(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

jo ..

yes see you tomolo...

hmm...i will probably wear a brown tube top and beige pants..

keron&jeris..
yes i was asked to fast the day before by 930pm..coz my appt was at 9am..was so hungry in the middle of the night...9am one take and then a sugar( very sweet) solution to be taken...then at 11am another..thats when i failed that 2nd take...coz my dad is a diabetic and sister too during her preg..

i didn't take lots of sweet stuffs though..

Re: Duck
Hmmm...never hear abt this b4! For this pregnancy, I prefer duck to chicken so....I hope this is not true...heee~~~ But i guess, for any type of food, we should jus eat in moderation.

Re: Pre-natal class
Do MTBs for the 2nd time go for such classes? It didnt come across to me to attend...oops~~~

Re: Breast pump
For my 1st preganacy (almost 3yrs ago), I used the Medela Mini Electric Dual pump but have been lending it to cousins & frens so thinking of changing it. Are there any better pumps to recommend?

daphne, watch your diet. i guess maybe it's cos of your family history tt's y..

Now i remember, everytime i go to clinic, the nurse will pass me a litmus test and test on the sugar level.. think so far okay, tt's y gynae did not warn me against it..i suppose that is the glucose test???

tsp, thanks for your comforting words.. yup, will get a gd massage lady after delivery..

Re: Massage lady
anyone of you had book your confinement lady already?

minnie, sun, sorbet, so "fed up" with hb.. he was trying to recall wat Wong BB had taught and massage for me last night.. then when he was talking to bb, he keep saying "daddy very busy"... grrhh.. his working hours is much more relax than me and he's now using tt as excuse.. bad bad daddy.. hahahhaha

Just back from my malaysia trip on sun and yesterday i took leave to rest. Really don't feel like working after long rest :p

Yesterday had meet up with a lady from cordlife and we had decided to took the 21 yrs plan.

Thanks wish a boy. They had offer the discount you had told me.

Wintertime,

i booked my masseuse already, recommended by my gf. My gf told me she is quite good. i didn't find out more details like the wrap cloth etc. yet. anyway, it should be fine.. i trust my this gf alot, she is the one who recommended me my Gynae

Wintertime
I have not book my massage lady yet. i am still looking around for cheap and good one. :p

Lenny
Very tiring and did not shop for anything
. Most of the time just followed my parents to visit relatives, so tiring. Lucky that i have took one day leave yesterday to rest at home.

wintertime : the litmus test is to test sugar level in urine , the other glucose test is thru blood test and it's more accurate . My gynea will sure ask me to do that test even though the litmus test every appt we did is ok .

Daphne : watch your diet then . should be ok with that . I think with pregancy related diabetics , u might need to go thru c-sect instead . Check with your gynea .

Daphne,
Im in the same shoe as you, need to prick my own finger to check glucose level. How many days you need to do it in a week? I was ask to pick 2 days in tis week to do it and monitor my level, nurse told me if its around the normal reading than I can cut down to do it one day in a week. Where did you do your glucose test? TMC? I was told to fast before midnight and than take my blood & urine at 8.30am, asked to drink the sugar liquid, 9.30am they took my blood from another arm & also urine and rotate taking blood again from other arm again, the last drawing blood, the other nurse took blood from me don't know is it new can't get my blood after the needle go in, she twist and turn in order to get blood from me and I was so angry as its really painful.

K&J,
I was asked to drink the liquid only once not 3 times. Only draw blood and take urine every 1 hr.

Kome : Welcome lah .. I will also save the same amt as u since we signed as grp . Sigh I not yet meet them as hubby just went for wisdom tooth extraction so think maybe next week then can meet them ..

Pregancy related diabetic : My father have this and my past 2 pregancy ok .. hope this one also ok .

Daphne,
Im in the same shoe as you as my dad is also a diabatic, need to prick my own finger to check glucose level. How many days you need to do it in a week? I was ask to pick 2 days in tis week to do it and monitor my level, nurse told me if its around the normal reading than I can cut down to do it one day in a week. Where did you do your glucose test? TMC? I was told to fast before midnight and than take my blood & urine at 8.30am, asked to drink the sugar liquid, 9.30am they took my blood from another arm & also urine and rotate taking blood again from other arm again, the last drawing blood, the other nurse took blood from me don't know is it new can't get my blood after the needle go in, she twist and turn in order to get blood from me and I was so angry as its really painful.

K&J,
I was asked to drink the liquid only once not 3 times. Only draw blood and take urine every 1 hr.

Morn MTBs,
wah so many posts liao, weekend cant access the forum leh...

