(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

pinksorbet
No probs. My hubby and I just prefer to do only what's important for the bb.

Re: Babyplus
Mrs BB Wong mentioned it's not necessary as our bbs are already constantly bombarded with our body sounds and heartbeat plus all the external fuzz. She said she even heard of cases where it may cause deafness?!! Anyway, she does not see the point of playing more "bom bom bom" sounds to the bb. she said it's good to talk to the baby from now onwards as well as read nursery rhymes & play classical music.

Jasmine,

Am getting my breast pump from US. So it is cheaper there... whether freestyle or swing. Swing is half the price of freestyle in US. Addalittlelove website quoted me US$112.95 for Swing and US$285 for Freestyle. PIS is too heavy... i dont drive to work so it is totally out of consideration, i want something portable and not bringing a 6kg bag everywhere i go. To me, if i really decide tat the purchase is worth it and i can afford it, i dont mind even if it is more expensive.. $20 is a small price to pay to reduce the weight from 6 kg to 1lb. I prefer Medela and now need to discuss with my hb whether we are comfortable spending on freestyle.

Other than it being a single pump, does Medela Swing have any negative reviews? Also, do u know where in Sg is selling Medela Freestyle? Wanna go take a look. Thanks!

Wish a boy,

Thanks! My husband feel that 1 yr warranty is not an issue as most electronic products can last for more than a year. In any case, i would be spending abt 8 to 10 weeks during my ML in US. So i got no issue on warranty.
Just wondering if it is better for my husband to bring the breast pump back for me in Mar or should i bring it back after my visit in Dec. U think Mar is too late?

Asura : Since u are in US , buy when u are there and same the shipping cost . For me I prefer to get from locally if price is ok since got warranty .

I am thinking between Medela PIS or Avent duo. Change my mind on getting tolleyjoy since not much comment. Scare get already regret.

These two pumps like about the same price. SO expensive.

Irene, maybe you not enough blood, better eat beef or liver to stock up blood.

Asura,
I saw the all the Medela pumps including the Freestyle at Paragon, 3rd Floor, kids area. There's a shop that sells cots, strollers, bb accessories. It think it's $899 and probably $799 after discount. Sorry, I didn't look at the name of the shop. Go and check it out there.

Oppsgal,
You can always use for your #2, or sell off 2nd hand. It's also relatively cheaper than FM. So, it's worth to buy a good one if you intend to BF.

morning mommies... Monday again! so sianz...

Irene
Check with ur gynae if u r low in iron. if not, bring sweets when u r out. I suck on sweets when I was out walking... Anyway, just try to avoid crowded places.

Breast pump
My sis gave me a Medela Mini Electric single pump, think i'll just use that. Can save $$ to buy other things.

babe

Feel weird selling breast pumps. It is like selling bra since is used on breasts.

Ya, that's why I ditch the idea of getting tolleyjoy pumps. Not much comment on the item.

Breast pump seems like the most expensive thing bought for bb.

babe,

Thank you! Shouldnt be difficult to find cos paragon is not very big... hee hee.. would go pop by during the weekends..

Oppsgal
I know what you mean. It's a big ticket item for all of us to consider carefully. I think selling it off is secondary although a good breast pump will be more durable and better condition to sell. I would wait closer to date of delivery or possibly after delivery than decide to buy as I intend to BF first and not bottle feed breast milk in the first few weeks to bond with the bb and see if I can really BF.

Asura
You're welcome!

jtho,
When I have my #1 is also same age as you. You just have to be mentally prepare there will be no good rest for the 1st few month as baby will need us to breast feed on and off, and you have to get your body ready to take care of your new born as after birth. We're not like those who're still at their late 20's or early 30's, still got energy.

oopsgal/irene
cannot eat too much liver or don eat... coz liver got vitamin A - retinol. and too much of this will cause birth defects..

irene
rem to tk ur iron tablets regularly.
it is ok to knock out, but scare hurt ur tum tum..

irene,
do take care, n take regular snacks to keep yur strength up!

asura,
i think the warranty is impt! my avent isis broke down after a couple of months, coz i press the pump too hard in my haste to get more milk n the pump got broken. lucky it was still under warranty so i managed to get an exchange. also, just thinking whether it's possible for u to leave the pump in the office n only transport the milk home. then dun hv to worry abt the weight. hmm... unless u may need to pump at home too..

oopsgal,
there weren't good comments abt tollyjoy from the mummies i know in my last pregnancy. not sure if they hv improved since then (2 yrs ago) but they said that the suction is not good, though the pump is cheap!

babe,
i think that's a good idea u've got, just latch on as much as u can in the first weeks coz it's the best way to stimulate supply. for me, there was hardly enuff to pump coz bb was drinking all the time! then when u decide to continue with bfeeding, can test out some of the pumps here n decide which one to get. different pumps work for different pple!
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

Wow sung. haha i just called KP, the mattress for the 28 x 52 dimension is 195!!! I bought it for 150 the last time at robinsons during sale time. Wonder if they still got sale at robinsons.. haha

any mommies went shopping at robinsons over the wkend? heh!!

