(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

gingal,

me not working at the moment cuz still on long MC due to spotting. will return to work once doc says ok.

No..i wish i can sleep more too, but bobian, my boy wakes up at 7am every morning, and he wakes me up too.

I also can't sleep well at night, will wake up to pee and drink water. felt tired in the day and sometimes headache, like now. think i go take a rest. my hubby is entertaining dear son now.

U ORD mood right? heehee, must be very happy, after today, u are FREE!!!!

Fairymoss,

Looks like u have got placenta pervia. Dont worry too much ok? At least bb is doing fine. My colleague was saying sometimes it is better to know that got to do c-sec... cos if opt for natural and later end up with emergency c-sec due to fetal distress, the bill is like the summation of both. Was ur bb dancing? Interested to know cos i am going for my gynae visit on tues.. the last time she said bb is bouncing but i cant seem to see... Hb worse... after visit, ask me how to see heartbeat.

Wintertime,

The research was on quite a number of mother. Seems like high likelihood (probability) is girls if mother suffers from morning sickness which is so bad that need to go hospital for drip. Eh... dont think any of us in this forum had went hospital for drip... Was just sharing for the fun of it... Anyway, MS is the result of our body's reaction to the new hormones in our body. So some of us can adapt better to the hormones and have lesser MS. Speaking of which, mine really seems like the MS is easing as days go by.

Fairymoss,

Here's what i summarised from "What to expect when you are expecting". I think you dont need to be sad cos things may improve. Anyway, hope you feel better after reading the summary.

In early pregnancy, a low-lying placenta is fairly common; but as pregnancy progresses and the uterus grows, the placenta usually moves upward. Even when it doesnt move up, it is unlikely to cause a serious problem unless it actually touches the cervical opening.

Because most early cases of low-lying placenta correct themselves long before delivery and never cause a problem, the condition doesnt require treatment before the 20th week.Bedrest is advised for woman who experience some bleeding. If the bleeding stops or becomes very light , conservative treatment is usually recommended, including careful monitoring and supplementation with iron and possibly vitamin C.

Gingal,

Hee... I just woke up. Going to do some light housework before i go out for a new mums and mother to be seminar at marina mandarin ballroom.

When we say antenatal classes, what kind of courses / subjects are we expecting and neccessary to be attended by mummies...? I m confused leh..

Asura,

Oh Yah, rembr u mentioned that seminar. do keep us update if it's good wor..
Byebye

guest123,

Are u giving birth at TMC or ur gynae at TMC? My gynae gave me a brouchure call parentcraft. It describes the antenatal classes. Not sure if they have it on TMC website.

Gingal,

It is not the same one. The cordlife guy havent call me for me to ask him how all of us can register. That one is on 13 Sep. Today's one i sign up at TMC.

afcai- i guess we jus have to take it easy...
i hope things will turn out for the better...dun worry ya...cos the saying goes that whats ours will be ours eventually...ppl advise me not to worry so much
and i dun tink i will go for my colleague's bb's full month le...but we can give ang baos rite?
she does know my case too, and i told her i might not be able to make it...she understands...

as for extra test, i have to decide whether to take up my gynae's package and triple test next visit (which will be my 12h week)
she doesn't do oscar test as she prefers triple test...if its screen positive, will go for amniocentesis

i will definitely be taking the test...

vivien - my fren oso know she's pregnant after she signed the job offer, but instead her angmoh boss black face and asked if she wants to resign...
oso an MNC...
like Guest, i oso cannot handle stress, so its best not to take on a new job...i oso gave up my job search once i knew i was preggie...
either way, whether i was preggie first or found a job first, either news are good for me...

so good most mummies here can see babies move on the scan but i can't? hmm...even tho in my 10th week, still can't see bb move leh...so sad *sob* *sob*

and yesterday in the middle of the night, i have what seems like menses cramps...quite painful...hope everything is fine...

MissCandy,
sigh!! what to do with HBs when they are still playful at heart... may b u can tell him "not that i dont allow u to go, but can you come back at certain hour?; coz now it not abt me, but abt family and BB too. we will be worried if u return too late"... not sure if this will help.. as the saying goes "man dont liked to be control and ordered around what to do"... so as a new age wife got to hv higher EQ & IQ to control them unknowingly.. ke keee

Pinksorbet,
am also trouble over work. I've a project offer in USA for a period of 6days. not sure if i can go... by then i'll be at my 19-20wks.

