(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

mangogal
robinsons have. but that day, when i was looking at the bbsafe mattress for playpen, it was selling at $120 after discount. but when i went to motherworks at great world city the next day, they are selling also at $120 but with 20% discount. so it should be $96 instead. motherworks offering 20% for all bbsafe mattresses.
u may want to check it out b4 u buy. or if i go there these few days, i will check again and post here.

mangogal, me too.. KO at 6.. so we can still yak for another 30 mins..
ya.. i like the chicken wings and salad in ikea.. yummy..

I don't understand. My baby kick most when i listen to music, the rest of the time if i never listen to music i cannot really feel his movement.

kome
probably your bb is musically gifted

kome, ya manz.. musically gifted!!! maybe a great singer, or great musician to be!!!
my bb kicks actively only when i eat.. opps.. wahhahaa

Jtho
Mmmm.......sound not too bad also. As long as he is healthy i will be happy already. Don't dare to think too much yet.

kome
the other day, my hubby was just thinkg whether bb will be like me or like him when it comes to music. cos i love to sing (and not too bad lah... hahahah) and he simply cannot sing... keke

ok thks Jtho for ur info

Wintertime, I like their breakfast actually but hb say they gng to change the menu liao

And their swedish meatballs and pasta and salmon!
Anyway we bought a packet of meatballs and cook at hm

jtho.. tata..

mangogal,ohh can buy their meatball and cook at home?? too bad, my hb don't take beef. only i eat..

p3pp3r, bye bye..

wahhh so many pages frm 1 day... read til wana sleep =x

leg cramp - jus got one last night on my right leg.. thought of waking hubby up but i jus stretched it myself then okie liao... hee hee... lucky my pain tolerance still okie... antenatal class taught us hw to stretch so jus stretch awhile... hee hee

heat - been feeling hotter past few days... suddenly will jus feel super warm... best is at night... i dun on the air con... but i will on the fan... then sumtimes very hot! but sumtimes cold then hide under comforter then hot... -_-"

otah - my in laws tried it and said its nice =) i got fish from yuki.. but the sotong and prawn frm the bernice ah? dunno wad otah boy or something...

cny cookies - i used to love kueh bangkit when i was younger... but nowadays find the melt in my mouth feeling a bit uncomfy as will stick to teeth as well... i cant wait to eat bak kwa!!! so looking forward to it!!! the fats and oil.. mUHAHAHA!! =X and also love letters!

darkening armpits - i also kena.. i very sian leh... its supposedly supposed to go away after pregnancy... but my boss one didnt go away leh!!! =\ i hope mine does! if not i will go for whitening treatment liao! hahaha

1st few yrs breast pumps cheap??? hmmm i wan to get freestyle but heard someone said its 800+ =( i emailed Sg's medela's distributor... they said will come in only 1st Jan onwards wor... also cldnt tell me retail price yet... =( shall wait ba.. few days away only.. hee hee

clothes - we have quite a lot of 2nd hands as well as new ones... =P hahaha... still got more hand me downs coming frm hubby's gd frn... =)

Hmmm many mummies reaching wk30 wor... im at week 27... next week then week 28.... my appt with gynae is next Thursday.. hope bb is growing well... i dont seem to be putting on wgt... ppl keep commenting that my tummy small lor ... i think its becos im fat la... haiii sian...

time to watch nonyaaaaa!

misscandy, i'm in my 27th week also.. will go for my scan only next sat... wonder how heavy is bb now.

pineapple tarts, anyone got any nice recommendation??? homemade or handmade de

handmade Pineapple Tarts

Pine Garden's Cake
Their famous freshly 100% handmade Pineapple Tarts. I brought their pineapple tarts & Love Letters every year.

oh, little nonya just finished.. very nice!!!

leg cramps :
i had my first leg cramp yesterday night. everytime when the cramp is abt to come, i can still stop it in time, yest night i guess my leg overstretched and the pain came too fast. i immediately jumped up and quickly do some massaging to my feet. super scary....

bb cot :
havent purchased yet, but i tink the best deal is at baby meadows at katong mall.

darkening of armpits :
can we use the whitening deodorant from Nivea? i used it a couple of times since pregnancy but still can see some darkening of the armpits leh.

