(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Sun, if it helps, just so you know, I'm suffering MS big time.. nausea doesnt actually leave me... it's from moment i wake to the moment I sleep... I vomit after EVERY meal, and vomit acid in btween... I think one day I vomit around 40 - 50 x.. horrible feeling.. in case u think I eat alot, all i had for breakfast was a pc of cheese + wheat thins, a few mouthfuls of beehoon for lunch, half bowl of porr for dinner.. i think they all came out.

Got these articles on cord blood. Unbiased reports. What i realise is that most pple in the medical line seems to think private cord banking is not necessary. This is really puzzling me. I think i shall talk to my GP on this if me or my husband need to see him again before due date.

AAP ENCOURAGES PUBLIC CORD BLOOD BANKING
http://www.aap.org/advocacy/releases/jan07cordblood.htm

Law Annoys Private Cord Banks
http://www.wired.com/science/discoveries/news/2006/01/70091?currentPage=1

Stem Cells in the Bank -- for What, It's Not Yet Known
http://www.latimes.com/news/printedition/la-sci-cordblood19jun19,1,6988598.story

Hello pinksorbet!! =) are u 1st time MTBs?

Asura, oh so black out is norm. true lor, best is dun fall and knock ourselves..but then black out very scary wor..i hate tat feeling. super phobia esp. when i'm in crowded area, i'll have fast heartbeat, weak and breathless, cold sweat then must really find a seat liao. =(

hmmm just cooked my own dinner. not very nice but i guess consider healthy ba. had cabbage + lean meat rice + spicy toufu + carrot/corn soup. abit borrr..ring comparing to Mon's dinner - pork chop + steam corn w butter + aparagus & smash potatoes. haha nw waiting for my hubby to come back home from work. busy busy..poor thing.

Pink Sorbet,

Welcome! U might want to provide the following details for Sun to update the table.

EDD:
Date of Birth:
Nick:
# Baby: (i.e. first or second or third child or even fourth!)
Gynae:
Delivery Hospital:

Pammie,

This is similar to when u were pregnant with ur first? Seems a bad bout u have got, took MC from doc?

poor thing ah pammie..u puked more than 40 times a day. tats really bad..any MTBs who noes ways to stop / prevent vomiting??

btw, any MTBs here cook? I'm running out of ideas liao. Coffeeshop food sucks! i rather cook something i like..but have been cooking, spaghetti, meatballs, sweet & sour pork, pork chop etc. dunnoe wat to eat liao..last nite din cook went to eat "ma lah (spicy) steamboat, super siok! but this morning tummyache and had loose stool..guess too spicy liao. haha

yup i'm a first-timer =)

jus recently went thru alot of spotting/bleeding and condition is pretty unstable...cried alot of times during this pregnancy too cos worrying..oops hope won't be a crybaby like me... =P i've gone off work since Jul already (had to bedrest at home)

dis pregnancy is jus like a rollercoster ride to me...lol

but i'm glad yesterday gynae visit shows bb doing good...bb is 2.77cm and just starting on 10th week =)

Hi Asura =) my details as follows...Thanks Sun for updating!

EDD: 25-Mar-2009
Date of Birth: 03-Sep-1980
Nick: pinksorbet
# Baby: 1
Gynae: Dr Heng TL
Delivery Hospital: East Shore

i'm suffering from MS too...horrible feeling =(

yesterday after getting off the cab, i threw up...rides makes me giddy these days...

i kept telling myself to endure and not throw up when i'm suffering from MS at home...ate candies to curb it...now dun tink sour plums realli help for me....

Asura, ok ok..i'll let my gynae noe. xie xie ni.