As for BB movement it kinda normal lah. dun worried. as long as yr BB is growing it healthy. when i did my scan, mi BB was lazy to move so i've to turn left & right to "force" the little one to move so that they can scan other parts... they said yr BB is resting comfortablly... ke keee

Hi Guest123,
Will bookmark yr link... tks.

afternoon gals.. i woke up early this morning and drag hb to go "exercise" with me. I think it's time for me to start some exercise. at leasst control my weight gain. my weight gain in trimester was "outrages" and hope to control in my 2nd trimester.
so woke my hb up and we went park to stroll.. and slowly we went to mac to have our breakfast.. very breatheless, but after the session , i felt good. I haven been walking these days as i drives.. and during wkend i only stay at home n rest.. hate crowds.. planning to do some swimming tomolo if possible.

asura, ya.. keep us update if seminar is gd..

hey girls, I've been missing out on the action here lately! I hope we are all doing great.

Tried to catch up on the postings and saw the one on Indians and coconut juice. Well since I'm an Indian, I could shed some light.

It is no doubt, that coconut juice is taken in tropical countries to cool the body. Some Indian women take the coconut juice in the 1st trimester cause it's rich potassium and acts like 100plus in curbing MS. Of course all foods should be taken in moderation.

I found this site informative too:
http://www.babycenter.in/pregnancy/nutrition/coconutwater_expert/

Oh by the way, I haven't taken a drop of coconut juice although I'm 13 weeks preggie now. Water is what I like best but I'm surely going to take coconut juice at the later stages, and birdnest too!

wintertime,

I went for a stroll with hubby last evening too and boy did I get breathless and tired too soon! We got to build up on our stamina. I used to be a walking champ but after 3 mths of no exercise now...hmmm

Promeganate,

Wah... i din know coconut water got so much health benefits. Definitely going to take when i hit 3rd trimester! I love coconut water actually... too bad, everyone say cannot take..

Promehanate,
Yum Yum Chicken Curry...
Tomyum/Laksa/Curry/Mee Siam are my favourite!
My Hb cannot keep up with what i eat, and fell sick already. Down with Sore Throat and fever...Wahahaha...poor Thing...Hope he gets well soon, if not i have to eat bland foods with him until dunno when...

I got bad Constipation, i think Coconuts may help me, but i have to secretly takes it...Cos traditionally wise, the old people and my Hb thinks that we cannot take cooling stuffs until last trimester!!!

promegranate,
did u say chicken curry?? yummm!!!! can share the recipe? thanks!

asura,
i like coconut water too. the coconuts i've seen r all the "uncut" version, as in got to cut a hole myself. i heard tat there's a an easy way of cutting, anyone knows? in my last preg, i tried to do it myself n nearly chopped my fingers off!

misscandy, I know how you feel too cos I'm quite insecure person, having previously been cheated by ex-bf who has 2 gfs. But been reading yr posts & feel that your hubby does love u...suggest you 'sa jiao', hubby will usually heart-pain to leave u alone at home, preggie on a weekend.

pinksorbet, yr friend's boss so bad! actually i have no choice too, my ex-boss was biaised towards me, giving me 2 persons' jobs while promoting those who are handling one person's job. Was very unhappy & tired of all the politics & the biasedness & decided to go for the new job.. the good thing is, i still adapting well to pregnancy so far & hope will continue to be like dat throughout..

Read that you can't see yr baby move? Don't worry, maybe it's just that at that moment, yr baby did not move? I think as long as the baby has heartbeat, it should be find...hugz..

promegranate, yummy.. i smell curry chicken... I am cooking my lunch as well.. cod fish and vege.. simple dish..

gingal, try prune juice.. it helps for me.. I love coconut water too..

Hey girls,

Just had lunch chicken curry, spinach with cottage cheese and rice.

