay till full term. I have been shopping a lot too, and my leg super pain lor.

oh dear princess, you must take good care of yourself and rest well with bb!

hopefully your bb will be guai guai and listen to you. dun walk around during CNY period k, ask ppl come your hse instead of going theirs if need be...

be careful and take care!

sportyger,
you stay near clementi? i saw clementi town got a big cny pasar malam, may hv pjs. if i see anyother ard, will post, then if near your plc, can go check it out