(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

mangogal,

Dont know man... The only obvious part would be the head, if u ever see it. But so far, my bb not so rough to show me her head.. hee
My bb no longer kicks me at the sides, nowadays is above the belly button or at the lower abdomen. Got a feeling that she is on her way to be head down or already head down but cannot be sure until go for scan.... my next scan is so long away! such a long wait!

st
yup... my mum told me not to stay in hse when they fix the bb cot...

mayb raffles city variety not tat much compare to centrepoint one?

Sunshinebaby,
Cant remember what it's called. Will check it when I get home....but here's a picture of it (the yellow portion & the rubber attached to it)
2022267.jpg

mangogal,

I dont know what is considered buy all liao. But i think there should be enough for the time being. Tired of buying things. I never liked shopping to begin with. Probably need a changing mat to put on those public changing stations, a waterproof layer for the bb cot. The rest would be toiletries stuff... I think i shall wait for the baby fair at expo and taka to continue buying... Stroller, tot of getting additional one but havent decide so maybe would wait for next Isetan sale if the baby fairs dont have good deals.

oki Asura, haa head very difficult to see right?
Think more is hands or legs popping frm the tummy la, I also suspect my gal head is dwn cos i feel wriggling on lower ab, maybe her hands or arms
Oh so u take ur time to buy ur stuff..anyway u went US sure u bought alot liao

Grace and Sun,
Are you all talking about the piece of white thing stuck to the yellow valve? If yes, it is called the membrane. You can get a pack of 6 membranes from shops like mums & babes. but I think it is quite expensive to get in Singapore. Cheaper if you can get from US websites.

Sorry to intrude. I noticed some of you intending to get a breast pump. I have a Medela Pump In Style Advanced The Metro Bag 2008 for sale.

This pump is a US import set with no warranty. Used occasionally (once a day or every other day only) for only 7 weeks. Hence, the set is really almost new.

I will be providing an ORIGINAL medela adapter as well. I prefer original adapter as i feel that using a no-brand one is risky. In other words, you get an original Medela US adapter and an original Medela SG adapter.

I will be replacing the SoftFit breastshields with new ones and will be providing an additional new pair of valves and membranes. The collection bottles have never been used at all as I expressed straight into glass bottles to store.

I would like to sell for about $420 slightly negotiable as its really new and I am replacing most parts.

Metro Bag is slightly better than backpack or shoulder as the pump has its own case and is not affixed to the bag. 2008 is better than previous versions as the 2 phase technology is improved and you can go back and forth between the phases
with a switch.

Anyone interested?

Me on leave till this friday. Going to pull out my teeth this friday, kind of scare as long time didn't do any pull out of teeth...

Devil,
I will be going for C-sect, as I have high blood pressure condition even before preggy, my #1 also C-sect, so gynae says let stay as C-sect. My gal going to her class for the 1st time this coming saturday, really hope that she will be ok... have been telling her about going to school and make friends... she kind of looking forward but don't know will she be crying through again this time round... I will be letting my hubby go with her to the class this time round as I can't be sitting on the floor mat with a big tum tum...

Jasmine
My boy going to childcare this friday. I also kind of worried for him. hope he will not been bully by others.

So when will you be doing C-sect?

Sun,
The yellow part which grace have attach the pic is call the valve & the white thin piece attach is call the membrane... You can look out in the WTS, as I have brought a pkt from there for $15 think got 6-8 pieces in a new pkt. Retail think selling at $30.50.

kome,
Gynae say I can chose the date from 22 Feb onwards... but she did tell me her operations day is every tuesday so she say best is 24 Feb... my mum going to check if the date is ok... I did drop by popular to look at the Tong Shu it did state there is good for me & hubby on the 24th Feb... so for now my mum will need to confirm if its ok on this date. And this date is lunar 30th last day of yi yue...

mangogal,

If bb very rough... can see head one... that's the most obvious part. Cos head is abt 1/3 of the body so if head jut out,the bump would be extreme big and round.. hee
Bought a lot of stuff liao but seems like not enough leh... haiz...i think now i shall only concentrate on what the possible stuff i need during confinement then cant be bothered liao..

Jasmine
Oh.......think i will need to ask my gyane also as i have high blood pressure during last trimester, but i do hope to carry my son till full term

Devil
No need envy you can also go buy de. For me I onli buy clothes for baby the rest nothing much cos I dun buy like cot and so all no need to buy so onli can buy clothes lor. haha.

Can someone share, how much I need to allocate as spending for Baby per month, from new born to 4 years old?

If MIL is taking care of BB, how much should I pay her? I think she is expecting $500, is it too much?

jasmine - so u have decided to pull out yr tooth, hope it is not too uncomfortable for u lying in that reclining position for dentist to pull yr tooth...all the best ya...

caca - u realli bought a lot of bb clothes...i got handdowns of two bags of clothes from my SIL...quite a number of them are yellowish liao and i didn't want them...my MIL said bb should wear old clothes cos will be more "guai" dunno how true it is...traditional saying or thinking? so poor thing if my boy doesn't have new clothings so i bought some new ones for him too...can't wait to see him wearing that mus be so cute lor...hehe

maple - i'm oso thinking how much to pay to my MIl for taking care of my bb...

