(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hello mummies

so long din logged in...sorry...

any mummies here have iron deficiency or aneamic? i went to TMC for the maternity tour and guess what i fainted there in front of other mummies... sigh.. ytd nearly fainted again.

btw does everyone here follow strict diet during your pregnancy? i dun.. i eat watever being cooked... i dun like red meat.... maybe dats why low iron...

i went for my prenatal yoga oredi.. very good... i signed up for package...

oh if u guys want to buy birkies.. go to www.footshopping.com very reliable cos my sis bought quite a number...

Nana,
Hope u are feeling better. I have low blood pressure & gynae say i might be aneamic. Will need to take blood test for red blood cell count during next visit. If result is positive, they'll ask me to take 2 tabs of iron pill instead of 1. I also experience blackout but not so serious that i will faint...only lasted few seconds of sudden blackness & i can't see loh...i will sit down or squat down immediately until my clear sight returns. Next visit is schedule on 29thSept...goosh sooo long wait. Hopefully by then (16wks) can see gender

morning ladies.. hope today i will not be so busy.. yeah, it's finally thurs.. one more day to wkend.. can't wait manz..

step and nana.. me too, a bit anemic also, cos I am already a thalessemia carrier.. gynae also say will prescribe some iron pills for me..

HI mummies,
Good morning...
Steph & Nana,
Take care. Yeah if you take iron pills remember to take more water its very heathy. My last preggy, my gynae told me I have more than enough iron when they test my blood, so throughout don't need to take iron pills. If you can try to take more red meat like beef, its a good source of iron intake.

Morning Mummies .

My last 2 preg I took iron pills as blood test show slightly lower blood count and so to be on the safe side gynea told me to take iron pills as baby will take all my blood and so after delivery if I don't take iron pills I will suffer . I don't take beef so that's why must take iron pills .

Jasmine
Yup, finally reach early 12 weeks already. Hope bb have grow to correct size and is healthy. Will sure update over here

Kome,
congrats! we'll move on to 2nd trimester soon

I am 12.5wks liao & done my Oscar test on Monday. Cost me $350!! Pocket burn! Done the NT scan & saw bb waving his hand at me...so cute
Baby measure 6.7cm

Steph
your bb so cute....i should be 12w2d only, but last time gynae said bb measure smaller by 1 week. Hope today bb will grow to correct size already.

afcai- spotting seems to turn brownish today...i still dare not move too much...

some of u mummies mention abt feeling movements...i tink i did too, like there were butterflies in my tummy...but strange i tot we were too early to feel such stuffs...

i hope all mummies have a great and smooth day today..

last night my hubby bought me ice kacang to curb my craving for egg beancurb & red tea jelly ...so happy eating it cos the auntie wanted to close shop liao so she throw in alot of fruits heehee

but once i reach home kept vomiting and there starts the whole night of tossing and turning even though i drank 1 glass of milo to standby. my stomach was growling in the middle of the night but i was too lazy to get up and in the end ... started vomiting at 7.15am!! despite the fact that i quickly pop my anti-vomiting med =(

really hope that the rest of the day will pass smoothly man ... told my hubby that i hate the idea of eating and not knowing if the food will stay inside or not.

this sat still got wedding dinner ... if not that its a long time fren ... really dun feel like going and next week is my #1 3yr old bday ... got to drag myself to celebrate with him and my MIL side (o/w complain unfair) this sunday ... just thinking of the weekend already v tired liao!

Steph,
Last week when I did my OSCAR, Im also in 12 weeks 5 days. Baby measure 6.9cm. Did you did it at TMC? I have SBI card so less 10% paid $280 plus for the scan & blood test. So cute your baby active hor. Mine like sleeping with back facing, so it took a well for the lady to baby turn.

pinksorbet : brownish spotting not that bad as these are clearing old blood . Just don't walk too much and rest as much as u can .

SeaBreeze : Understanding how u feel , just night stomach growling at 12 midnight so no choice wake up eat a pc of bread as worried too low food intake will make me vomit yellowish acid again in the morning as dinner I took very small portion as no appetite but then feel too full to sleep and in the end watch TV till 2am then slept so now very tired ....

Oh dear SeaBreeze, take care leh and don't overwork your body. If you're really too tired and don't feel like going to the wedding dinner, how about telling your friend that you can't attend since you're not feeling well? I think right now it's really important for you to rest more. Perhaps you can ask her out for dinner/lunch when you feel better? Since you're long time friend, i believe she'll understand your situation.

seabreeze - my no. 1 also turns 3 this mth. I was my friend's wedding MC last mth, had to stand a long time that night. Fortunately i was fine.. this sat and next sat i also have weddings which I intend to go. I think my MS is easing up abit cos' last night, i actually felt hungry for the 1st time in so many wks.