Anyway, Sunshine, hv u PM me ah? Still waiting and want to transfer you the $$, so give me ur UOB acct detaisl and how much is the cream, thks ah gal

BTW, 19th Dec I may not make it for the dinner, hiaz..
u gals hv a great time

Eh...if parents both non diabetic, do I still need to do the glucose test?
I gain 7 kg so far at 20 weeks, this week is 22weeks dun dare to see my weight manz:p

Glucose test : Ya I remembered last time was to fast after 10pm then next morning at 8.30am reach gynea clinic to take blood test then given a 600ml glucose drink to drink and once finish the whole bottle , they start to clock and after 1hr take urine and blood test . Then wait for another 1hr take urine and blood test again . Total 3 times blood test to check the sugar level .

oops I mean my father is diabatic not pregancy related diabetic

Mommies, I'm thinking of buying Babyplus in bulk. I'm using it now and it's fanta-bulous! Many of you probably heard me and other forumers talking about our experience with this product. From our discussion you probably also know that the RRP in Singapore is 288, or for those who bought at baby fairs/talks - 268. I'm looking at a price range of not more than $200 incl, of shipping into Singapore. Anyone interested? I'm just sussing out interest in this thread. If there is enough demand as well as a firmed supplier, I'll launch a BP listing for sure.

BTW, the babyplus website says you can START using from anywhere from 18 to 35 weeks. Personally though, I think it would be a bit late to start in 35th week lah, being the typical kiasu parent that I am. I myself started in my 21st week. Now in my 26th week.

I want to get a baby/child monitor too, not just anyone but the highly rated one as per amazon – Summer Infant Handheld Day & Night Colour, which is both an Audio & Visual monitor. Anyone interested to join? See

http://www.amazon.com/Summer-Infant-Handheld-Monitor-Screen/dp/B0007OD8SU/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1228154482&sr=8-2

Can be used for years, i.e. as long as BB/toddler needs surveilance.

good morning, the instructor finally get back to me but still she didnt post her phone no.
She needs a min. of 12 people to form the class for the rate at 4 lessons for $60 otherwise it will be $90 /session ..
I think it is quite difficult .
Currently, only 6 of us if i do remember correctly.so i guess we have to cancel.

Good morning mummies...

Wintertime,
I booked my massage lady already.

Kome
Welcome back. You have the same case as me. Guess if we go for holidays, cannot go to places with relatives. Will have to go relative visiting instead of shopping, makan, tour, etc...

Grace
Welcome and congrats on your baby boi...

Me too. I am worst than you. Did not go for pre-natal classes when I'm expecting No 1. So not very active as many of them chatting about Mrs Wong's class.

BreastPump
I'm using Medela Pump-In-Style Advance. Borrowed to my sister now. Find it wuite good to use and very powerful.

Minnie and Sunshinebaby
I think hair for confinement dun cut it too short. Maybe at shoulder length so still can tie it up. I cut my hair till a boy boy kind and regretted. I was sweating so much, esp June-July is a hot weather and I cannot tie up.. Then all my hair stucked to my neck. Feels so yucks...

Daphne
I did not go for glucose test. Is it required? Just remember to watch your eating. Drink more water and dun eat too much high sugar items.

St
Is it true that massage lady will reduce the milk supply? Do you know why?

tsp
welcome!!
Congrats on your baby ger...

So nice.. You can close shop liaoz.. One boi, One ger...

Sunshinebaby
You are so fortunate. Your hubby does massage for you every night.

princess in dreamland
which hospital you going to deliver in? The hospital ward charges much higher now?

SG
The duck is due to the herbs izzit? I also heard so. But I still got consume.. As long as moderate.. I guess it is ok...

St
Actually baby needs water only, coz they dun sweat mah. Water is sufficient I heard from many mummies. But the shampoo and bath foam makes baby smell nice nice.. Haha...

Daphne,
Oh dear. I'm also worried becos I've been pigging out on bak kua, ben & jerrys as well as Canele (the store at Robertson walk) and Royce chocolates. Do take care ok? Conntrol your diet and if craving comes, go for diet (articficial sugar) jello or diet coke.

wintertime
yr hb so cute... my hb didn't said 'he's bz', he juz told our bb tat 'daddy is tired, gg to sleep now'... i'm wondering is he gg to say tat to our bb every night anot... hahaha

RE: Cord blood. (Sorry I can't track who are the ones who responded to my post last week. Sumimasen!)

Hubby and I are most likely to donate to the public bank. We figured that rather than pay annual fee to the private bank with so much uncertainties, we will be better off putting the money to use on even better insurance packages, esp medical, H&S as well critical illness coverage. Hope this helps.

daphne
since u didn't take a lot of sweet stuffs during yr 1st n 2nd trimester, how come yr glucose is high? any family history?

mangogal
i've been trying to transfer to the spree organiser but the service always not available even tot i've tried on 3 diff PCs... i'll try again if cannot then i'll ask my hb to do it... will update u again tonight...

Hey Grace,
Hubby and I are not going to prenatal classes either. Partly lazy lah. But also because Mt Alvernia, where I will be delivering at, has breastfeeding and some other basic "classes" for just delivered moms. As for other stuff, I'm lucky because I can simply consult my elder sis (she has 3 kids), my mom and even a good friend of mine who just gave birth two weeks ago. I will probably go to her place to "intern" hahaha.

