(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sung
i have joint pain above thigh (below hips)..dunno whether its the same with u or not..
also painful when walking..

maternity pads - if not exp, i think i just buy..
it's true in case water broke...

oh thanks pinksorbet and miss83. sometimes new aches and pain at weird areas pop up, not sure if normal or not and i worry.

i still hv pain at abdominal area sometimes too. but mostly is wind. luckily i sit at a corner, else everyone will hear/smell me hahaha :p

I also have nipple sore..it's like swollen and painful..but yesterday my hb asked gynae and he said its normal because breasts are getting bigger causing nipple sore..
at first i got so worried because never read in any books that during pregnancy also has symptoms like this..i thought only during BF

sung
i too have pains at my abdominal area, sometimes around my hip bone.. didnt spot/bleed so didnt think it's serious.

miss83
I think breasts sore is normal. I also have sore breasts every morning... think it's getting bigger during pregnancy. But still bearable.

kome....

m elder sister gave birth to both were C-sec..
coz the #1 breech, #2 tilted side ways..
but she told me that if the #1 C-sec..the #2 better do the same too...

so she asked me..i told her if my gynea thinks i can do natural..i'll opt for it...unless otherwise...

so you can now jut monitor baby's movement...if baby tilt accordingly then maybe should jut do the natural..but C-sec can have your date choosen after 37th week at least 3 weeks before EDD...

maybe you like some dates???
hhahahahha

oic, i'm oso worried abt nipple, noticed some of the bumps there growing bigger some days. other days normal. then oso got some new pimple-like bump popping up. was going to chk with my gynae too!

mummies...

i was just looking at the list to buy for baby..wow..it's really a long list..
maybe i should jut go to the store and give them the list...thne get them to deliver to me..hahaha
one shot...so then when they bring stuffs to me..i can slowly settle the stuffs and wait for baby to arrive..hehehe
i'll start buying in dec or jan bah...
heard NOV there's baby fair in United SQ..will go down and get some deals..ehhehe

wow saw some strollers...wow they really cost alot and heavy...i am looking for one that can be managed by 1 hand...my sis ter told me there is...

hmmmmm..........did mummies bought the milk bottles w BPA safe???

sung...

i had the pulling and stinking feeling on my right tigh the other week...
maybe it's the stnading and walking too much thingie...
jut raise up your legs if you are sitting down..
if at work...maybe you can pout the dustbin sideway..and put yur legs on it...
it'll help to elevate the legs t ease the pain..
read in the book it's normal for preggies..

minnie
mine is not sore breast..but the nipple only..the right one is swollen so it's bigger than the left nipple..and it's painful..

sung
i also find white pimple in my aerola

Mommies

I looking for a stroller too. Is there any particular stroller that is good?

Daphne
I got Avent milk bottles and sterlizer. Is it BPA safe?

Kome & Cindy,
Me too in the same shoe. My gyane this time already say so same hor C-sect. She didnt even thought I can go for normal coz I have high blood pressure.

Kome,
i see. Like the rest reckon that u talk to yr gynae on the delivery options. If this time round u got no high blood & baby is engage in ideal position for natural, do give it a try!

minnie24...

i think avent is BPA safe...and the bottles will have a sticker on it...
was looking at the tommee tippee ones..but realised no stickers..

how much budget we must prepare to buy bb stuffs? it seems like alot of stuffs.. i have listed down n now my lists are very long already..

hahaha....miss83...
yah i also think it'll cost a bomb..so i reckon gotta buy a relatively good ones..so can last longer....cheaper ones might not be able to last....

i have decided to buy those convertible cots...that can be used from birth to at least 5 yrs old...hehee
and the car seats with boosters..so can last too...

Daphne
I got no special date require to c-sect, just thinking not to suffer so much pain. Will see how later and than decide.

kome...

dun worry about that now.....meanwhile...eat well and take care of your healthy....everything will fall into place once you are calm and well..

Kome & Cindy,
I just wandering do both of you have this experience? After I gave birth still in hospital, On the 3rd day after visitor came to visit me and left. I got huge blood flow down just like flashing out for no reason, I was dam in shock after that my pants with pads all filled with blood even my sock is wet and have to throw away. I quickly rush to the toilet to change into clean pants and pads, ask for the nurse to come to me after that. According to the is becoz of I start BF and my womb got contraction, she says is better like that as will slim down faster, but not everyone will have this happen, so wandering both of you got this problem also. But it really cause me in great shock lor. After I went home it happen another time but not as bad as in hospital.

