(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Babies at wk 36 or above should be ok .. only those that is before then have to worry as too small or some organs not fully developed then have to be incubate for a while .

Devil,
with the thermal cooker, I got a 1litre one, think was zojirushi brand.. less than 20 bucks..

the thermal cooker can be used to cook soup as well after confinement.. save lots of gas. Only need to turn cooker off once the water boils and the ingredients are very soft and tender

hi tsp,
thks alot for your detailed explanation

tink i'll skip the pants for the time-being... just buy the tops first heez...

hi devil,
is this the one?

st,
thermal cooker more ex, bot at taka when they are having sale, u can shop ard for best deal... was a few year back, can't remmber liao.. cld be 200+ (medium or large size). prices may have dropped. get a reliable brand that can keep for long.

kome, ya so i think dun need to buy 1L so big to put at bedside hor. if i am buying the thermal cooker

tsp, how much is the thermal cooker?

Miracle,Lenny
I can join as long as like any where bukit panjang.Jurong will be good also my mil stays there I can join both of u mine time is quite flex as I not working.Haha Update me orr maybe u can add me at msn if u have we can chat ther [email protected]

fatfish n queenie..

nice meeting u gals yesterday at bb wong class.. finally managed to recognise both of u...keke..
kao_embarrassed.gif

re: aqua lesson

for me if in the day time any area is fine for me cos no working but not weekend.. but for nite time class guess i can only travelled ard clementi n jurong...

kome & yiyi

think tsp got it for $20 because she purchase the thermal cooker. so maybe that is why she can get a better price.

Kome,
I bought from Taka. Went around Isetan, tangs and Taka. Taka was cheapest then. Was a small non-electric one. Got thermal cooker so no need electric and not too big. Else if you scopp from thermal cooker for every cup, difficult to retain the heat too.

yiyi123,
$20 is the non electric flask.

thermal pot (not cooker) is more expensive (pai seh). it is those whereby you boil using gas stove (till boiling temp) and put into another container to retain heat/continue boiling. this one-- http://www.amazon.com/TIGER-NFAB450-COOKER-THERMAL-4-5LTR/dp/B0002ZVEWQ

hi mummies!!!

re: swimming - im ok with bishan, yew tee and sembawang becos i stay sembawang... kekeke =P

went for 1st ante natal class today... wanted to fall asleep initially becos so tired from work... =P Keron & Jeris - i was sitting behind you & ur hubby... kakaka =P

one of my patient's wife who studied infant care was telling me not necessary to buy cot or playpen if i decide to do total breastfeeding in the initial months... it wld be easier to let baby sleep with us on the bed... if im going to be feeding 2-3hrly, it wld be a hassle to take baby out of the bed, feed and put back... jus let baby sleep between the both of us... then easier to feed at night... dun have to worry abt squashing baby becos we will be alert to the baby... also, baby wldnt really be able to roll or move too much in the beginning stage... so no worries... also dont need to buy bolster or pillow... hmmm... then when baby can turn the head, ard 3weeks old or so, can let baby lie on stomach... this is to prevent baby from getting scared... if u notice, babies that lie on the back tend to get scared easily by noise and movement.. whereas babies who lie on the stomach jus sleep... i find this quite true.. my frn used to do that to her baby boy... jus make sure the head turn one side lor... anyway once baby can turn head him/herself, shld be no worries.. they will turn themselves lor... which i agree...

i told hubby abt it and we probably will not buy cot or playpen at this moment... so we more or less have settled the items.. we also wont need the stroller so early... so i guess the only thing left is the baby sling/carrier, breast pump and pads... and storage bags and sleeping clothes for baby... in fact also dont need to wrap baby when they are sleeping... jus let them wear the sleeping clothes... anyway this is what she advised me and i find it very sensible and have seen my frn practice this way... so i guess i shall use these methods as well... =)

missycandy,
An advantage of starting baby on their own sleeping bed is so that they do not stick to you even when they grow up. It gets progressively difficult to put them on their own bed.

Just to share my 2 incidents with having son on our bed:
My son had his own cot in our room. I bfg from birth... During night feeds, there are times whereby I am so tired and sleepy to sit up and feed him and burp him. It can take 15 mins to an hour. So, I bf him while lying on side. He dropped from the bed when he is less than 2 mths old. I was sleeping on the right side and my arms were around him. I doze off and stretch my arm without remembering that he was latching on. When I heard the pop, I jumped up. son landed on the floor, lucky he was asleep and was not crying.. I did not have any bedding on floor. Thank god, he was ok.

thereafter, I put him between me and hubby when I bf him when lying down, . Again, we all doze off. I woke up suddenly and could not find him. Guess where? He ended up under our quilt blanket.. Lucky he did not suffocate.. he was prob 2-3 mths old at that time.

