(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Daphne & Misscandy,

My hubby is travelling more than 50% of his time as well. every trip he take will a minimum 28 days which leaves me alone most of the time. Prior pregancy, i had my own activities packed, bellydancing classes, spas, facial, massage, jacuzzis and i am even happy shopping and dining in restaurants alone.

Now i can't seem to do what i normally do as i get cramps if i walked around too long so i had to stay home most of the time except for work.

My dad is hard of hearing and like to blast the whole house with noises, he can blast the radio then switch on the TV without turning off the radio. our home is about the size of a 4 room HDB flat small, cramped with 5 adults. Being a light sleeper myself really didn;t help and its not easy for me to fall asleep, I always jumped up when he just blast the whole house. he blew off at me when i asked him if he could lower down the volume cos i dont want to distub our neighbours either. bcak in indonesia, we had a huge landed property with 2 storeys high. i couldn;t hear anything even when he blast the tv.
tried to explain to him the diff but he just don;t want to hear it. i am really going nuts

i did mention about moving out but my mum was very heartbroken thinking i don't want to stay with them. really don;t know what to do, i am so tempted to quit my job and follow my hubby to korea and stay there permanently. the only thing that i holding me back is the education of my kid as the small town that he works in only has 1 international school and i don;t know if its good enough.

Really hope that my hubby come back soon.. then we can plan for a short getaway.. really going NUTs liao

Fairymoss and Sharon & MTBs,

kinda envy u all forhaving mums who cooks all these good stuff for you. at home, they just cook the norm and avois things that i dont want to eat. they even get upste if i don't want to eat certain food due to restrictions like cockles. Mum will say.. when i am pregnant with both of u.. i ate a lot of cockles and plenty of seafodd cos i stay in fishing village and that's the main food source available. you bothturn out fine.. my dad say all these restrictions are ridiculous and say that i am being using my pregnancy to be picky.

anyway, i told them u all stay in fishing village, the seafood is so fresh cos once the fishing boat comes back. the seafood are taken and cooked. not like now. pollution, industrialisations. haiz.. they really dun understand.

been nagging at me to get preggie for yrs since my first marriage, now that i get preggie.. give me so much problems. it really made me think if my pregnancy is too early. i should have wait till they move out in mid 2010 then get preggie. at least i have peace and quiet to enjoy my pregnancy.

sorry for pouring all thse out.. not many of my friends knew that i am pregnant and my hubby won;t be bcak till this wed.. i am really trying to keep sane til he comes back

lenny,
how long is yur hubby gg to b in korea? actually for the first few years u dun hv to worry abt education since the kids r still young, it's a good time to travel n live abroad. there r some mummies here who live in seoul n hsbds commute 2 hrs (4 hrs in traffic jam!) round trip to work in another city. my hsbd used to travel a lot too n i never followed coz i was still working, but after bb is born, i realised tat it's impt for her to bond with daddy too so he doesn't feel left out. perhaps it's time to work out a more permanent arrangement with yur hsbd? on cooking, i do myself lah
wish my mum is here too, i really miss her cooking! yur dad sounds stubborn :p can't do much to change the minds of older generation, just do wat u know is rite, there will b more to come when the bb is born, they hv even more different views on how to take care of bb, so make yur stand now... take care!

lenny,

Hmmm..yeah..my mum cooks for us as we would drop by during weekdays to pick up our son after work. But only if I remind her, then she cook something that I fancy. Her dishes are more catered to the 2 children in the house, my son and my niece who comes in the evening daily. Well, if there are food which I think is harmful, I would not touch that dish but would not tell her that I don't want to eat. So she also didn't say much lor. Sometimes I just tell her oh, feeling nauseas so I dun feeling like eating that particular dish. I think the parents would think that we are being fussy and haven't we been brought up well without all these food restrictions? They probably thought that we are more educated and well-informed now and feel unhappy that we are using these information to comment on this and that and in other words saying they are outdated. Hmm..maybe u just eat that dish but dun say too much lor to avoid another argument.

The cod fish dish is what my mum taught me, something that is easy to prepare at home when I cook during the weekends. Easy to eat for my son too.

