(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sharon
oic... so it's up to the doctor to determine if u need a pap smear?

afcai
Hmmm... I'm afraid of having diabetic during pregnancy, heard there are alot of problems and complications. But I cant help eating the sweet stuff. Cant even take plain water now, taking ribena in subsitute.

afcai,
guess every culture has their ok and not ok foods. for shellfish, it's very fresh here in korea. they r literally alive just before they go in the pot, so it's ok. like sashimi is all right in some countries (not sg!) coz the fish is not frozen. the fermentation process apparently kills the germs, so kimchi is ok too.

Kome,
You sure you want to put #2 in infrant care after 3mths? Coz my guy colleague also put her baby in infrant care as their parents don't stay in town and no one take care so no choice, he told me her gal was sick after 2 weeks there and have block nose doctor rent him the machine to let her gal use it, so poor thing leh, so young only 3mths old. They tend to get sick easily coz imm, system not so strong yet.

Afcai,
My girl is being taken care by my maid now, and my MIL is over looking over. I have ask my maid can she handle, she say no problem, as she got a boy of her own, so have to see how things goes. Think she will have to gaggle her way to look after my #2. Coz by next year my girl will be 2 1/2yrs old. My MIL can over look her when my maid need to take care my gal.
As for mooncake, I know its sweet, will not take that much lah, as I only ordered a box will eat with my family. When I have #1, I have high sugar level at 3rd trimester, so I know what not to eat too much, I will control the amount I take don't worry.

Yeah bubble tea also high in sugar level, lucky I don't take much of that and don't crave for that.

Skin problem, I only have dry skin. As for pimples, it have gone after a well.

minnie,
it's up to the doctor and up to u too. doctors all hv differing medical opinions so i think u should also do yur own research to ensure tat u r comfortable with it.

jasmine,
yar, i hv the same concerns abt infant care, also heard bad cases of sickness when they r put in infant care at such young age.

Afcai,
I also mah. That time I have to poke my finger b4 & after meal to keep track of my blood sugar level. So mummy becareful of sweet stuff, don't take too much. Yeah if you don't take sweet stuff and have high sugar level mean you also cannot take too much bread & rice stuffs also potato. That is what my gynae told me, if take bread try to take wholemeal type, super not nice 1 lor. And bread & pastry is my favourite somemore. Sigh...

Jasmine
Actually i scare also but not much choice. My mum actually offer to help look after till 6mths than put into infant care, but she just casually mention so maybe after deliver and see what she say 1st than decide.

re : pimples
My face is dry esp at the chin, flaking n peeling skin these few days. But oily T-zone, so need to blot more times in the day. I dun dare to look myself in the mirror now, looks so horrible, but no mood to put makeup either. So dun care.

Afcai,
I have two choices, CCC or Maid. CCC is of course cheaper now cos of the subsidy, but somehow I feel it is unfair for her, not to be ah home till evening time.
She will be attending to pre-nursery next year, 2 hours a day. Plan is that I will bring her to school in the morning as it’s near my workplace and she will take a school bus back home.
Elder girl is taking school bus to school now also.

If I hire a maid, she can offload my mom and me on household chores, also that maybe I can ask the maid to send the elder one to school instead of taking school bus.
My mom then can concentrate on looking after the baby and #2 with the maid helping out.

Anyone know what is the market rate pay for a Indonesia maid now?

Sharon,
Yeah, thats why I never thought of putting my girl in childcare. Nowadays, got this and that like foot & mouth lah. So scare they will gana. My maid got the courage to say she can handle so lets see how thing goes.

Sharon,

i agree with you on the stuff at Korea. while i was there, i satyed at Okpo, Geoje City. its surrounded by the ocean where seafood is really really fresh.

Their cockles are pale yellow in colour as compared to ours which are bloody red. This can only be produced in cold clear blue waters. Their King crabs are 2.5kg per piece, kept in sea water tanks till customers ordered it. same goes with sashimi, its only when u want it then they kill the fish.

in such circumstances, i think its ok. but in SG, all the meat are frozen then sent here, i am not sure about the freshness.

Irene,
I heard their rate have adjust to same as phillip. maid. $350. But don't know how true. My maid's pay now is $280, I will be adjusting her pay as she going to finish 2 yrs with me and she don't intend to go back. My maid don't have off day. Now I heard getting maid there's a new ruling about the maid loan. You can check with agent if you do intend to get a maid. But hor getting maid is base on luck, if you can get a good 1. Better to get a maid who have kids so they're good at taking care of your child. This is base on my experience with getting a maid. My 1st maid who just got married can't handle toddler and baby and she is super lazy, big eater and can't work. Make me so pissed off when Im having my no.1, stress me up before I gave birth.

Kome,
I'm like you, also no choice but considering infantcare as last resort, cos both set of parents not willing to take care...sigh...hubby was so disappointed wif his mum cos he always dotes on his mum...

my skin oso getting worse, the skin around the corners of my mouth was bit red & peeling, luckily now subside... told my hubby that I feeling like yellow-faced housewife even before giving birth & he say he like that.. ;p

Vivien,
Your hubby so sweet, make you feel better haha... My hubby also like that, every time I say I feel fat and aged after giving birth, he say is ok lah, I don't mind, I still love you... he trying to make my day by saying that...

vivien
ur hubby so sweet! I oso ask my hubby if i'm ugly n fat now, he say i look good. And say if after delivery, I still thinks I'm fat, he sponsor me to go slimming course (Dunno how true) knowing i'm very "ai mei" kekeke....

