(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

<font color="#C8B560">Guest123</font>
wow, yr per visit to gyane so ex wor. is S C Chew clinic under TMC or ?? have u switch gyane??

hey afcai,

same here, I also took chinese medicine while trying to conceive cos my healthy is usually weak. been taking for half a year. I also find it weird why 2nd preggie got more complications. I recall my first preggie was rather smooth and I really enjoy it. But this time dun really feel so happy, my hb also realise I am more negative this time.

I also feel the sensation! But I just assume it's gases, haha...

So you hoping for a boy
Your First child is a girl? How old is she already? My son is going to 16 months.

Oh, I am taking Anmum milk powder for pregnant women, chocolate flavour. Not bad.

afcai
I am drinking anmum chocolate and vanilla. having one can in office n one at home..

Seabreeze
I take wu hua guo, just a bit to curve the ms. I bought sour plum too but din really take them.
Dont take too much orange at one go, i think it is still ok if you take one orange an hour before or after meal. We dont absorb all the vit even if we take 3 oranges in one go. so small but a few i find it is ok.

afcai
the gynae recommended by my sis. Mount E. Not fr tmc. exp cos i think the scan v exp. 4D i think. Consultation about S$70-S$80+. can rem. scan i think S$128. and i am taking duphaston costing S$42 so my first visit was almost S$250...
Actually booked appt with joycelyn wong fr tmc but her queue was v long, 3 weeks wait...

afcai/meow - my bleeding came back when i went to pee this morning, but i dun have cramps...so i'm waiting to see my gynae next wed....

i've been bleeding on and off throughout this whole pregnancy....

i'm thinking of taking chinese "an-tai" medicine...dunno issit ok anot...

Oh i crave for claypot rice since mon and my colleague recommend geylang. Finally having my claypot rice this evening. Got my colleague to buy mos burger meal for lunch... Waiting for her to come back..

pinksorbet
pls call ur gynae to tell him/her abt ur situation. dont anyhow take medicine!
I heard from a frd there is this chinese an tai medicine, 13 tai bao... she said no good. pls note.

Pinksorbet : Go see your gynea for advise .

Pls note that we are not suppose to anyhow take medicine be it chinese or western during the first 3 months when baby is developing .

pinksorbet
i dont. it is a frd of mine who warned me. She gave birth several yrs ago. You better check. Be careful. Consult your gynae.

pinksorbet ...

i know that there is this very popular chinese physician that ppl go to for preg issue at jurong. think she is v reputable but heard that the Q is a killer. i dun have the exact details though ...

guest/wishaboy - thanks...ya i won't take the chinese medicine until after i check with my gynae...me oso dun dare anyhow take medication for the time being...better be safe than sorry...

seabreeze - jurong too far from my place le...hehe...but thanks anyway...tink i oso seek gynae's opinion first...

Hi pinksorbet,

have bedrest and relax.

When I first realised I'm pregnant, I took 'an tai yao' cos have been seeing a chinese doctor while trying to conceive. But when I see my gynae cos of my bleeding, he wants me to stop taking the an tai yao. He says the herbs may contains some unknown substances that is harmful to the baby. So I threw away the herbs.

I didn't take any 'an tai yao' for my first child and everything is fine! So better dun take any, or consult your gynae.

<font color="#C8B560">meow</font>
oic. for me, I took only 3 week of chinese medicine during april time to readjust my haywire menses bck. chinese medicine also not cheap loh.

yeah, same. hubby see me like that, he said maybe stop at 2 liao. initially, he wanted 3 kids. hai.... yup, my first child is a gal and she is gg to be 21mth next week. oh, that mean u delivered last yr only??

<font color="#C8B560">Guest123/meow</font>
oh...anmum milk powder got choc favour huh...then gd....is it heaty?? scare cos constipation cos the obimin which I consume already heaty.

my sil asked me to go and buy the powder fm for preggie mum. she said gd. that's why her bb is so chubby after delivered.

re:vit c. even with excess vit c, the excess vit will pass out as urine. that's what I read before fr one of the website or magazine.

wow, 4D. errr..think I only heard 3D. what's the difference between 4D and 3D? yup, same my consultant at TMC is $70-$80 (differenct price when I went for visit) and scan is $70-$75. wow yr scan so ex. think duphaston standard pricing....for me, $42 for 28 tablets. wow, Joycelyn wong so popular??

<font color="#C8B560">pinksorbet</font>
oMG, is it non-stop drip type of drip. or just fresh blood spotting?

yup, but for chinese medicine dun take it together with western medicine. heard fr ppls that it is advise to take them 4hrs apart. like me, july, I took chinese an tai medicine and western medicine. so I woke up at 6am to drink milo and then consume my folic acid and duphaston. after that, I went back to slp then eat the chinese medicine abt 1030-11am. per day I needed to take 3 small packets of medicine. so that's will be after meal. will take another packet at ard 230-3pm. then makan again at 6pm. for duphaston, will consume at 1030pm. quite troublesome to take 2 type of medicine.

