(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

vernice80
since ur mom keep as saving for u as well..then will be quite ok.. my mom does tat as well.. =)

pinksorbet
wa, itz a bit troublesome and no privacy while staying with PIL one le... u can always bring over ur boy to their plc to stay lor.. they r pretty smart in earning more money le while u and ur hubby is going to give them more.. aiyo.. maybe have to ask ur pil to cut the taking care fee at least by half since they will oso have extra income from rental fee just in case if tat is finalize.. so u guys can save the rest for ur boy.. saving is always good for children future usuage..

pinksorbet,

same thing here... my MIL offered with good intentions to come to stay at our place from Mon to Fri so that we dont need to ferry bb every day. But i am not too comfortable with the arrangement. Reason is if sometimes really really tired want to take half day go home to sleep, there would be no where for me or want to spend some time alone with hubby. Now thinking of how to tell her nicely that we prefer to ferry bb to their place everyday.

sorbet
if yr PIL stay w u, u still need to give them taking care fee ma? norm if they stay w u, no need to give them as accomdation/food are all being paid for liao right?

asura
my hb wanna my mum to come over n stay w us on wkday to bbsit our son so we no need to ferry him to my mum's place daily... but my mum dun wan, she prefer her own place coz she can't sleep well in 'stranger' place...
but if MIL offered with gd intention, i dun tink i want lor... more or less got conflict one... hahaha

sun - i hope my bb will hit at least 1kg if not will be too small..

p3pp3r - the idea is to rent out the flat so the rental hb can use it to pay to his parents for our bb's expenses...then the rest can be used to alleviate the household expenses part...
at first hb and i can have er ren shi jie (move to our new flat first b4 bb comes)...now got bb plan has to be changed liao...his parents want to move over with us...
can bring my boy over to my PILs if we stay at new flat...but they tink its silly lor...hb thinks since we staying together liao doesn't matter where we stay, might as well take the chance to rent out the present flat and all move over to new flat can earn more $$$ rather than leaving the new flat empty and continue staying at present flat....

sunshinebaby
sometimes in terms of $$ think inlaw come and stay at weekday better cos u dun need to buy extra stuff to place at her house...but of cos got conflict one leh....own mother better heheh

sun - now i'm staying at my in-laws place...aiya my hb onli son ma, thats why i tink they want to move in to our new place with us lor....i jus dun quite like the idea la...now hb gives my PILs jia yong, i dun give to them...mayb onli during bonus time i will give them some as a token of appreciation lor....

sun96,

Yah.. that's my concern too.. ALso i am worried that staying with us would result in interference in our teachings. Grandparents tend to dote on first born a lot.. I dont want my daughter to be confused over the teaching. Anyway, have made my decision just dont know how to approach and let her know.

asura - sigh...wat to do...my hb oso supportive over the decision of them moving over to our new flat...like its 3 vs 1 lor...cos we can't possibly ferry our boy to and from their place everyday...cos we dun own a car...besides its gg to be a very tiring arrangement not jus for us but for our bb too, cos every morning he will be woken up v early....

pinksorbet
ya we too dun have car..so will ferry baby to and fro..and can imagine me and bb will have to walk up very early...then come to work....so tired...

sorbet
yr hb is the only son tat's y PIL wanna stay w u...

asura
i agreed w u... teaching oso another headache if stay together...

hi mummies, been reading the posts.

my mil oso coming over to stay with us on weekdays but is we asked her one coz dun want to ferry bb around, so tiring and wun hv much time with bb then after work...

still really worried abt any conflicts and differences in practices. now already i dun hv much to talk to mil abt. next time dun know how, esp if we disagree on methods to look after bb jia liat liao. so hb and me agreed that we'll use the maternity leave period as a trial. if can adapt to each other is best, else must consider how else lor. hopefully mil wun be upset however it goes.

was reading, most of you will be giving quite a bit of allowance to mil for taking care of bb. since mil staying with us, we dun hv to give rite? at most a token plus the usual mthly allowance to her and fil? if give somemore, tink we'll be really tied up and broke.

p3pp3r - ya bo bian lor...haiz...

sun - thats why my gfs will joke say when marry, make sure bf is not the onli son...haha!! anyway, next time i oso dun tink i wanna stay with my DIL...they need their space i need my space too...