Yippee....Counting down another 5 more days and i will be in my 2nd trimester liao. Wait for 2nd trimester to come for so long liao. Hopefully will be much better and relax by than. Planning to go taiwan in end oct.

Kome,
Wah! you going taiwan, so good envy you.
I ever being there in Nov period is cooling but got light rain, so better bring wind breaker. Would like to go again if I got the chance again.

Jasmine
Still planning. I have never been to Taiwan before so abit excited. Hope everyting will be fine and no MS by than so that i can enjoy myself

<font color="#82CAFA">Minnie24</font>
yeah, having diiabetic during pregnancy no joke.....lot of problems. maybe u dun think too much of sweet thing loh. tough 'hu hua guo' is also a bit sweet and sour, i also ctrl myself cos now, i prefer sour things (used to can't stand sour stuff).

<font color="#82CAFA">sharon</font>
hmm...u in korea?? yeah, one never knew how the chef prepare the food so better dun risk eating those sashimi etc....

<font color="#82CAFA">Jasmine</font>
tot usually, child go ccc or attend class will fall sick for the first few mths and then their imuune systems will slowly build up mah. dunno if given bm, will it help? cos for the past 1 yr +, my gar is drinking ebm so she dun fall sick. but once after I wean off bf for 2 mth later, she got sick for 2 weeks after cny period.

hmm...u trust maid to handle kid. I got a frenz who maid look after her gar for 2 wks. after 2 wk, the gar see the maid, cry non-stop, dunno what did the maid do to the gar. so now, she is left with maid liao. oic....my mil and some mummies advise if can dun engage maid. they had bad experience with maid. either run away case or bad maid. however, my cil got a gd maid for a few yr liao. she luv the kid. like my gar who dun like stranger to touch her, surprising when we went to her hse during cny that time, her maid can handle my gar and pat her to slp. haa that maid got the child powder wor....

so now, head cracking shd i sent my gar to ccc next yr. my gar is 1 mth younger than yr gar loh.

yup, same as me, when in 3rd trimster, always got 2+ or 1+ sign during urine test to indicate high sugar.luckily, nothing wrong after the glucose tolerance test (GTT).

wow, poke finger to test blood sugar, pain leh....hmm...yup, had to reduce carbo stuff also including rice too....

me no pimple except freckless darker and hope not much web veins this time....

<font color="#82CAFA">sun96</font>
maybe diluate the honey water loh. at least, still got that flavour inside the water

<font color="#82CAFA">Irene</font>
tot, maid shd be cheaper than ccc? told hubby that the standard rate of ccc is $500+ mah.
hmm taking sch bus, will need someone to fetch her right...

not sure what is the market rate but my mil's indonesia maid only get her salary after 8mth (pay off loan of $2000+) leh....she only get $10 per mth and of cos, what my mil eat, she eat loh except pork.
think shd be ard $300++.

ai-yo, at least, yr hubby say ok, dun mind and still luv u. my hubyb only call me fat. I told him that it is bec of u...I put on weight and also become like that.

<font color="#82CAFA">Vivien</font>
think u need to drink lot of water log since yr skin is dry.

afcai
i'll try tat... thks
but my mum get a bottle of ribena so i tink i'll drink tat first...
how r u? hv plenty of rest, ok =)
me oso got spotting last Fri but aft tat no more, i hope shouldn't be any big issue...

hello mummies

Long time never log in and WOW sooo many posts liao. As usual still having ms but getting better. Coming mon will be my 12wk end of 1st trimster. Hope ms completely gone.
Make hubby fat soo he will not say u fat. Haha my hubby actually put on 4kg cos i been having ms n he keep eating mine.

kome
i'm not taking anymore... i'm afraid need to take again if i tell my gynae... since no more spotting, can no need to tell him can anot huh? =p

Sun
Since you got spotting it best that if you can continue to take for another 1 wk. Spotting not alot right? I think as long as you be careful, never go see gynae shld be fine.

kome/sun
i'm still taking duphaston pills. Had spotting on &amp; off. And ask Gynae can dun take if no spotting, gynae say still muz take coz it's suppose to help growth of BB. So still taking now. But spotting came back on sunday coz I carry heavy things on sat. Think cant carry heavy things now.

Minnie
I take duphaston for 3 weeks after that my gynae never gave me anymore. Had actually stop taking for abt 3 weeks already ba...

Yup, taking duphaston pills help bb to growth, so Sun just take it.

is it true that ppls with narrow bone cannot go for normal delivery cos my frenz is gg to due in 1wk + and her gynae told her that she might need c sect. she's very sad.

this morning, got a dark thick brown discharge. y'day, only 1-2 spotting. I still taking duphaston pills since 1/8 liao.