Weather forecast 3pm-6pm
Showers with thunder storm over north,south, east & west side. Ladies, do bring yr umbrella along aft work! counting down...another 1.5hrs

steph
means the whole of Singapore! haiz so sianz, i so scare of rainy days nowadays, have to walk extra careful.

Careful mommies!

daphne,
no need to buy everything on the list lah
get those u think r essentials first then buy others later. every mummy hv different opinions as to what's required, so wat's necessary for one may not suit the other. for stroller, i got an aprica one coz it's the lightest i can find n manageable with one hand. price is a bit on the high side though, think abt $500.

kome,
heard that vbac (tat's wat they call vaginal birth after c-sec) can b quite dangerous due to the existing wound. so most conservative gynaes will recommend to cut again.

oppsgal,
can't advise u much on water breaking coz mine was induced. but closer to edd, gynae will monitor more closely so they can tell u roughly when to start taking leave n rest at home. i used to drive, so i got those surgical mat thingy fr guardian n put in the car. if water breaks, put it on the seat to help absorb.

jasmine
i read on someone's blog..she also experienced that...and it's normal..esp womb contraction because ur tummy was going back to normal size..

re:baby cot
anyone ever bought cot from ikea? i like the design..but i'm not sure whether it's long lasting..what do u think? about the price..is it cheaper than dept store?

Jasmine,
although mine is natural, i also have heavy flow on the 2nd & 3rd day, need to change pad every 3hourly. I was on total breastfeeding in the hospital. My flow lasted for a month with lochia discharge on the last week.

thanks daphne and miss83.

daphne, i put a stool below my desk and prop my leg up when i remember to coz heard dis position is the best for leg cramps which i'm getting quite frequently. haha can't use dustbin, mine's the type open basket.

re. bb bottles - do you all tink it's better to get glass bottles or too dangerous for bb?

re. bb list budget - incl confinement and tonics for mummies, my list budget already exceeded 5 figs. so scary, dun know how to cut down too!

miss83, i saw the ikea cot too! is the one you eyeing leksvik cot at $279? we find it pretty nice but can't decide coz it doesn't hv wheels, can't move around. tinking of getting a cot with wheels so that can move from room to living room in the daytime...

sung
i read that now is recommended to buy glass bottles..plastic one is not safe..

re:bb budget
if without confinement lady and post natal massage roughly how much? 2k?
I planned not to book any CL or massage lady..

sung,....

saw a baby cot selling n marina sq (the huge kiddie kinda store near he escalator)..the level where mothercare is...there's about 3 baby cots...they are convertible ones...cost less then $400...

sung
re:bb cot at ikea
i'm not sure which model..but the one that can be converted to a bed when bb is big enough..

oh ya..easier with wheels! but im thinking to buy baby playpen n put it in the living rm..so no need to move ard the cot..

i am very sceptical about IKEA stuffs..they do look good..but lasting wise i have doubts..coz most of their wood are made of compressed fibre( wood) so if accidentally water gets in..it'll expand and then the whole thing will fall apart...no good idea...

miss83,
CL rate abt $1.8K-$2K
post natal massage 5 session abt $300-$400
For bb budget, u can consider 2nd hand bb cot/playpen. During bb full-month celebration, sure pple will ask what u want, write down yr wish list for the bb items

Jasmine
Mine is normal flow. Nothing different. I only doing breastfeeding during daytime after the 2nd day.

Sung & Miss83
As newborn does not drink alot, you may get the bottles from the hospital. I keep all the glass bottles that i get from MT A last time. My mum and I find that they are quite useful and best still is they are glass one. When older than change to other milk bottles.

miss83...

playpen...yah that was wat my fren bought for her baby...she thinks she'll spent more time in the living room w baby....so bouught the pen..and can collaspe..when she goes to her parents house in the day..she'll bring along too..hahah
asked her why dun buy 2..she said baby will grow out of it...so dun wan to waste money..hehehe

Steph,
I also thought everything is normal, as after delivery my menses flow is average to little, so I use the normal night use pad. And when it suddenly flow out in full blush, I was in shock and I thought something is wrong with me as I went through C-sect mah. So I hope this will not happen again really scare me.

