(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

does anyone know what is the market rate now for a nanny to look after your child? i am contemplating whether to send my baby to infantcare or look for a nanny after my maternity leave.

Asura
I don't think the fish oil will be very heavy. Wawww.....you and Jasmine had ordered quite alot. I gt 2 bottles only.

Jtho
My mum told me the rate is abt $600+ for nanny excluding milk powder, diapers and etc.

pinkdemoness : Pampers Premium for newborn is expensive but good . So far never heard rashes for this premium range . Unless those cheaper range I do heard , brands like drypers , huggies , fitti some cheaper one also cause rashes ..

wishaboy, tks for the advise...based on the diapers.com website kome provided, think the pampers swaddlers quite cheap leh...0.23 per pc... is it considered cheap? is it the same as the premium? i really very blur blur cos everything dunno...

pinkdemoness (pinkdemoness) : I don't see pampers swaddlers in the website leh . The one I saying pampers premium is in yellow packaging and only comes in newborn and S size .

Nanny rates : think 7-7pm is around 550 - 600+ if need overnight think more $$ . If got good recommendation I will go for nanny instead of infant care as one to one is better than one to many and less easily get sick at nanny place come to infant care

wishaboy,
i do agree that 1 to 1 is better but my worry is getting those old old lady who may have their own style in bringing up the child, which we may not be comfortable with. and of course it's cheaper to get a nanny. for infantcare, after government subsidy, still have to pay around $800 + GST.

Jtho
For my case, my near my mum's place the infant care is cheaper thannanny. We might put him at infant care instead. After increase they charge $450 for the infantcare7-7pm.

Jtho : Ask around as I think there are modern and good nanny around .. understand your concern .. those look after by MIL or own mother also can issue what ... as least nanny u can have a talk with her before engage the services etc .. own MIL how to talk ? if ok they listen good if not they will tell you off , go look after yourself .. hee hee .. own mother still can talk but then might also not happy if we insists right .. also headache ..

kome, $450 is very cheap... too bad i dun stay in your area. i'm in dover/clementi area. so checked with the little skool-house and agape little uni. both about the same price.

wishaboy, i will try to ask around. you are right, own MIL or mother will have issue. one of my girlfriends recently have a big fight with her mum and it's during her confinement month, regarding the caring of her 3 kids. now her mum is so angry that she moved back to her place and my friend got to look after her 3 kids herself. worst thing is that her maid ran away during the 3rd week of her confinement...

Jtho : oh no .. so your friend now have to handle 3 kids and she is in confinement .. poor thing . Sometimes close one eye lor .. if not how ..

Jtho
My hb also got problem with my mum, but no choice we need her to help look after so will try not to say too much thing later she not happy than angrily say she don't want to look after my son.

Wintertime
Have you go to the infantcare and see?

jasmmine, ur gal is sooo pretty.. very nice.. i love the barbie doll cake too..

Kome, not yet leh.. i seriously looking at the babies resort near my house.. but it's 900 bucks.. wat abt u? i heard negative feedback from the infant care you mentioned the other time.. don't know how true is it. let me know ur feedback leh.

Hi pinkdemoness,

I've bought NUK Latex premium teat for Avent bottle and also NUK Latex normal teat for Medela bottle.
Both can fit in but I dunno whether will leak or not when baby sucking it.

kome, but one thing for sure, i think i will try out infantcare first for 2 months.. if bb keep falling sick, then will change to nanny. in my opinion, i will prefer infantcare to nanny.. headache hor.

irene:: min order is $70.. ehehe

steph:: added you back and saw you on msn liao!!

jasmine your little princess is soo pretty!!

Wintertime
I also got headache now. My mum say she will try to help look after till 17 mths than put childcare, but hb said straight out him in after 3 mths to infantcare as don't know later my mum will change her mind again and we both headache.

kome : If I were u , I let my mother look after till cannot then put infant care , why your mum don't want to help you , why not put the elder one in childcare instead then no. 2 your mum look after

Wintertime (wintertime) : have to watch out hor as if infant get sick so easily , hard to recover and also easily to get sick again .. so consider carefully what u want .

Tummy itchy:
Today my tummy start to get a bit itchy... don know why... I did apply oil on my tummy this morning... tried so hard to stop myself from scratching. :p

Infant Care:
I am staying in Bedok... any mummies here know if there is any infant care here that is offering good rates? I also intend to put my BB in infant care after 3 months.