CNY clothes :
any mummies bought new clothes already? seems like maternity clothes in singapore are quite limited.

mangogal,
Yeah my #1 also C-sect due to high blood pressure condition. I did check with gynae about pulling out my teeth she says its ok. But if have to x-ray on teeth just tell the dentist to cover my tummy.
Darker armpit,
Its will get worse after givinf birth but will slowly lighten after 2nd months. Now mine also started to get darken, its our hormo changing.
Yeah our arm pit will have pieces of lump if our milk not properly clear after birth so mummies try to pump or direct feed if posible. I got that when I have #1, was kind of scared then but after clearing my milk by breast feed its disappeared after 1 or 2 weeks time.

jtho - which branch did u go wor? tb or ms? alamak... make me gian liao... *drooLs* hahaha better than coca right? =P

irene - we same same =) hee hee

Serene - how much do they charge for the love letters n pineapple tarts??? am thinking of buying for family n inlaws love letters n tarts instead of bak kwa this yr.. no mood to go Q la... though usually is hubby who does it.. hahaha =P

kris - maybe mus wait til after give birth ba...

actually a bit bth the yue niang in lil nonya... she cld have married Chen Xi and be with him so many times!!! but she ownself want this and that.. end up... haii... hurt so manny pplee... if u love someone... shldnt play too hard to get la... see where it puts u? LOL! but then again if so easy hor... then lil nonya wil end olredi.. no more episodes liao.. hahaha!

I juat bought my 1st BPA free milk bottle frm Medela so Robinson gt sell, hee..one set liao wif the breastpump

I see Jasmine, so be careful during the pulling the teeth process..

super hot!!!! i have the fan blown directly at me now but still sweating...

getting more and more forgetful nowadays.. dunno is it becos of the hormones again... i hope i wont be senile after delivery.

realised my skin also getting drier and some itchiness came back like 1st trimester. even the tiny scars take a longer time to fade. With all the cramps + out of shape figure + swollen limbs + heartburn + body heat, dunno what comes next??

jtho - so tempted lahhh!!! hahahaha... i actually went end nov with hubby... hee hee hee =P

kris - cold shower!!! SHIOK!!!

mango - wad breast pump did u buy ?

btw did anyone buy the calendula cream??? there is a bP on it... am considering if i shld get it or not.. my pt's wife applies it for her grandson and swears by it... works for nappy rash, insect bites, burns... hmmm and its definitely cheaper than shops outside... i saw selling at united sq 20+

Hi kj,
I 2 had a bad experience of dry itchy skin...try my best not to scratch wait leave scars...still my arm area kena qite dry...so worried.

Quickly went to Body Shop 2 get Aloe Vera Body Cream n Gel...felt so much better now. Still thot suffer frm some allergy or due to some contact w e materials during antenatal classes when we do simple exercises...seems like for those who hav a smooth sailing preg, they really blessed hor...

Im meeeting my bb this fri...been a long time...eager to know why he loves kicking so often.
Now he kicks whenever he wanz to...whether i do work/eat/watch TV show...nowadays, his kicking could also wake me up @ nite...my hb says this bb beri active...eve when i write now, he kicks! All I hope is hez healthy n happy...no matter wat he likes to b we will encourage him...

I tell my hb cannot b so relaxed when bb comes out...wait set a bad eg. wor...

Whoz afraid of labour pain? Ani here got tips to share? I guess shopping for bb stuff helps to take our mind off frm this experience...

the thread runs really fast today, haha missed it for a day and i realised got 4 pages to read :p

<font color="ff0000">sun</font>
thanks, i hope the nausea goes away too!

re. pineapple tarts
i love the ones sold at a bakery store in hougang ave 4, very fresh and full. hee hee big portion of pineapple and the tarts are crispy and not too thick, buy from there every year. haiz but dis year wun be eating, tink not good for us to eat too much pineapples rite? haha once i start, can't stop so figure best is just not to buy...

