(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

yup yup, agree with Wish a boy, we can always take care of ourselves. Sometimes when expecting things from them, dun happen will get very upset. Might as well plan it in ourselves and if happened they got do for us, then becomes bonus liao hee! Else, still ok. We take care of ourselves and got hubby and bb

Kome
ur pil so stingy ah... so far my mum brewed dong cong cao with ginseng for me once. think i will get her to brew twice a month. she said v expensive too. my house have some v good ginseng fr his grandparents. given to him last time. will bring to mum and get her to brew with dong cong cao nxt time. din give mum $. she used her own money. as for pil, mil gave me half dozen of bottled birdnest bef. should take fr 5 or 6 months onwards...

Guest : I think usually rich pp more stingy as my SIL lor one also like that stay at landed property but never buy anything for my SIL or the baby hor .

Wow so many MTBs here really know how to take care of yourself and "bu" shen. I always thought to do it during 3rd tri haha, luckily all of you sharing your views and advice here otherwise I wouldnt know. My in laws are not in Sin and my mum doesnt really know too.

Oopsgal, I joined FBI scheme from TMC so I think there is some discount given. Are you from TMC too or there will be more discount for group registration?

in fact i dont get along well with pil. the feeling of selling my house n move back is getting worse... i scared i will have pre and post natal blues... esp my fil he like to provoke me...i complained to hubby and he is at the verge too...i am still like an outsider to them. fil like to give sarcastic remarks which i dont find a point. it is just his habit and it really upset me even when i m staying at my own house... it will be a hell / nightmare when i move back.. not sure got milk to bf nxt time...will be too stress...

sandi teo : ya I know FBI can get $450 discount so now we are trying to ask if gp got better discount .. hee hee ... need to save $$ if possible ..

Guest : since u cannot get along why need to move back unless your hubby is the only son ? if u don't like it maybe discuss with hubby as think your hubby also don't want everyday after work go home listen to your complaint ...

personally thinking if both PIL is around , they can keep each other company , I think can live on our own unless one party passed away then think we need to stay with one of them to keep company and look out .. or both very old and need help ..

thrifty and stingy is just a thin line.. my family poorer but my mum used her own money to brew for me...ask when m i going back she brew for me...so far i cant comment much on the tonic part fr my pil. but they seems bochup abt my preg.

not sure is it due to preg mood swing or they irritate me at the RIGHT time.

two incidents happened lately.
1. fil called and looked for hubby. i told him hubby was vacuuming. he asked then what r u doing. i said i was washing the dishes. "i thought u r watching tv"
What will u feel if u were me?

2. hubby brought the cd fr our gynae visit and wanna show his mum first as fil was out walking the dog. "aiyo where got time, i need to xxxx....."
I was flipping 8 days. i told fil if got time watch the channel U thur 930pm show about the bb. "aiyo, i where got time...."

Their usual lines...inflexible. bochup. insensitive. inconsiderate of others feeling. That are what i feel.
When i complain to hubby, he always said what can he do. disown them? y i so petty. my msn frd facing the same prob. and laughing off that i m walking her footstep...sigh...

reasons of moving back:
-cutting down on expenses
-someone to look aft me when i am doing confinement. none of the mums wanna come over to stay and take care of me esp mil who said she forever no time.
-hubby dont wanna leave the bb with the maid
-staying in our own house meaning we have to fetch the bb and maid everyday and even lesser time as hubby works 7 days a week.

for those who has maid, do you give a token to them for hari raya?

talking abt FIL, he himself has a 3room flat, now move in and squeeze with us. really hate him loh. cant he just move back to his own house?
My mom is currently staying with us also since 2 yrs ago cos she helping me take care of my 2 kids. now he come over squeeze. siao de

teddybaby - i also have sinusitis... =( b4 pregnant, wasnt that bad... occasionally will get nose blocked and throat sore becos of the post nasal drip when i wake up in the am... now with pregnancy, its gotten worse... everyday i wake up with blocked nose and sore throat... becos of post nasal drip when i sleep... my boss suggested i shld go see ENT specialist to help me clear it up... she says will last a few mths at least... so im thinking abt it... but not sure hw much it wld cost.. have u seen ENT specialist b4??? Sometimes even b4 i fall asleep, my nose is already blocked and i wun be able to breathe... -_-"

anyone of u getting UTI frequently with pregnancy? i seem to be getting it quite often and it really makes me uncomfortable... =(