Pammie, i'm flipping book on therapies for pregnancy. you can drink giner tea / giner biscult to reduce nausea + vomiting attacks coz ginger is rich in zinc, which helps to combat deficiency - a possible cause of nausea. Otherwise try chamomile or peppermint tea, can make them into ice cube and sucked. I've personally tried pepermint tea and i feel good esp. after a meal..helps to sooth the bloatness and cooling + refreshing feeling in my mouth. =)
no harm trying..

pinksorbet, my gynae also Dr Heng wor..hee..
maybe u can try the remedies i've posted earlier. See if they works.
chamomile is a remedy to emotional upset..but there's a taste maybe nt all will like it.
Additional info: Vitamin B6 deficiency increases nausea - eat bananas, wholemeal bread, brown rice & rasins. Magnesium is lost thru' vomiting so eat plenty of nuts, wholegrains, wheatgerm and dried apricot.
i.e. can eat yummy yogurt + wheatgerm, nice!
potassium rich food like bananas, melons, raisin, figs and fruit juice are essential after sickness.

pinksorbet, welcome gal. hey, ur bd next wednesday?? how r u going to celebrate? happy bd to you in advance..

SG,

I love soup. Let me share with u my favorite soup recipe.
2 carrots, 2 yellow onions, 2 tomatoes, 1 chicken (remove skin, drumstick, thigh and wing)
1. Scald the chicken with hot water.
2. Peel and chop onions and carrots into small chunks
3. Put carrots, onions, scalded chicken into a magic cooker (4.5 litre). Pour water until chicken is covered with water. Bring to boil.
4. Simmer for another 30 mins. ]
5. Next day after work, add tomatoes (cut into one-eights) and boil for 15 mins.
6. Taste and add salt where required. I normally dont add salt.

If u dont have magic cooker, need to boil soup for 2 hrs. If not, then use slow cooker, throw everything (except tomatoes) in the morning. When come back after work, add tomatoes, go take shower and soup is ready.

I usually use the chicken drumsticks, chicken thighs, chicken wings to cook oyster sauce chicken cos i find it wasteful to put it into soup. The soup got lots of vitamins! Known as ABC soup... means got vitamin A, B and C. If u like potatoes, can add into soup also but means got to add salt cos potatoes make the soup bland.

SG - mayb i will get to see u one of these days =)

i dun dare to drink tea cos liang, den cos of my bleeding too...mum advised me not to drink...so i onli got to guai guai drink horlicks/milo and ribena...so boring =(

wintertime- yup my bd next wed... =) but i dun tink i will celebrate cos i cannot go out...i'm so weak...gynae advise me to rest at home and not walk abt so much...anyway i walk abit i tired like siao...so this year my bd cele will be at home...told hubby that the best pressie for me is the bb in my stomach =) and that he/she grows healthy can le...

pammie,
r u feeling ok besides the vomiting? just wana make sure it's not something else eg. food poisoning? i just went through the info my gynae gave, n one suggestion is to consume solid and liquid foods separately eg. toast with jam and no butter or margarine in the morning and nothing to drink, then one or two hours later, hv a glass of milk with no food. continue with this pattern throughout the day.

wah asura, thks man! sounds super healthy wor..hmm..shall try out one of these days..but will onion have a heavy "taste"? coz lately i can't take garlic & onion..haha will puke ah. magic cooker is it those like pressure cooker?

pinksorbet, i'm nt too sure whether those tea i mentioned is cooling but i noe they dun contain caffine. hee, happy birthday in advance to u too! i agree everyday drink milo/ribena is bor ring wor..maybe u can have warm honey, hmm..canberry juice?

thanks for the birthday wishes! =)

SG, yalor i forgot i got drink honey too..haha...probably i will oso try cranberry juice...i love chilled drinks and i believe they can make my MS better cos they will make me feel shiok...haha...but i never try now cos have to be disciplined and think of bb...cold drinks aren't good now..besides i get this uncomfortable abdominal and stomach pain sometimes...probably cos too much wind in the stomach...

SG,

It is healthy and yummy. U might not be used to no salt initially, so no worries abt putting the salt in okay?
Magic cooker is those that dont run on electricity. Very useful. Always use it to cook soups.
As for the onions. A lot of water, so final taste not very onion. No worry. Plus use yellow onions as red onions is too strong.

Would post my recipe for the oyster chicken next time. Need to cook it once to give u proportion... hee hee.... always just anyhow pour the condiments, never bother measuring.