For those heavy sleeper parents, it is a risk that you end up crushing baby under you, I feel it is better to play safe and not have baby sharing on the same bed. When you are tired from work or taking care of bb during the day, you do not know how tired one can be and doze off in deep dreams. I am paranoid after my 2 incidents so I will roll my armchair into the bed and sit on it till bb finish feeding to ensure that I do not doze off...

hi all, went for my appt ystdy n bb weighs abt 660g now at 24 weeks...n guess wat i put on abt 9kg le...i look so huge now at 6mths preggie only...

as for gathering, sun, i m ok with any location...

kome, saw u ordered the washcloth...wat is it btw? is it like hankie for bb to clean face? or face towel?

bb sleeping needs: hb got for bb the close n secure sleeper from the first few years...cos my cousin giving us the playpen so temporary can let bb slp in that with us on the bed first...

these few days tummy not feeling so gd...alot of wind n got one night causing pain till cant slp...btw r we allowed to take ginger drink now? self brewed with black sugar? thinking it will get rid of the wind...

also if bf bb, r we allowed to take dom during confinement or after we stop bf? quite unsure abt this...

Asura,

U also Er Ren Shi Jie quite a couple years mah... Me only started planning for a baby last 2 years ago...
Come to think of it, Er Ren shi Jie quite enjoyable la, we go everywhere together...

Queenie,

Growing up with Hubby not very good leh..we know each other too inside out liao..means we can't play tricks...
Sometimes it's good to have some "Bao Liu"...

Only good thing is, My PIL also watch me grow up...So they quite dote on me like a daughter loh...
Luckily I was better in discipline and academically then both their children (Oopzzz :p), so they quite like me alot...
(At least that's what I think since young)

yiyi,

Your cot really is good buy... I saw one at Ikea selling $189 but does not comes with mattress and all...
And the wood quality like not very good...I went Changi Expo JL Sale but never see any white cot..
I need one in white to match my room's furniture..keke

Yes, my dad also say recently the newspaper wrote on recommending us to buy strollers that face us, so that baby will
develop faster and improve communication...

Re: Flask

I can't seem to find the BP thread for the flask...Is it still on???
Anyone can give me the link please???

Princess_in_Dreamland

Maybe we get to identify each other next lesson??? If I never rembr wrongly U also stay Bedok and your Gynae is also
AL Lim?

Hi fatfish...

Thanks for the BP link...And see ya next lesson..

Will it be a combined lesson with Tuesday class??? Hope not too crowded...

do u know if the JL sale is still on?

fatfish,
didn't manage to say hi to u..but saw that u are sitting in a corner

Re: Baby sleeping position
Think baby sleeping on their tummy isnt a good idea.. as parent has to be very careful becoz tis may lead to Sudden Infant Death Syndrome ( SIDS).. Here's a link on conducted test: http://www.mommytips.com/article/ybt/experts/pedqa/sleeponbelly.htm
think is best to put bean bag on the baby for like 0-5 months first lor..

pinkdemoness
think it shld be ok to take ginger water to cure ur wind problem but not too much ba.. especially when it is very near ur edd.. but since there's still a one or two months away so i recog shld be ok..
I ask tat ques as well before, was replied tat we can still take dom which is cook in our meal but not directly due to the alcoholic content while bf...

Really like reading this thread.. so much info..

Super envy those young mothers! I think they look better during preg.. heehee..

I went down to Mothercare n saw many strollers.. Can i just chk what brands u all r looking at? I dunno to get those "stable 3 wheel type" or light 4 wheels one.. the 3 wheel one r more expensive n heavier but more spacious.. 4 wheels lighter, cheaper but seems narrow..

st and tsp,
Oh... I got what you mean on the flask and hermal cooker. Keke..

vernice80 and Jo,
The JL sale is till 8th dec.