Missycandy, dunnoe leh my alot of pple asked me nt to apply nail polish. so borr..ring..haha feel like going for pedi & mani. maybe like wat sharon & lenny advised, ok to apply or choose OPI brand. =)
Fairymoss, i'm at home. haha...yest'd and today stayed at home and do accounts. so sian. have been sitting infront of the PC for hours. My hubby went work today..gt rush order so no choice and tonite he gt wedding dinner to attend. I aldy bought Long John Silver fish & chips, later heat up can eat liao. Btw, hw to choose a good cod fish ah? those white white ones or can i ask the fishmonger to pick for me? hee..those in market ones look fresher wor. Supermart norm. sells frozen one.

btw, anyone here have experience in engaging a CL? my MIL and mum asked me to get one..but the tot of someone i dunnoe is at my house like weird to me. Somemore dunnoe she can cook well ornot...haha wat if watever she cooks i dun like leh? i would still prefer my own mother to look after my bb during confinement but she's working leh. So far happy with her job, so kind of bad if i ask her to quit / dunnoe can take leave to look after my bb while i learn frm her. hmmmm....or is it too early to think of this but my MIL asked me to source and reserve for one else later too rush. Like kiasu wor. haha

*sayang lenny* yeh maybe u shld consider goin to join ur hubby... if i were you, i wld go... *hugs* parents can be one kind ba... my mum also irritates the hell outta me many times... but she is afterall still my mummy la... hehehehe... i totally understand how it feels to move frm big house to small flat! my dad's msian.. we used to stay in penang in a big semi-D... then moved to SG, stay in 5rm flat... plus there are 5 of us kids... so very rowdy... now, im staying on my own... i really appreciate the silence but at times i miss company... especially when hubby works overtime... so i guess peanut on the way will kinda kill my free time next yr... hahaha... maybe you can talk to ur hubby... see what he says? Cheer up k? we are here for you! =)

ive been thinking abt bak kut teh the past few days... *LOL* but not very strong craving... jus thinking of the meat.. on the bone... and biting it off... and the soup.... *LOL* jialat! maybe next week =)

i havent done my nails since i got preggie... and thats like 2mthsplus!!! when i go back, the girl is going to nag again at the dead skin on my sole... *LOL* jialat!

im stil considering if i shld ask my mum to look after or hire a maid... im nt sure if we wld be comfortable with a maid ard the hse... quite weird... -_-" and i like my own space & privacy... heh... decisions decisions!

work as usual is a B***H!!! so tempted to resign again but i knw we need the extra financial income... argh! see how bah... heh heh heh

baby fair? i dont think so bah... the one at taka jus ended last weekend right? maybe shld wait til end of yr sale... heh heh heh... coming soon! its olredi Sept tomorrow! wooOooo

missycandy, u also feel uncomfortable having someone nt familiar ard the hse? hahah same here lor. hmm...coz diff. pple diff. living habit wor...me finally used to my hubby's style liao..sikali come 1 more person dunnoe hw. hopefully is a clean n tidy person. i very scared those dirty dirty, unhygenic one wor..wahahhaah...
me resigned last year to get married haha coz wanted to take a break from my 8 years of working life. I've been helping my hubby with his small biz. since then...drag until nw gt little bean liao, want to find job also no one wants liao. Of coz nw can't buy alot of stuffs i like as before...norm. life with 3 meals still can carry own ba. wonder hw my life will be when little bean is out. Hubby & I must work harder liao, else very siong wor coz dunnoe enuff BF ornot hahhaahah...

missycandy,
yar, just bear with the work and wait till bb is born before deciding whether to resign. who knows, u may prefer working to taking care of bb! at least tat's wat i wanted when my gal was born, she was crying day n nite n i badly wanted to go back to work. but i promised hsbd tat i will quit way before getting preg, and he got a posting overseas so i had to resign. i dun regret my decision now, though i shed a lot of tears then... hmm... maybe i had post natal depression :p

SG,
i think it depends on if u can get a good confinement lady, i've heard more horror stories than good ones, so i din get one for my first born. if u r not getting one, u shld definitely think of getting alternative help, not easy to handle a bb alone the first time

