(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Pammie ...

You should try to eat more so that you have something to vomit instead of vomiting the gastric juice all the time ...

These day i will try to eat 2-3hr interval ... a cup of milo + bread or 2-3 biscuits etc ... try it to see if it helps.

I am v scared of the feeling of vomiting when stomach is empty ... cos i actually can feel the gastric contracting and pushing out gastric juice. Sometimes even blood oso ...

re: vitamins

think i am the most guilty mum around ... many days since i last took my folic acid cos it gives me a metalic taste then i go and vomit again ... hmmm think i better start taking it =p

my gynae dun really give DHA to me ... in fact he feels that its not necessary lor ... only gives me folic acid, calcium + iron (later stage) but v generous with the anti-vomiting and zantac (1 pill $2+ but v good for the ppl like me with bad gastric problem)

Wintertime
i think preg mummies tend to be more forgetful and not so alert. so be careful. Put your stuff in front of you and drive with care nxt time esp when we are preg..

Dear mummies
Actually i was taking usana multi vit, vit c, calcium and fish oil. However the doc told me to stop all except the calcium. Thou usana fish oil came out on the ST as one of the best my gynae did not tell me to continue. Please make sure that the supplements you buy outside is safe you preg and your baby.

ladies, anyone cannot stand sitting in a car?

i drive my own car is fine, but i cant stand the smell of other cars, esp my hubby's car cos he had the 3M car mat that gave a strong synthetic rubber smell and it makes me puke everytime i reached home.

good morning mummies....

another site for mummies who is worry about eating seafood:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/seafoodexpert/

asura/ pork with apple soup
ingredients:
1. pork ribs ( for soup makin kind pkt for 2 serving)
2. 2-3 red apples
3. red dates( 5 cloves)
4. wolfberries
5. carrots 2 sticks ( med size)

cooking:
1. boil pork ribs from the blood and bateria. remove water and fresh water and ribs.
2. peel apples ( optional but leaving skin will have soury taste)
3. shave skin and cut carrot into pieces ( chunks- it adds up to sweetness)
4. add dates and wolfberries ( usually i will cut dates into half so the fruit can be more easily infused)
5. put all ingredients together ( i kaisu wan the taste to be stronger)
6. add sait prior to serving

enjoy the simple soup...let me know if it's yummy

Daphne,

Thanks.. Would try it next week or week after... I looking forward to days without take-aways from the hawker!

Re: forgetfulness
Ya manz. now i m more careful these days and always keep my bag on my lap. I will check on my chair before leaving..

daphne, sound nice too.. yummy..

these days, i cook too.. but in a "lazy" way.. my mum will prepare and marinate the food and separate them in small portion for each meal.. then I will just simply stew or steam them.. everygnight, i will jus cook rice, put those "ready" parepared food and steam them.. voila, i have my nice home cook dinner at home.. mummy is always the best.

Wintertime,

So nice... my prob is my mom is not in sg. I have never eaten at in-laws before cos my MIL dont cook dinner. My granny's place too far from my place but if ask her to cook, i heartpain cos she would be very tired...
So since young, i have been relying on myself for home cook dinners...

These days, either i got energy to cook or got energy to wash up. I dont have energy to wash. But hb dont like to wash... boo hoo... i miss home cook food...

anyone gg to facial, dunno can still go facial now?? cos I still got package unfinished.

<font color="#48CCCD">sun96</font>
oic.usually, bb head will be down after wk 37 if not wk 38.

<font color="#48CCCD">pinksorbet</font>
welcome. I'm also in wk 10 as of today.same as me, i have been spotting since 17/7. Have been admitted to hospital twice this mth (added up staying for 1 weeks) due to massive bleeding (fresh blood type and kept on dripping). so scary. so already been almost a mth never gone to work liao and will rest until 9/9 for my checkup. hopefully, my spotting will stop. this 2nd preggie is so tough and felt sian too.

u also born in sept? me too but 2 days before end of the mth loh but not the same yr as u.

