(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

morning ladies..

yeah.. today new year eve. happy new year to all of you.. despite today is eve, i m caught up with 2 meetings later.. one at 10.30 and one at 3pm.. hope can faster finish and go home.

In case i just went off for meeting, just wana wish everyone here a happy new year and may this new year full of luck for all of us!!!!

morning mummies...HAPPY NEW YEAR..

it's a year where all of us are waiting for

morning!

asura/afcai
i tot of getting confinement food catering.
but hb don allows.. and when he brings up the idea of getting CL to MIL, he actually tio rejected straightaway. saying very ex.. even hb's grandma said tt too..
ya.. if they can heat up the food and soup for me i don mind. but if they don, then probably i have to do it myself.
even my sis objects the idea of food catering..
saying the ingredients not adequate blah blah blah..
aiyah in one short to explain, nw i nvr wrk, say wad oso nobody cares. it wud be different if i still get my salary and pay wadever i wans myself.
haha...

paiseh ah..but what happens to gingal?

ytd i went to mrs wong's class and bought towels,fleece blankets and washcloth..
2 each cost about $51.60

kome
haha the washcloth is abt the same as the one we bought from spree..

Queenie
My hb also brought up the topic that i will be getting confinement food and looking after baby myself. Than she said why we cannot get a confinement lady and when confinement we are not suppose to touch any water at all. Now i have to bath baby myself and etc. In other words, she object me in doing confinement by myself.

I told hb that i definitly will not be getting any confinement lady lor, coz its expensive and now might be too late to get a good one already.

I have not got the towels for baby yet. Maybe later might be going to Northpoint KP to look for 2pcs. Since Mrs Wong also use that washcloth than it might be good. Mmmm.....take one to try and see how.

Afcai
I am not a vegeterian, but i don't mind sending my #1 to this vegeterian cc as i am hoping they can help to discipline/train my son to be more patient and not to be short temper also. I heard that they got meditation one. Think this CC also got subsidise by buddish side or what. That is why cheaper.

dear gals..

I am leaving for meeting now.. most prob will yak with u all next year!!! bye..

Happy new year once again.. tata.

just read the tread from previous and i am to late to be in here. i miss out the dinner on 19DEc that u all had....

any plans for another?

Sung,
Which part of hougang ave 4? Which blk? :p

afcai,
I do agree with you that bf is not easy to start with but we perserverance, it can be done. From my own experience, I had mastitis about 4 months into breastfeeding. Prior to that, I was having quite bad cracks on my nipples which may have contributed to the infection. I was running a temperature of about 39 degrees celsius and had to be on antibiotics for 1 week. I even had to go to parentcraft centre for Mrs Wong to use her kungfu fingers to break the lumps which she described is like a clogged pipe before these can slowly be eliminated from my body. The experience was PAINFUL! But I continued to breastfeed. Would have wanted to surpass the 8 months mark if not cos at that time there was some problem on top of my work-trip... some lactation room issues going on in the office which made lactating quite difficult. Oh, and my baby actually self-weaned himself from my breast at around 4.5 months so for the rest of the time, I was doing exclusive pumping. So, my days were just pump, wash, sterilise. Haha.. no hassle-free breastfeeding!

alfafa,
I also woke up at around 4am and couldn't get back to sleep. By the time I managed to sleep, my alarm clock rang :S

Re: Dark armpits
I had it for my first pregnancy and didn't know it was pigmentation due to hormones! I used a body scrub religiously but to no avail. Then I learnt from my mum that it is due to hormones and she had it too when she was pregnant. It did go off a couple of months after pregnancy and it is back again for this pregnancy. Hiaz...

kome
u still onz abt doing urself?
i cant lar.. if i ever says tt to my hb's family i will be like opposing them.

moreover, i guess i oso cant manage.
i wanted to move back mom's hse to do one. but my mil told hb NOOOOOOOO... #$#%$%
reasons scare fil nt happy.

pups
poor u.. nw at wrk or at hme??

Prosper
Temporary we are not organising any gathering for now. Think everyone is busy with all this festive season and preparing for baby things.

Queenie
Yup, i onz doing by myself. Don't worry about me. I will not be doing any housework at all except to wash baby's clothes and my own clothing + looking after baby only. I will be ordering confinement food for 2 weeks, after that move back to my mum's house so that she will cook the tonic for me to 'bu'. My #1 will be taking care by my mum since he will be going to CC already so not that bad for my mum. Will ask hb to bring him back and let me see him during weekend.

