(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

went to Mrs Wong's class on Sun. Realised most mommies have long hair, so do I. U gals intend to cut off ur long tresses before delivery? or keep long hair for confinement? I dunno to cut my hair or not.

minnie
me too lei... if i cut short, i afraid too mess to tidy n by then cannot bun up liao... long hair scare of hair loss... dun noe wat to do...
my hb asked me to cut, he said shorter easier to wash n dry... me still deciding....

Sun
Yah, hubby oso told me to cut short my hair. Saying it's easier to wash n dry. But March very warm, if short hair cannot bun up. I dun think i can take the heat with my hair down n not able to tie it up. And i realise my hair is thinning, heard preggies will lose hair and will get worse after birth.

Devil
Baby oil can clean belly button?! then think i'll put it in my list of things to buy.

minnie ...

the hospital will give you some wipes before discharged and you use it to clean the bellybutton until the stub (whatever that remains aft the gynae cuts off the umbilca cord) drops off

wintertime ...

hur ... my baby was not engaged 1 week before i was due oso ler ... my dr oso never say wan to do c-section ... tot as long as bb facing head-down then ok already

minnie
my hb ask me don cut short.. keep the hair length.

wintertime
ya lor.. let nature tks it course..

st
not allergy to baby mah? i tot is allergy to baby. so anithing to do with peanut i strike off..
so hows e drilling over at ur placE?

minnie
Yes, can use.. Mainly is after the stub has dropped and then alot of dirt remains inside the belly button. I use cotton buds and the baby oil to clean it.

any comments on the california baby stuff selling over the spree side?

tot of buying the bath and shampoo abd the powder.

actually newborn bb need to use shampoo or just use water will do

sun, the maxi cosi dori car seat I saw at Baby Hyper store is $348 (hope I remember the px correctly!) before 15% discount.

Corene, ya I also saw it at Baby hyper store, din know at OG it says from 3 mths onwards..hmmm will have to find out more then

Queenie, thanks the drilling is over.

Queenie, sunshinebaby, i read somewhere that it's allegry to bb lor..but last time i asked gynae she say if the peanut is not mould can eat..and Mrs Wong mentioned during the class if mother got allegry then don't need to take

so i also dunno.me too also took peanut butter leh

Re: peanut butter..eh..i've been eating this leh..act. i dun like peanut b4 pregnant but nw like gt craving for peanut butter so i bought a bottle..will cause allegry ah?

wish a boi..yah not well leh..i tink my body easily overheated these days..tats why feel very breathless n giddy. tink will monitor n see hw..i tot pao sheng is gd for bu qi. hee..

queenie, yah lor..i also tot of buying stroller n car seat later but i dun tink i gt the strength to shop in Jan/Feb liao..so better buy all b4 year end..then can relax liao. =)

Corene, i'm looking for car seat tat is suitable for newborn to 4yrs old..britax looks gd..hee..i like combi too. really headache wor..dunnoe which one to choose.

re: pain..any mummies suffering from pain on sides n near gastric area? the whole tummy very hard n bloated..very xin ku..esp. bb kicks hard or moves ard..dunnoe issit my body not long..then bb growing tats why feel the "cramp" every nw n then..

me went to see gynae today.. bb weigh 1.2kg @ 28wks 2 days.. doc say ok weight... lucky... but i put on 2kg in a mth n doc ask me to monitor cos 2kg in a mth too much.... but i was like... i only put on 6kgs in all wat....
kao_confused.gif

nurse ask me to confirm the bed today so had booked the single ward liao... n the ward prices had increased...

me most likely going down to j & j sale tmr n will update on wats there...

sun
i not very sure. i heard pple will be allergy to peanuts. then if preg, better avoid peanuts. scare bb next time allergic to it.
i donno how true it is leh. i juz ban peanuts coz oso not craving for it..

st
haha.. glad is over. den mrs wong gt say cant tk? if no den i tink can tk bah..

havent visited this website for a long time..
My EDD is 26 Mar 09 and expecting a baby boy!
Do hope to share & learn from other mummies here too!!!

SG
don worry think peanut wont cause us ani prob.
coz now think back, gynae oni say not raw food, no caffine right? nv say no peanut.. haha..
i tink is good to settle everything oso.. but most imptly, must remember where it is kept when u need to use it. lol

princess in dreamland
congrats.. glad to hear tt bb is healthy n growin well..
i think gynae scare ur weight will shoot up ?

Queenie, Mrs Wong BB say if mummy got allergy then dun take.

by the way those who went for Mrs Wong class some of her stretching pose the one where u have to bend all the way to front.. this pose like will compress the baby like that...so heartpain when i did that pose hahah

st
haha ok so i can take peanut butter liao lor.
gd gd..

the stretching pose u mentioned, quite ok lar.
don think bb will be 'pressed' inside us..
coz bb's protected by aminotic fluid mah..
but hor, i come back from her class i nvr practice the exercises leh...
u all got do ??

minnie:: the PD will give you wipes and medicine to put for bb at his belly button! no need to buy more. if not enough, can get more wipes from them. that's what i do for #1.

queenie
i'm doing bit by bit... do wat i rem lor...
most important is the massage... told my hb to do for me every night b4 bed... hahaha

queenie..yah lor..hahah i also can't rmbr wat i've bought / have so far leh..really need to sort out and run thru' again incase i forgot to buy impt stuffs. true ah..nvr say cannot eat peanut..btw, anyone heard tat pregnant lady shldn't eat duck? i was shocked when i heard tat from my fren who's also in her 7th mth..and i've been eating duck porride/rice lor.

sun
i cant rmb e exercises she taught leh.. die..

sg
haha very easy. juz keep everything u bought tgt.
den tick in ur checklist when u got it liao..