<font color="#48CCCD">SG</font>
yup, now, discharge/spotting like maroon color. same, everyday still got spotting, somemore less and sometimes more. thks for the console. dunno why this preggie not so smooth this time round.....

calcium tablets also very heaty, need to drink a lot of water too. doc prescribe obimin (multi-vitamin), folic acid and duphaston pill for me. for me, I consume goat milk tablet and it is very rich in calcium too.

yeah, when consuming folic acid, urine color will change to yellow.

re:cooking. same thinking, i also dunno what to eat too outside. so i also cook my own brunch and dinner for the past week. mum bought ingredients for me - fish, meat, veg etc.... sometimes also dunno what to cook. last night, cook chicken and mushroom ginseng soup. all ingredients dump inside the pot and let it slow boil. other time, just fried the veg and also tofu. for me, usually, I use chicken wing or 'shou rou' to boil and never added in any seasoning. the soup is sweet enu liao.

maybe buy potato and minced meat then cooked them together with oyster sauce. quite nice...most of the time, I cooked soup (cabbage, chicken, yellow melon or potatoes soup) cos easy man...all dump inside.

did u eat wrong thing?? maybe some diarrhoea loh, just monitor for 1-2 days see if ok, if not, go and see doc.

<font color="#48CCCD">Oppsgal</font>
I got dentist appt in Nov only, dunno shd I go or not....me also long time never go since 2003.

maybe u go at the latest stage of preggie loh.

re:nipple crack. during bf, u can use yr own bm or applied nipple cream to the crack or sore area. mine sore even nearly bleed during the first week after delivery. so I just use bm to rub on it and it works and heal within few days.

detail scan is fr wk 20-wk 23 loh. still early to do that....

<font color="#48CCCD">Lenny</font>
for me, i dun really like extra supplement. will take natural food to replenish the nutrient. like DHA, can consume more egg yolk and oily food like cod fish and salmon. they are also rich in omega. also, next time, if one bf, our bm is also very rich in DHA and all kind of nutrient that fm cannot replaced.

re:sad remarks. yeah, think col not happy with new bb bonus scheme loh. they also pass remarks to me when I called bck office and told me how come so fast preggie and yr body still weak. piang....their words really disheartening....ppls really dun have smooth preggie liao still.....

wow, u so fierce....

<font color="#48CCCD">minni24</font>
wow, u take duphaston pills 3 times a day. for me, i only asked to take twice.

same same, I got ES (evening sickness) and NS(night sickness) but did not show those vomit sign only felt nausea. so got to pop some 'hu hua guo' to resolve it.

<font color="#48CCCD">Jasmine</font>
my frenz mentioned that gynae told her to try but it 's kind of waste time.

<font color="#48CCCD">Wintertime</font>
hmm...what pain?? cramp or?? better still down and rest for a while. so how are u now?

same, lost my hsekey, boil water for 1.5hr until the whole ketter turn black and forgot this and that.....

did u go bck to search yr shopping bag?? ai-yo....

think we will be a bit crumsy also....

<font color="#48CCCD">Asura79</font>
for me, I just donate my cordblood to KKH sg cordlife bank FOC. acc to them, if touch wood, need to use the cordblood, donator will have priority.

my frenz 's sis is chioing ppls to sign up (she is due in oct). she mentioned 2nd pax to sign up cordlife entitle to 43%.

re:eek:range juice. my um told me not to consume too much orange cos it will introdce phelgm to bb.

<font color="#48CCCD">Pammie</font>
u must be feeling very terrible....hope this will stop after 2nd trimster. my col puke all the way to deliver loh.my another frenz kept vomitting and vomitting until admitted to hospital. after doc given her dunno what, her MS stopped.

maybe u can check with yr gynae to ask anything to prevent ms?

<font color="#48CCCD">teddybaby</font>
welcome. so far, last preggie, my EDD date never change but I still deliver at wk 38.

yeah, one of the doc did mention to me that there could be a blood cot behind my placenta, that's why trigger spotting and bleeding.

re:antental class. I signed up 2 mth before due date last time.

asura, my mil also don't cook dinner too... after married, I always eat oustide food and occasionally will go home for dinner.. now tt i m preggie, my mum specifically tell me to take special note of my diet. tt's y she start preparing fish, pork n vege for me..
me too, i like home cook food too, but i don't like to wash up. luckily my hb will still help me with the washing part.

asura...

sometimes when i dun cook....i always call delivery...like my nearby hawker zhi-cha, sakea sushi ( disappointment thou), pasta mania, canadian pizza...

I oso forgetful these days, always forget what i eat for lunch... Glad it's fri too! But oso stressed, starting work at new place on Mon. First time I work at MNC, worry that my colleagues will dislike me even before i come in cos I'm preggie...