Re: baby kicks and movements
Now i have been feeling them all over the place and i'm oso confused where his head, legs are lying...guess he's doing somersaults inside and v active now....or mayb cos he's grown bigger so i can feel them v clearly...

as the delivery date draws near, i'm both excited and scared at the same time...dunno how the delivery will go being a FTM....

Maple & Pinksorbet
I giving my mum $600 per mth to look after my son excluding diapers & milk powder expenses. Think market price is around there.

Re: Baby kicks and movement.
My baby does not kick alot and hard. I am worry about him. NExt monday will be going for my check up hope he is doing fine.

Re: Baby kicks and movements
i think mine got a little bit weird.. seasonal one.. like every two to three days he is most active from day to night but only 1-2 days within a week he seem motionless, unless i slept sideway than i able to detect mild movements from him.. sometime really scare me when i dun feel him moving...
something to share, i went for the movie IP MAN with my hubby last friday , guess wat, baby seem to be able to see the show or know wat we r watching, started pactising his kungfu inside me especially whenever there's fighting scene.. wahahaha.. so cute.. my hubby can feel him as well.. very violent inside... tmr will be my 28th week of checkup.. hope everything is fine.. =)

kome - thanks...i tink i will give around $600 to $700 too, but if include household expenses i tink hb and i should give at least $700 ba...

p3pp3r - my bb sometimes stay motionless too...then i'll be thinking whether he's ok inside? sometimes i got bad thinkings will try to press abit harder on the tummy hoping bb will kick but hb told me not to disturb him...haha

I'll be visiting my gynae this sat and hope bb is doin well too...wonder how heavy is he now...hope will be at least 1kg as i will hit 28weeks this week.

Jasmine
Ic... I still looking around for a playgroup for my gal. Hopefully can find one soon.

Caca
yes.. Will be going to buy soon.. I guess... But wont be buying clothes... Will use back my #1 clothes.. Have to buy baby cot, etc..

Besides, MIL taking care of BB, I still have a maid to assist her. So, I am wondering do I still have to pay her $500. Me and my hubby stay with her and in fact, we are footing all the daily household expenses from A to Z.

If I am going to be a SAHM, then i can save S$500 + maid expenses (S$650)

pinksorbet
Including household expense, i think yes you will need to give at least $700.
Me too will have bad thinking also as sometimes i will not be able to feel baby movement.

My son going childcare this friday onwards. Not sure if should i continue to give my mum $600 or to lower it. Scare my mum scold me if i ask her if i can reduce the money given to her or not.

afternoon mummies,
I think the mkt rate is abt $600-$700 w/o night care. I won't be giving my mum bb allowance as i am getting maid for her. But still have to give those normal "Jia Yong" lah..

i am visting gynae tonight..this shld be my w28d6..wonder how heavy is the bb now.

Vernice
Same as you, today i am in my w28d6 too.

Maple
Since you have a maild for your MIL, i don't think you will require to give her that much.

pinksorbet
so cute.. i always disturb him one.. maybe too bo liao already.. hahhaha..

i will be at w28d4 for tmr's checking.. hoping him to be more than a kg as well..

i bought a latex mattress for the baby cot tat is given down by my relative but then haiz.. itz too small for the cot.. bo bian now gotta try all ways to stuff the empty spaces... =(

Asura, oki I will take note of the bb head but sometimes my tummy abit loopsided, is that the bb head sticking out?
Aiya gal dun worry, when u pop ah sure gt alot of gifts frm frens ones and maybe somemore passdwn, if still nt enuff, ask ur husband buy for u during confinemrnt lor

BB movement, I also make sure bb move daily, I very scared sudden hard kicking, I prefer her wriggiling me..hee so cute :p

Jas, did u inform Eunice u gng for extraction of ur teeth? Wah so excited for u since u gng to pick a c sect date
Was ur No 1 c sect?

kome - thats the thing lor...sensitive issue...easy to increase the $$ but not easy to lower it...mayb u can try explaining to her since yr son gg to childcare mayb part of it need to go to the childcare and the remaining shall go to her....

generally i tink if there's a maid to assist the MIL to help look after the bb, i tink dun need to give so much..

maple,
in ur case, i guess don't need ba...my personal opinion lah..
If u r SAHM, u do save maid expenses but depends on how much u r earning per mth if u r working.

p3pp3r - stuff pillows or bolsters into the empty spaces? hope the spaces are not too wide...

mangogal - i'm oso scared if he kicks too much...i'm a troublesome mummy - my hb said i troublesome too...bb kick so much worry cos i scared he is in some sort of distress inside, dun kick i oso worry...haha

kome,
when is ur EDD? doc say mine was 30 mar during 1st checkup and she nvr change till now. but if i use the normal calendar to count,my edd shld be 24 mar wor..now i also confused.

