(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Lenny, i experienced the tightness and cramps these few nites too. Also feel the "warm" fluid everytime i woke up from bed to go pee. Very worried too...like very paranoid, also scared its blood. Scary rite? As for the breathless and fast heartbeat, i realised i can't go to crowded areas. Condition worsen everytime i see crowds and noise. Wonder it it my own health problem...got 1 occasion i took train and i almost fainted coz it was too crowded with lots of weird smells and noise. =( heng i held on tight onto the handrail and i managed to struggle out of the train to take a seat. Feel like asking someone to give up seat to me but i dare nt open my mouth. haha..so useless.

kome is even more informative. hahaha..i didn't hear the news but Mum saw it on TV during lunch and told me. oh...so it's true afterall as "predicted" by someone in this thread.

guest123, better to see gynae for small ailments also. when i had fever, my gynae quickly gave me 3days MC and he said need to scan and check to see if bb got affected by the temperature or not. i think to play safe, better see gynae, cuz GP may have limited knowledge on what's safe medicine for preggies.

Summary on BB bonus: (For children born after 1 Jan 2009)

1) Cash gift: 1st & 2nd child - $4000
2) CDA: extended to 1st child up to $6000
3) Childcare: subsidy to a max $300 per mth per child, infant care subsidy to a max $600 per mth per child
4) Maternity leave: 16 wks last 8 wks flexibly over 12 mths from nirth subject to mutual agreement bet employer & employee
5) paid childcare leave - 6days per year per parent if one has a s'porean child below the age of 7
6) Unpaid infant care leave: 6 days per year per parent for child below the age of 2.

Guest123, thks for the info. shall get a packet and try if camomile works on me. hee..i started wearing maternity pants liao coz my sis passed them to me. Feel more comfortable in them, can buy small size first if you think they are loose. Anyway they are adjustable.. =)
can't wear the norm. pants and jeans aldy coz my tummy will get very bloated after food. Aldy eating very slowly but still like alot of gas. Grrr...hungry liao..shall go and make some sandwiches. haha..

Sg
Sometimes i do feel the same as you. Wanted to faint already and just hope that someone will give up their seat for me to take a rest. Scare later really faint in the MRT don't know how.

Guest123,
i'm around 8w5d today. EDD 27 Mar 09. seeing Dr Cchew this Sat.
Ya his charges are very high also becos of the powerful equipment he is using.
soon you would be able to see 3D and 4D.
he would give u a CD if there are many nice pics and videos of baby.
yes, he is super popular with those Indonesian TaiTais...!

Thanks Kome.

SG
Fainting in the train is due to insufficient air. I experienced twice before. I blackout in the train twice. Once from braddell to city hall. Another was till dhoby ghaut. both i held the handrail tightly. When i reached my destination DG, my vision was still not back and i had to ask a lady to bring me out. She was so nice. She walked up to the control station to get the staff to check on me. I didnt even see her face clearly or remember her. So grateful to her.

Bliss
Ya, my sis told me about the 4D stuff.

Guest123
Not say quite free, but not many things to do also. Can come in to chat here every wkday.
1652518.gif

Bliss,
I am also indonesian chinese by birth but no fate to become tai tai.. kekekeke

Guess123,
I am about also into my 8 week today. I read that we can start wearing maternity clothes from 10 weeks onwards.. for me its kinda weird cos i already got big belly before preggy. now plus having a lot of wind and burping a lot.. i look like 5 mths preggy.. difficult hide from colleagues. my the other colleague, she five months then belly pop up.. i even tell my bb, you macam like cannot wait to let ppl know that you are coming to this world, havent due to announce already make mummy's tummy pop up. you better make sure you grow proper in my belly and don;t let anything happen to you. also complain to my hubby about my belly also la.. sound weird.. i think i am going nuts.

MTBs,
As for the thigh cramps, i read that its ok. this is extracted from

http://www.i-am-pregnant.com/Pregnancy/calendar/week/8

Many pregnant women also experience an occasional pain that begins in their buttocks and radiates down their back or legs. This is known as sciatic nerve pain and can be extremely painful at times. More than likely the pain is caused by the pressure on the nerve and it is best to lie on the opposite side to relieve the pressure.

nothing on paternity leave hor. I wish govt give paternity leave cuz that miserable 3 days of paternity given by coy will be used up during the hospital stay during delivery, so by then bb and mummy go home, hubby got to go back to work unless take own annual leave.

