(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Kome,

I dont know leh... the email says refund of all the money i have paid... ask me to confirm.. soi super confused cos just yesterday she said she would be mailing out the stuff.

Dear mummies
I put pantyliner everyday even bef preg. for hygiene purpose.

Afcai
you must monitor and hope you will be fine.

Vivien
Actually i was in the midst of changing job that time. the day before i went for interview i realised i am preg. i gave up job searching then. cos i foresee myself will have difficulty in handling preg and the steep learning curve. Quite disappointed at that time when i knew i am preg. but what to do. move on lor.
Hope you are able to cope well. cos i cant really take stress...

Vivien

So weird. If EDD is their busy period and you manage to pick it up, how to help them for the period?

Won't you be going for delivery?

Talking about delivery, 1 bed or 2 bedded better?

Hubby thought of bringing me to south africa but now i m preg cant go leh.. for at least a few years. as we cant throw the bb to pil or maid...

hmm...that's true, i oso donno what she means...maybe she means she wants me to do as much as work as I can before their busy period or it's a hint to me not take the full maternity leave... Guest124, hope I can cope too...sigh...

I prefer 1 bed delivery cos I scaredy cat, dont dare sleep in hospital alone, & hubby accompanying me...

Hi Lenny,
I sign up for the TMC-FBI is more for cordlife... got $200 discount ke kee... so the FBI m/ship sort of free & of coz plus those perks mentioned by Asura79.

Hi Oppsgal,
the scan was recommend by gyane.. so may b can ask yours?

Hi Teddybaby,
Welcome. Nice to see u here. Your EDD 15/03/09 and gyane Adrian B Woodworth are the same as mine!!

Hi Guest123,
Tks for the info on Vit. Glad you check with yr Dr on VIT. as for prune, only will take when i cant go toilet... it helps... ke keee

Hi Wintertime,
am also b'coming more forgotful and clumsy lately...

Hi Sportger,
How long was yr OSCAR test? where did u did yrs? How many wks is yr BB now? i just did my detail scan on Tue @ TMC. BB is 5cm wk11++.. luckly BB was cooperative... so the scan only took half an hour... else may take longer if they cant see the good position for the neck, and brain etc.. btw, i can also see my BB nose's bone.. & BB was boxing in tummy when they did the scan... ke kee

sportyger..

yah i think i'll let her know....that i dun wan risk...but it's so confussing...i dun know wat to do now...initially i am so determine to go for the amnio test..but now i am kinda worry...
how...?????
shall i ask to change to OSCAR and since it's not totally proven acturate...

Oppsgal
I taking 4 bedded. Last time no more 4 bedded and gave 2 bedded, but charge me for 4 bedded one.

Kome

wah... So good.

Not sure should I go 2 bedded. Since 2 bedded might be only one person taking if no people came in. And is few hundred lesser in cost. Hmm... But if suay got noisy people came in with tons of relatives then very sian.

Oppsgal
Haha.....last time fighting with the next bed lady. She wan cold cold room but i want average as my son cries when he came to the room and mum said not good, so we 2 always adjust the temp.

WH,
Is ur detail scan same as OSCAR?

I will be going for OSCAR test at 12wks. how accurate if the OSCAR test? quite worried as i'm above 35.

Guest123,

Actually i was quite upset when your hubby ask u not to eat too much cos he don't want you to get fat. i told hubby about this and i did some reading. He told me to tell ur hubby cannot say such things to their pregnant wives.

reasons:
1. wive give u baby need a lot of courage and make a lot of sacrifices like job advancement cos of discrimination, body changes, suffer uncomforts and pain especially during labour

2. he say when wife get pregnant, actually they are " yi jiao ta jing guan chai" literaly means one leg step into coffin cos touchwood anything happen in labour, wife may die. since your wife risking her life to give you baby, so cannot make such shallow and ungrateful remarks.

Scientifically, i extract the following from my encyclopedia:

If a mother does not eat enough calories to nourish her developing baby, some of the shortfall is supplied by breaking down the sores of fat in her body. This process produces chemicals called ketones and, if too many of these cross the placenta they can damage the developing baby, possibly causing mental retardation.

i will try to scan this and send you to pass to him to read, let me know

so tell him all these, let him think if he wants to risk his baby's mental health or not.

hope this helps you. sorry if i am being harsh, but i really think men shouldn't be saying stuff like this to their wives, whether they are pregnant or not. in my personal opinion, he should love me for what i am not to fulfill what he wants.

To be slim or not, its my personal choice not his and not to please him. call me a feminist but this is me.