<font color="#82CAFA">elsie</font>
haa, gd idea, if one can't finish the food, let hubby had it. fed him until fat. haa....

<font color="#82CAFA">kome</font>
I 've been taking duphaston pills since 1/8 liao.think still like that, like pills not effective.

duphaston pills not cheap wor...cost $42 for 28 tablets at TMC and $33.xx for 28 tablets at NUH.

afcai
what u mean by narrow bone? is it narrow pelvic?

yah, Duphaston pills not cheap. My gynae package does not include duphaston pills, so I have to pay for them. I oso feel it doesnt help much, but since gynae say good for BB, so I just take lor.

kome
noted. i'll let gynae noe tis sat n see wat he said... if he say take then i guai guai take lor... tmr into 10 wks lor =)

afcai
rest well ok =)

Afcai,
My maid have been with me for almost coming to 2yrs, her contract end coming Jan 09. She intend to continue, so I don't need to headache to find another. She start working with me when my gal is around 3 months. She loves my gal, treat her like her child, nowadays Im too tired when reaching home, she finish her washing up and will bring my girl out from my room to play with her coz I really got no energy to handle my girl. And my girl also will play with her, than she will finish her job by bringing her to brush her teeth &amp; bring her back to my room to change her diaper &amp; go to bed. So I can say my maid is a angel to me when I really need her help on my gal.
Your are lucky you past your glucose tolerance test, I didn't
the last round. I poked my finger until scared, end up I poked my feet instead of my hand can cry lor. So scare of it thinking back. Hope this round will be normal lor.

afcai,
Yeah if got narrow pelvic, means when deliver time it would dilute much and baby will be difficult to come out so need to C-sect. My colleague was also like that. Is you friend short in height? Normally short ppl tend to have narrow pelvic.

jasmine, minnie24, ya, our hubbies give us the strength to carry on the pregnancy rite? hee...actually the reason why i have to hv kids is becos my hubby loves one, I was contented to just have him alone...kee...

Afcai, yes, think i have oily skin outside but dry skin inside...must really try to drink more water..

Kome, I stopped taking duphaston pills since about 8 wks ago..now only taking folic acid &amp; calcium, coming to 12 weeks next tue.. I'm the odd one, never vomit even once, only vomit air in the 5-7 wks...must have inherit this from my mum...

Viven
Same as you next tues will be 12 wks.

Sun
Yup, just let your gynae know and hear what he is going to say.

<font color="#82CAFA">minni24</font>
my frenz only told me that she got narrow bone ard her pelvic area loh.

thks. normally, bb will turn head down after wk 37 loh. is that yr first preggie?

<font color="#82CAFA">Jasmine</font>
oic. that's gd to continue the existing maid if one find that she is gd. so will yr gar be sticky to yr maid then?

so got to ctrl our diet loh. need lot of powerful will to do that.

my frenz is tall and is regular exerciser, always go for marathon run until preggie. that's bad news wor....she ask me if anything can widen the pelvic or not. I asked her to walk more loh.

<font color="#82CAFA">vivien</font>
better drink lot of water as weather warm. during my hospital stay, got a indian gar admitted for 5 days bec of dehydration and kept on vomitting. she told me that she seldom drink water too.

<font color="#82CAFA">Vivien/kome</font>
I still got 2 more weeks to go before I hit 12 wks.....hopefully, my spotting stop then. really kind of sian....

asura79 - yah i also agree take tea shld be ok..hahaha must be a happy mummy mah, then bb also happy. so long we dun take too much caffeine stuff, i guess its alrite. I also seen my fren gave birth to healthy bb boy even though she always take coke during pregnancy. haha.

Re: subway
i guess sandwich with raw vege shld be fine ba. I've been eating subway lor, tot fresh veges are good so din bother to ask before i eat coz i always tink those ang mohs also eat salad everyday mah, if raw vege cannot take, then we also cannot eat fast food like Mac or BK with fresh lettuce??? hmmm...

Re: mayonaise
fairymoss, i've also been making cooked potato salad with mayo + tuna mayo for my beakfast. i din tink of the fresh egg as ingredient in mayo wor and i've finished entire bottle already. oops..i hope its fine ba..

afcai
not me la... is my gf, she c-sect 2day due to bb's bridged... i'm not sure wat's tat mean so chk w u all =)
ya, tis my 1st pregnancy =)

afcai, i guess brown spotting is at least better than fresh red..u will be ok, hug hug. dun sian k, cheer up!! =)

hmm..these few days feeling dunnoe cramp / diarrhoea stomachache feeling. Kind of weird..is this normal? just went toilet this morning with loose stools..and nw stomach churns again. =( dunnoe wats wrong...

Anyone still go to dentist?

Will puke when doing teeth cleaning? Scare got MS when the dentist cleaning up my teeth.

Long time have not gone checkup. Thinking of going...

btw, MTBs does your gynea prescribe multi vitamin / DHA for u? me same as Vivien, stopped taking duphaston pills and only take folic acid + calcium tablets. So we have to ask from our gynae or let them decide wat we shld be taking? haha..

SG
I only taking Folic acid. Will let my gynae decide what to take as they are more professional than us.