Here's my not so simple chicken curry recipe:

Ingredients (List 1):
1/2 a chicken
2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 teaspoon chilli powder
1 large tomato (pureed)

To be made into a paste (List 2):
5 flakes of garlic
a little ginger
6 cloves
6 peppercorns
1/2 stick cinnamon
4 cardamoms
8 almonds
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
1 large onion

To cook:
1. Heat oil and add spice paste ( Cook for 2 mins)
2. Add, List 1 and water(maybe less than 1/2 a cup)
3. Cook till chicken is done!

Wintertime,

I heard that cod fish is good for preggies and helps with breastmilk.

How do you prepare cod fish? Hehehe we're all sharing recipes!

promeganate.. yes, heard codfish is gd, tt's y my mum bought codfish every wk for me eversince i m pregnant..
hahaha.. i m guilty to share this.. but i did not prepare the codfish. my mum did.. she help me to marinate and prepare in small portions so that everytime, i can jus bring out from the freezer, defroze, steam and it's done!! haha.. lazy me.. so I can't share with u the recipes...

but ur curry chicken really seems not easy to prepare.. so many ingredients..

thanks ladies once again for the concern and advise but i doubt it will work... he is lookin forward to it... he seldom goes for such stuff... and i shldnt stop him... in fact the last time he went was hmmm jus b4 the wedding... that was in feb... i guess i jus have to trust him ... he said he will be home by 330am... i told him il be home all alone... =( then he jus sayang me lor... zzz anyway il jus let him be bah... he knws consequences... lets hope he behaves himself... *sharpens knife* *lolx*

wow... prom ur recipe quite cheem... hehehe... is it indian curry???

hmmm what shld i eat for dinner later... =\

so far what ive had today... breakfast at 10am... 1/2 bowl of meesiam... 1 cup soy bean... then ard 2pm had a cornetto... feeling hungry now but dunno wad to eat... heh heh heh

feel like having steamboat... *drooLs* but i doubt cn eat... still feeling queasy...

sorry im nt much of a cook so cant really share recipes with ya'l i usually anyhow cook... i dont really follow any particular recipe... kekeke... unless baking cake or cookies... though i mus ask my mum for her meesiam recipe... i really love her mee siam but she has not cooked it since my sec sch days... and she used to make really powerful chicken curry... but that has also disappeared... all thanks to work and looking after us? hehehehe

Promeganate, wah your ingredients for the curry looks complicated wor..haha..but me long time no cook curry liao. shall try one of these days. dip in bread yummy!! i also tot of having cod fish but worry i dun handle well, gt fishy taste.

Daphne, thks for the apple soup recipes.. haha.

Afcai, folic + calcium table is heaty? no wonder i find myself like thirsty and sometimes constipate if i didn't take enuff fruits.. i'm ok liao, no more lao sai. hee..i guess i cannot take too spicy food ba.

missycandy, meesiam is very appetising during our 1st tri esp. those with MS. Coz sour sour mah..hahha i also like to have mee siam for breakfast. Me just had nasi lemak, soya bean drink + otah for breakfast for my brunch. just had yogurt..also wondering wat to eat later...hmmm..and wat to cook for dinner? super no idea wor. haven even buy any groceries this morning, haha..shall go down to shop n save later.

ive kinda stopped goin grocery shopping alone... in the past i wld.. becos i can carry and push the heavy cart... now difficult... =( i usually buy a lot la... drinks... meats and veggie stuff... hehe... but drinks is the killer weight! so now if i go also buy a bit a bit a bit nia... also dunno wad to buy... many times want to buy chicken to cook curry chicken but dont have a solid recipe to try lo... plus hubby doesnt eat spicy food... then if i cook i have to eat all myself... zzzz eat til lao sai probably... *lolx*

today very nice to sleep~! now raining over at my area... but i jus woke up ah... so cnt sleep... dunno what to do later when hubby goes out.... wanted to do my pedi & mani at the shop but raining... -_-" maybe i shld make brownies... nah! too lazy... hahaha...

haha missycandy..make brownies? yummy wor. nw i'm eating yan yan (biscult w chocolate dip) suddenly feel like chocolate. haha
true lor, nw buy groceries super siong. i try to buy bit bit lor. If too many things to buy, better get hubby go along. else caryy like mad.
i feel sleepy too, but i'm doing accounts tally for my hubby..super siong. headache n giddy..