sung - i oso suggested to my PILs say my MIL can come stay over on weekdays then go back to her own place on weekends...she said dun wan cos tiring =_=...then if she come stay over on weekdays then will end up leaving FIL alone staying at their present flat...

sorbet
same tot as me... i oso prefer my own space w my ah lao... as long as my son n DIL visit me freq can liao...

st
shiok hor... can on leave for whole wk... u not on leave?

pinksorbet,

I think bo bian since ur hb is only son and he feels obligated to stay with them as well. For me, i welcome in-laws to stay with us if one of them leaves. i feel that if they are still each other's companion, there is no need to stay with children. My husband's opinion is to try ferrying every day first. If really find it too tiring then request MIL to stay on weekdays. For me, i think i would endure until we have #2 cos my colleagues say #1 still have time for ourselves, with #2, definitely all gone.

sun96,

The education part is really a big headache. Already when father and mother dont agree with each other, there would be conflicts in teaching. So it would be worse with another party in the picture. Like i mentioned earlier, i think i would only accept my MIL staying with me when i have #2. Maybe by then send #1 to childcare, then dont need also.. haha.. Shall see how it goes.

haha pink, sometimes i'm very conflict. on one hand, wish mil has not agreed to come over, then no need to worry so much. on the other hand, glad and grateful she agreed so at least bb dun hv to go infant care or we hv to travel. very confusing...and i guess worried and scared of wat will happened next time lor. hb always said i worry too much

Given a choice, it would be better to live on our own...reduce the possible conflicts..hee~~
For me, MIL will be taking care of me during confinement then the 2nd mth onwards, I'll take care of the baby on my own.

Anyway, I'm very fortunate...I have both parents and parents-in-law who are ever so ready to take care of Megan for me!!! =)

Have taken leave on Fri..so looking fowward to the 'long' weekend...

RE: Allowance to MIL

Actually my hb dont have a habit of giving monthly allowance. He always give when he feels like it, even the amt is never fixed. But since MIL got to look after our little one, I have decided that we got to give $500 each month. Amt looks a bit little compared to what u have been mentioning. Guess we shall monitor and judge whether amt is sufficient and top up where necessary.

st
u take leave to see yr gynae? yr co allows time-off? at least can save yr leave for other usage ma...

sung
at least take care by MIL or mum is better than send our bb to infant care... feel more secure w MIL or mum... but no matter wat, we'll still worry here n there one... can't help ba... hahaha

asura
u mentioned b4 u apply stg to yr swollen leg to soothes it... wat's the brand huh? it works right?

hmnnn best is no need to. but i tink ferrying everyday leaves you with little time with bb. imagine, by time reach pil house already 7 plus, then dinner, home with bb will reach maybe 8plus 9. either we are very tired or bb is very tired liao. not much time to spend with bb to cuddle, read or play. then still must bathe and do our own things before can sleep, will be very very tired everday. i hope to be able to spend at least 1-2 hrs a day with my bb. want to hug, cuddle and play with him and watch him grow....but must train him to sleep early too. dun want late night babies, hard to take care after tat...one of my gf let her kids sleep abt 11 plus 12 and now they so used to it, she can't even sleep early when she's sick. i hope my bb can go to bed by 8plus 9...

asura - ya i agree with u, perhaps if left onli one of them he/she can stay with us...if they have each other's company...still wan to stay with us? or mayb they traditional thinking....tink gotta stay with their onli son...besides i tink they oso wan to have their grandson by their side next time....i dun mind if i stay with them at their place, but not like both of them gg to move to my new flat....i mean if my own parents wanna come visit oso feel strange rite....dunno la...aiyo...i tink i will still feel abit restrictive even tho its gg to be my flat...how come my ah lao cannot understand ah...he thinks his parents give in to me liao ma...i can do things on how i wish to...he said its my own barrier i cannot overcome...

sung - i'm oso in a dilemma...on one hand i wish my PILs can help me out and that can apply if they are staying with us, besides got home cooked food to eat too...then i tot the more the merrier...but then on the other hand, i want to stay alone with my hb and son without my PILs cos i have my own home and privacy...