Regarding birds nest, i guess i will have to buy my own and make myself... i'm not sure if my mum is aware that taking birds nest is good... becos she hasnt mentioned it but she does call often to ask if i wan to eat anything special... this n that... im sure if i tell her i wan birds nest she will buy for me... but i think will be better if i buy myself... my mum is nt working... =) for my MIL, since knowing abt the pregnancy til now, she has not cooked anything for me... has not given me anything... has not said much actually... so i jus leave it at that... initially when she found out abt the pregnancy when my hubby told her, she asked if we were going to keep the baby -_-" When i heard that, i was totally disappointed with her... Anyway ive decided i will get my own mum to do confinement for me... it wil be easier to communicate displeasure with my own mum as well... if not my hubby will be stuck in the middle which is not what we all want...

anyway, i told hubby we shall we independent and not depend on anyone... but of cos my parents are always welcome hee hee hee... becos 1st grandchild for my parents ah... so they r more excited... for PIL they already have 2 grandsons... so maybe thats why nt much reaction... =P

Today not feeling that well... woke up and vomitted... a bit sian.. all the gastric juice come out... actually wanted to go to expo fair but i think i shall jus rest at home... took off today...

Hubby said he is immune to their "treatments". i told him i dont wish to be immune and be like them. and i wont want my child to be exposured to this.

Guest : Ya take it they are thrify .. hee hee ..
As I say own parents care for their own children more than DIL or SIL .. even my nanny who took care of me when I'm young and known me for more than 30+ years , so very poor staying in rental house but when I married or give birth , she still buy gold and tonics for me . So sometimes I think pp who are rich tends to be more stingy ..

Guest : Treat their comments as nothing , 1 ear in 1 ear out .. don't bother too much or complain to hubby as there is nothing he can do and he might already used to it and to him is nothing .. just make your life miserable .. ignore their comments ..

wow... so many family woes... lucky for us, my PILs are quite independent and dont want to stay with us... plus they still have a daughter in her 30s who is not married and may never marry... so 3 of them stay together... before i was pregs, i did ask MIL if she wld do confinement for me .. she said can but need to stay with them... -_-" FIL hardly talks to me... in fact he also hardly talks to my hubby... maybe becos really wide age gap... my FIL in his 70s... usually he will ask eat already or not... or he will tell the grandsons to eat faster... dont be so noisy... lol... thats abt it... last time when hubby and i just started dating, MIL asked me why i so fat -_-" she also asked hubby why choose gf so fat ... -_-" jus becos she is super thin... her waist is 22" plus hubby is bamboo and her daughters are both small sized and petite... tupit right? anyway we jus ignore them =P

Re: Birdnest

wah envy envy...so many of u started birdnest.
Double boil DIY birdnest taste nicer & healthier compare to the instant bottle type.
My own mum will brew for me when i am into 20wks

My MIL will make white fugus aka Bai Mu Er with red dates. She say rich pple take birdnest while poor pple take white fugus which also has much iron, Vitamin C, calcium and phosphorous.
I wouldn't expect MIL to buy & brew birdnest for me as they r expensive.
I never tried Cordyceps aka Dong Cong Cao for pregnancy. Can it be use to treat anemia during pregnancy? I know it is often use to boosts immune system & relieves fatigue for the body.

According to my ex colleague fr malaysia, XPLUS Pharmacy Sdn Bhd selling the neurogainPB only got 1 type, the DHA is 250mg cost RM63.90, but after discount is RM50 for members. membership is free.

Guest : U sure u want your MIL to help you on confinement , since now already cannot get along u sure want her to help u ? Why not u buy resale flat nearer their place instead and have your own house which might be better than staying together since u already cannot stand them ... staying together is not easy if u cannot accept their lifestyle and comments .. will end up more quarrels which is even bad , ever think of this ?

wish a boy
we thought too. however the economic is really bad now.. cant sell our condo and cant afford a big or same size condo which is freehold at paya lebar / katong which is near his parents... and his dad does not wanna subsidised or sponsor yet always tell us buy landed better. he thought his son ceo ah... we are not even in our 30s... how to afford.

guest,
i agree with wat wishaboy said, the more u c each other, the more conflicts there will b. if yur relationship with them is bad now, wun it b worse if u stay together n let them take care of yur child? mayb explore other options lik having a babysitter?

afcai,
tks, i am feeling better now
Now, i try to limit my shopping/walking hrs. Recently, i experience breathless if i walk too long or climb up the stairs. Maybe getting old liao:p
Re: Legs cramp
For my 1st pregnancy, i kena leg cramps occasionally at my calf muscles when i am into late 2nd trimester. This time, i experienced it at week 14, lucky only once so far *touch wood*.
To avoid leg cramps, try to wear a sock to keep yr feet warm (at nite if air-con) & drink more water & intake less salt.