missycandy, but if we do mani/pedi nw, can only soak n clear curticles + dead skin...cannot apply nail polish rite?

thanks promeganate! i'll try your curry recipe one day! cod fish is great! i prefer to pan fry or oven bake it so the fishy smell is not too strong.

for pan fry:
just fry with salt and ginger. cod fish is quite oily so i dun add much oil. can also drizzle some unagi sauce over it when done, delicious!

for oven bake:
rub salt on fish, lay lotsa cherry tomatoes on top, sprinkle some cheese, tear some basil leaves and pour white wine over all over. bake at about 180 degrees for 15 minutes or till cooked. alcohol will burn off so dun worry.

can also steam using just the salt, tomatoes and ginger.

Sharing of cod fish recipe....

Here's my recipe for cod fish, i dunno other variation only this one.

Ingredients
A) Garnish:
1) 2 cloves of garlic, chopped.
2) 2 red onions, sliced.
3) Spring Onion
4) Small pc of ginger, skin removed and sliced.

B) Sauce:
1) white Pepper
2) Good grade low salt light soy sauce

C) A piece of Cod fish steak (choose middle section with less fine bones, avoid those with brown bruises (not fresh))

Preparation:
-Wash the cod fish under running water and rub salt on both sides and leave it for half hour
-Wash away the salt under water and drain away all the water
-Steam fish with ginger slices for abt 10min. Do not overcook it as cod fish is easily cooked. Only put the fish in when the water is boiling and 10min starts from there.

To prepare the garnish:
1) Heat oil in pan
2) Fry the onions and garlic separately and drain off oil when lightly brown. Do not wait till brown as the remaining oil in the onion/garlic will brown it
3) Cut the spring onion into 2-3 pieces and using knife cut a few slits lengthwise leaving abt 2cm uncut at one end. Soak the spring onion in water. cutting the spring onion in this way would make a "flower" after it's being soaked in water for decorative purpose and crunchy feel.

To prepare the sauce:
1) Heat some light soy sauce in a pan. Add some water and simmer. Add a dash of pepper.

By now, the fish should be steamed. Drain off the water and remove the ginger if you wish. Pour the sauce over the fish. Add the fried onion/garlic on the fish. The sauce should not be too much that submerge the fish otherwise too salty and the onion/garlic lose the crunchy feel. Add spring onion onto fish.

Jasmine,

I've finished watching the DVD. It's great!!! The picture quality is good, did you toast from the original DVD?

So sian..dunno what to eat tonight. Ate a few mouthfuls of geylang beef hor fun and half an ang ku kuey at 3pm. Ate a few mouthfuls of Cong You Bing (like roti prata) just now. Now scratching head over what to eat for dinner. I haven't cook for a long time and dun think I can ever find the energy to cook and wash up and running after my 2.5yr old.

Asura79, I felt better after reading the extracted summary that you posted. Dr mentioned it may move up, but I guess I just have to be prepared for C-section. Keeping my fingers crossed.

missycandy,

sorry about the cheemology in the curry recipe. Yes it's Indian. Actually you can use curry powder if you wish, it's just that I like to make my paste from scratch and hence the long list of spices ;)

SG - eh i dunno leh... cannot apply nail polish meh? hmmm...

im not a fan of fish so il pass on the cod fish.. heh heh heh i used to lurve salmon belly... will jus steam it with those huge white onions & garlic plus dash of pepper to taste... yumm

ooo jus saw chn8... feel like eating the egg white dessert... *drooLs*

hubby has jus left to meet up with his frens... i did try to ask him not to go... but he says he will go... oh well.. maybe later il go over to my frn's plc for mahjong session... see how bah...

prom - yeh i agree with you... i actually do like to start from scratch too ... but for now lazy la... muahahaha.... =x

if anyone has malay chicken curry to share pls do! i lurve malay one.. hee hee.. yum yum yummiee!

I don't like fish also...
but got made to eat because of bb.

MS = baby gal? If one particular day has a bad MS, that day is baby gal?