arlow mummies, just came bk from Lot 1 CCK..hee..went to buy sanitary pads from watson..bought 4pks of sofy 40.5cm ..1 pkt of 4 @ $1.89 + 2pks of sofy 35cm..1pkt of 8 @ $2.66..haha one big bag of pads??!! so paiseh..dun tink its enuff will buy nx round ba. also went to KP and bought the nursing pad..pigeon 36+6 @ $8.90 and tollyjoy 48pcs @ $6.90. nw still have the strength to walk..so better buy watever i see ba. =)

Re: bb's movement..lately my bb's movement very rough..me last nite din sleep well coz he's moving around..

hee..today had nasi bryani + 1 scoop of gelato from MOF..nw drinking avocado..bb kicking non stop dunnoe izzit too cold or he's enjoying the food inside..

me too looking fwd to see my bb but at the same time very scared also..dunnoe hw to overcome the fear leh..tats why lately eat chocolate + ice-cream to make myself happy. hee...

sun,
yeah agreed at least will not be sick so frequently compared to in infant care.... but i still worry so much over childcare methods and teaching. esp when i know and saw how my mil take care of other bbs, yup, lots of love and care but oso a lot of bad habits such as she allows them to watch all types of shows, play on the phone and basically treat them like a prince. so becomes spoilt in a way. worried next time my bb becomes another one
esp coz i tink grandparents are more indulgent already...sigh, wait hard to discipline another headache...

sun,
ops not leave..i normally take MC cos if time off i still need to come back and work...MC can dun need to come back office..

Kome - tink SG is scared of the delivery process...hehe, not scared to see bb ba? =P

SG - so nice i oso keep indulging in chocos and ice-creams....and bb will kick me hard...dunno issit too cold for him or is he enjoying? same thinking as u...hehe

Having our kids being taken care by our parents or parents-in-laws definitely has more advantages as compared to putting them in infant care or in the care of maids...so we definitely have a close an eye or 2....

Our little ones will definitely be 'spoilt' but wat to do...they are their grandchild...heee~~

kome..yah..haha quite glad that i went CCK..hee..scared the labour pain..cannot imagine leh..coz i've been suffering from menses cramp every mth b4 pregnant..the pain is aldy like unbearable..can roll on the floor..cold sweat and vomiting..and feel like chopping my waist off everytime i gt cramp coz of severe backache. and the labour pain is like million times more painful??!!

SG
ya lor, y scare of seeing yr bb lei???

st
ic... ya, MC is correct... hahaha
i wish i can take too but hb wanna save his leave so norm our appt will be on sat...

pinksorbet, haha..yah scared of the delivery... i hope the ice-cream n chocolate won't make me gain alot of weight..later Dr Heng will shake her head again..hahaha..tink not cold lah hor?..they must be enjoying like their mummies..hahaha..*excuses*

haiz pink,
i know, i feel so torn too. hates the feeling taht next time cannot hv privacy with hb and bb alone. and worst is like asura or sun said, if take leave, go home dun tok to her oso cannot. cannot hv time to ourselves and even if my mum want to come over, oso like very weird, if stay in my room, wait she tink i'm rude or got things to say abt her so not in the open, how? so many diff situations run thru my brain, tink overloaded with fears of all the bad situations haha...really thinking too much lah.

only way i can convince myself now is at least bb can stay home and got someone trusted to look after, no need go infant care. will c how things goes, if can, wish i cld become sahm and look after myself but now cannot coz economy too bad. hb work not secure too...cross our fingers...

SG
Ohhh.....so it because scare of pain. Actually, i am afraid of pain till. Not sure where is my pain tolerance. Better don't think now.

sg and pink
dun take too much cold stuff hor, not too good for bb. hee hee got cravings for ice cream too esp the soymilk ice cream from mr bean, yummy!

sun
i also want to take sat but gynae appt of sat also fully packed and very hard to get sat one...unless we booked 1-1 and half month ahead.

so no choice will take weekday

kome..i also dun wan to tink..but nowadays gt cramp on n off..will make me nervous..ok ok..try not to tink..i'll make myself busy..haha

sg,
me same as you, got very bad menses cramps every mth before pregnancy. one of the best thing abt pregnancy is no menses so "escape" from the pain for 10 mths. hope it doesn't come back with a vengence during delivery haha!

sung...u also suffer bad cramps ah? true lor..we escape the pain for 10mths, so happy...haha..n i hope the pain will disappear after birth..

For me is i don't like menses at all =P, so now enjoying menses free and don't need to worry will stain my clothes etc.