(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

actually my MIL very hard to understand... when we 1st told her abt the pregnancy, she asked my hubby if we were going to keep the bb -_-" we jus gt married in feb this yr... maybe too sudden ba... so i was quite upset with her question but i kept quiet... hubby says she is nicer now becos my tummy is growing and its becoming more real for her.... i think its more becos im having a girL ... and so far she only has 2 grandsons! =P MIL told my mum before that she prefers girls... she doesnt like boys... -_-" do u knw she even bought doll for the younger grandson to play with -_-"

the diff is that if my own mum does my confinement, if any friction or unhappiness, i can jus tell her... but if MIL then i wont be able to tell her... and have to go thru hubby... i dont want to put hubby in a fix...

now a bit lost but i hope my mum will make the effort to pick up the phone and come up with a plan with my MIL... i mean they shld be discussing it right? not for me to dictate to them what to do leh... hai...

*hugs sung*

oh dear....haha your mil is a bit strange in her extreme liking for gals :p hee hee...

yeah i agree, with our own mum, easier to just speak out even if is disagreement. with mil sure cannot unless we want the relationship to become very strained so def will hv addtl pressure sigh...

yup, would be good if your mum will speak to your mil directly. hee maybe your mum oso paiseh dun know what to say and is hoping your mil will call her haha..

sigh, we dun tink too much liao...now 3rd tri liao, realised i'm starting to hu si rao xiang again. must curb and control!

jia you jia you to us all! and big hugs back!

hi all!

have been reading all ur posts.
can really take me hours to catch up.

hoon
u feeling better? hope ur condition is under controlled.

Re: confinement
my mil is still very keen to do it for me.
she will be coming over to my hse to tk care baby and doing laundry for us and housekeeping.

however for the cooking part - she is passing over to my hb's GUGU.. coz my mil says she donno how to cook confinement food...
but the problem is MIL will go to GUGU's hse to bring the food over to my place. for my pattern, i don like to eat cold food one. Especially now is talking about confinement food we should even tk it while hot.. den my hse don have microwave lor..SEH.

den lately hor, during the Dong Zhi festive when i went back to hb's ah gong hse for dinner.
my mil was saying the GUGU will cook lunch, my hb come home after wrk den cook dinner.
but what abt my breakfast....
hb already opposed to the idea of him cooking for my dinner after he reaches hme liaos.

even tho' im telling myself frets not and leave everything in God's hands but im still kinda of feeling insecured. coz my MIL like haven finalise wad she wants leh.
and i really donno if she knows how to tk care of baby or not. i tink this point im just toking rubbish. haha.
coz this my MIL 1st grandchild, and is my mom's 6th grandchild so automatically, i would think my mom will do a better job than MIL.
Or am i juz being baised?

ARGH...... im really trying my best to learn to obey ! but like very hard lehh...
MIL say wad i oso nvr revoke her.. juz keep quiet.

paiseh ah.. pouring my woes again.

until now, i still got many things havent buy.
hb keep saying wait wait wait. donno wan wait till when..... coz im getting abit more clumsy then b4. hahas.

Missycandy,

I think it is very nice of ur MIL to travel to Sembawang to cook for u. Think no need to stress, just let her travel and if u observe that she is tired, ask her not to come every day. Though ur mom very free, if u really want a confinement with bb taken care of by others, cooking and looking after may be too much to cope. Moreover, ur MIL's intention might also be to look at her granddaughter every day since u mentioned that she likes girls more. If u really paiseh, after confinement, bring MIL out for a nice good meal..

Queenie,

Heh... think u might want to consider confinement catering (they cover all meals). Dont worry abt no microwave, there is always steaming and boiling to heat food up. That's my plan if the confinement maid fly kite at me last min... hahaha

sun96,

went home to double check yesterday. The cream that i use on my legs is called Relaxing Cream-Gel For Tired Legs... Elancyl.

i think so far i've gained about 12.8 kgs in total nw im week 29 liao..my tummy like swimming pool(placenta big) and alot of water in there for swimming haha :D

wah kaoz, 2 days ago kenna leg cramp.. 3rd time so far liao.. was telling myself not to overstretch when i woke up from bed.. dunno why that morning notti overstretch loh..