I wanted desserts n my hubby took me to the hawker centre after dinner, but the minuite I got there I threw up at the smell of zichar stall..

wishaboy...yup am resting as much as i can...but feel that sometimes lying down more makes my headache and dizziness worse...i'm facing frequent headaches and dizziness ever since...

seabreeze - poor mummy...i tink u shouldn't tire yourself...mayb u try to rest more these two days if u realli need to attend the weekend activities...catch up on yr rest today and tomoro...

Wintertime
Could you teach me how to activate the PM....?

Seabreeze
I went for wedding dinner last sat... was damn hungry man and some dishes i din take. i skipped the shark fins, fish, prawn ... wah so hungry... almost take every alternate dish only... I think u better eat a bit before you go...

Mummies i am going for my check up at 2pm later.

ladies ...

thanks! me already been working from home since a few weeks ago ... luckily my bosses and colleagues have been v understanding towards me cos my MS is exactly just like #1!!

think out of the 40 weeks ... i work less than 8 weeks in total. so this time round they let me work from home at least i can clear my email daily and give the necessary directions for the team to physically execute. so in fact i think compared to some of you who are going to office everyday, i am very lucky and blessed. just that dunno when they will start to make noise heehee

but i dun care liao cos really the MS is terrible. my hubby even say that mine is not MS ... more like DS - Day Sickness!!

I didn't sleep well last night too because of the terrible headache. Yesterday, I went for my regular check-up at kkh then followed my hubby to bendemeer to buy the sink and taps for our home reno. We were caught in the rain so I guess it could be the rain....

Anyway, my check up yesterday was ok. My First Trimester Scan result (done last week) was out too. It showed my BB had low risk of getting down syndrome. Hubby and my Blood test was ok too. Blood count was normal so no thalessemia for the both of us. During yesterday scan, BB was extremely active. BB was boxing and then sucking thumb, and then doing all sort of actions. Watching BB moving has always been the best part I enjoyed the most in every checkup. My next check up will be in Oct liao... *sigh* have to wait so long then can see BB again...

Seabreeze, are u working in IBM?? cuz seldom got employers so pro-family one. I got to go back to office once hospitalization leave is used up, and if really need to rest more, guess the only option is to give up my job and forgo all the maternity benefits.

These few days have been good for me. No more spotting and if all goes well by next week, I should be back to work soon. Heehee. Wondering how to clear the work when back.

Guest - all the best for yr visit, bb waiting to say hi to u...hehe...such a pity we can't take shark's fin isn't it? its one of my fav...

seabreeze - its good u are working from home...at least if u r tired u can rest...working from home is less stressful i feel too, compared to the office environment...

dunno who invented the term morning sickness...should be called pregnancy sickness or whole day sickness...

mummies, oh i am having stomach pain again. I am always so confused about what is the term for the pain. pain on the abdomen center and esp on the right and will lead to gastric pain too and can be so painful till i can stand straight and breaking into cold sweat. some occassions, i felt that my stomach expanding and contracting.. i ever went to the specialist for gastric and colon test. Gastric only a bit damage and small intestine a bit crooked but rectified after doing the scope. I wonder my poor gastric and digestive system will it affect nutrient to bb...

fairymoss - glad to hear yr spotting has stopped...but still try not to walk too much...i dunno how i can endure my journey to office and back when i go back to work too...cos have to stand in the MRT...i tink that day i stand too much thats why my bleeding came when i reach the office...

Today i din drive cos hubby fetching and accompanying me for check up. The NEL was sardine pack and my stomach was so painful. Very scared i will faint. Lucky i reached office safely...

Jasmine,
nope not at TMC. I did the Oscar test at Radlink at Paragon. My gynae's clinic ask me to go there. The Oscar test include the NT scan & blood test for DS. 3 tubes of blood was collected. The other 2 tubes for HIV & HepB testing etc are charged separately at $96.70! My hubby almost fainted when i told him the total bill...haha

fairymoss ...

no lar i work in the civil service and been there for v long liao ... and i am q familiar with the bosses and they know that they only time they see me like that is when i am preg hahahaha

even then they are the one who keep telling me to try for #2 so i guess they are more or less prep that they will 'loose' me for a while =p

the lucky thing is that year end is usually my off peak and planning stage and was telling my hubby that now with the economic going downhill ... wont affect my bonus so much! at least i 'benefited' from the last 2 years liao so cant complain

yap working from home also means that whenever i am feeling unwell ... i can take a short nap. cos even if i am physically in the office ... i prob will be just surfing the net to pass time =p

pinksorbet,
shark's fin soup can take la. Not as if u take in large qty or everyday then NO NO.
I took shark's fin soup during my frd's wedding when expecting #1. My son is doing fine
Next wk, i have a wedding dinner & i'm not going to pass the shark's fin! Must pamper myself since now MS better

steph - great to hear that...cos i have a couple of weddings to attend...hehe...