Daphne/ elina/ minnie
OSCAR test is 90% accurate (non-invasive)
Amniocentesis is 99.4% accurate (invasive)

Important thing is to ask yourself what is the purpose of doing the test in the first place. There are pros and cons of knowing and not knowing. It is an option that is given to all pregnant women these days. If you are over 35, you are already known to be in the higher risk category. At the end of the day, it's a personal choice to make.

minnie24,
both OSCAR and amnio tests are not compulsory for MTBs, whether below or above 35. just that the risk of DS is higher for MTBs above 35, so usually gynae will encourage.
however, it's a personal choice. there are MTBs like pammie who have decided not to do any tests.

oppsgal, all along, i wanted 1 bedder cos i wanted hb to stay with me.. but now, think of it, like very expensive leh.. i have not check out the rates yet.

minnie
Most gynaes will mention these tests including the Triple Test (70% accurate). Some gynaes treat Triple Test and OSCAR as standard tests in their clinics. But you can opt out on all these if you wish to do so.

Kome, 4 bedder upgrade to 2 bedder. Would there b a case tt i choose 2 bedder and upgrade to single bedder? hees

i am now starting my 14th week. but nausea still there. when will it go away. struggling everyday at work because of this.

btw, can take oranges? is it so call cooling?

yck
heard that eating too much orange will cause bb to have phlegm adn cough. Not easy to take care of them.

minnie24,
the gynae explained to us what the tests involved and the risks, but of course cannot force u...ultimately it's up to u and ur hb.

wintertime,
heard from my colleague at TMC majority of their rooms are 2 bedded. therefore it is easier to be upgrade from 4 to 2. but not from 2 to 1.

i encountered the same too during my stay there earlier on due to some bleeding. opt of 4 but given 2 but pay for 4.

Lenny
Thanks for your comfort and advice. I will "talk" to him abt it. Maybe he dont mean it... he does not matter if i m fat or slim. just dont want me to eat too much and supper is not good. but my manager buys food for his wife even at 12am cos she is hungry and cant zzz. hubby like a bit bochup me if i tell him i am hungry... he jokingly told me to go to zzz or eat something light when i told him i dont mind eating instant noodles. he insisted that he is not stopping me from eating... i m so confused on his action... i get upset at times on his remark.
He is trying hard to save for the bb but he said i always crave for diff kind of food and some are exp. we went for sakae sushi cos i craving for udon soup. he said last night dinner cost S$40. but he was the one ordering so much cos he was very hungry. He said nxt time he will not stop me (he said he nvr stopped me) on eating anything and i can go and eat myself or find alternative food or he eats hawker food so that we wont spend so much. i feel hurt. preg mummies will only eat well on things they are craving for otherwise they dont have appetite to eat and he told me to eat alone (if that meal is gonna be exp) which do you think i will?? meaning i feel so threaten (cant find a better word) either i eat whatever or i eat alone... so sad.. i am not sure is the hormone working in me or am i too sensitive or what... i am confused...

and i dont wish to have the "accuse" him thoughts.. not fair to him..
so i am not sure what should i do nxt time.. feel upset emotionally and sympathise on my appetite and the bb.. sigh..

Guest123,

i read from the encyclopedia that when pregnant woman craves for a certain food.. its because our body is lacking the nutrients or vitamin from that food thus trigers our craving

Maybe your hb is not a sensitive person and does not know abt our craving at all. I sure he don't really mean that. I do agree with Lenny that whatever craving we have, we must try to satisfy if not bb come out always drooling (those pantang will say so lar). Yesterday i also went to sakae sushi coz i crave for the miso soup and the tempura handroll. My hb tried not to eat that much coz really abit exp lor, but he did not stop me from eating.

previously we were quarrelling about my maternity wear purchse. i reduced from US$500 to US$200+.
We had a goood talk. he said he wanted to save hard as he dont wish to have insufficient money when i need for delivery, bb accessories, tonic during and aft preg, maid etc. he said he needs to fork out alot and he is preparing for the raining day... i keep quiet...
There was a time i yelled at him, "no money then dont have bb. told you to wait 1-2 years aft wedding and the bb comes so unexpected when i m in the midst of changing job... blah blah..."
In fact i am disappointed to have the bb.. the first 2 months i was not happy as the bb has caused me so much disturbance. i hate the bb at times..