about my Mini^me's movements, usually she active after abt an hour after i had my meals.. recently got once she woke me up to eat at 3am thought after that can sleep aldy, but i cant sleep she moving until 7am finally she tired of swimming in there.. then i can sleep loh.. =P

asura
morning!!!
thks!!! will go see see in pharmacy...

meebb
wat abt yr bb weight? since u put on quite a lot, bb must be heavier in w29 right?

sung
2025531.gif
hope yr nauseous faster go away!!!

meebaby - i oso had leg cramps in the midnight...i was having dreams and i tink the tension caused my left leg to cramp...it was so painful...i tried to bear with the pain and then fell asleep....after that i woke up again with dreams and tension, this time its my right leg to kana the cramp...wah piang...i tink the pain is pretty unbearable...told myself to relax and take deep breaths...didn't wanna wake hb up cos he was realli tired and sleeping soundly...

dun feel quite well this morning...feeling kinda giddy and having heartburn...v sian...and yesterday my feet were swollen...spoke to my mum over the fone yesterday and she said how come i so early have water retention since should onli come during the 8th and 9th months (close to delivery)...i oso dunno...

morning gals..

Do you feel especiallly warm these days? I think it's cos i m in my last trimester and that I keep sweating a lot. I find myself commplaining about warm while my colleagues and friends commented that they are cold.. is it normal??

pinksorbet, hope you feeling okay.. y don't you take mc and stay at home?

wah.. the thread is so fast that I hardly catch up..

Morning Ladies!!

Wintertime,
I also feel warm leh. Start to have difficulties sleeping at night already.

RE: Baby stuffs
Looks like majority of u bought the stuffs already. I got to ask hb get the cupboard ready so that I can start washing and packing before the tum tum get bigger.

Morning

Wintertime
I do feel hot also. Its normal coz we are having 2 temperatures.

May
Today i just realise that after CNY than start doing my washing and preparing baby clothes seem too late. Mmmm.....might need to replan my schedule again.

sorbet
my feet on n off hv slight water retention too... tink try to walk less n rest yr feet more... the rest day, the swollen will be gone...
sometimes both my hands oso will feel swollen when i squeeze tight...

wintertime
is norm la... i oso feel warm
my mum said at last trimester, our body will feel very heaty one... my fan is switch to speed 2 every night and i try to avoid turn on aircond unless i really cannot ta han...

Kome,
Still ok mah? I intend to wash after CNY also leh. My EDD is late march. But I need space to put all the new clothing.

Sun & May
My EDD is on 17 Mar, in case might deliver early will be in end of Feb. As i stay with my mum now and only weekend will be going back to my PIL condo to stay. I will be doing confinement over there, so will only be able to do packing and washing over there during weekend. If after CNY left abt 2 weekends for me to do all the things.

Wintertime,

It is normal. I am already contemplating switching on both the air-con and fan at nite.. Before i was pregnant already sweating at nite with air-con on.. can u imagine now? haha

wintertime - still feeling giddy and like having MS feeling now...hb told me why not dun go to work...told him i should feel better later...

sun - thanks ya i tink today my feet less swollen....

i still feel v cold leh, am i abnormal?

meebaby,

My leg cramp is quite jia lat too... both calfs cramp together. I got to make an effort to remember not to stretch my legs when i wake up in the morning else... haiz... cramp big time. but hor, i find the leg cream not bad, cos when i apply the cramping feeling is not so strong. Hee

kome
icic... then u should slowly start yr preparation lor...

sorbet
tink temp varies differently btw mummies ba...
mayb yr office aircond is super cold tat's y u feel cold right now?

Asura
I can also feel that if i stretch my leg, they will cramp also. Every night will remind myself not to stretch them coz sure will get the cramo if i stretch them. I so scare of the cramp.

May & Sun
Ya lor, at first thought still early can wait till after CNY than do washing and packing. Looks like now i have to start

sun - was even breaking out in cold shivers this morning...i'm gone abnormal today...

asura - i overstretch my legs hence the bad cramps this morning...seems like pregnant we can't do stretching too much hor....if not will get pains cramps here and there....

May,Kome, sun glad that I m not alone..