I normally have the soup, oyster chicken and a stir-fried veg together with rice. Makes a very nice complete meal.

My hb like my korean style chilli chicken too... Again, i need to cook once to get the proportions right. Post it up when i do try in near future..
very long never cooked... cos always so tired... super bored with the take-aways. Energy coming back so maybe can resume cooking dinner next week if the energy level maintains.

Hi MTBs,

Went for my detail scan for down syndome, bone growth etc... at TMC... BB now is 5cm at 11wks++. and can see BB boxing inside tummy...so cute. but got to wait for report reading at gyane nxt mth...cant wait man...

Oh yes, i'm olso signed up for FBI at $148. and they gave me a goodie bag...will try to upload a picture of what inside the goodie bag.

asura, wah.. ur recipe sound so "tasty" .. yummy.. u certainly make a perfect wife!!! better don't let my hb see this, else he start "complaining" wahahahaha

Wintertime,

My hb now fashions a potbelly which he din have before he knew me... always say it is my fault, cos when i dont cook, i ask him bring me out to eat yummy! Dont think ur hb would complain after he hears of the potbelly... hahah...

this is the goodie bag fm TMC-FBI
- 3 books (Childbirth, childcare, breastfeeding)
- Milk powder (for mom)
- bag (sling bag/back pack)
- Diaper changing mat
- Music CD
- Baby Gloves & Mittens.
- Bottle for keeping milk powder
1673080.jpg

Expected Weight Gain for Pregnancy (fm TMC book)

1st trimester (1wk ~13wk); 1-2kg
2nd trimester (14-26wks); 4-5kg
3rd trimester (27-40wks); 4-6kg

expected weight gain based on BMI

BMI less than 20 ---> 12-18kg
BMI 20-25 ---> 11-15kg
BMI 25-30 ---> 6-11kg
BMI 30 or moew ---> 6-9kg

BMI = weight before pregnancy (kg)/ height(m) X height (m)

WH,

Just pour hot (just boiled) water over the chicken, no need to soak and yes pour the water away. This is optional but would ensure that ur soup is not dirty with the blood. Remember to skin the chicken cos the soup would be very oily otherwise.

good evening mummies....must be ready for bed ( usually i'll read up the last posts before i sleep..hehehehe)

SG/ cooking:
i do cook at home sometimes...easy and easy to cook kinda...not too heavy type but not sure your hubby will like kinda..hahha..i very cantonese ty so needs lotta soup hahaha...
1. minced pork + fish cake porridge (with chix stock in the cooker..approx 25mins done..add fish cake when porridgeis done.)
2. liver+ pork ribs + green veg with mee sua ( oup base is the pork ribs
3. beef patty + mushrooms + carrots with japanese curry + rice ( jut had it tonight)
4.pork ribs + apple soup,minced meat + tong chio steamed patty cake

errr..thats all for now....hehehehe

Hi afcai,

i just finished reading past post... hope u r better now... take care.

may b u can tell your ger ger that u cant carry her now, but can still hug her and loved her still... i remember when my sister went for appendix operation she told my niece (abt 10mths old then) she cant carry her and she sort of understand and didnt cling to my sister for that month. usually she dont liked daddy to carry. so i guess if u tell yr ger she will understand.

asura...

wow you really can cook and a good cook too...hehehe..will try your receipe too...thanks...

pinksorbet...

if i am not wrong...during the time of spotting try to elevate both your legs whenever you are at rest..take deep breathes and try to relax...the gynea gave you duphaston..you must eat diligently....it worked for me as i had the spotting too...occassionally...but dun have to worry too much..since gynea has seen and checked baby is fine..it might jut be the clearing of OLD blood....can be to the extend of dark reddish...
nevertheless...minimise your walking, actions, never carry heavy stuffs...take care gal..everyting will be fine...jut keep a positive mind...

baby will hear you and HAPPY BIRTHDAY IN ADVANCE...

i went off work yesterday at around 4 plus. i noticed i get cramps when i reach office in the morning, after lunch and when i reach home in the evening. these are after i made the journey out.
i had some brown stains so i rushed back home to rest. told my boss, if he not happy, i also bo bian. i won't be going to office later, will work form home instead.