<font color="#C8B560">Wish for a boy</font>
I did ask the chinese physican fr Ma kuang is the chinese medicine she prescribe me safe or not. she told me it had been used for donkey thousand yr in china as an an tai medicine. so surely it is 100% safe. even i told NUH doc, they dun beliver all these an tai medicine and even told me no scienfic prove.

oh, did not know sour stuff can cuase more acid.

jus had my lunch... rice, egg, potato and chicken... ate half of it.. now feel like puking... im tryin to keep it in... but i think later will come out liao... =(

hmmm... i actually drank a bottle of water that has been "blessed" by a shifu... says will keep baby safe and keep me safe too... its just normal plain water lo... dunno is psychological or what... heh heh heh... but so far everythings been okie for baby??? lets hope it remains peachy &amp; rosy... am going into week 10... =) still quite long way to go hor...

I would like to join this thread as my EDD is March 2009. This is my 2nd or rather 3rd pregnancy (I had a miscarriage before this)

I would like to ask mummies here anyone is currently taking TCM herbs during your pregnancy? I went to see Eu Yan Sang to "tiao" my health after my previous D&amp;C and continue to see my chinese physician now that I have conceived. I feel very tired during this pregnancy as compared to my first and also always feel like short of breathe. My physician took my pulse and prescribed some chinese herbs for me but my hubby is worried and forbids me to take them. My friends advised that it should be ok since EYS is a reputable TCM and my physician knows about my history and my current pregnancy. My physician also told me is safe to take the herbs as they are also considered as "ang tai yao".

I am still in a dilemma whether to take the herbs or not. Any mummies have any experience that can share?

meow - yalor i will be safe than sorry...for the sake of bb...i have been on mc/unpaid leave since end of jul cos been bleeding on and off...so quite jialat oso la...

afcai - tis morning the blood drip out...but not the first time this kind of thing happened le...i quickly wipe it off...from the looks of it its that kind of usual darker red blood...not bright red..and i'm not cramps...so i'm not too worried since i always having this...i asked my gynae last week wat if bleeding happened again during the two weeks gap visit...she said dun need to go back to her unless its serious....by serious i am presuming its bright red bleeding with cramps..

i agree it is troublesome taking so many types of medicine....

afcai
excess vit will pass out thru urine so take several small quantity is good for absorbing. Milk powder esp chocolate is more heaty... have to drink more water and orange lor..no choice..
Actually i dunoe what is the diff btw 3D and 4D. The DVD, in the womb, there is a part which said this pic is using 4D .... blah blah...
Joycelyn is v popular. we went to tmc to check on most clinic and her clinic (with two other doc) was so crowded!

For me , at the moment I will not take any chinese herbs as we don't know what other substances that is available in the herbs and whether they are safe ?

i have been walking fast as usual and try not to carry heavy stuff and i get gan chiong when i drive. Fortunately, my ms is not as bad and touch wood no discharge of anything..Nothing dont know is it a good thing.. Tmr i will know. update again.

kristen mummy ....

i guess it all boils down to the comfort level ba ... cos i oso have fren who take TCM during their preg and everything ok

if you have established the trust bet you and the dr and you feel more comfy in taking then go ahead lor

this is how i feel =)

afcai, cramp &amp; heavy below nt good ah? I've been experiencing this on &amp; off..like as if having menses. I'll ask gynae in my nx visit.
Re: folic acid, the nurse asked me to con't wat i left..so nw i take calcium, obimin + DHA and bal. folic acid. DHA pills ex or wat? $40 for 30 tablets..hmmm..my MIL runs a Chinese Medical Hall and i'm checking with her if she's able to find the DHA pills that my gynae prescribed for me. Yah, folic acid + multivitamins + calcium are cheap tablets. Thats why they are free of charge if you sign package with the doctors. ahaha..
Milk powder: i'm taking enfamama chocolate flavour. taste very much like CoffeeBean Hot Chocolate..hee heaty ba, so got to drink lots of water.

Pinksorbet, i'm taking the triple test in 3 weeks time..shall check with Dr Heng abt the cramp + medicated plaster for backache.

Re: Chinese Herbs - so far, i'm only taking "pao sheng" american ginseng brew with chicken for soup + birdnest. The rest like "an tai yao" and codyceps, i dare nt touch coz i was told not to take herbs in our early stage but before i knew i was pregnant, i was sick and took flu tablets mah..so guilty till nw. =(

Milk powder
im tkin anmum chocolate. but i nvr tk everyday.. only when i rem dan i drink ..

teddybaby
the bra extensions fits all designs one. they have two hooks and three hooks one.. maybe u can try other departmental stores bras section.. tt time i went to taka and ask frm the maternity wear shop.. same thing they selling for $9...

gingal
i nvr go to birkies shop to buy b4..so donno abt their services.. or else u can c whether forum got BP dan u can order tgt oso..

jasmine
at night also feel thirsty so have to drink leh.

spotting
i tink better go c doc immediately..

