(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

jus had mee goreng for dinner... and ice cream cone...

sooo many messages... took awhile to read & absorb... *lol*

sian ah.. i tot wed PH i can rest... end up have a few cases and i need to help my colleague to clear lor... damn sian... becos it will take at least 5hrs of my time including travelling time... =(

am still feeling a bit of MS on & off... especially when i get up in the morning... but is usually gastric juice... but still feeling tired.. sometimes dont sleep well... everytime wake up to pee, have trouble tryin to go back to sleep... *sigh*

hope tomorrow i can go home early... since i have to work on WeD... @$$%#@%^$@#^#^%#@ unfair =( now my boss asked me to work on Sats as well... so will be working 5.5days a week... damn sian lor...

miss83 and minnie24,
I'm also seeing Dr Adrian W, sengkang clinic. But so far he only gave me previt and folic acid.

minnie24, did he give u the fish oil supplement too? I understand its not part of the package.

Re cold drinks: Earlier in the pregnancy, I needed to drink warm water to make MS better, but now, esp in afternoon or after out in the sun, urge to drink cold water.

TW: I think u could be having sinus. I'm having the same problem as you, just that I think mine is more serious, morning & afternoon my nose will also keep sneezing & dripping muscous. In less than 2 months, I've finished using up 5 BOXES of tissue, each with 200 pieces. *faintz* But is getting better now that I'm seeing a TCM doc

Re Touching tummy: I've been sayang my tummy leh, esp when I'm talking to the little one. I heard from frends that it is only not so good to touch in a certain direction when you are nearing delivery

hi teddybaby,
i am seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth too..requested for Fish Oil ever since I've past first trimester

currently nursing a nagging cough..anyone experiencing the same thing as me?

afcai
Actually never used my aircon timer ever!! Haha... just on and off. Well, at least fan and open windows for ventilation is healthier to sleep in. Just hope wearing shorts won't give bad leg cramps later on.

moomooland
I've been getting runny nose and sore throat for the past few days now. I guess it's due to pregnancy but am not too sure. It has not got worse so I haven't bothered to see a GP. Just bear with it.

Very tired and long day!
Good nite ladies!

Ya teddybear

Jus noe tat our immune sys can b qite vulnerable during this period...
Just rest more n drink more water/ fruits...

For those mtbs having ms...tink not easy, so far my appetite pretty gd but not 2 e pt of eating non-stop...my only problem is occasional heatiness/bloated ness n dry sensitive skin...Got occasional outbreaks on e face too...sighz....bo bian lor...jus visit e beauty salon more regularly n slate my face w hydrating masks more often...

Miss my pedi/mani period n hair rebonding session...but LOOKING FORWARD to walk ard n meet pple w my HUGE BURGEONING belly...haha

Really grateful 2 hear all ur replies...this thread is not jus like F1 race...it seems like an Mount Everest avalaunche!!! Non stop sharing...thks to all wonderful u's out there. Hang in there ya...

hee this thread flows really fast, can't catch up at times ;P

Food/Vits:

am also taking neurogain PB + obimin + folic acid + calcium. gynae never gave iron, prob coz my blood pressure all along ok. dun really like neurogain PB, gave me a fishy smell and increase my urge to vomit...but still must take for bb.

mil said can't take bird nest till after 5 mths, supposed to be too cooling for body and bb

hee will go back to drinking anmum next week, i miss the milk intake

oh oh been eating hawaiian pizza since my 1st tri, can't miss that, my fav pizza. but i'll take out the pineapple slices and avoid that

Bb Stuff:

tot to buy only later in 6/7th mth, can watch out for year end sale then. dun tink in time for next year mar/apr bb sale. but dun wanna buy too early, wait gather dust, very hard to clean

MS:

still having slightly, usually when i'm hungry. hee read a few mtbs also the same
and usually when i'm brushing my teeth at night. not sure why but everything brush, will vomit. so space out the timing between dinner and brushing so more food digested, less to vomit out ;P

Leg cramps:

Will try out the tips given by mtbs here. Thanks so muchie!

hugs everyone, enjoy today, tomorrow's holiday!

sung
i'll be hving birdnest 2nite, my mum said now can take... me only in wk14d4, can take?