<font color="ff0000">keron</font>
i oso itchy itchy lately, mostly over tummy, breast and back area. some days will wake up scratching at nite haha disturbed sleep really, either wake up itchy, sleep on side tummy not comfy, or to go toilet, can't get a good nite sleep now...been applying a lot of moisturiser, usually after applying will feel better a bit. you try dis too?

gambatte all mummies!

getting excited coz tom's New Year Eve and it's another half day for me. hee hee then next wk can visit gynae to see bb again. sigh just that must do the glucose test, a bit sianz to fast haha!

nite nites!

Tuskywoollie, ME!!! ME!!! i can afraid of labour pain though i dunno how pain that is.. normally i have very bad menses cramps, so my pain threshold is very high, hope i can survive the labour pain..

heard about what happened to gingal, hope she is fine. i will be very worried if i have to put down my work immediately and rest in bed cos i know that no one will cover my work if i were to rest in bed now till delivery. Hope bb be good and wait till at least 1st week of March before she decides to see the world, if not, will be big time for my boss.

sung, i got some tiny pop ups on my skin, looked like allergy, but the next day it will be fine but will leave some scars if i scratch it. so i will quickly wash with clean water and reapply some moisturiser.. but once i started to scratch the itchy area, no way i can stop it cos it's so shiok!! i m super kiasee about stretchmarks so will remind myself abt the bad stretchmarks in order to stop myself from scratching it.

wow, i spend almost an hour reading all the posts.. cannot catch up liao.oh,, see that gingal got pre=term labour...she ok or not, what happen to cause her to pre-labour...

<font color="119911">any mummies got leak milk...of cos not so serious, only white white thing appear on nipple. just wash away just do....sometimes will feel tingling sensation like producing milk milk.

also any one got snoopy stamps from guardian to sell or give away, do let me know, I'm collecting it cos I;m snoopy fans. thks.</font>

<font color="119911">SG</font>
re:cramp.
hmm not gd to have that leh...scared false contraction wor....what's the cause of the cramp ?

<font color="119911">Asura79</font>,
what leg cream u apply? me also got leg cramp since 2mth. very 'xin fu' esp leg cannot move.

<font color="119911">mangogal</font>,
since last 2 mth, I wore normal sock, my leg cramps improve and lessen.

<font color="119911">May</font>,
re:milk bottle with caps for breastmilk.
last time, i got the pigeon bm storage bottle at taka fair when they are having 20% discount. maybe u would like to drop by John little this weekend (for public) as they are having sales. if one is private JL member, they will be invited on 1-2 jan.

for milk bag, I did not get any but come with free gift when my sis bought ice-cream.

re:handwash bb clothes.
so far, last CL done by my mum, she handwash all my gar 's clothes and nappy cloth with ABC bb detergent. the only thing she just ask my hubby to use washing machine to spin dry only. of cos, bb clothes all placed into the laundary bag so that it won't spoilt easily.but after she turned abt 8mth or 10 mth, bb detergent finish so only use normal detergent to wash.

<font color="119911">missycandy</font>,
re:bak kwa
beeter to cut down the processing food. not gd for us.

dunno if u are interested in the kueh lapis. I might be joining the BP too. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2021703.html?1230538392

re:reach 30 wk.
me still in my 27 week. next tues, gg for my growth scan liao. me will put on 2.4kg weight per mth loh. did u eat a lot then?

re:leg cramps.
since I wore sock 2 mth ago, leg cramp cut down in my left legs but still have not so serious type. can straighten myself liao. but now luv to slp on my back until back stiff when I woke up. when turn side, bb will seem protest, kept on kicking and moving.

re:dark armpit.
got meh...I only got pop up varcose veins on my right thigh since 2mth. when touch now, pain pain wor.

but since rashes improve, now return with dark patches of dunno what on my left legs liao.