Wintertime
Your hb quite nice to massage for you. My hb i asked him to massage for leg, he can say later untill i forgot he also never massage for me.
Bad husband......

Wow..this forum is very active huh!!!

btw, i think most of us should be 5+mths now...how much weight have you gained so far?

BTW, anyone bought Baby Einstein from one of the BPs here? So cheap! I'm eagerly waiting to receive my set. I personally observed my Bro's little twin girls watch the BB Einstein DVDs and I must say they love the shows! highly educational and very engaging. It's $75 for a full 26 disc DVD. Authentic according to the organiser. Think organiser might be closing today already. If you want you might want to book fast!

Grace
I am now in wk 25, i have only gain less than 3kg from my pre-pregnancy weight. Hope my son is healthy inside my tummy. Not much movement from him also.

Kome,
wow, I'm so impressed. You must have been very disciplined. I want to, but my hubby "sabo" me all the time. Whole day come home with "surprises" and he doesn't know how to buy in moderation. One shot two tubs of Ben & Jerrys. Or a few slices of Canele gourmet cakes at one shot. I have no "mouth" discipline so I will wack everything. All his fault. :p

Hi alfafa77 and mummies,
My friend still have 2 or 3 sets of baby einstein available from her last BP.
If interested, can email her at [email protected]

I also bought a set from her. But my girl doesnt like. Think she too used to Hi-5 and abit too big for Baby Einstein liaoz.. Think Baby Einstein must start early in order to engage them to it. Will be keeping for my #2.

Hi Keron& Jeris,

Yes i am talking abt aqua aerobics here..
but seems we only have 6 memebers interested plus venue ard west i think quite inconvenient for some mummies so I guess have to cancel

Hi Grace, welcome aboard

Moomooland,
guess it depends on individual. I initially thought I'll gain about 12 kgs, even secretly aiming for 11kg. hehehhe

So now, with 14 more weeks to go, I'm already 3/4 there. Doubt I can make it already. Esp when the last 8 weeks are the fastest weight gain period. Arrrrrrrrrggghhh

I'm now 24weeks.....and i've gained abt 5 kg so far....! Baby has been very active..got timing somemore....heee~

I'm curious abt other mummies weight gain becos gynae has been asking me to exercise...hee~

Devil,
Alamak, I paid for it already though. Yah that's why I want to get it ready in time for baby arrival. Just let it play in the background for some sound and movement. They are fun to watch. In fact, I like watching Hi-5 myself sometimes. LOL

Miracle2me,
aqua aerobics??? I want! where is it though? Location is a big consideration. I'm been searching for one for sometime already. I know KKH has but too inconvenient.

sun,
Glucose high not only due to taking sweet stuff. Taking rice, potato, bread, starch stuffs etc.. also will have high sugar content in our blood if our body can't clear what we have ate.

Grace,
Weight gain its depends on our pre-preggy weight. If we're big size and over weight, gynae will ask us to watch out our weight gain. Like me I can only gain 7-10kg for my weight. I gain 3kg since preggy, now Im 26weeks.

Alfafa
Did not really control, but don't know why just don't have the appetite to take alot of food. Recently worse, cannot even finish 1 bowl of noodles. Just took less than half of it than whole day never ate till 7pm. Hope everything id fine. Next week than is my check up.

good morning mummies...

i have the final taste of hormones playing with my emotions..
last night..after an electric trip( for no reason) my house cctv was not working. so i texted my hubby ( he was abroad) to confirm with him if he can see from there..he replied "NO" too..so i told him about the electric thingie..
later he called and reprimanded me and told me that he's busy and i should have settle it myself( my initial intention jut wan to confirm only)..then suddenly my tears went rolling down..NON-STOP..i was not feeling like super lousy but the tears just kept rolling...so i actually slept with a wet tear..
felt better now..hubby appologised for being haste..hehee

wintertime..
i have been given the LITMUS strip each time too..and resukt was good no chnage in colour...but the blood test came out otherwise..

Kome,
I'm the exact opposite of you; I eat round the clock. :-D I'm sure you are fine. I know some friends who didn't have much appetite throughout their pregnancy too. As long as BB is growing fine, there's no need to be concerned

Mango, I gained 7.5kg, coming to the end of my 26th week. At times even 8kg, depending on when I weigh myself. :-( My weight gain accelerated big time from 24week onwards but that's probably due to my unhealthy diet. Chocolates, ice cream, bak kua etc.

buay tahan, hearing all this little weight gain is making me depressed, and now feel like eating even more! Oh no

Oh Daphne, *sayang sayang* It must have felt terrible. Glad your hubby apologised and you are ok now. Yah pregnancy hormones caused me temperament to go haywire at times too. Hubby more sensitive to my needs now having experienced a few "episodes".

Devil, Hi-5 is quite entertaining hahaha but if I have to watch it alot I think I cannot take it. I like the original crew though, esp the Asian girl.

I'm currently addicted to BPs, so am shuttling between a few screens, also monitoring the stock market at the same time. So pls pardon me if I suddenly MIA and don't reply hor