SG, it's not kiasu.. in fact, few of the CL whom I asked is already engaged during our delivery month.. others more kiasu. I finally confirmed one last month.. wahahhaa.. throught my gf's recommendations.

missycandy, me too.. toying with idea to get maid.. but after much thoughts.. think might as well find a gd nanny.. heard many horror stories lah, and don't feel gd with stranger around. maybe if my #2 comes along then i get one.. let's see..

btw, i went to eat mee siam this morning after reading some post by the gals yesterday.. had this little cravings..

and also, i am starting to buy birdnest soon.. if anyone is interested, do let me know. i will getting from indonesia.. no hard sell har, jus wondering if anyone interested.. it's those red house bird nest aka "xue yan".. gd quality and price reasonable. if interested, email me at [email protected]..

okay.. i going back to mum's place for dinner.. tata..

sharon, more horror stories? wah...sounds scary wor. gt 2nd tot liao...yah, i dun tink i ca handle alone. later depression ah..hahaha shall go n ask my mum again.

wintertime, u found one aldy ah? Hw the charges like and wat will she do for u? Will she be staying at your hse? hee..sorry for so many qns. =p

SG, yup.. i booked one already. going to pass deposit to her next week.. Hmm.. basically CL takes care of bb for you all the time excluding the time u breast feeding, cooks for you, feed the bb, bath bb, washes bb's clothes etc.. She will cooks confinement food for you and make dinner for hb.. generally, think they might do simple household chores for you. but their main task is to take gd care of bb so that the mother can have gd rest during that maternity month..
and yes, she will be staying at my house and her charges is 1.9k for 4 wks.. it's abt this range... 1.8k to 2k thereabt.. wanted my mum to do confinement for me initially, but scared tt she will tired out.. and if she does for me, i will have to play my part at night cos mum is doing me a favour. but it's CL, then it's different, cos i pay her to take care of bb for me..

hope these helps.

SG,
The fish should be white and no brown bruises, which means not fresh. I find getting from market fresher, although a fishmonger told me all cod fish are frozen when shipped to SG, but somehow I still go market to buy cuz of better cuts. Choose the middle, dun take the tail end cuz got many small bones.

hmmm... birds nest... *drooLs* i have another 2weeks + before entering 2nd tri... cant wait!

jus had botak jones for dinner jus now... best part is.. came back home & vomitted everything out... =((((( hungry again... so sad... im waiting for my snowskin mooncake to arrive on friday... yum yum! nw cn only settle for traditional one... nt my fav... =\

hmmm for my hygiene im nt verryyy particular la... jus keep the plc neat & tidy... and preferably dust free im happie la... heh heh heh... ive always wanted to be SAHM but im nt sure if im cut out for it... though i lurve the idea of nuaing at home everyday, having a peanut is definitely a different issue altogether! huge responsibility... 2-3hrly feeding... changing diapers... washing clothes... keeping house clean... making sure i get to eat as well as hubby... not sure if can cope... im praying hard baby will not have tantrum and sleep easily... *cross fingers* if not i may go bonkers!

hmmm jus wondering what i shld have now... think i shall go buy bananas after work tomorrow... keep at home... suddenly feel like eating banana... hahaha... for now i think il have to settle for ice creammm...

Misscandy, fairymoss & Sharon,
Thanks for comforting me.. i just hope things gets better at home, cos i will have hell work for the next whole month.

as for CL, i also don;t know if i should get one cos i don;t have room for her, will feel bad if i ask her to sleep in the hall. I also admit i don;t want any stranger staying at my place. my mum has her standard of how she wants housework to be done, if CL cannot follow.. it will be worse if they quarrel. i will really go bonkers

morning all..

Lenny, i think CL main taask is to take care of bb... not many will do household chores for you.. basic like sweeping and mopping should be fine. so har, don't have high expectation of CL doing lots of household chores for you.

misscandy, yup.. i like bird nest too. yummy. this is the only time i can eat it without guilt of spending too much money.. hahahha

botak jones?? yummy.. wat did you have? i m thinking of the chessy fries.. oppss..
me too, would love to be a SAHM.. but looking at our financial income, it will be really tight if both my hb n myself still want to maintain the current standard of living.. few of my gfs are quit their job and be SAHM after giving birth, though it's tiring, but very satisfying.. so got pros n cons lah..