Asura, wahahhaa.. i only on aircon and lower the temperature.. did not use fan..

Kome, start preparing early.. my gf deliver one month before her EDD and she has not prepared her stuff by then.. so imagine how panicking she was that time...so she advice me to pack as early as possible.

pinksortbet, monitor a bit. if really not feeling well, go home and rest early.

meebb, i was lucky so far no leg cramps for me.. keepign fingers crossed. maybe my swimming does help a little. not much water retention as yet. hope will not appear.

Wintertime
Sure.....prepare to start washing baby new clothes this weekend. Need to check with my mum to find out where are all the old clothes also. Can bring back to wash also next week.

Kome, ya manz.. i washed bb's clothes last week too... my hb was contemplating if he should iron the clothes!!! wahhaha.. too lazy leh.. so much bb's clothes cos many are hand down ones.. we only manage to buy few new ones

Wintertime
Don't need to iron lar.....your hb so anxious. Time flies very fast another 2 months and you will have a child in your hand already.

Kome, hees.. ya manz.. ya lor.. hb excited cos first bb mah.. he din even want to use hand down stuff from my siblings!! I had spent a long time convincing him to reuse my brother hand down stroller, playpen and carseat.. grrhhhh..

Temperature
Previously, I used to feel cold even tho pple ard me are warm...Nowadays, I need a fan blowing at me in the office!!! =)

Washing of baby clothes
My mum has volunteered to wash..so have passed the whole stack to her....*so mean,rite*

Wintertime
Let him know that bb outgrow very fast and old people said wearing hand down clothes baby will be easier to look after.

Grace
Heehee......ok lar. My mum also help me wash all the clothes for my son last time. Wahaha.....now she too tired to do all this for me because of my monster son already, so have to do it by myself.

re: confinement - MIL or mum??

my mum orginally asked me to ask my MIL to do my confinement too cos my mum is taking care of my #1 but my MIL oso came up with lots of stuff oso lar ... saying that i need to stay at her place lar cos she know the ppl in the mkt, i might not like her cooking (pls lor i have been taking meals at her place for the last 9yrs without any complains ok!!)

she even say that why not my mum do the confinement and she take care of my #1 instead - she must have been crazy cos my #1 only sees her like once a week and his schoool is near my mum's place and NOT hers

and when we were discussing ... all she talk abt was cooking and NO mention of taking care of the bb

so i told my hubby that your mum might think that its v simple lor ... cos she will also need to bath the bb, wash the bb clothes etc even my hubby thinks that his mum doesnt know what does the confinement entails

in the end i had to ask my mun to do it for me with the condition that i send my #1 to child care lor luckily my mum agreed cos her original concern was that she cant cope with 2 kids - esp when my #1 is super active

in any case i dun wan to stay with her for that whole mth oso lar ... no air-con and no proper place for me to zzz then all the bb stuff is at my mum's & my own place

i always rem when i had #1 ... all she ask me is "Enough milk or not??" and we had a huge fight over that lor

so to conclude if mum can do it ... better let the mum do it unless MIL is v experienced in doing confinement cos we can show face to mum but MIL still got to control

re: leg cramp

me do ... sometimes zzz half-way dunno why itchy leg go and stretch then kanna v bad cramp heehee

wintertime
can understand tat tis yr 1st child so yr hb prefer new stuff for yr child ma... at least to reuse the stroller, playpen n carseat can save quite a lot of $$ and in turn can use tis amount of $$ on other stuffs for yr child...

dun tink need to iron la... such a small pc of cloth... ke ke
juz fold nicely n keep in cupboard will do...

grace
my mum oso wanna wash for me... she'll do tat aft CNY at least wouldn't be too far away fr my EDD... not mean la, sound so bad... should be helpful ba...
2025794.gif

kome
if my nephew is very naughty n playful, should i still use back his clothing? guai one nvm but mischievous one how?

Sun
This i have not heard before. Since you worry, i think you better find those that are guai one. For my son, my mum get from my neighbour's sister . Most of them are gals clothes and colour, that gal look guai guai one. But my son now very mischevious.

wintertime - yr hb opposite from mine...he wants to use all the old stuffs...he keeps telling he his sis has lots of clothes to pass to us...dun need to get new clothes for bb...i was the one who insisted to get some new ones so that bb can wear during special occasions...he agreed....