steph

i think my friends will throw bb shower for me..usually on the 7th mth..i hope they gv me something i really need haha..(like cot,playpen haha)

jasmine..
maybe you went thru c-sec???
coz in normal birth the blood will flow out together with the baby...so it has lessen???

my sister also old me that she thought she wet the bed....but then smelt stench then she realised it was blood..

thanks daphne, i'll go take a look dis wkend. hmmnn true abt ikea wood...must consider before buying for bb...

miss83 - the one i saw can convert too. i got a pic of it in my hp haha i walk ard, shop shop, see things i like or fancy, take a snapshot so can compare at my leisure time.

oh my whole budget includes all pregnancy cost as well - for gynae fees, cord blood, furniture for bb room, confinement, hospitalisation etc. tot must save n put aside the money, else cost will balloon, very scary.

for mummy breastfeeding n confinement side, i budget abt $5,500 based on feedback from mummies frens. biggest bulk is to confinement lady, confinement food cost and confinement tonic, almost $4k.

re: pad

i use the sofy overnight pad instead of the maternity pad. i find that its q good and more comfortable. oso you can consider wearing disposable underwear so that you can just throw everything away instead of having to worry abt the staining etc.

mine was natural and usually aft the massage, will have thick pieces of blood clot coming out. they say that the massage helps to push out the locia.

kome ...

think the best is to listen to your gynae's advise lar cos they should know what is best for both mother and bb =)

Jasmine,
i think not to worry abt the sudden huge flow unless u feel pain or uncomfortable. My massage lady told me the old blood "lochia" will pass out from our system & it's a good sign so that there will be no blood clot inside our womb. During confinement, i also fart uncontrollable, massage lady say it's wind & it's a good sign too! meaning the wind dun get trap inside our womb.

Sung
I also did not know that. My mum asked me to keep the bottles as she thinks it was good to use after every feeding. Than before i discharge than i heard 1 daddy saying he went to asked the nurse to give him abt 10 bottles to take home.

Seabreeze
Understand your pt of view. Surely will let my gyna know my thinking and see what he will say.

Re baby journal from NLB:
I had no prob collecting. The guy juz ask for my IC and fill up a form. Never even ask for my gynae card. Bedok Branch

Re stroller:
Haha, I KS, juz bot recently during Isetan pte sale and they juz delivered to me. Bot Combi, which is a Japanese brand cos its lightweight (this one i bot 4+kg only) & not bulky and the model I bot had reversible handle, meaning I can see baby while pushing the stroller. These were impt criteria for me. Some may prefer European brand as they are more sturdy, but I find them too heavy, around 10kg or more. Combi hardly have sales, understand from salesgal at most is throw in free gift. So when I saw there was 10% off during pte sale (+ addn 3% for isetan card) & only valid for one day, we grab. We have also sourced for "sponsorship" from my SIL for the stroller. Though not full sponsorship, but better than nothing la

hey mummies...

have you all consider the baby 1st month cakes things??
i have been lookign around...abit KS..but list down some and asked my parents and IL to calculate how many pple to give out..
so i can budget it out too..hahhaa

Teddybaby
Last time i brought combi stroller also. At first i found it was good to use, mine also have reversible handle. When my son getting bigger, the stroller become too small to fit him because of the width. My son seems bigger than the stroller and he did not felt so comfortable when sleeping. I gave it to my SIL to use instead since her daughter just 3 mths old.

Daphne
Before pregnant, i had already decide to try out Sweetest Moments (not too sure abt the name alread). More KS than you.

have a good evening mummies...

pls take care of the wet outside while walking...

going to parent's place for mee siam and then to my thai lesson..hehehe

read the thread when i come back later....

tata mummies...

miss83, i understand tt cordblood is good for genetics (not sure spelling) diseases and only available when we give birth. it's taken from the bb's umbilical cord. guess it's also ks to keep as it's so hard to get and for preventive purposes. you can read more about it on cordlife, stemcord or the singapore public cord blood bank's website. tink if not saving in private banks, wld be good to donate to public bank as it can be used to treat against leukemia, etc.

thanks kome, i'll keep an open eye and chk at the hospital when delivered hee.

oops daphne! you just reminded me, i missed out 1st month cakes in my budget hahaha!