<font color="119911">Jasmine</font>,
went to dental 2 weeks ago. only had a short and simple scaling. acc to gynae, it is advisable not to do any jab, x-ray or if can wait till after delivery better. but normal washing, filling or scaling still can.

why u need to pull teeth, toothache?

re:ah gar gg to class. my gar also gg to xiao dou dou class this fri loh. will take half day leave to accompany her and hope she will be socialise with other kids before placing her in ccc in july.

<font color="119911">tuskywoollie</font>,
I also very terrible mah. my first trimster got bleeding/spotting till wk 14. tot sec trimster, I will be having honeymoon smooth preggie but....sob....cos had been rashes all over my body (tummy is the worst part till sunburn type) since early dec. now, improve liao, at least, my tummy no like sunburn type. but only mild rashes on my neck, legs and lower chest/side tummy and eyes. doc suspected either medicine or painting in my office. sian...hope my third trimster will be gd.

<font color="119911">sung</font>,
re:pineapple tarts.
true, better to limit ourself to consume this. but at least, it is cook better than eat those fruit pineapple. however, take note of the sweetness.

same same, another half day work for me tml. same same, next week, will be gg for my growth scan. ppls gg for antental visit in private hospital or clinic dun have any growth scan, they only have detail scan. hmm....

re:soy milk ice-cream from mr bean.
hi 5..same same as me.

re:confinement.
agreed with what teddybaby mentioned.when mil or mum do CL, one will tend to have conflict. like my cl very terrible, horrible and miserable. that's why my last cl period not gd, not enu rest etc.So health suffered and got headaches often during bf time. so this time, hiring cl liao cos mum is taking care of no#1.

<font color="119911">sung/sun</font>,
re: habit on old folk.
hai....justt shake head. evne my mum is too stubbon to listen. she still prefer her own way of raising up child then she will tell u, i raise u all 3 up so big liao etc.....they just dun want to follow/upgrade them to the new methods of raising up child. even hygenic wise also not gd...always assume and said her hands clean etc.... that's why my gar being spoilt, know who to look for protection adn bully my mum only. if bck to my hse, she will be guai guai.

<font color="119911">sun</font>,
I always take MC after every visit to gynae.

<font color="119911">keron&amp;Jeris</font>,
first time mum??
last time, i am worried but but when see bb out, what a relief wor...also all tiredness and pain gone liao. miracle wor....dun think so much, I only prayed I will have a smooth and fast delivery this time. like my frenz, her sec bb only pop out 10 mins....envy...

<font color="119911">vernice80</font>,
re:diapers. me also day time will use cloth one. like last time, my gar on clothes nappy for 6mth...
why not get the bigger size one (nappy clothes got 2 size, one big and one small)? last time I got mine at the bb shop (cheong chong, something like that) located at blk 34 or 32 upper cross street (beside OG).

<font color="119911">oopsgal</font>,
hmm..long time never seen u post liao.

re:disposable panties
me will be getting from watsons loh esp when it got offer at $1.95.

<font color="119911">grace</font>,
wow...gd keep it up, bf for 18mth.. me bf for 12mth 1 week, also too tired to consider, energy draining away.

<font color="119911">Pups, Devil &amp; Kome</font>,
re:bf issue.
need lot of encourage, support, preservance and determination one. jia you....u can do it. haa think of the
cost saving,slimming down (ai-mei mei figure wor), bonding between bb and mummy (even papa also cannot do
that) and the sterlisation of bottle issue...hassle free wor...cos mummy is like a walking milk bottle liao
(this applied to me).

some mummies just consume the so called fenugreek which can booast up bm supply.

yeah, first 3 days no milk except the yellow col.....dunno what 's that call? just let bb latch on or pump,
this will stimulate and build up yr milk supply. like u last time, first time mummy, very worried no milk so
did not buy any pump. then after 1 week, milk like 'water fountain' cos during Confinement mth, eat lot of
fish (fish (of cos got other ingredient) mee sua or bee hoon in the morning and fish soup for dinner)
followed by lot of red dates with longan water and brown rice water (mum fried the brown rice with ginger
then sun it so I only pour hot warm and drink).