Morning mummies, today is the LAST DAY of 2008, and 2009 coming YEAH!

Wish all mummies here a very happy new yr! Enjoy the eve!

BTW, new bortn babies needs to use alot of towels hor?
I am thinking of buying Ikea towel cloth , like a set of 10, enough?

Afcai, wah thks for the useful bf tips!

Missycandy, oh my gf pass me the mini medela electric single breastbump so bought their breast bottle, very happy as one set liao

If the milk bottle is good no leak etc..., I will buy a few more and may stick to their milk bottles, any mummies here use Medela milk bottles?

kome
hmm tts sounds better hor? at least for the 2 wks, ur mom is ard to help..
try wear gloves to minimize contact w watdter?

st
ytd the lesson was #4..
ya all via cash. outside the little skool got dbs atm..
i roughly tell u the pricing for the items they selling..

towel(1pc) $13
fleece blanket (2pc in a pack) $9
washcloth (1pack) $3.80
avent bath and body wash(1 btl) $13.50
pigeon laundry liquid detergent(1 btl) $8.05
Mrs wong's 3 books $35
Mrs wong another book $15(estimated)

i tink she keep saying the fleece blanket is gd..
and parents came back to her to buy.. etc..

BF mummies, if I want to invest good breastpump, Ameda or Medela?
Then when should I invest? When breastmilk comes and depends on flow ah?

mangogal

same to u!!
have a blessed 2009..hehe ltr i gg for bbQ session.

towels so far i oni got 2 pcs frm Mrs wong class.
lol i wonder if everyday after used muz change a new towel for next day?
or can be like adults like tt? use a few times den wash?
if i need many towels, buy all from mrs wong class i sure broke. lol.. me myself using 3 for $10 towels. haha

Hi prosper.. 4get to welcome u to thread!

ya i tink is impt.. coz babies skin mayb sensitive. i wont wan risk my kiddo's skin.. coz i scare ltr he kenna rashes/enzema.
babies can get allergics from alot of areas.
and i tink normal detergent we use mayb quite harsh?

Mangogal
Not sure is the towels suitable for baby skin or not. Coz some towels are very rough which not good for newborn sensitive skin. Getting about 2 or 3 big towels will be enough. 10pcs quite alot already.

Queenie
Have thought of wearing gloves also but scare cannot hold baby properly if i wear gloves. Mmmm....will see how. If possible will ask hubby to bath the baby first before he left for work at 8.30am.

Prosper
Yes, At least for the first year you will need to use baby brand detergent as the chemicals will not be too strong which is not good for baby soft skin.

kome
aiyah den me ytd shd buy 1 more towel for baby.lol.

ya hor.. u need to bath baby.. den better not wear gloves to bath baby. super dangerous. hehes.
tink ask hb bath ur baby better? somemore if we bath baby ourselves, we cant be squatting right?
and we cant carry the whole tub of water if bath tub places on a table, or smething like tt..

re:baby detergent
got liquid and powder form.
which one to use? or muz use both?

st

paiseh! i not sure leh.. my hb didnt let me buy.
don mention abt it..u can roughly tell hb so u all can see if wan buy or nt b4 gg for her lessons. hehes.

morning mummies!!
Looking forward to 2009!

Queenie,
i asked mrs wong ytday - the bb towel can change every 2 days. if u want also can cut the big towel into 2 then sew up the fray side. so i think like that 2 towels is enough ba.
I also tot the towel quite exp. Thats why only buy 2 ytday.

mangogal,
mrs wong was saying don invest in breast pump so early wor. she will cover bf next lesson. so i am waiting for more info 1st before buying. For towels, she recommend those without those fluff type better for bb.

re: mrs wong's stuffs
not sure abt the rest of pdt but the pigeon detergent is cheaper outside now costing 2 for $13.90. The Avent wash that mrs wong selling is only 250ml @$13+. U can get promo price for 400ml at $15.20.

Queenie
Wahaha.....if possible will get hb to bath baby first before letting him off to work. Actually i got no problem with placing the bath tub as i can place it on the toilet bowl first than put in the water.