Re: Confinement
for me my hb and i have employed a hainanese CL...fyi, my hb and his parents all are hainanese, then we meet up the other time the CL loves to converse to my MIL in hainanese to the extent that my MIL told her to speak in chinese cos i dun understand...sometimes can't help to think she may tell things to my MIL which i dun understand...and then i may feel ignored by the CL too....cos she will pay more attention to my MIL...i dunno la, mayb tink too much...haha

Morning mummies, legcramp, wah liu very painful manz...over weekend kanna attack twice, one leg each! Till today still feel abit of pain

Pass down bb stuff, oh my hubby is very practical one, he welcomes all passdwn stuff frm frens and relatives!
Wah Wintertime,I envy u manz..all the major items like carseat, stroller are pass dwns, can save lots of money leh!
Clothes ah...will buy a few pieces cos when bb born & full mth,sure alot of new gifts one and they out grow very fast.
Got 2 big bags of clothes, hats, towels and mittens pass dwn frm my cousin so very happy,hehe!

Washing bb clothes, liquid detergent or powder better?

RE: Washing bb clothes

Think can put in washing machine? Handwash a bit tough for me leh.... cant seem to squat comfortably these days. Paiseh to ask my MIL to help me with it.

Sun
Haha......try not to be 'pantang' too much if not baby might be 'pantang' also and will be difficult to look after. My mum actually did told me before that its alright one, coz that time my SIL also said that she don't want those not guai children clothes.

Asura
I intend to put all baby clothes into a washing net and throw them into washing machine to wash. Baby clothes so small and alot, very difficult to hand wash lar.

Feel warm but only use fan but still pespiring leh...but i need mattress to cover my legs otherwise will get leg cramps
Use aircon, my hubby say I snore..faintz....

My feet starts to swell
and can't wear some of my shoe as too tight. Have to eat more bananas to increase potassium.
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/pregnancyswelling.html

I think iron baby clothes is okay as high heat helps to kill germs (esp. if didn't hang under hot sun).

I don't have hand-me-down clothing leh... I prefer new one for my baby
I think can try to soak new clothing longer and wash a few times to make baby clothes softer then baby will not feel uncomfortable and therefore guai guai...

kome,

Yah.. that's sounds so much easier.. i think i shall do just that... hee... Cos there are pple who say bb clothes must handwash... i think that, i leave it to the CL.

Asura,
I heard bb clothes must handwash with baby detergent. I just dun care leh. For my 1st gal, I just dump everything into washing machine and use TOP detergent. Only when she is older, I mix with adults home clothes.

Think maybe some 1st time mummy prefer new things, but now economy recession, it is better to save for my case la,haha!
Nw I very vexed, dunno to buy bb cot, playpen or yalan....will get a playpen as can bring around esp at my mum place...
I am glad that I dun hv MIL issue cos she stay in overseas, think when our bb gal 1 yr old, then will bring her to see my MIL

When I told my MIL I am hiring a confinement lady, she is very happy cos my SIL also pregnant now wont be doing confinement cos she dun belive in such things, but maybe brought up in western environment lor

sung,
I think heartburn is like burning sensation at the throat there, I also got this feeling lately.

Re: leg cramp,
Also got it in the mid of the nite recently, yell quite loud and woke up my hubby. Hehe, then he massage for me.

Re: Tiredness
These 2 days have been feeling more tired than usual, sleep earlier and wake up later. Wonder if its gotta do with entering 3rd trim?

Re: Confinement
Think best to get CL if $ not an issue. Cos will min. conflicts with mum/mil. Afterall, CL is paid to do her job, if din do well or not happy, can voice out easily. Harder to do so with mum/mil. Also its actually quite a tiring job to do, wouldn't want to tire my mum/mil out.

mangogal
i'm using detergent one... hv already passed 1 bottle to my mum, the other 1 i kept...
coz special promo for pigeon detergent - 2 for $13.90...

asura
i oso ask my mum to throw all in washing machine to save all hassle... tink should be fine ba as long as use bb detergent when washing bb stuffs...