afterall, never give up, with preservance and determination to bf, one can succeed. during my antental course last 2 yrs, mid-wife mentioned that every mum after delivery sure have milk (unless medicine condition cannot bf), it 's up to individual to stimulate the milk flow.

latching on wrongly also one of the issue not to stimulate milk flow and
then bec of pain/sore nipple, mum give up. just share my experience, I also encountered very sore nipple

nearly bleed but I still persist to bf (think of the cost and bonding...:p) and then apply bm to heal it.
my frenz also dun believe me that I bf for so long and she kept asking sure or not...why not stop.cos she
herself stop after 1 mth and then go holiday wor....leaving bb with her mum. my sil also always said that no
milk no milk bec the problem lies with her (told her liao), she is lazy to pump that's why no stimulate, no
reflex. bf is based on supply and demand.

for me, during the 3Days stay in the hospital, at first, I was pai seh to ask nurse to help out but the
second night bo biah and build up my courage to ask for help bec ah gar kept on screaming at night in the
hospital (also scared disturb other patient). think she pek chek cos when I latched on her, think she can't
consume anything, so kept on struggling and then I pressed the button and then call for help. one kind nurse
(lucky she on duty, she 's one of the so call 'experience' one) taught me how to latch on. wow, seeing her
like very easy, just push my gar onto breast etc....then I realised my gar is latching onto my nipple instead of aerora man...that's how I realised I latched on incorrectly. fr then onwards, I became

<font color="119911">st</font>,
re: install bb cot.
for me, we are padang cannot set up new bed etc... so when I was in hosptial after delivery. hubby asked them to deliver new bed and then set up only. for bb playpen (no cot), hubby install himself also like that. he told me that he also study long time before knew how to set up.

<font color="119911">Grace and Sun</font>,
re:piece of white thing stuck to the yellow valve
I got mine fr the SMH thread loh.

<font color="119911">maple</font>,
re:caregiver.
I gave my mine $600 to take care of my gar during her infant day. but when she is abt 10mth onwards, increase to $800 then now to $900 liao cos of solid food etc.of cos, all these excluding diapers &amp; milk powder expenses.

for me, I dun spend much on bb stuff. most of thing are hand down. only diapers and fm (fr her first yr onwards) so will stock up when there is promotion. hence, one need to look out for diaper and fm promotions.

<font color="119911">pinksorbet</font>,
re:bb position.
same same....I also confused where his head etc...will be gg for growth scan next wk and see where bb is lying liao.

re:eek:ld clothes
true true, abt what old folk saying ' bb more guai, easier to look after".

re:gain weight.
gd wor...not much weight gain. I gain 2.4kg per mth (exclude first trimster, only 1kg and lost another 0.5kg also). so far, only 6kg gain as of first trimster till wk 26. think it is due to fm I consume. my last preggie, only increase 1kg per mth now different wor.

<font color="119911">pinksorbet/SG</font>,
re:labour.
haa just dun think too much. relax. seeing bb is gd enu to cure one tiredness and pain liao...one that no words can describe how a mum 's feeling wor...just pray hard delivery will be fast and smooth just like my frenz, 10 mins bb pop out liao for her sec one. so next week, I will be wk 28 liao and think will gain 2.4kg also. cos 2 week, went doc, weight gain 0.4kg.but still afford to gain cos i'm underweight mah.

<font color="119911">kome</font>,
same thinking as me, shd I reduce their 'salary' rate since expense will be increase after no#2 arrive and also no#1 is gg to ccc.

hmm u are vegetarian? VEery seldom can find ccc cater vegetarian food leh. shd be more ex one.

<font color="119911">Queenie</font>,
Re: confinement.
can heat yr food with normal stove. not gd to heat up with mirowave loh cos of radiation. have u think of ordering cl food catering?

<font color="119911">seabreeze</font>,
my mum also said that she can't cope with 2 kids thats' why i need to send my gar to ccc in july while I'm in last mth of my ML.cos she said kids now very hard to entertainment and active.

re:leg cramp.
ask hubby to massage and in the end, more cramp wor that night....sob.