For what i know, there is only liquid one. I using pigeon one and my mum is using kodomo(I think so).

vernice
haha i didnt see u ytd lor. i tink i oni see fatfish and princess.. but ytd was so chaotic..esp during the 'shopping' time.
ohhh cut the towel into 2 hor.. my hb was telling me tt ytd den i say he siao. lols...

Re:breastpump
i also told my hb tt mrs wong advised b4 not to buy first. but he don heed my advice and got it frm ebay - BNIB tho'.. he purchased medela swing but havent arrive in Sg.. i told him if ltr i no milk or the pump doesnt suits me how. he say den sell away lor coz to him is alot cheaper den getting in SG.

heng i nvr buy the pigeon liquid detergent..and avent wash.

coz previously i went to chk prices at KP..
Pigeon Liquid Cleanser for bottles $14.70
Pigeon Laundry detergent $13.90 - (didnt note dwn is 2 btl) lol
Pigeon Powder $8.90

i was thinking of getting Sebamed for babies ..
but mrs wong like promotes avent leh.. lol

re: bb detergent

I use the prueen power one ... q good. i bought 2 boxes @ $11 when i was at the pureen outlet at KKH

think use until bb is 1yr old ba ... cos bb skin v delicate

wow, mrs wong selling quite a lot of stuffs...

prosper
agreed w kome, better to use bb detergent coz bb's skin is quite delicate n sensitive...

queenie
tink depend on individual whether u prefer powder or liquid detergent... i prefer liquid coz scare powder become lumpy n not dissolve well... i bought the pigeon liquid detergent - 2 for $13.90

queenie,
i was next to u for a couple of times heehee. i did ask mrs wong if can cut into half she say can wor..hers also half mah. i tot like tt better. since bb so small don need such big towel also difficult to manage.

re: breastpump
haha i very scare buying pump. scare make wrong choice and investment. so just wait and see lor..anyway discount at most 20%. bo bian..i don want to buy 2-3 pumps in the end.

u can get the pigeon detergent at most places now at 2 for $13.90. i think while stock last.

re: baby detergent

ok i tink i get liquid one.. juz hope mil don pour it into washing machine like no nid $.. lol.

sun
ya mrs wong like lelong like tt.. but not v cheap oso.. she oso say the washcloth gd.. coz very environmental. can use many times..

as for the fleece blankets and towels muz use laundry net when throw in washing machine.

vernice
u rem mrs wong said the fleece blankets still can use for what purpose or nt?
at first i v dumb i told hb can use as towel also.

VErnice, oki will buy the breastpump later, meanwhile will use the one that my gf gave me

Oh so bb towel will buy softer and delicate material, 100% cotton type can?

Ya think use bb liquid detergent is better for washing, I intend to buy trollyjoy one

Those not in Mrs Wong class, can I go to AMK TMC Parentcraft and buy?

Re: Towels
In my opinion, not to cut the towel into half. Yes, baby still small now to use big towels but when baby grow? Need to buy again? I personally like to use big towels for baby as can wrap baby whole body and legs inside not letting them to catch a cold.

Have you all started to feel the urge to go toilet but actually there is not much urine? Yesterday i have the urge but go to toilet not much. Think baby is pressing against my bladder already.

vernice/sun
thanks for the reminder .. i better go get the detergent soon.
me still got alot of things havent buy.

vernice
haha me really cock eyes.. paiseh paiseh!!

oh ya..
For All Mommies's Information

mrs wong says no ru yi oil on babies..

Re: Mrs wong's towels
haha donno to cut or not. if don cut, means muz buy more to keep..
if cut means in future bb big liao cant use.
dilemma..

queenie,
i can't remember exactly leh..cos wasn't paying attention then. i think any wrapping purpose also can use as towel also can.

mangogal,
those not in class can go tmc parentcraft clinic to buy. amk don't have. make sure those towels u buy won't have little 'fur' lor

kome,
oh..ya bb will grow lah. i will see how it goes

queenie,
no prob. ytday like got less mummies leh.
oh i didn't hear abt the ru yi oil. i only know no powder.

since u already got 2 towels, no rush. if u feel need to buy can get it after u give birth at TMC mah. She also say the towel at most use 1 yr need to change liaoz

mrs wong was saying those johnson's pdt can buy later cos they may give as freebies when we give birth.