Sigh...w/o bb, i already got to give my mum $700 each mth liaoz...i doubt she will allow me to reduce lor..sianz..

re: bb movememt,
realise my bb super active these few weeks..keep moving. but now instead of left/right, its more like up/down movement. my hb very irritating, keep askin bb to move.

Pinksorbet
Wahaha.....my son childcare monthly fees only cost $60. Thats the problem as this will not be able to be my excuse to lower the $$ to give to my mum. Actually i hoping to reduce is because #2 coming and there will be no increment for both my hubby and me.

Vernice
My EDD is on 17 Mar, same as you my gynae never mention that my edd will change. I doubt my mum also allow me to reduce the $$ given to her. Coz now i staying at her place. Later she will nag at me more.

pinksorbet
ya.. going to stuff the empty spaces with pillows and bolsters liao.. which means i gotta buy more liao.. bo bian lor.. luckily the spaces isnt too much..

vernice80
wa.. u gave ur mom so much even w/o baby ar.. maybe really have to negotiate the price again with ur mom, i suppose all mommies love their children as well.. she will understand as a new member needs money for future usuage as well..

Re: Baby kicks and movements
i oso afraid is he doing good inside or not.. especially when i couldnt detect his movements, coz i thought he shld be moving even much alot than usual as now in 3rd trimester liao.. so tmr gotta ask gynae whether he is doing fine inside or not.. i always expect him to have little movements daily one..itz only when the 1-2 days no detection i got really worry and try poking my tummy or resting in the bed hoping to detect the movements.. =P

kome,
i think can negotiate a bit right since got #2. i also ask my hb to reduce his allowance to his parents a bit heehee cos he got slight paycut now :p

eh ur edd 17 mar? a week earlier than mine..hmm..i really wonder how many weeks i am carring liaoz..blurz

Of course, the opportunity cost to leave the work force and be a SAHM is very high. I guess it is the intangible part I think I will get from taking care of my own BB, to be with him and see him grow every day.

MIL went around telling people, she is retiring from her job as a hotel chamber maid, to take care of her grandson. So, make me in difficult position. Don't let her take care also cannot, Let her take care, I don't trust her. Some more, she is expecting me to pay her to do the job, make me "lagi" fed up.

Sorry.... dun meant to pour my anger here....

kome - if ur mum is those open type can discuss with her lor...
for my mum, like she will ask me not to give so much jia yong to her since my bb is coming...then she wants to stuff the $$$ back to me...i insisted no cos sometimes i oso will overlook giving at certain times since i'm not staying with her...

i'm thinking of investing in a back support pillow as my back pains are getting worse and worse....its killing me...dunno how i can sit on the floor with that tum tum for that 2hours+ during mrs wong's class....

Vernice & Pinksorbet
Will need to find a good time to talk to her. My mum quite fierce and sensitive at times. Worry that she might say that i am so calculative and since both my hubby and me staying at her place we should give her more.

Maple
dun worry, u r not alone, but i understand how u feel.. my mil oso wanted to take care of this grandson as he is the first grandson of hers lor.. but luckily she din spread words around saying she is going to take care of my bb, arbo i oso stress coz i am now a SAHMTB, hoping to continue as SAHM for a year before going back to workforce as agreement between me and my hubby already, but my mil seem to be like always telling me to go back work straight after my delivery.. she discourage me to bf my boy as well.. wat a mother?! I dun dare to let her take care oso.. coz she abit rough one.. her voice oso those aunties shouting in the market one.. even when at home toking to us.. i dun wan my boy to pick such habit up thinking it is normal toking at such a high pitch and tone.. becoz tatz UBNORMAL!!! hahhahaha...

maple,
true lah..it's the intangibles that u can't really count. maybe u can tell ur MIL u intend to take care of bb urself lor..or ask ur hb to do it.

pinksorbet,
wa..ur mum so nice ah...

p3pp3r,
my mum will say she only take my $$ and save them which is true lah..she don't spend the $$ i give her and i still managed those $$ for her lor. somemore actually, my parents still spent a lot of $$ on me after marriage. my dad just bought another LCD TV for me to put in my room. Then when my dad earn $$ from shares, my mum will give me and hb some portion of the profit too. so i can't really "ji jiao" with my mum too lah.

Kome,
i think u can put in another way that u r also paying for the hse too lor..

maple - my MIL oso went to tell her colleagues she is gg to resign from her job to take care of her grandson....i'm ok with it though but jus tot her colleagues shouldn't go spread it on to her boss who knows she has intention of quitting....

i'm v sian cos come next year our flat will be ready and my PILs want to move in to our new flat with us!! then rent out their present flat...they said if they dun move in with us how to take care of our boy...my hb and i quarrelled each time mentioned abt this issue...v sian lor...i said new flat space small but my MIL thinks its not small....three rooms enough for bb, hb and i and my PILs....

sorbet
i'm visiting my gynae tis sat too... tink bb will definitely be more than 1kg tis round... me same as u will be in w28 tis wk...