Guest123,

i normally buy some biscuit (mcVities milk chocolat4e digestive biscuit) and put in a container next to me.. cos i will wake up in the middle of the night with stomach growling. as u all know that hubby is overseas and both my parents are aged already, and i also paiseh to wake my brother up cos he worked till quite late.

so i normally nibble a few pieces or drink a glass of HL milk then i watch tv for a while before i go to bed.

you can try.. cos i think all these biscuits and milk are not expensive..

guest123,

i know where u frustration comes from, but must remember.. BB is innocent.. there is no turning back now but can only make use of what we have to get the best out if the situation. no good to quarrel with hubby cos it will strain your relationship and i believe this is not what u guys want, especially newly weds.

u must calm yourself down and cannot hate bb.. cos bb will sense it.. just rub your belly and talk to bb that u both are going thru tough times and what bb can do to help is be a good bb. this is what i do.

Same as you, 1st 2 mths i was upset also abt bb too. Coz financially wise, both my hb and me already gt difficulty surviving and now additional #2 every mth we are so short of cash due to expensive checkup. My mum also at 1 side pour cold water saying why so fast must have another one whereby we cannot support.

That time i had even think of abortion but i don't bear to.

Guest123,

Please try to stop these anti-bb thoughts. not good for bb... bb would know one.. cos bb is link to mummy. Cross the bridge when u reach it... my colleagues say it is our expectations actually... we expect too much so keep thinking no money... but if u have the baby, would be able to work out ard the budget.. there must be sacrifices though.

Thanks Asura79. But i do get upset on not getting the food i want. I already bear with my breakfast and lunch and i hope to have a good dinner and when i feel deprive i feel like breaking down...
and having mix feeling. then no eat lor but bb cannot dont eat... so i like stick so poor thing..

Daphne, dont worry too much about the test. It is good to check with your gynae which is the best option for you.

WH, I did my OSCAR at TMC. It is quite fast. The scanning of the bb neck took about 10-15 minutes while the blood test in 5 mins. But in between there was some waiting time. I am now 13w 2 days.

Kome..

Actually we can cook our own mison soup. just buy the miso paste, silken toufu and wakame (dried seaweed) from cold storage. its really easy..

boil water, the add the paste till u get the tsate that u want and lewt it boil for a while.
lastly, add your toufu and wakame.. then its ready.

for handrolls, try go online to get the recipe and make it yourself if u really love them. its really cheaper.

i cooked my own zaru soba, miso soup, chawanmushi and tempura or chicken karaage cos its cheaper.

and i also cooked my own spagetthi bolognaise, marinara, carbonara , linguine with vongole in white wine sauce cos not worth apying almost $20 (inclusive of GST & Serv. charge) for pasta

if you like, can go cold storage to buy the ready made fresh ravioli and cook at home too.. its really cheaper..

Guest123,

Maybe our husbands just don't understand cos the BB not in their tummy. My hb always make fun of the nauseas sound i always make, but it's becos we can't control! He is Very irritating...
My Hb also nvr control if i wanna eat Instant Noodles, cos he lazy to buy food for me. Sounds abit like no concern about me and BB's wellbeing.

My Hubby will also say he needs save $$$ for BB esp. now that I am not working, and thus he will not want to eat at expensive restuarants. You know what I do, I usually "Jio" his/my frens and told him we have set the Venue, so he boh pian will go along...he wont want my/his frens think that he is miser...wahahahaha!!! Try it!
*BTW, he wants to save on the food, but he can still buy his new clothes, wanting to change branded suspensions for his car etc. So I don't care!*

Kome,

I didn't know that if Mummies never satisfy her cravings, BB will drool alot next time. So I better let HB know wor, this is a great reason!

Lenny,

I hate milk powders, do u think HL milk is good enough for us??? Everytime i drink my Annum, i feel like puking...

gingal,

once i drinki milk powder... jia lat... i will have diahorrea.. so bad until backside pain...

my mum thought its psycological so she tried to add in a tablespoon into my milo but.. i still go for the runs..

so i drink HL milk.. hahaha...

Lenny
Thanks. btw, sometimes when i do cook at home, i did prepare soba with miso and it is fast and easy. Cooked spaghetti and simple chinese food too. But not nowadays cos exhausted easily.
Was watching with hubby the dvd last night but i dozed off at ard week 9...haha

gingal
hubbies are sensible at times. esp they know that we should cut down on exp food. some hubby totally bochup. oh then that is insensible of him to buy new clothes and do up his car. at least my hubby dont anyhow spend nowadays after knowing we have a bb. he will told me to spend less or find alternative but not tell me not to buy.
I dont think the normal milk has sufficient nutrient. i try to drink anmum every day.

Lenny
You are a great cook. haha.....i don't know how to cook except instand noodles, eggs, fried food and cook rice only. Mmmm.... will ask hb to cook for me.

gingal
Don't know is true or not. Thats what my mum told me. After my hb heard it, he will bring me to eat whatever i want to satisfy my craving.