i tink my nauseau is getting worse...i need to go puke now *sorrie for the gross statement*

Guest123,
i understand cos 1st time MTB, will follow the rules strictly "Dos & Dont's" Nowadays u hardly find pure shark's fin soup during wedding dinner so i feel is safe la. I also took raw sashimi "must be fresh ones" during late 2nd trimester when expecting #1. Have been drooling when i saw pple eating so cannot tahan liao:p

Me do take shark fins for my last 2 preg when I attend wedding dinner since it's a small bowl and somemore I don't take every day so should be ok lah . As for raw sashimi , I give that a miss .

Wah...i feel like eating sushi now leh after Steph talked about sashimi. would be having kway chap for lunch later. Sian..but limited choice here, and I share my food with my son. He only likes soupy stuff.

Robinson got sales.. Went shopping for bb's toy yesterday. Hmmm... bb so good so many toys. Hope not dusty when bb arrive.

fairymoss,
yar, same as asura, i haven't found an instant sweet and sour sauce tat i lik yet. will try yur recipe when i hv the time, problem is i can't stand deep drying, waste so much oil and it splatters everywhere :p

nana,
hope u feel better soon, doctor advise u wat to eat to help get more iron?

i am going to sign up tmc parentcraft at amk. S$235.40 (delivering at another hospital) or S$214. 6 lessons. I should be taking Mrs wong (very popular) from 29/11-13-1 7-9pm.

korean pregnancy food:
i asked around and found out tat koreans drink a lot of seaweed soup when pregnant and breastfeeding, apparently it contains a lot of useful nutrients and is great for women in general. just be careful about the sodium. so for mummies who wants some alternative food, maybe u can try it!

Are we allow cold drinks like fruit juices? The bottle says store in fridge after open, but I am not sure if we are allow to have cold drinks, so leave it outside in the room.

oppsgal ...

for me i take cold drink like no body business cos somehow it brings me some relieve to my 'suffering'

i rem that when i attended mrs wong's class she say that the cold drink will already 'warm up' to our body temp once it enters our body =)

oopsgal, on xmas shopping, the good thing is tat pple tend to give way to u when pregnant :p at least tat's wat happened in my first preg. got extra serves of food, less ice in drinks, n pple (esp salesladies who already hv kids) r friendlier. the only exception are pple on public transport!

sharon

u mean those preserved seaweed that Singapore sells in small packs? Or the kelp that we use for soups?

me still suffering from MS. my toilet bowl is my "bestest" friend now, every morning & evening.
I'm going for my checkup this evening. In my 10.6weeks. Dunno y every time when I have appt to see my gynae, I cant sleep the nite before. Mayb too excited to see BB.

Have a gd lunch and smooth day ahead!

minnie,
all types of seaweed are good. but for seaweed soup, it will b kelp, so it's more lik miso soup (except without miso, hee). can use dried or fresh one, both ok. the soup is usually made with beef too, tat's y very bu3. hope yur ms goes away soon!

gosh...just had my lunch of kway chap. now the aftertaste is terrible. I felt a layer of oil in mouth and tongue and I can't seem to rinse it away.

shark fin soup
i actually asked my gynae previously.. he didnt say cannot eat. so shd be fine. im also attending a frens's wedding this mid sept. so im looking forward to have my bowl or 2 bowls(plus hb's share) of sharkfin. hehe..juz hope i still can wear my dress man..

i oni did blood test and was only charge $30 .. steph.. the one u went to why so Expensive.. even if i do oscars with my gynae in his clinic is oni $200.. but i didnt do coz i don see the need.

im gg over my grandma place nw to have my lunch.. cya

my friend just delivered to a baby boy yesterday night (EDD 9/9). tough she had narrow pelvic bone and doc advised her that chances of her going for natural delivery is slim. However, she did a good job. she delivered her son (weight 3.1kg) via natural with epidural. so glad for her. hope she will enjoy her motherhood.

<font color="#00FFFF">Wintertime</font>
hmm..acc to medicial hall ppls, he advise that taking the birdnest in the morning fr 6am - 11am is the best timing cos body absorb nutrient well. that's why it is gd to have a good breakfast. as for night time, body started to rest liao esp during our sleep time, the body will stop absorbing anything, at night time and rest time, the body will get rid of waste. that's why some ppls will poo in the morning. thta's the explanation i got from Zheng Zong ppls. we always patronize the same stall thru the yrs.

that's why, I cooked the bird nest at night then leave it overnight and woke up at 6am to consume.