<font color="119911">blurjen</font>,

re:cot mattress

I bought the playpen (size 43cm x 28cm) 3 inch mattress (come with mattress sheet) last time for my gar for $21 (after 20% discount). then after 1.5 yr of sleelping onto the mattress, it 's kind of sink in the middle. so bought the tailor made mattress at neighbourhood furntiture shop at $40. much higher, think 5 inch and better quality. we are thinking of tailor made sea horse brand bb mattress but too ex wor...abt $80-$90. what if bb leak urine..mattress jialat loh....

woke up at 4.30am this morning despite going to bed at 12.40am.

Aiiiiiiiiiii I keep getting interrupted sleep these days. Not sure why I wake up either, I just do and quite often I just can't go back to sleep. Oh Woe!

Had a quick scroll through the messages above

Re: cutting/sewing/bb clothes etc etc etc
Sorry, imho all these are old wives' tales. Unless there is a logical explanation I don't buy any of them. Besides, I have seen so many people breaking these "taboos" and their kids turned out perfectly fine. I believe in exercising common sense lah. Just my two cents. Different strokes for different folks

Re: dark armpits
me too! Oh my goodness. I used to have smooth and nice armpits but ever since I got preggie, both sides have become darker with dark streaks running across. VERY UGLY. I have become so conscious of raising my arms in public now because seriously they look unkempt. sob sob

Re: weight gain
I am entering into my 31st week tomorrow. Have put on 10.5kg since. :p too much chocolates and ben &amp; jerrys. Basically I snack round the clock. Hehehe

Re: leg cramps
I get it fairly often too. Hate it. It usually happens right after I wake up, especially if I try to have a good stretch. So these days I am conscious of not stretching too hard upon waking up. If hubby is around, I will make more noise. Heheheh then he will be instantly roused from his sleep and will try to massage my leg. Sometimes he blur blur massage the wrong leg. So funny

Re: Confinement by mom
I'm lucky because my mom has been there and done that with my elder sister 3 times. So I imagine she will be well trained. Besides, I think it is easier for me to quarrel with her (very bad hor) than with a hired CL. Seen my sis go through that with her many times esp in her first confinement.

Re: maternity clothes
Heng managed to get away with not having to buy any maternity clothes till date. Very small size to begin with mah, so surviving on loose dresses and yoga pants. But my clothing choice is getting more and more limited with each passing day.

Re: Labour
me also damned scared. I have a very low threshold for pain. can't even take needles without cringing. Aiyo. Somemore I am very small sized. Pre-preggie only 39.5kg at a height of 152cm. Not unhealthy skinny lah, just had high metabolic rate and very small &amp; light bones. Somemore my bb seems a bit big. At the last gynae visit, she was alwasy 1kg at 27.5 weeks. How on earth is she going to come out from my V?! OMG. Have a feeling I might have to go C-sec. Had two friends who went through C-sec (and one of them just had it done 1.5 mths ago) told me just recently that their wounds hardly hurt after that. In fact, the one who just gave birth said her breast engorgement was much more painful.

Afcai,
thanks for sharing about your BF experience. I am hoping to BF all the way for at least the first 6 months, before going partial. Can save alot of money + best for the bb. I read that our BM can actually minimise the risk of our babies falling prey to a no. of bb prone illnesses. Will try my very best. Your post is very encouraging to a complete newbie like me

P/s what happened to Gingal? Hope she is ok

Xiao liao. Can't sleep at all. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

p/s some time ago I posted links to download free sewing patterns for making baby booties. One of them was for the kimono style boots. I haven't tried that one then but have since made a pair. My advice for those who are interested is, use the first pattern instead. The kimono styled booties turned out much harder to make.

keron
i tot preggy mum not allow to touch 'whitening' pdt? tat's wat i heard fr my gf... try to avoid it can...

Been disturbed by my relatives from Malaysia till 3am+, now my eyes felt so heavy.
2029801.gif

At least today only work half day.