U ladies are fortunate if your MIL's cooked. for my end, i don;t ;like her cooking cos she won;t add oil and seasoning. every dish is so bland, so i dread eating at their place. thank god i haven't taste her cooking for more than a year now.

afcai,
can go facial but do tell the beautician that u are pregnant so they have to avoid some stuff or procedures on you.

as for the supplement, i take it cos i am worried that what i take daily is not enough for baby so no choice. sometimes i feel like puking when i swallow the tablets.

Kome,

I am confused. The seller sent me an email yesterday informing me that the goods would be mailed out yesterday. Today, i suddenly get an email for refund. Why is that so?
Is it because the amounts have change so refund me for previous payment than i pay for the new payment? Cos there are some changes to the total amount.
How did she process the refund of the excess shipping charges?

daphne - ya i read that alleviating the legs will help...gynae prescribed duphaston so i've been on that since...i told myself to relax lo, but like abit hard...so been heaving deep breaths...even my gynae said i worry too much...how not to worry when the bleeding keeps coming back..now go toilet oso get paranoid..v jialat...lol...

lenny- whens yr birthday? they say virgoes are born perfectionists...lol...which i so agree myself...too bad this year i can't go out on my birthday...wanna go sentosa to celebrate actually...sit that stimulator ride...now cannot le...
jiayou...first trimester will fly past before we know it...but for now i kept counting down to my 12th week...lol..time seems to fly past when i'm at work...now like so slow leh?

afcai- i know wat u mean..like u, i had red bleeding so many times i lost count, each time i teared or panicked...then got once during middle of the night blood dripped out of me too, couldn't sleep well and teared on bed that night...then will gate crash at gynae who will check and thank goodness bb is fine..i tink bleeding is common in the first trimester and it doesn't mean anything is wrong...we jus gotta hang on...has yr spotting stopped? tink our cases v similiar...i've oso been off work since july le...got once i went back to work the bleeding came back..lucky my boss is nice told me to go and see the gynae immediately...lets jiayou ok?

asura- i wish i can learn from u...i always feel i have no talent in cooking or that i'm jus plain lazy...tink even my hb can cook better than me...

vivien
that mnc still accepted you when they know u preg... it is nice..

Dear mummies
i just lao sai. blasted out 3x in a shot. v worried is the bb still there... tummy flatter now..

vivien - a couple of months back i applied for new jobs too...that was before my pregnancy...at that time i told myself if i'm pregnant, i will end my job search and if i found a new job, i will have to postpone my bb making plans...
so i decide to let fate choose my path...and fate puts me on the former route.

i jus received a call from a job agency...who asked whether i am still looking for jobs...i told the lady..."to be frank with u, i'm pregnant...i dun tink the new company wants me rite...*laughs*"

<font color="#48CCCD">Lenny</font>
re:facial. cos I have postphone my facial appt twice liao. of cos, will tell the beautician that I'm preggie.

hmm tot those born under Libras sign will be perfectionists. for me, i'm a Libra.

yup, those non-stop drip fresh blood so scary....worst than menses man...at least, mense will go on and off but not this.... no lah, my last preggie, only got gust of little blood coming out during wk 6, then admitted to hospital for 3D2N and after that, the preggie is smooth, so smooth that one dun felt one is preggie man...but now, opps...god man...think it is torturing now.....but for me, dating scan shows bb heart' beat and scan everything ok....my spotting still not stopped after discharged fr hopsital on tues. on and off, got those dark maroon discharge, sometimes, like 'tou hua' type, sometimes, normal stains only...so only placed 2-3 layers of toilet paper. now, this time round, if I go out (gg to fetch my gar (of cos, with hubby when he drop by after work) today and tml when out for breakfast will place pad and standby a pad and disposable panty liao. scared twice liao, stain all over my short and panty.

yup, jiayou, pray extra hard and spotting will stop. my frenz told me that she also have blood cot and nothing the gyne can be done. no medicine given and the blood cot just dissolve in her mid of 2nd trimster. dunno is it bec of low lying placenta which could cause that. when i asked, the doc/sonographer mentioned that placenta still developing so still hard to tell.

<font color="#48CCCD">Guest123</font>
did u consult doc?

afcai
no. just lao sai.. mrng had oatmeal porridge n prune juice. maybe potent combi. all high fibre kind...
When i clean i did see blood so think should be fine..