MTBs
anyone taking birdnest now?

sung,
yar, agree to buy bb stuff later coz they may gather dust. it's good now though to start doing your research on wat to buy, make a list and look through the different brands. it's pretty overwhelming with so many brands available and differing advice so good to do research early!

sun,
i already took some birdnest, though not regularly.

hi sun96

i oso dun know, was taking in my 1st tri, those bottled ones, maybe 1 every 2 weeks but when my mil knows abt it, she went to the chinese medicinal shop to ask and they said can't take yet. must wait till after 5 mths so haven't been taking since. i'm in my 15 wks + now.

sun96,

I taking those instant bird;s nest from EYS. Mom say is ok to take now but dont take too much... i only take abt once a week. we need to increase the dosage in the 3rd trimester.

oh yeah wanted to add on to two other topics ;P

Breathlessness:

also encountering the same as some of the mtbs here. breathless after walking a short distance, even just from my workstation to pantry or to ladies (less than 2 mins walk). worst when climbing stairs. so perserve energy and i dun talk when walking hee ;P

Stomach sensation:

sometimes hv very strong stomach cramps but as long as above belly button area, i'm more relaxed as unlikely to be bb hee. haha my hard hard sensation is usually on the top of my stomach, directly above belly button. hee but i do have slight pains in the lower left/right areas from time to time that usually get better after i sayang the area for a while. dun dare do rotational sayanging (hhaha oso coz i watched mrs wong on tv saying that'll lead to early delivery). so i'll sayang up and down lor

oh oh also lots of air in stomach, whole day long. guess that's to do with our slowed-down digestion during pregnancy.

Bird Nest : Me usually take after 1st trimester around 16 weeks or so and those brewed type as hubby will buy and ask MIL help to brew for me . Pp said to take later as by then bb will be able to absorb , too early no use .

Sung : Maybe the one u take is those bottled one might be too sweet unless u bought those concentrated one like some mummies . If can , brewed one will be better as u can decide the rock sugar or don't even put at all , at times my MIL put pao sheng instead .

icic... tink should be ok if my mum brew for me twice a wk for now n aft 15 wks mayb will see how... =)

moomooland: I think I will request at my next visit..isit part of the package?

TW: I've always have sinus, just that during pregnancy its worse. Read that pple with existing allergies may have it worse during pregnancy.

Re Bird Nest: Been taking the bottled ones since Trim 1, one bottle every 2 wks, but starting Trim 2, MIL has been preparing the broiled ones, abt once every 1-2 wks. Bird Nest is "ren" - nourishing, so its neither cooling nor heaty

Does anyone has a comprehensive list of what items to buy in preparation for baby & motherhood?

morning gals..

Re: birdnest
I starting taking birdnest when i m in my 2nd trimester. cook birdnest every fortnightly. very expensive, so cannot eat too frequent. maybe when i last trimester then I will eat on wkly basis..

re birdnest
dont think can afford and heard that last trimester take more effective. if can afford, i will take fr 3rd trimester, weekly, brewed kind.

even taking weekky fr last trimester, taking brewed and pure kind is not cheap... will cost at least a few hundreds... hubby said his house got a lot of good one... i wonder can birdnest keep so long meh?? i dont mind if my pil voluntarily brewed early for me to eat.. haha

Bird Nest : Ya very expensive if u buy those good one like Xue Yan or high end one don't know call what leh , easily cost $400 - $500 for about 6pcs lah .. so usually I buy only twice and eat for 12 weeks starting from 16 - 20 weeks as in between at times I take dong cong cao ... really broke man ..

Last year EYS gt good buy. $128 per box for the bird nest and if you buy 3 boxes you will get another type of bird nest free. I buy 3 boxes last year total abt $400+ for my son to eat for this whole year.

hihi wish a boy, is dong cong cao more exp than birdnest? hee how much does dong cong cao usually cost huh? kept reading here and hearing from others that it's very good for pregnancy?

i wun eat bird nest so soon, prob after 4/5th mth, then buy concentrated bottle one to eat. sigh, is true, can't afford, must set aside more for bb stuff

Just now went to ladies and be a merlion.....really cannot tahan after vomiting.

Sung
If i remembered correctly small boxes of dong cong cao cause abt $600 -$800+.

i heard dong cong cao very expensive now... but they said dong cong cao is gd for bb n mother if can take during preggy...

Sun
Thats what i heard also. Think malaysia selling abit more cheaper than singapore, but you need to find a reliable source for it.

Dong Cong Cao very expensive , think a small box easily cost a few hundreds to 1k . This one usually MIL buy and do for preg mummies to get once a while .

Bird Nest : I usually buy more expensive one like Xue Yan or Dong Yan don't know I get the name correct or not to pamper myself since preg which pp say not bleach kind .. think those whiter ones less expensive are those they bleach is it ?