Most of the time my MS nothing vomit out. But on that day went shopping walk pass a salon, then the smell of chemical caused my MS to be very bad, body came out cold sweat. Feel fainting.

abt ms maybe true ah? my colleague's wife had MS all the way til 2nd and a half trimester.. and had baby girl.. heheheh

but my frn who had a boy 1st... then recently a girl... didnt suffer from any MS at all... she didnt experience any discomfort of any sort... so lucky!!!

missycandy,
apparently, studies show tat nail polish contains harmful ingredients, however, because we only use such small amounts and they go on our nails, there's nothing much to worry abt. for malay chicken curry, just buy babas curry powder and follow the instructions, no nid to make from scratch :p

Sharon, Fairymoss,

Thanks for sharing the cod fish recipe. Any idea of the mercury content of cod fish? I have been eating "smaller" fish like sea bass, grouper, cos worried abt mercury content. Plus sometimes i think of fish and lose my appetite. Heh... Think i better check with gynae when i can start on omega 3 oil capsules.

An update on the seminar i went today:
Topic 1: Boosting Immunity
Nothing new actually... most of the things already aware, like eating properly, sleeping sufficiently, breastfeeding for at least 6 months... etc
Topic 2: Shape Up and Tone up before and after pregnancy
Some interesting facts... postnatal massage only makes us feel good.. uterus would shrink back in 6 to 8 weeks if we breastfeed, no need massage. Of course we are advised to do some exercise during pregnancy... Wong BB advises that we dont do more than 30 mins exercise at one go.. if wanna continue, should take a break before continuing.
Topic 3: Mother & Baby Yoga.
Really interesting. I dont know how to describe. But i think i would sign myself up for baby massage and baby yoga class... the babies really look like they enjoy it!

Overall, i think it is okay only. Unless u havent been reading up.. But cos i already bought books and magazines, i think knowledge wise already more or less there. I think i probably just need an antenatal class.

MTBs,

If you want to feel more at ease for manicure and pedicure, use nail polish that are formaldehyde and tolune free.

i am using a base caot from OPI, i was told that pregnant woman can use.

felt terrible today, had porridge for breakfast then puke and have diahorrea.

took my family out for Bak Kut teh at Sultan gate road. i used to love ti so much that i can finish a whole pot by myself,but now.. looking at the ribs makes me wanna vomit. so i end up drinking the soup, eat the salted vege and fried you tiao.

came back home tried to sleep but was pissed that my dad blast the whole house with tv. told him that i need to rest but he blew off at me. Haiz.. was so pissed that i went to Jurong point alone to shop. had my first jap dinner since i am preggie.. Udon soup, tempura and chawanmushi. did some shopping and wander around till shopping centre closed before i head home.

wish i had my own space cos i am going nuts! Got a house but not a home to rest. if situation persist, i think i will go stay in hotels during weekends to catch up on my sleep.

brought food to my room and locked myself up.

hello lenny...

that must have felt terible and frustrated...feeling lousy and sad right..
i had that feeling just now too..well nothing to fight about with the family coz now it's only my maid and i at home..
hubby is in taiwan for biz trip..
but the thing is that he was out the whole day and then when he got back from dinner with customers..he want to go to the night market..
i dun mind him going..but he had a long day..just want him to rest...so when he come back to sin..he won;t complain that he's tired from the boz trip...and then snore so loudly till i had a hard time sleeping everynight when he's in sin...
that pissed me off and i am trying to help him loose some weight..as he's ptting..so you know taiwan night market..is food food and nothing else...
jut being concern...but i was pissed....myabe it's the hormonal changes in me..has been having those frustration quite alot lately

was thinking yabe it's being bord at home...bcoz i had to rest for the 1st 2mths from the 1st trimester....due to spotting...so had to be coop up in the house...but now mush better...guess have to find something to do..otherwise i'll go crazy..
i dun wish to urgue with hubby coz he hardly in sin....and that is not his fault too when our hormonal changes and our mood goes like a roller coaster...he won;t understand even i had told him about the mood swing thingie before...

lenny...

the bak kut teh you drank.....is it the peppery sort???
coz better not take the teochew type( i think) is with herb and dark coloured...not good...