Lenny
I fart more too... Do you gers have discharge? Smelly.. I find mine more smelly than bef preg.

I hope for a boy as nxt year is bull year. and ger for sheep yar. but i prefer ger than boy..

Fairymoss
ya so poor thing. why father can have longer leave. then minister still encourage fathers to be involved.. a bit contradicting leh

Fairymoss
Your hb got 3 days? My hb said his company don't practice paternity leave, so he has to take his own leave.

Lenny
Searching around for the breastpump ard first to find out which one is cook than to decide want or don't want to buy.

yah kome, esp. now our tummy is nt obvious yet. no one will give up seats to us...feel so helpless in the train.

Guest123, wah so nice of the lady. tink we better grab a seat if we can when we r on train or bus. i aldy suffering from this "blackout" thing even b4 pregnant. the feeling was scary..u can hear your heartbeat, half dark vision and even the "eeeeeee" sounds must really be strong willed and hold on tight else anytime can really faint.

SG
I go to work no seat, but luckily when go home i will wait for a new train to come and grab the seat as I am in habourfront.

oh for me, when the train/bus get jerky at times, I will feel nausea so I always prepare a plastic bag in my bag just in case I wanna throw up but not enough time to go to the toilet. hehe..

fairymoss,

Not too bad lah... what we can do is to let hb take all 6 days of childcare leave during the year we are on maternity leave..

Alicia
CDA is Children Development Co-Savings (Baby Bonus) Scheme. Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA).

The CDA is a special savings account that you open at any OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank branch for your child who is eligible for CDA. You can save in the CDA any time until 31 December in the year the child turns 6 years of age.

Does anyone suffer from backache aldy? I'm having very bad backache, can't stretch too far to carry stuffs or sit too long. I guess its due to bike accident 2 yrs ago. I fell from back seat when on one occasion when my ex female colleague ride me home. Din go for x ray thinking i'm fine..i guess the "problem" is coming back. =( wonder wat my my gynae suggest to improve my condition.

SG
ya lor. have to be very strong will to stay on ...

BTW, we are still think we should move back to stay with my PIL... Currently we are staying at hougang. PIL at paya lebar and my workplace at kallang way. We are going to hire a maid if both cases. We are still think financially and other factors, is it advisable to move back... i really fear of moving back but seems like moving back is of a better choice..

Blurgal
Last time 1st child don't have, only 2nd child onwards. From 1 Jan 09 onwards, 1st child also have already.

Kome,

Need to add on the tax related benefits:
- 1st child 15%
- 2nd child 20%
- 3rd child onwards 25%
- cap at 100% of mom's pay
- QCR increase from $2000 per child to $4000 per child.

Tax rebate for 1st child = $5000
Tax rebates for 2nd child, 3rd child onwards, etc remains as $10,000 and $20,000 respectively...

That's really quite a lot of money!

SG
oh no... you should see a chinese physician or do an x ray when it happened.. otherwise might have fong xi nxt time leh..

Yeah for the Cash Gift and CDA!!!

Hi Guest123, Hi SG, WELCOME
Guest123, u never register with this forum??? You are signed in as Guest or it's ur Nick? Hee hee..sorrie ah, i abit blur!!

Sorrie Gers, was so tired i took half day morning today, took one hour to catch up with the postings....I think i really ORD Mood...Boh Sim go back work...

Any idea if we can withdraw CDA in future???

To me tax rebate is not as impt... Cash rebate is better... Some pple dont really need to pay tax so tax rebate comes in oso no use..

I will like to update about myself too.

Pregnancy: 8 weeks
Estimated due date: 31 March 2009
Condition now: all ok. carry on with folic acid
Gynae: Dr Douglas Ong (Planning to deliver at Mt A)
Staying: Bukit Panjang with my in-laws

Anyone still updating the list?

kome, at least u can get seat on your way back. Wait till our tummy more obvious, i'm sure we can get seats haha.