Oppsgal : Not yet . Will update soon . This week busy closing sales . After that will ask and let u all know as also waiting for those gynea got special rates see what is theirs to compare .

wah, dong cong cao very very exp.

is it good for bb as well? was still tinking to save on the money and eat better stuff during confinement to make up hee hee. but if good for bb then must consider getting at least once or twice.

not sure if my mil will get for me, must budget in if want to get myself first.

oh Kome, i have the feeling of after vomitting. so yucky and uncomfortable. Gambatte!

Sung
Dong cong cao is good for bb, but you don't have to take it weekly. 1 box can be use to brew many times as we need to use small portion each time can already.

I will Jia you.....now stomach grumbling loudly. Need to go find some food to munch if not pple hear it i will be very paisey.

Sung : MIL say good so eat lor since she brewed for me . I think only use a few strips each time . Think also heaty stuff so I also take like once or max. twice a month and alternate with bird nest something like that ..

Sung
If you can afford to buy dong cong cao, i will suggest you to buy and brew it mthly. Bb come out will be strong and more healthy. Good for mummy also.

ya, dong cong cao is more expensive than gold now...
1 liang cost $1200 when i last visit EYS. The better one cost about $1900...And 1 liang is very very little...prob can only brew 6-7x. Really eating gold....

i heard can brew over few times until no taste then give the DCC to yr hb to eat instead throwing away... mayb 2nite tell hb n see whether willingly to buy some for me to 'bu' anot... hee hee

Ya it's really super expensive and so at times told hubby u must give your parents more $$ as they brewed that for me ... hahaha ...

Sun
I am actually hoping my MIL will buy for me. They are more richer than me leh. :p They always never buy anything for me to 'bu'. LAst time when i had my son also. All brought by my mum, but she also gt not much money.

Btw EYS things are more expensive but sometimes no choice go for reliable one as don't know which chinese medical hall selling real stuff or not unless u know the people well enough ...

Kome : My mum passed away liao so cannot expected anything from my family as father very old and don't know about these stuff . Luckily my MIL know and will buy for me and her daughter . Only bird nest we buy ourself or my sis buy for me . Maybe your MIL don't know how to brew ? that's why never buy for you .

Wish a boy
She gt gave birth to 4 children before and she shld know pregnant need to 'bu'. At least she can ask if my mum can help to brew and offer to buy some birdnest or some tonic for me. Sometimes so angry with them, i am having their own 1st grandchildren and they didn't seem want to care.

Anyway, i don't really want to depend on them but dong cong cao really too expensive must ask hb to get their support for this. :p

teddybaby
Dr Adrian gave me fish oil supplements coz My hubby requested for it. Since I dun take fish, and he worried my DHA intake not enuff for BB. Yup, it's not in the package, we paid for it.

Birdnest
I only took it once every 1-2 weeks. Those broiled kind. Will be taking it everyday (those Big bottled ones) after my 6th month as per my mum and sis, since only then BB can absorb better. Now the birdnest is mainly for mommy and some for BB.

Dong Cong Cao
My MIL bought dong cong cao and ginseng and make it into powder form for me. She say this way easy to absorb and the herbs not wasted as i consumed the powder once a week. It's very expensive, I dun think i can afford it.

Wish a boy

I don't think my gynae cover any discount for cordlife.
Bird nest got those ready to drink ones. But think not much use. Drink already, pimples still come out.

$30 for fish oil very cheap. Mine cost about $32 bought from pharmacy.

Kome : Never mind lah , we buy ourselves then , they don't take care of u then u take care yourself . I think some MIL is like that , DIL is still outsider and own daughter no matter what is your daughter . It's always difference between daughter and DIL ... same goes to my father , at times he will ask me what I want to eat and he will cook for me but never heard he ask my SIL so think no choice own parents always dote on own children more than DIL , SIL etc ..

Oppsgal : Ok will keep u informed as I think my gynea also don't have discount on cordlife . Pimples out due to hormones changes lah not because of bird nest intake .

Wah dong cong cao is so exp, not sure if MIL will buy but she and FIL not working so also paiseh to ask her to buy. Hee so many MTBs said is good for bb, tink i will budget in and hopefully with yr-end bonus, can buy to take

Thanks Wish a boy and Kome, i'll try to take monthly after i save enough to buy hee. Will prob chk at EYS and one of the medicinal shop at serangoon gardens to see how much it cost