Re: duck
i didnt hear it before.. i read tt duck is very good for iron or what. and i love roast duck like crazy so i happi happi i eat duck le..

moomooland
u will have to pm the seller..
we are restricted by SMH to post there..

Queenie,
regarding the peanut butter it's what Mrs Wong said not sure if i heard correctly anot leh.hmmm

the execrise not all can remember leh..and it's not in the notes too

and there is one pose where she mention those with low planteca can't do but she never explain why hor..

Can I join this thread? I'm also a MTB, bb gal due in march.. Got a 3.5 yrs old boy.. All you mummies so hardworking, attends pre-natal and massage classes..

wintertime,
Don't worry about your weight gain. find a good massage lady during yoru confinement and you will gain back your old shape in no time. I gained 30kg during 1st preg.

minnie,
pedi or nurse will ask you to clean bb's belly button with warm water and keep the area dry. the cord wil usually drop off by 1st week or latest 2nd week. Heard previously, hospitals supply a cleaning solution but they no longer provide. Will ask you to clean with water.

Keeping baby oil is handy when bb develops cradle caps on the head. the oil will help you to comb them off.

sunshinebaby,
lucky you that your hubby is so nice to massage you daily

Queenie,
Have you settled on your after delivery care? Have someone experience to take care of you and bb aduring confinement. Mother instincts come naturally thereafter. don't stress too much about taking care of bb. My MIL did my prev confinements and she left on the day of 1st mth party. I was left with my son and maid. didn't want maid to handle bb cos she was also new. I had to try recall how my mum used to bathe bb when she baby sits (that was >10 yrs ago??).. Had to struggle to bathe, feed and mastering bb's crying patterns then.. It was mothers' love which pulls me through so I did not think it was an agony to do so. Just rest as much as you can during confinement and worry later.

With a new family member, of cos will need adjustment between you and hubby. If you have someone who can take care of bb, you and hubby can still go out for coffee, movie and date. If you are breastfeeding, stock up your milk supplies so your care-giver can feed bb. Both of you will enjoy your baby. Happy parenthood!

re: breast pumps
I always recommend mummies to get a dual pumps as it is effective in expressing both sides simultaneously else one side wld be leaking while the other side is pumping. While in hospital, can alternate between feeding directly and requests for hospital's pumps. Hospital pumps are very effective than your home pumps. The pumps are stronger so the stimulation of milk flow is more effective. Bring along your own pumps as a backup. Ask for as many glass bottles from nursery, it comes in handy to keep your milk supply else you end up spending money buying milk storage bags/bottles.

sorry, think info overload liao.. heee

those attended Mrs Wong class, did u all hear she mentioned that actually getting a massage lady will reduce the milk supply..

was shocked when i heard that

queenie, yah hor..use the checklist n tick watever i've bought..hee..
re: duck..tink can eat lah hor..since only my fren says so..maybe she heard it from auntie auntie ba..haha

st
wow.. i didnt hear her mentioning getting massage lady will reduce milk supply leh.
maybe coz i missed out her 2nd lesson..

tsp
welcome onboard!
congrats on ur bb ger..
u can close shop liao lor after bb ger is out..

thank u so much for ur info on being a FTM..
really appreciate it.
i guess 80% my mil will be doing confinement for me.. hehe..

lenny
me also.. no time to take dwn notes.
i oni hope hb can pay 90% attention during lesson. so he can help me to rem notes.. while for me, i rem 10% can liao.. lols..

hello mummies....
has been busy last few days..hehee

Drapolene
i saw it selling twin pack in guardian price about $7+ ( less then $8)

sunshinebaby
yes i think you can buy just one colour...( blue in the day, purple in the night)

yo...
yes i attand tuesday class with mrs wong, i have been attending alone..ast week i was in white flare top and beige shorts..

just wonder has mummies here went for some blood test for high glucose???
i went last week and was diagnose with high glucose blood..due to preggie and gestation...so upset with myself...
thought i can control my diet although i have not been eating much sweets....
today went to a dietician...she has recommanded me some eating habits...and the worst part is that although she said i am in the morderate level of high sugar..but was advised by my gynae to prick my finger to test blood daily....*sob*
i spoke to my baby thatmummy will be good and be obedient to my diet habits..

never have i ever go on a strict routine..

so mummies out there......pls watch your eating...

minnie and sunshinbaby...

i have my hair cut short..hehe
was around the waist line before..but because of the hair drop so much..and hot...so i cut it short and by baby comes out...hair will be jut nice..not too heavy...hehehe
now it's so much manageable...

SG...

yes recently i have pain on my side of tummy, gastric area and sometimes on the abdoment( which i know is normal)...but sometimes i do get frighten when there's pain in the tummy area..

Daphne, i m gng for my glucose test on 19th Dec, was quite surprised when they asked me to fast overnight becos the procedure is to take a tube of blood at 8am, then they will give me a liquid to drink, then take another tube of blood at 9am, and repeat the same liquid and finally take the last tube of blood at 10am.

when i asked if it was compulsory, my gynae's nurses told me that becos my mom got diabetes, so i must take it. quite scary actually, got to be pricked by the needles 3 times!! Did you take a lot of sweet stuffs?

Daphne,

Yah! Im in the same class as you.. I wore a pink top last tue.. so see u tmr..
Dun be so upset w yr glucose level.. b positive!