Wintertime: i also realised i can curb my hunger in 2nd trimester. Not like 1st tri whenever i'm hungry i have to eat to stop the giddyness. hee..but still try to take 3 proper meals. =)
so far, i've gained 3.5kg...hopefully won't gain too much at the end of pregnancy..else very diff. to slim down wor.

kome, i also dunno can take or not but my MIL insisted can coz alot of relatives's daughter in law also took "pao sheng" during pregnancy even cordyceps..but i'm only ok with the ginseng. Btw, Pao sheng &amp; "ren sheng" are 2 diff. types of ginseng...anyway i din take alot lah..so far once twice haha..sometimes dunnoe shld listen to old pple's advice..?? haha coz they used to give birth to so many and all grown up to be strong &amp; healthy.

SG
Yes, do agree with you. Coz gynae might say not suitable to eat or suitable to eat but old pple's will say the opposite. We don't know listen t who already.

Kome, yah lor..sometimes once in while make old pple happy, watever they cook, we just eat abit lor. haha..so nt everyday / over consume , i guess shld be ok ba. i believe if you go chinese sin seh, they will advise ginseng are beneficial..but "english" doctor who doesn't have the chinese medicines background will tell us to refrain just incase. this is what i feel ba..just like whether ornt "an tai yao" can be taken...

Hi, when can we know the sex of the baby? I'm seeing my gynae tomorrow and I'm in my 12th week... dunno whether can see or not.

SG
Correct most impt is taking in moderate and also wheather you trust or don't trust.

I already start to take chk essence in 1st tri, same as you bird nest too expensive. Maybe i will start only in late 2nd trimester till delivery.

Mummy
Gender will be more accurate after 4 or 5 mths later. In 3rd mth, not able to see clearly also.

guest123
ya i noe can order thru their website oso. hehe.. maybe BP is cheaper if im nt wrong.
same as u, i told my hb to stop brewing birdnest for me.. but i tink he don care and still brew whenever he feels like. lol.. eat birdnest nw like v wasted to me.. i havent start drinkin chicken essence and donno got the need to drink it or nt. coz i don quite like the taste..

mummy
i tink nw still abit early to detect the gender..
maybe 16wks more cfm?

any 1 decided not to noe the gender of yr bb??

Sharon,Asura79,

I saw my mum today bought a packet of sweet &amp; sour sauce for making sweet &amp; sour pork. I read that this is an easier substitute for making the sauce. So need to fry the meat then heat up the sauce mixed with water and pour over the meat! Gd for mummies who are too tired to do it from scratch.

Queenie
I will sure like to know the gender first. I don't like to keep in suspense and keep thinking abt it lor.
1686538.gif
too excited to know the gender lar.....i can't even wait till 4th mth than know.

Kome, act. ia slo dunnoe taking bird nest is beneficial to us in wat way...bb good skin? or nourish lungs?

mummy, i'm in my 14weeks nw and can't tell the gender yet haha coz bb's position is backfacing us during the scan. in the end took a pic of bb's spine and head. haha...i tink ard 16 weeks, the gender will be more confirm by then ba.

mummy, your 1st bb? heehee, must be v anxious to know gender right? u got any preference?

kome, soon soon u will know lah. few more weeks, maybe your next visit? I'm gg to TMC for the scan next Tues, dunno with their machine can see or not leh. I'm taking the scan at TMC but triple test at gynae clinic, so didn't take full OSCAR package at TMC.

On the contrary, some old ppl said eat too much birdnest, bb got phlegm next time. Some said gd for skin. So dunno which is true.

mummy, i tink alot of us will wan to noe the gender ba. easier to buy clothings also..haha
but so far all accurate hor?

Queenie
Your hubby so nice brew for you...where can i find BP? Cheap? reliable? I am anxious to know my bb gender too.. but only 10 weeks now..

Kome
ya heard birdnest is good. but it is expensive. i will start taking probably weekly from 3rd trim if we can afford... But one of the msg fr a mummy is that nowadays the quality of the birdnest is not as good. meaning we paid more for a less quality birdnest.

fairymoss
My mum last time asked me to take bird nest in alternate days. Not sure if i drank alot, my son came out don't have phlegm (touchwood). Haha......but skin so so only. Maybe i seldom eat veg ba.....

kome, yah tats wat i heard also...skin gd better wor, unlike me..gt pimples &amp; blackheads haha still nid to go facial.

fairymoss, eat too much will have phlegm? hmm..but anyway, birdnest is too ex. to consume alot lah..hahaha eat abit abit can liao..