<font color="#FF00FF">sg</font>
thks for the infor. will check out.
re:chamomile/ peppermint tea. but got caffine leh...

re:warm liquid. what is the color? me also scared of blood. last preggie, encountered a lot of the warm liquid coming out. it is a yellowish liquid.

sometimes, I also felt uncomfortable during bathing. the whole bathrom no air.

<font color="#FF00FF">Jasmine</font>
oic, one of the ppls also offer me $80. she said that her spart one. she got another extra. but collection plc is out of way. I also bought valves and membranes too. ppls selling fr $12-$15 for 2 valves 2 membrance. heard that taka fair sells membrance for $25.90 (2 valves 4 membrances).

I took a lot of fish (daily) during my confinement mth and through out my bf days. lunch can eat fish soup and dinner can eat fish bee hoon. all days can eat fish. I also luv veg and tofu now. maybe at later part of the preggie, u will feel better. last time, my likes become my dislike and vice versa.

<font color="#FF00FF">Guest123</font>
gd qns ask. for me, last time, I only wear maternity wear during 7mth when my tummy is out. dunno this time round. will wear normal clothes until bo biah then switch to maternity wear.

<font color="#FF00FF">kome</font>
still pondering if got more than 1 child, the child care leave still the same right? also never said if it shared between parents or not (cos existing plan for civil service is share).

<font color="#FF00FF">Lenny</font>
hmm...u want to doll yr bb gar so u hope for gar. my hubby prefer boy cos he can teach him to playfootball and all kind of sports man. but to bad, my no 1 is a gar. now, I can doll her up. gar so many nice nice dress wor.

Gingal
The savings in the CDA may be used to pay fees for all your children who are attending Approved Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme. These include child care centres, kindergartens &amp; special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education, and early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service. The CDA savings can also be used to purchase MediShield or Medisave-approved private integrated plans for all your children and pay for all your children’s medical-related expenses. These would include consultation fees, treatment fees and prescription costs incurred at healthcare institutions.

TorayMe
Same delivery date as me!!!

I take an hour time off (deduct pay) on some days.. cos too tired.. and i have to wake up at 6 to make breakfast for hubby then go back to sleep at 620am.. some times diff to go back to zzz again..

afcai
Base on the news, indicate is 6 days per year per parent, so i think both parents each will get 6 days no matter how many children you have. As for civil service side not too sure leh.

I just bought 2 maternity carpis from mothersnvogue at Bugis BHG. I can't wear my jeans anymore cos the button kept poking into my stomach when I sit down. But tops I can still wear those looser ones...

it is said that dont tell anyone we are preg till 3 months later... but seems like our physical changes have given others signs of preg...

Guest123, which part of hougang does your PIL stay? My parents near hougang mall. =)

afcai, peppermint &amp; camomile no caffine wor. hee..i used to drink teh c alot, almost everyday. so suddenly can't take tea, got to find a subsitute i.e. peppermint/chamomile tea haha.
warm liquid - discharge ba..yah, bathing also another "scary experience" haha..got to open the door slightly to allow fresh air else the warm bath will make us feel giddy as well. =)

afcai,

I hope for a girl so i can bring her for bellydancing classes with me.. i hope to get her started early so it will build her back muscles since young. it will help her strengthen her womb, regulate her menses and prevent or stop menstruation cramps.

I had very bad mens cramps back in 1997 and was on hormone pill.. i was an XS then and cause of hormone pill, i become XL and never been able to go down after i stop taking them for 6mths. i decided to discontinue and bear with the pain till i stared bellydacning 3 yrs ago, since then i only feel sore not pain until half body numb, feel nothing and cannot walk.

I don;t want my girl to suffer the same fate as me, so.. that's why. but then.. i hope she likes it cos i fell in love with this dance. if not, i also won;t force her.

If boy, i will sign up aikido class with him, or maybe Tae kwon-do, so i can spend quality time with my boy. i used to learn Tae Kwon-do in my school days as well.. kekeke

Guest123, yah i agree. Esp. when we look pale and unwell for everyday but I guess its ok to tell close friends and family members ba or maybe when pple get suspicious and ask then we just smile, they will noe liao. haha

Lenny
Wahh.....so fast already plan to let them learn what? Thats good lar, at least got some idea already

Guest123, yah tats why regret din see a sin seh..now and then suffer from aches and pain. sigh...like old pple liao.