Guest : like that then u have no choice but to stay with them and have to tahan if not more quarrels and more problems . So at times when we buy house , must consider who look after our kids if we want to work if not travelling will kills .

we will be hiring a maid nearing delivery. have not decide who is gonna fully take care of the bb. mil or the maid. if maid, mil still haf to oversee... cant leave maid alone with bb..in fact, fil knows how to take care of bb more than mil. this is what pil told me.... haha.. i wonder what my mil was doing that time...think she dont even know how to bathe the bb...
initially when she rejected taking care of our bb, i asked who looked after ur children last time. she said her mil. i asked if no mil will she be assure to leave the children with the maid?! she dumbstruck. when they talk, they nvr thought of ours plight and consider others feelings. They just wanted me to shoot them back and make them dumbstruck everytime then they happy right...

sharon
did u read the paper on nanny... last fri the new paper. shaked the bb till brain and eyes clot with blood... then i told hubby. mil showed me this for what?! if they insisted not taking care of our bb, they might face this prob lor... self slap on the face right?! of cos i only complain to hubby on their innocent and stupid remarks which they make a fool out of themselves only...

by the way, just asking. anyone intersted in the neurogainPB from malaysia? rm50. seems like Xplus Pharmacy offering the offer only.

missycandy,
Re: UTI during pregnancy
The vast majority of urinary tract infections (UTI) are due to bacteria from the bowels.The main reason why women are more prone to getting UTI is due to the fact that they have a short urethra ie the urinary passage, which connects the neck of the bladder to the vaginal outlet. Bacteria therefore have an easier access to the bladder where they multiply and cause cystitis.

If there is an underlying structural abnormality in the bladder or urinary system, the risk of getting recurrent UTIs increases.The risk also increases in conditions of vaginal dryness, which is common in women who have had their menopause. The state of your natural immunity is also important.

If you suffer from UTI, consult your doctor. Antibiotics may be prescribed as a preventive measure for a longer term. If vaginal dryness is an important contributing factor, the doctor may recommend an oestrogen-based medication. Meanwhile, to reduce your risk of developing UTIs:

*Drink sufficient water to ensure a regular flushing of urine from the bladder which prevents any bacteria from multiplying.
*Empty your bladder after sex. During sexual intercourse, bacteria can enter the bladder and infection could result.
*Avoid constipation. As bacteria from the bowels is the source of infection in UTI, constipation could result in an increased presence of bacteria between the anus and the vagina.
*Take cranberry juice or tablets. Cranberry juice helps to acidify urine in the bladder and this will prevent bacteria from multiplying.

Just in case some of you are looking for Neurogain S, they are only available at the following outlets in Singapore.

1) KKH Retail Pharmacy
2) H K Ho @ Mt Alvernia
3) Yvonne Chan @ TMC 6256 4664
4) Maternity and Gynaecological @ Mt E 6252 5360

Sorry I did not ask about the price but should be different depending on the outlet. I'd probably try the KKH Retail Pharmacy first. I'd assume that'll be cheaper than buying from the clinics.

guest,
yar, understand yur concerns. that case was an exception though coz they got a bad person as a nanny. i agree tat it's best to rely on relatives, just tat hv to also take into account conflicts with in-laws. when my first one was born, i was so overwhelmed and overly concerned abt her tat even my relationship with hsbd was affected. those mummy hormones r powerful!

steph - thanks for the info! i guess i shall stock up on cranberry juice then... currently taking promengranate.. heh heh ... i didnt knw constipation was related to UTI... wow... thanks =)

Guest123 - i actuallyu agree with other mummies on stayin with ur in laws... after giving birth, ur mood/emotions will be like a roller coaster... if u move in with them, u are putting urself at higher risk of going into post natal depression... will be this be 1st grandchild for ur in laws? if so, maybe when they see baby they will soften... but be prepared for ur hubby to be caught in the middle...

also with the maid, hopefully ur mil will be able to get along with the maid or vice versa... my colleague's MIL cldnt get along with the maid and had to change... in fact i think they changed a few times already -_-" i'm not tryin to scared you or badmouth ur MIL but just want you to be aware of what you are going to put yourself thru and into... once u step in, it will be hard to get out...