Asura,
Thanks for your advice on DHA, i will check with gynae when i see him next week. Yep i miss cooking too. i stopped since my mum came to singapore and stay with me back in July 2004. i only cook when she went back to Indonesia to visit my grandma. Cannot have 2 cooks in the kitchen, well, i do contribute in cooking a dish or two during meals if i am not so drain out in the weekends.

think i will start cooking more after my parents move out. the kitchen we have now is really small, i still prefer the kitchens given by HDB.

Haiz.. back then my family do not have Singapore citizenship and i am not 35 so we cannot buy HDB despite i am got my citizenship and my bro is a PR. we rented HDB apartment after my divorce, also in Jurong.

Pinksorbet,
welcome to our club... please take care of yourself. i am in my 9th week now. we have to hang on till end of trimester one. Oh Ya.. and Happy Birthday my fellow Virgorean!

Pammie,
My colleague told me that there is such thing as pressure band that we can wear on our wrist to stop MS. my doc did tell me that if can, best dun suppress MS, let it come. but if really cannot then suppress it.

Wintertime,
your director sucks. i think if anyone dare to say this to me i will tell him off.. If your dad didn't get your mom knocked up, you won't be here today! bloody idiot!

sometimes, i do hear sacarstic remarks like. Wah good hor, make use of gov policy to get 4 mths leave and bonus.

i normally talk back,
you are also entitled, just get pregnant la

i am worse if its from a guy, i just told a jerk off. don;t need to envy me,

option 1: get a sex change operation, get married then go f*** husband to get pregnant.

option 2: just go f*** your wife and get her knocked up to enjoy benefits, you cannot is it? then i will laugh after saying this

anyway.. ppl around me who hear this normally just laugh. and my colleague know that they shouldn't mess with me. i am fiercer now that i am pregnant. maternal instinct.. maybe.. muahahaha

Haiz, not that i want to say things like that. Its no laughing matter if a guy cannot get his wife pregnant, but sometimes these jerks really deserves it.

WiseHarmony,

My Gynae does not participate in the FBI by TMC, i am still wondering if i should still join this program cos most of the savings are from the gynae's fees

Lenny,

Are u giving birth at TMC? There's a $100 off the hospital bill using the FBI. There's also 10% discount from doing the OSCARS Test and FA SCAN@20 weeks. Think it was mentioned that the OSCARS Test and FA Scan@ 20 weeks package is $420 so the discount is already $42.
If u are interested in Cordlife, they have got discount on cordlife too.

Daphne,

You cook quite a lot too.... U got the receipe for pork ribs with apple soup? Can share? I have always wondered how to cook it but cant find the receipe for it. Anyhow throw also not sure whether would throw too much or not.

Morning Asure & Lenny, your so early.

Think gt constipation already. This few days have not been doing very big "business". Noe drinking some orange juice and hope its help.

Asura,

I checked with TMC, i don;t get the 10% discount from doing the OSCARS Test and FA SCAN@20 weeks cos my doc and his associates are not participating in this program but i do get the $100 off the hospital bill

I just stock up oat porridge, prune juice, prune, some snack in my office. Hope it helps in my MS. Thought mine is not very bad i still having poor appetite and food here does not seems appetising to me at all...

Kome,

I definitely got to be early... working hours starts at 8 am. Hee...
Been drinking orange juice.... worked initially... now back to square one.. sian...

Lenny,

Oh... ok... no choice then... I had the impression that the OSCARS Test and FA Scan is a separate department and not dependent on Gynae.
ANyway, u can consider if u are also intending to go for antenatal classes. That one should not be based on gynae right?

lenny, i wahahaha.. u sooo funnie.. bravo..I doubt i will be as vocal as u.. at most, i jus ignore and move away.

Asura,

yep.. i checked with them. i am not going to get discount cos all these tests are performed by my gynae personally whereas, the rest are refered to the medical department staff to perform.