Wish a boy
My mum scare later my elder bro will say my mum bias look after mine and not his daughter. My mum also not educated and both my parents love children very much, they had already spoilted by son now. Hope 2nd one can be more guai, learn and be more discipline at infantcare. To avoid unnecessary conflicts between hb and my mum (Hb not very happy with my mum way of handling my son), so decided to try out the infantcare lor.

My elder child will be going to childcare in Jan 09 already.

Wintertime & Cindy,
Thanks thanks... Now she learn a lot of things, know how to sing songs... sometimes when we bring her out she will sing a long the way, don't care if people looking at her, me & my hubby also feel peisay hahaha...

Kome : Ok lah , if cannot get along and hubby don't like then better put elsewhere rather than have more conflicts . Can understand lah , grandparents always love the grandchildren .. night time u all cannot discpline your son ? why u say spoil in what way ?

Jasminie : No need to paiseh lah .. child is ignorance and cute lah ..

Kome,
Your son is 2 yrs old? I heard from my colleague to register my gal soon if I wanted her to go nursery the year after next. Coz she intend to let her son go for next year class already on waiting list liao. Now everywhere so kiasu, now I have to look around if I intend to send my girl to nursery. Sigh...

Wish a boy,
Im interested, actually want to go to the babytalk event at suntec this sat to find out more. But if you can get better discount I may want to join in too.

yiyi,
She change her own lyrics thats make us peisay... she sang I love U, U love me, we are happy family... she got the song from barney actually...

Wish a boy
I am interested.

Jasmine
Yup, my son going 2 yrs old in Dec. Ya lor, I have registered early in september to hope get a place. Just got the confirmation yesterday that got a place for my son already.

wishaboy,
i 90% confirm using cordlife. but i already have discount as NUH patient, so will only pay $800 (i think) when sign up.

Kome,
You put him in private childcare? Im thinking to let my girl have some enrichment class before entering Nursery in 2010 as she is a Nov baby.

regarding infantcare, my concern is about baby getting sick easily... anyway, i think if any of us want to put baby in infantcare, better try to reserve (if they allow) a place cos most infantcare have a very low quota. the 2 centres i asked, little skoolhouse & agape, take in 13 and 20 babies respectively only.

Wish a boy
Me dunno how to discipline and my hb either bochap or too fierce will use cane at him. He is very mischeivous and will throw his tantrum and lay on the floor to cry. Insist what he want.

Jasmine : I have PM u . Pls check which is better and let me know ok . Pls don't discount if not wait they don't offer us anymore .

my 2yo went for her school orientation on saturday... and she is bugging us to send her to school now..

for good school, better register early...

jtho,
You paying yearly? I heard they have package of 21yrs. My sis paid $5.5K at 1 shot it cover till the child is 21 yrs old.

Jtho : Ya next year a lot of babies so those want infant care better reserve fast if can ..

Kome : U have to be firm lah .. cannot let your boy overtake u and I think cannot put all the blame on your mother for spoiling your son if parents don't discpline . For me my FIL is the one that spoil the kids but I behind will discpline my gals and tell them what can be done and what cannot so they know that if mummy angry mean really angry and cannot do that anymore .

jasmine,
they have annual plan, 10-year plan & 21-year plan. for 10-year plan, they give u discount of 1 year storage = $250, for 21- year plan, they give u discount of 3 years storage = $750.
i think i will go for the annual plan cos very heartache to pay $3650 or $5650 + GST upfront. but will discuss with hubby and decide lor...

Wish a boy
I not blaming my parents, i know both of us gt the fault also for not discipline him. I also dote on my son and always smiling at him and play with him, so he is not scare of me at all.

Kome : Not too late , only 2 years still can discpline . So start now , discuss with your hubby a routine u want , maybe after dinner , spend time reading , play games with him and tame him down , when he cry for something and u know is wrong don't give in , distract him with other things and once he calm down explain to him what he did earlier is wrong .. he will understand as it's goes ..

Kome,
Wish a boy is right when kids is naughty have to discipline, cannot wait for you mum to discipline them coz they will tend to give in as they think too small to teach, but now kids are very smart. I do discipline my girl when she is doing or talking in a wrong manner, she will reject but I will still be strict to her, if Im really angry she knows. And will say sorry.

Wish a boy,
Yeah I do that when my gal is super naughty, sometimes need to calm down and explain to her why she is wrong than she will understand.

Jasmine and Wish a boy
Your really know how to teach your children. haiz.....i am abit failure like that.
My stupid hb also just play with his computer and don't care or teach his son. Haiz.....i am so tired + now pregnant some more. Will try my best, coz my son cannot sit still and do not have concentration at all so i find it very hard to teach him.