He is already caught in between already... and said y i clap hand with them... and y i petty...u want me to disown them meh...

thanks everyone for your concern... i will find alternatives.. now we must is to sell the house first. then we decide how.either get a hdb near our current place or near his parents place. see how...

teddybaby and moomooland

which week are u now? I'm in my 15th..going to see Dr. Adrian in the next 2 weeks

I'm also taking fish oil because during my 1st trim got MS and can't take fish (now also dont eat so much fish). the cost is about $30-32. Usually dr.adrian suggest to buy the fish oil after u pass 1st trim (he will give u a brochure about the supplement).

Re: Bird nest
I start taking it since week 6. no idea if actually taking it from 6 months onwards will be more effective. lucky some of u have mothers to brew for u..i've to brew myself...so lazy..hehe..only do it twice a week..

Any1 looking for confinment lady and nanny at Toa Payoh area? My mother is available after CNY, experienced. Please PM me.

Guest : Personally I think our parents or PILs are not obligated to help us look after our children , it's our own responsibilities . They already taken care of you or your spouses so don't expect them to help u look after grandchildren as they also want some freedom since their own children all big liao and no worries for them liao . Consider their job / responsibilties done . If they do help you , you are luckily lor . If not , dont't blame them as it's not their responsibilites and don't compare with others if not make your life miserable .

miss83,
i had an epidural with my firstborn. doc advised me to take it coz i had to induce bb, and the contractions will happen quickly rather than gradually, so will be more intense. i had some immediate side effects after birth though, had nausea and bad hallucinations, took me abt an hour to recover. hsbd prefers tat i take epidural this time round too coz he doesn't want to deal with the stress. :p

i wan to be super woman and go without but not sure if will have to go csect or not... still early... but if have choice, i will go natural without epidural and experience the pain at least once.. hee hee...

guest - if reli no choice, maybe opt for child care? i agree it is hard for your hubby... and sometimes you also no choice... just discuss with hubby and see what is best for both of u n baby =) maybe some of us cn help u... hee hee...

Actually depend on your pain tolerance lah , if u can don't take epidural , if not just take lor . First one c-sect no choice have to take , 2nd one I also take cannot tahan the pain and really envy those can tahan ..

hubby does not feel safe having the maid alone with the bb...
we thought of nanny too. he still find leaving with pil better. he is willing to do the fetching. however, his work demands alot of his time, he does not have much quality time with us and not to mention in future when fetching has to be done in the mrng and evening... and i dont like mil's food...i rather get my maid to learn cooking fr mum. hubby in fact eat more at my mum's place than his mum's house.

I experenice the pain at labour as run out of epidural so they don't want to give some more but cannot tahan till I scolded the midwife and ask for it to continue as I told her now I endure the pain and later no strength to push how ?? hubby no choice ask them give me lor since I feel so stressed and in great pain ..

miss83,
i lasted 5hrs on induction and no epidural. Then doc came and say wun be so fast...at least another 5hrs before cerix is ready. So i quickly asked for epidural..But within 30mins of the jab, cerix is 10cm liao!! And the epid is not into my body system yet! Haha..so in the end, waste money lo..and had bad puking after delivery when the epid finally reach my nerves.

So conclusion is: Take it once you reach hosp if you want. Else just endure all the way....
Dun do it half way like me and waste money...

initially hubby was telling me got reading .. don't know at about 100 ( cannot remember the reading lah ) I cannot tahan anymore so ask for it , that time only dilate 2-3cm lah long wait to go .. then gynea came and saw I on epidural and says since cannot take it better ask for it lor why make your life miserable and later no strength to push have to c-sect ... then after I take , hubby say luckily u take now reading like 150+ ... think last stage the first drip finish they stop my epidural and the pain very terrible till I scream and scold the midwife for not continue the drip and tell me very fast bb will be out and over but in the end abt 1/2hr later bb still inside lah .. no choice scream and sweat till hubby ask them can give her or not if not later I no strength how .. so they continue lor then later realised my bb a bit big 3.5kg ... hahaha ..

Me did not feel puking just a bit hands shivers which they say is normal side effects for epidural .. luckily me take and enjoy a sleep as I took at 9+am and delivered my gal around 5pm ... so quite worth it .. hahaha ..