Asura
For my refund cases after she had shipped out, afew days later will refund thru credit card.At 1st my hb saw bill of abt $129+, few days later saw another statement for the refund.

They will only know the exact shipping charges after they sent out the clothes, so i think that they might have over quote you for the shipping charges thats why inform you today of the refund.

Pinksorbet,

i am on on the 7th Sep, next sunday is my birthday. was initally planning for a short weekend getaway but now cannot liao.. every time i go for long walks, i get cramps. and it scares me whenever i feel warm fluid flowing out

KOme

Hubby ask me if i wan go shopping in Bangkok this OCT. Shd be in my 2nd trimester. Initially plan for a trip to Japan in March but have to cancel. I dunno if I can go or not, now still having MS...

toilet paper afcai???
better not coz it's not meant to restand heat n moist in the virgina area..will cost infection...better place panty liner...change every 4hrs...better that way.

afcai- ya at least for menses i feel blood dripping is normal, definitely not for pregnancy...
gynae told me bleeding is caused by hormonal changes or that our womb is weak...she did a v-check for me and said i'm ok now...
tink u better dun walk too much, try to sit down more or rest more in bed...and of cos u can't carry yr gal too...have to let hb do the job...
according to pregnancy books i read or sources i found on the internet, some blood cot will dissolve by itself, some will not which could lead to possible m/c...thank goodness yr fren's blood cot disappear itself...

Lenny - Happy advance birthday to u too! ya everytime i feel warm fluid flowing out i rush to the toilet to check that its not blood...i'm jus paranoid...sigh..
try not to walk too much...at this time we have to rest as much as possible...
i do get minor cramps too..but gynae was saying as long as they are not bad cramps they should be fine...

seabreaze / afcai... trouble is when i eat, i vomit, when i dont, i vomit gas/acid. either way, I vomit! Saw gynae today, she gave me anti vomit pills. I wont be taking la.. i will endure. baby is now 2.4cm and waved the hands about. rather active.

I went for my OSCAR test yesterday and the results are normal. Feel so relieved cos was really worried before the test. BB is now 7.1cm.
bb was moving around during the scan and took a while before could get the measurement for the neck.

minnie24 ...

it is safe to travel in 2nd tri but i guess it depends on individual mood. in any case BKK quite easy to book, maybe when you feel that no more MS and got more energy, then you book for the trip lar =)

but now politically not very safe to travel BKK right

kome- my company trip to macau is in nov...but hb doesn't want me to go...he's worried...

i got a baby shower two weeks later, 15sep...dun tink i can go too...tho i realli wanna see my colleague's new bb boy...

Minnie
As long as you do not feel unwell and be careful when over there, i don't see any problem since you already in 2nd trimester. If don't go now, after deliver don't know when can go for holiday liao.

I wont be going for OScar or Amnio - for one my oscar results for sure will not be good because im already approaching 40.. then what next? amnio carries a risk of 2% which im not willing to take... so to ease my mind, i wont be doing either...

pinksorbet
ohh....you got a baby shower? How does it goes abt? Sorry never gt the chance to see people do so abit curious.

seabreeze
Yah, i have the same thoughts too. want to go Japan but Hubby say too far for me. Can only go neighbouring country. Go resort, cant play water sports *SianZ*

now u ask me go anywhere i oso dun wan, i rather lie in bed and sleep....

kome - oops it my colleague's baby shower, not mine....hahaha

ok mine will be next year in apr...wakakakakaka..

she's inviting friends and relatives to her place...like normal gathering with buffet catering and such...and baby will be showered with lots of gifts lor...

pammie ...

i think its better to have some food to vomit cos gastric juice will burn the throat one. v painful ler

minnie24 ...

me too ... now lie on the bed and surf net is the happiest past time for me now. even the tot of attending my good fren's wedding oso abit sianz ... everytime me preg become abit anti-social hahahaha

Kome
I told hubby that too. May not have a chance to go holiday as and when I like after delivery. Have to think for BB, coz i dun think i'll have to heart to leave my BB with my mum/MIL then go for hols.

pammie....

dun have to worry so much..i am also going for my amnio test on the 18th coz am 35yrs old...
but as long as it'll ease my mind of baby's health..and my galfren went thru safe and sound with the cutest baby.....she said it's not painful but emotional...coz she can see her baby trying to touch the needle...
i guess since that's the best choice for me to opt for my pregnancy to check my baby i will go for it...
so pam.........jia you!!!