<font color="#00FFFF">Nana</font>
I also seldom eat meat one but no choice. I force my self to eat with veg. will eat the veg with every meat I eat cos I knew it is gd for bb. yeah, I did follow strict diet, dun anyhow eat this and that esp sweet and fried food.

so u ok now, ask yr gynae to give u iron tablet or eat more veg (spinish) which is gd to increase blood pressure.

try these iron rich food are: duck(without skin), beef(lean cuts), liver(but dun consume too much cos bb cannot take too much vit A as it can damage the system), sardines, potatoes, pumpkin, spinach, spirulina(seaweed), cooked legumes(green peas, kidney, beans), soybean/soy products such as tofu, carob powder, blackstrap molasses, dried fruits.

<font color="#00FFFF">Wish a boy</font>
for me, I consume iron tablet after delivery cos very low blood pressure even need to bedrest 2 days (felt gizzy) and blood transfusion loh.
I also can't take beef. but duck meat will be gd for iron too.

re:brownish spotting. ever since I bleed on 23/8-24/8,till now, my spotting color varies from very dark maroon -> brownish color. but hor, dunno why, sometimes it will pass out discharge tissue like during urine or wash up. a bit scary. my last bleeding I can see a thick fat and long dark maroon tissue coming out. then I just dun dare to pull out and ask the gynae what 's that before dare to procceed. gynae told me dun worry not placenta only blood cot.

<font color="#00FFFF">Seabreeze</font>
re:birdnest
is it too early to drink birdnest. cos advice given is to drink after 6-7mth better so that bb at that time can absorb liao. now, still early leh....

wow, yr mum can home-made soya bean milk?? gd wor...I drank a lot during my first preggie. Will go middle rd after my kkh checkup to visit the famous soy bean stall there. will ask for less sugar or sugarless.

hmm.. yr no #1 already 3 yr old....that's mean by the time u delivered, yr no#1 and no#2 age grp is 4 yr old?

gd that u can work fr hm wor....

<font color="#00FFFF">SG</font>
for me, I consume cordyceps with small lean meat alternate weeks and home-cooked birdnest also on alternate week. so meaning per mth, consume cordyceps twice and birdnest twice. for ginsheng (did not buy, got free when buy the 3 in 1 package, now zheng zong medicial hall selling cordyceps, birdnest and box of ginsheng for $308 if u are the member), I asked the ppl to ground into powder form and placed into tight container. then place it in the fridge and consume daily during confinement.

for my friend, her mil gd wor, cooked birdnest almost daily until my frenz drank until want to vomit and ask her hubby to drink for her. she will consume a bowl daily wafter dinner at her mil'plc. but her kid is very fair and skin very smooth. really true fact but no phlegm.

wow, yr bb cute also, give u see the back.

for me, I will start essence of chicken with cordyceps when 2nd trimster came only. but not consume daily. only twice or thrice per wk.

<font color="#00FFFF">pinksorbet</font>
at least, gd sign than y'day. better not to have much movement. I also got brownish spotting - more than usual cos I went to visit my gar mah.

is yr the first preggies? ppls said sec preggies, can felt the butteries/bubbles in tummy much earlier (but dunno how early).

<font color="#00FFFF">gingal</font>
yeah, still early to drink herbs now. acc to ppl fr medicial hall, it will be gd to started after 6mth where bb will absorb. anyway, old folks mentioned dun consume herbs durign first trimster cos our bb just at the development stage cos the herb might be too strong and it might be damage their system.

<font color="#00FFFF">Kristen_mum</font>
is it...cannot eat dang gui?? what's abt 'tang sheng'? my mum still boil chicken black soup with 'dang gui', wolfberry, 'tang sheng' and some other herbs last mth for me. even i told her I cannot consume the herb now, she told me my body weak so need to eat. after that, i told her better not liao cos I still spotting/bleeding. so she did not boil liao.

<font color="#00FFFF">Guest123</font>
think dunno Eu ren san or brand got sugarless bottle bird nest loh.

oh...lugi cannot eat shark fin loh cos of high in mercury....but think once in the blue moon still ok right...not we will take everyday.

yeah, last preggie, i also encountered tummy uncomfortable not pain....just that the womb and tummy expanding that 's why we will feel this way. even now, my womb and tummy already widen due to first preggie, but soemtimes, I can felt itchness on my tummy. at one time, there are so many pokka red little dot on my tummy. it is bec tummy is still expanding loh.

<font color="#00FFFF">Eliz</font>
which clinic u go at KKH?

<font color="#00FFFFF">fairymoss</font>
ai-yo, dun forgo the job unless bo biah. why not take unpaid leave then.....think I still got miserable mc and hospitalistation leave left only. yr hospitalisation leave not countered weekend right??