Good Morning all,
Hope we all will have a good week.

Misscandy,
Botak Jones?!? Yum yum..... i miss the steak...
will try to see if i can go this week. Hubby is going to be abck this Wednesday, Finally.. so he will bring me round the island to go makan.. kekekeke...

Dim sum at Sims drive, High Tea (i don;t know where yet), Still road black pepper crab, Back chor me at Bedok, handmade fish noodles at macpherson. Bukit batok fried prawn noodles, bbq chicken wings.. etc. heheheheh.. drool liao...

Yesterday, i crave for bak kut teh also and asked my bros, hb & mum to go together and find bak kut teh for dinner.

hi everyone, does ur hubby listen to your tummy?
how did he describe the sound? mine said the bb was diving and got the "poo poo" sound.

Yest at 8plus he heard nothing, i almost freaked out. then at 10plus the "poo poo" sound came back. anyone got the same experience as me?

Keron&Heris
Maybe this is my #2, my hb not that excited. He did not listen at my tummy, but there was once he just place his hand on my tummy and can feel bb heartbeat. After that no more.

kome, ya.. i taking leaves tomorrow. so still not so bad.. i got tons of work to do, but simply no mood to do.. bad bad..

keron, hees... my hb say only "water" sound when he tries to listen to my tummy.. the next question he will ask me, do you wan go toilet? piangz...

Wintertime
So envy of you. Sometimes i reakky hope can take long leave and rest at home
but very sad not much leave to take.

kome, tomolo my hb birthday. so taking one day ooff to celebrate with him.. not much celebration.. jus n excuse to take a break.

Kome, now already 12 weeks but we dunno if that's heartbeat or the bb stretching inside.. initially my hubby heard a toad inside, so funny..

Wintertime, me same as you, dont feel like working, do you feel more energetic in the noon time?

oh.. btw, i m in my wk 14 already.. so happy.. 2 more wks to see bb again..
I finally made an effort to "exercise".. sat morning, i drag hb up at 7.30 am and force him to go park with me to stroll.. i hardly walk these days as I m driving most of the time, n wkend i would stay at home n sleep..(first trimester too tired).. so last sat, we went off early and stroll abt 30 mins before we had breakfast at mac.. wow,, the stroll was a challenge cos i was breatheless when i m reaching my destination..

yesterday, i went shopping with hb.. walked a lot too, few hours but i did rest at times.. i was at comex, the crowd was crazy.. i did not enter into the exhibition hall,only my hb did.. i think iw ill be "squeeze" like pancake if i force myself in..

keron, ohh.. i must admit hor, my energy level is definately higher as compared to my first trimester.. but i do get a little "sleepy" esp after lunch..

The thread is quiet these few days.

My mum brought my son out to play for half a day, at least I can get some peace in the house but the rest of this week would be rowdy. Son is at home cuz sch holiday and would be wrecking havoc in the house. I got not much energy to look after him and often lose my temper when things get out of hand.

Gosh, with the little one coming, how am I gg to handle these 2 children! My hb still can say he wants 4 children, but i think i would stop at 2.

Hi mummies good morning,
Wintertime,
I also went to the park with my little gal, she enjoy going there. It have been so long that I have been to the park and its just behind my block somemore. I was sweating like shower when I reach home. Tired out and lay down straight in bed.

Fairymoss,
The DVD I toast it from a duplicate copy. Nice right, I have watch a few times as I need to test out all your disc.
Yesterday I have a nice cook Hor fun which I cook, even my HB enjoy it, he say can go overseas to open stores liao. I laugh... I can't believe I can finish up the whole plate, but hor still got puke some out after dinner as is normally that I puke after dinner each time I guess.

hello - all these talk abt food! ive not felt hungry for a mth.. i had a busy weekend, sendng relatives off, and holding 2 days garage sale, moving to my mom's place ..

yesterday i just lost my temper and started to scream at my girl, after she spilled water on the floor n slipped. Then i felt bad and asked her for forgiveness.. i rarely lose my temper at her but been so bz, while throwing up every hour or so and yet having people come in and out of my hse, it really got on me...

some ppl met me n said i've lost wt, thinking ive been bz with the house movng but actually ive not been eating much n throwing up lots.