Gingal, the cot is right in the middle of the hall.. keke

miracle2me,

The aqua aerobic class in on mondays 7.30pm - 8.30pm, Saturdays, 8.30am - 9.30am and thursdays evening.

https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet

its at Jurong west Aquatic centre, i dun know where that is yet. Initially, i thought its at Jurong East Sports complex swimming pool cos i have an ex colleague who used to take classes there on Monday evenings.

fatfish
nice meeting u too

missycandy
i actually agree with tsp leh.. bu pa wan yi zhi pa yi wan.. i tink is better not to have bb slping in between me n hb. i really worried tt my bb will be suffocated by my comforter..

metro sales
i will be going dwn today.. hehes

mommies enjoy ur long wkend!!

i just weigh myself. ending week 22 now but my weight increase 600gm. before i am preggie, i am at 74.2kg, now at 74.8kg. hope everything is ok...

yiyi - u got the same bb cot as me! worth buying rite? =D tks for posting up the pic....mangogal, thats the cot i bought

wishaboy - my bb is 548g at 23weeks+ v near to 24weeks. Dunno leh my gynae said my bb is abit smaller...she said abit onli so its ok lor.

SG - ya, Dr Heng prefers us to control the weight i geuss. I actually tot 2kg in a month v little liao cos i wanted to try putting on the pounds in preparation for breastfeeding next time. But then she was like telling me 2kg is quite alot, 1kg is enough for a month.

queenie,

i just found out the location of the jurong west aquatic centre also. i need to take train to boon lay interchange and transfer bus also..

hmm i guess everyone has their own pareference =) i will see how when the time comes... if need be, i will buy the secure thing to place baby in... anyway i was thinking abt it last night as well... we only have queen bed... then i like to turn left n right so maybe not enough space to place baby... hehehe

anyway will consider all options b4 deciding =)

hello mummies....

URGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CONSTIPATION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
it was so terrible..had the "thing" stucked insode the tip for 2 days...bad mood but can't show...coz nobosy's fault...sacre " force" baby will suffer....agony...so finally today went to see gynae and then get help..

didn't sleep well....pain and stuffed....

woke up amost every hr to sit by the crown...
but....i have found a good and safe remedy...incase any mummies out there suffering the same predicament...
buy from guardian this paediatic FLEET ( it's a bottle to insert into the anus kinda)..
very effective...use 01 bottle will be sufficient..hehheehe
oh....according to my gynae it;s the IROn and CALCIUM pills we are eating..

Daphne, u can try drinking 2 glasses of fresh milk everyday..it works on me..lesser constipation. =)

me went ikea yest'd and spent almost $500 on armchair + wardrobe...having severe backache problem thus bought an armchair with support for breastfeeding purpose..hee, tmr delivery can sit there n nua watch tv as well..so happy.
as for storage for bb's stuff + clothings..me n hb decided to buy a wardrobe instead..can store more things and no nid to buy new one when bb grows up. act. wanted to buy those 4 tier drawers...but am afraid will be "disorganised"..hope we did the rite choice..tmr must re-arrange and get ready a new room for bb liao, else tummy getting bigger very diff. to move ard hee =)

Pinkdemoness,
According to bfg sites and docs, you can take dom or yo meishu in between feeds as long as the time interval is min 4 hours apart. What I did prev was to express all supply out after bb’s feeding before I take some dom. You can also double boil dom with black chicken for about 4 hours, till all alcohol evaporated. Very good for confinement mummies.

Re: sleeping position
I agree with p3ppr. Not very safe to put bb on tummy when sleeping especially at night. Someone bought this sleeping positioner for my son and I find this very useful even up till they learn to flip. It keeps them securely when sleeping, won’t risk flipping over with the nose on the pillow. Can adjust the length of the cloth in the middle. Put baby on their side and they feel very snuggly secured when sleeping, just like hugging a bolster.
http://www.babysafe.com.sg/product_nl_007.html

pinksorbet,
I am putting 1 to 2 kg in less than half mth and gynae says that is ok.. very scare now.. ha ha Appetitie seems to have improved tremendously!

Daphne,
Have you tried prune juice? This is my remedy when I feel badly constipated. Avoid fried foods and sambal chilli for time being. Having piles during preg no joke. I had to do a ligation to remove my pile 3 mths ago, under LA only!!!! Damn scary man.

SG,
rest well and lie down during confinement. Eat well during confinement and you shd not have backache prob in future...

Any mummy wears a maternity support belt? any brand to rec?

tsp...yah i heard tat confinement period is impt..will rest & eat well..thks. apparently, my back problem is resulted from an accident...fell off frm bike 2yrs back...and landed up on my right side..din see doctor then tot i'm ok..but realised the back problem is there ever since pregnant...will make sure i go n treat it after giving birth...dun wan to suffer again. =)

Hey girls, need advice on the following:

Just bought a pack of 3 Avent bottles and realised that they're 260ml bottles. Should I return them to get the 120ml bottles instead? I feel like kicking myself for getting the wrong size. How?

Pinkdemoness
The washcloth, i don't really know what is it. I buying to try out since its is not that expensive and it sound good to me.