Asura,
If thinking of transport to office for breast pump think PIS is like what you say not very light to bring around. For me Im leaving my dual medela mini in office for usage and buying a PIS or Avent Duo to station at home. Is a good thing to have a standby also. As it happens to me that my breast broke down and I have to rush to my sis place to borrow from her.

sharon,

Cant leave it in the office. Cos there are times when i go for field work then got to move ard.. Heh.. It is ok... i prefer freestyle to PIS and like i say, freestyle is only $20 more. The only thing is swing is so much cheaper..

Asura,
Its no a matter of cost is that single pump power of suction is not there lor. I can say single pump suction is not as good as a dual pump. I have 1 Avent UNO electric breast pump laying in at home now.

Asura,
Wahaha... I have latch my gal from birth too. But you still need to pump to get the supply coming. The more you latch and pump the milk flow will increase. For my case my gal stop to latch when I return to work, somehow she knew that Im starting work and refuse to latch.

Jasmine,

Oh... i see... ur gal so cute, normally bb refuse the bottle not the breast... hee..
My priority now is Medela Freestyle.. it is the portable version of PIS. Just need to discuss with my husband on whether he is comfortable with the cost. U reckon if it is better for me to get in nov/dec when i go over or for my husband to bring it back for me in Mar.. think mar is too late?

Ivy
The Freestyle is much lighter than the PISA and it does not require a converter (if you happen to purchase it from the US). It uses a battery recharger and does not require to plug in the wall/ bag so you can move around and pump and do other things. The only silly thing is that it is suppose to attach to your nursing bra (they also provide one) but not all mums will wear a nursing bra. But you can still hold the 2 bottles with one hand and pump without a nursing bra.

Apparently, Freestyle has a memory which can recall how you pump. I don't know how exactly this works but PISA does not have this function.

Both PIS and Freestyle are quiet as compared to the Mini Electric.

Asura
The Swing is just a single pump so you'll have to wear a nursing pad on the other side or have a cup to hold leaking BM on the other breast whilst pumping.

I did not use the latex mattress as too expensive and worried if wet it very heart pain . Me just use normal mattress .

thanks ladies. Will rest well and eat my pills regularly.

i guess the PIS will be really heavy to carry to and fro office and home. imagine squeezing the mrt with the heavy pump.

Asura : I would suggest u get your hubby to bring back in Mar for you . Don't think is too late . U bring back in Nov/Dec , like waste the warranty period as u don't use the pump till Mar / Apr .

My friend ask me to get Avent Duo as she use that and is good .. sigh now I don't know which to get lah .. think must ask my friend to check Avent can get good price ...

asura,
oh, u go on field trips, then must b doubly hard for u then, coz goto bring the pump around, plus hv to find somewhere private to pump!

gd day mummies..

anyone has advice if we shld get a baby cot or a playpen with bassinet? seems like playpens r much cheaper but does it serve the same purpose as a cot?

breast pump: think i may be getting hand-downs or 2nd hands cos really very expensive wor...saving money on FM but invest heavily on Breast pump...hmm...

realise majority of mummies here very rich wor...me struggling cos sahm...hb only breadwinner...thought of getting a temp job now to support bb expenses...anyone got lobang?

Asura
Yea, if you need something really cheap and portable, you may just consider a good manual pump. My cousin says she tried many and still think a manual pump worked the best for her.

Asura,
Think is still ok if you due late March, if your hubby coming back before you due? The date you buy is the date of warranty start.

sharon,

Yah lor... that's why portability is extremely important. I cant imagine having to carry the breast pump plus documents and even the laptop. Private arh... usually we get a room to ourselves. So i just need to shoo my colleagues out so that i can do it privately. If not, go toilet lor... hee hee..

pinkdemoness
I think my cousin uses the Avent Manual Pump and she has bought electric ones and don't find the suction as good. Yea, the only downside is it's a little tiring on your hands. But she could pump at the office and no one would know as it's not noisy at all and she just do wrap a shawl round herself and carry on pumping and working as normal.

Sharon
Yea, my cousin also said the same thing. Different pumps work for different people. Best to test it out first before buying. I think it's due to the breast size or something?

avent manual pump is good, can consider that you if wan to get a manual one.

i wonder if the avent duo works as good as it's manual pump.

sun:: yes VERY VERY good. I really Loveee it.
compared to the free mattress that comes with the bb cot, it's really good. the free one that came with my cot, wa lao, use 2 wks nia, got a dent already. So louya one. and after switching to the babysafe one, my boy can sleep more comfortably.

Jasmine : Will ask her to find out about the Avent pump as now I also confused which to buy Medela PIS or Avent Duo so think going to ask her to source and let me know . Will check and update u all but need sometime .

babe,
wow, your cousin is good! can pump n work at same time! hmm... not sure y everybody's feedback differs on the breast pumps. guess it's also how it's being used n positioned...

pinkdemoness,
i think whether manual pump is tiring or not depends on how fast yur milk lets down. if ur milk comes at a great speed, then dun hv to manual pump for a long time. if it's slow, then be prepared to get very tired! there r ways to speed up let down eg. think of bb suckling, look at photo of bb etc.