Wintertime
Have a good celebration with your hb at the the meantime you can relaxe abit. Its good. So good already in wk 14. My energy level still quite low, just wanna lie in bed and do nothing. Me going to wk 12 tomorrow but last check up, gynae mention that bb is smaller but a week, so i think my edd might change to 24/03/2009 instead. This thur going to see gynae and see how.

Fairymoss
Your hb like kids very much. My hb also want 3 kids, but i insist to have 2 only. Financially wise and energy wise cannot tahan so many kids lar especially in Singapore, very stress to have too many.

jasmine, sound tt you r a gd cook.. wow, i wish i can be like you..

fairymoss, wah.. 4 kids har.. i think i at most stop at 2.. wahahahaha

kome, congrats, u ending ur wk 12 soon..

Eliz, guess eveyone is having monday blue.. i got a report to rush, but still "nuah-ing"

pammie, you must be feeling real bad to have throw ur temper at your little gal.. relax and take gd care of yourself okay? your MS still sound quite bad leh

Wintertime,
haha... ya I know that kind of feeling. Just don't feel like doing something eventhough the deadline is around the corner. Somehow prefer to "nuah"....

Wintertime
Thanks, but tink bb is smaller by 1 wk. Maybe after 08 Sep than i consider myself as after 112 wks ba.......will see what my gynae say on thur and see how first.

Eliz and Wintertime
I also "nuah-ing", worse still feel like sleeping already.

Pammie ...

You are not alone ... with my non-improving MS my patience with my boy is running thin. Cos i used to handle my boy so my hubby is facing alot of difficulty in getting him to eat, bath etc and flaring at him all the time.

I feel so guilty whenever he runs to me and tell me that he wants to hide. Think this is making me so down that i even told my hubby i dun wan #2 liao!! I know that i shouldnt be i really hope that this stage of MS will pass soon. Or rather March comes soon so that I can pop ...

wahahhaa. me too.. looking forward to wkend.. aiyo.. sept no holiday.. looking forward to oct.. 2 holidays..
actually hor, me too, hope that march faster arrive so that I can popped.. but again, i think life is not going to be the same anymore. I keep telling hb, say must "treasure" the times now.. else once i pop, no longer er ren shi jie..

Yeah update on my OSCAR scan, baby didnt turn at a right position for the scan, so it took a well for the lady to catch the position. She start moving the scan head on my tummy to make my baby turn or move. I saw her measure my baby and seem like growing from 5. 09cm to 6.09cm from last week. Now watching for my blood test result to come out hopefully by this friday. As I need to go TTSh for my thyriod review with my blood test again, I have ask them to add on the thyroid test on top of the test that they'e doing.

Wintertime,
Haha... I have not being cooking for a well liao. The hor fun I learn it from how my mum cook. Still can remember, so try cooking it since Im thinking of don't know what to eat. I buy fish cake, prawn, sotong, chicken and pork & vege. Yummy... heeee...

kome,
Have the baby-pregnancy who sell the maternity clothes reply you?
Actually I have ask her to quote me on the registered mail and my god it is so ex, $9.15 for 1 day speedpost even 500g also same price wor. So I op for normal mail in the end. She says my stuff will only reach by 8th Sept. and I have ask on behalf of all of you who have order from her, telling her that we're worry about the stocks reaching us. She say don't worry, and say most of yours stock have arrived and will try to mail out by this week. Did she give you HP no.?

Kome, wintertime,

I dun think I would go for 4. I think 2 is just nice for me, at most 3. Heehee.

Jasmine, I also like you, puke after dinner. Sometimes when I try to control, I would feel very terrible. After I made myself puke out the food, my chest dun seem so congested and I can eat some snacks again. I think recently, my MS has changed from evening sickness back to morning sickness again. No appetite for breakfast and always dunno what to eat. Eat too oily, then stomach feel queasy whole day. Eat too bland, not palatable. Sigh...