Pammie
It's better to have something to vomit than vomit gastric juice. It really hurts ur throat like what Seabrezze says. I keep vomitting too, vomit liao, i continue eating. kekeke...Jiayou!

wah.. so many post..

re: holiday
hmm.. hb also asked me too,but i m simply to lazy to move around lately. somemore, don't know if my mil will "nag" or not.. say dangerous or wat..

afcai

Do you need to ask the doctor to do the detailed scan, of the doctor will automatically do the scan?

I am not bf... This is my #1, but nipple cracks. I notice that the nipple cream can only be used 24 wks after. Now cannot use nipple cream yet.

sportyger

my gynea has made the appt for me and she has told me to go for the amnio coz i am 35yrs.old..she didn't mention anything about OSCAR....

Daphne, normally I tot gynae will advise to do OSCAR first. Then unless the results from the Oscar shows high risk then gynae will advise to do amnio cos amnio carries risk of miscarriage. You may want to check with your gynae

<font color="#48CCCD">Guest123</font>
for me, most of the time, I clean will see brown stains or light brown stains one, sometimes, will pass out string of maroon tissue or whatever...

<font color="#48CCCD">Oppsgal</font>
the doc will scheduled u the detail scan for u one.I dun need to ask. KKH also ask me want to do this and that test or not. I told them no. like NUH, so pissed off, already scheduled my detail scan in Nov. they shd target my current problem first. anyway, give up NUH liao. will be follow up with KKH.

oic...I did not know that nipple cream cannot be used. maybe u ask gyane what cream he had to resolve yr nipple crack problem. dun wash with soap loh cos midwife mentioned before, it will dry the nipple. wash it with normal runny water.try to go braless if can. of cos, at hm lah.

<font color="#48CCCD">Lenny/pinksorbet</font>
wow, we are also sept mummies (birthdya fall on sept loh).

<font color="#48CCCD">DAPHNE CROSAILO</font>
for me, I placed toilet paper and will change 1-1.5hr when visit to toilet. last time, got some itchniess but now dun have leh....yup, I'm intending to buy pantyliner.

agreed. hmm...TMC gynae only told me that there's a gap behind my placenta in between the lining of womb. so hopefully, it will close soon. another KKH gynae mentioned could be blood cot at the placenta which trigger spotting.yup, that's what doc did mention, hope for the best that blood cot or gap will close if not, there's a risk of m/c.
same same, I also paraniod too when feel warm fluid flowing out. like my first preggie, tough there is warm liquid but it is yellow liquid.

yup, I can't carry my gar liao....she is so sticky to me when she is hm on fri night and weekend.

re:bb shower.advise not to go, old folks will mention that it will 'cheong'. my cil's bb fullmth tml and I'm not gg. my gd frenz also due in early sept, I dun think I can go and visit her too (anyway, she knew my case).

did u do any extra test like OSacar test? I did not do any even for my first preggie.

<font color="#48CCCD">Pammie</font>
why u dun want to consume the anti-vomit pills? have u try to eat those sour plum to see whether it help?? or apply medicine oil??

afcai

I now stop using body wash. Use facial wash to wash nipples instead as milder. Scare no wash got infection.

I thought can detail scan. I so kancheong, wk 12 ask the doc to check the bb's neck. haha...

The doctor say look normal. Oscar I decided to back out. Scare the results not accurate will be scare.

Now looking for confinement food to order for delivery. Seems to have only two companies providing confinement food.

sportger

Oscar test is not accurate. Maybe negative shown, is actually positive, positive shown is negative.

If want 99.9% sure have to do amino test. But do the test 0.3% normal bb will miscarriage.

After hearing that HB say don't do the tests liao.

guest123, pinksorbet: hee...actually i signed the offer before i know I was pregnant..aft that when i told my future boss i pregnant, i guess being an MNC, she cannot said she dont recognise the job offer..but she did stressed many times that I must pick up things fast &amp; somemore my EDD is in their busy period...so stressed loh, but told myself will try best.

minnie, so good yr hubby still let you travel overseas...my hubby said holidays are banned for me until 2 yrs later...sob sob...