As for the antenatal class, i don;t know if i am able to do it cos my hubby travels so much unless they have extensive class.. finish all the classes within the same month.

yeah.. it's finally friday.. and i m sooo happy.. Though i don't have anything interesting going on during wkend, but i m just happy tt it's friday.. kekekke

oh gals, ask u har.. do u tend to be more forgetful these days? I am for sure.. sobz..
Here's some incidents which happen for past few wks
1) I lost my house keys.. I nver lose my house keys before.. I remember I brought it along with me tt day when i left home, n by the time i return home boo hoo.. it's lost. I have been searching for it high n low for more than a wk now.. got to change lock..

2) Last wkend, I went shopping and bought some cosmestic n skincare. My hb was carrying my shopping loot all along n we decided to go nearby coffee place for a drink. I offered to carry my stuff so that he can go buy drinks.. I left my shopping bag behind me and left after that!!!! It's worth 100 bucks!! n I only realise it when i reached home.. so heart ache..

3)I went gynae visit last wk.. i left my bag behind me on the chair cos gynae was talking to me and doing ultrasound scan for me. I forget to carry with me when i leave the room.. aiyo, then gynae quickly rushed out and pass my bag to me.. super sotong me...

4)I knock my car when I was parking in carpark.. stupid right? I do have a reverse sensor and I always remember "slow down" when the sensor alarm me.. but somehow tt day, i was filled with thoughts and i only know tt i hit the limit when I heard a little bump.. luckily the impact is not hard.. angry withe myself sia..

Lenny & Asura,
What I know is that for FBI or SBI card, those gynae not participating in this program, we will stil have the 10% discount on OSCAR & FA Scan and the $100 like what asura says, but don't have the discount for gynae delivery fee and their check up discount leh. Anyway I will go sign up later coz I need to go for my OSCAR scan later.

Sun,
I have received your mail. Will send out the DVD to you before I go off for my scan.

SG,
Yeah, for folic acid and vitamin pills I buy from outside also, as gynae price is high. Now when I see her I didn't get any pills from her, I buy calcium pills, OBIMIN multi-vit pill and folic acid from drug stores. Coz I know the calcium she gave me when I have #1, and I saw it selling at TTSH is way much cheaper than the price my gynae sell to me. So I buy 3 bottles at s shot.

WH

What's a detailed scan? Wonder if don't do the triple scan, can ask for detail scan instead?

Asura

I also got magic cooker. But too big, so seldom use, as have to fill up 3/4 of the pot, cannot finish drinking. Next time bb can help to drink.

Went shopping yesterday, feel fainting. MS worst in 2nd trimester, or is it the salon giving out weird chemical smell that caused this. Lucky HB around. We so kiasu buy toys for bb (4yrs and above). haha...

Wintertime,
Talking about lost key. I think I lost my drawer key. Tonite have to go back and search for it. I do agree we will be more forgetful when preggy.

Last night before I reach home I felt bad headache and not feeling well, guess what I reach home tell my hubby I fell like puking, end up I stand at the toilet bowl for 20mins, throw everything which I took for lunch and snacks. sigh... puke liao than take dinner, feeling bad but still make myself eat my dinner.

Just found this thread. I'm wk 11 now, EDD @ 15/3/09. Btw, does EDD changes as pregnancy develops? Previously, my EDD was 19/3/09.

I read that some of you are taking Duphaston. I also started taking this week as my recent scan showed up blood cot outside the sac. Anyone has the same problem? Did taking this hormone pill make you feel more nauseous than before? I thought by wk 11, my MS should be getting better, not worse.

I read from TMC that antenatal classes can only sign up after wk 20. Anyone already signed up for it?

Wintertime
Pregnancy amnesia is some common syptoms too. Even after my 1st pregnancy i still quite forgetful. You have to be careful since you are driving. For my case, don't know is it due to pregnancy or what. I find that i am more timid as compare to last time. When hb is driving and he went pass a car very near i was so scare that will knock onto the car or some other objects.

Kome,
Seems like I have the same feeling like you, when my hubby drive to near another car I will like close my eyes and dare not see. Got a very scare feeling each time it happens.