(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

ok gals. me going out for meetings and lunch already.. chat with u all later.. hope today faster end.. i wan go home n rest

1651845.gif
Wintertime

Irene
Not too sure as where to look for the 2nd hand one. Maybe have to surf around the net and see got any lobang in later stage.

Mummies , thanks and spotting for me is mild accordingly to my gynea but he still gave me a jab just in case . Been at home since last Fri and I had no choice but to annouce to my bosses and colleague since I be away for almost a week and need their help in work . Thanks and they are supportive and ask me to rest and they will help me in the work .

Me also want more baby bonus ...

Me too spend almost $600 for 2 visit as got blood test and injections medicine scanning etc .. Fri another few hunderds again I think .. sigh ..

Kome : U can go to WTB section and indicate what u looking for and those selling will let u know what they have and maybe can a one there ..

Mummies will you all store your baby blood cord ? Me thinking last one liao must store , actually should store first one but last time don't know about this so did not store for my first and second .. think if a lot of us signing up , think can ask for group discount ... hee hee ... if u all interested , maybe later in the 2nd tri I feeling better can help to ask around ..

<font color="FF00FF">bliss/Kome</font>
same as u, my tummy can show earlier than #1. last time, my tummy only show when I was 7mth only. ppls dun even know I'm preggie.haa...I got wobby tummy before that.

think our womb also expanded and all spart loosen liao.

<font color="#FF00FF">fairymoss</font>
oic. got discount when use for oscar test and detail test?? where do u apply? at clinic or need to go hospital?

<font color="#FF00FF">Kome</font>
mentioning abt botak jones, I have not tried any yet. see the queue so long, put me off liao.

<font color="#FF00FF">Oppsgal</font>
re:cramps. sometimes I also felt cramp or something ticklishing me. but can the bb roll now still small leh? tot only can felt in after 6mth.

re:meat. I hate it now.

re:cramp legs. yup, my left side of the legs like 'ma bi'. doc said it is normal. just that maybe place pillow under yr legs and lift them up so that blood will circulate well.

usually, cramp in legs (chou jin) will come in later part of the preggie.

<font color="#FF00FF">Asura79</font>
last time, hubby and I are both in civil service so we shared the bb bonus cash gift and child care leave. now my hubby is no longer in civil service liao.

oic. thks for the infor. now, I have a clearer pic of the child care leave policy. will wait for the circulation email to announce the changes loh. what I know now is that the 6 days leave do not need to produce mc blah... but only thing is that dunno does it share with 2 kids or each has its own? if like got 10 children also 6 days....2 children also 6 days...

for me, last yr, I took 3 days of sick leave + 2 days of child care leave (make up 5 days).

re:FBI benefits. hmm cos my frenz had a gynae at TMC but in the end, the ambulance took her to duno which hospital to deliver loh. so like that dunno will it be wasted if sign up the FBI/SBI card.

re: NDP rally new bb bonus. dun think the new scheme will be implement so late one.

<font color="#FF00FF">misscandy</font>
me also not so gd appetitte can only eat a bit in small portion and divided into many small meals.but my mum hor ai-yo, say now got little one liao must eat more. I kept on telling her I got no appetite dun cook so much for me. old folks are like that when one is preggie they will expect one eat for 2.

<font color="#FF00FF">wish a boy</font>
why not ask gynae to give u more mc till end of the week. when gyane only gave me 3 days (till wed), I asked him can give up to a week or not cos I'm still spotting and need a lot of rest. so he even ask me how many days I wanted. of cos, pai seh to ask for more so only take 1 wk loh.

hope u are feeling ok now. I also got spotting if I walk or movement a bit fast. my spotting become very light brown liao.

<font color="#FF00FF">Wintertime</font>
wow, steamboat, u got appetite to eat??

<font color="#FF00FF">Irene</font>
last time, I got my bb stuff (cot, adult bed etc) 3 weeks before my delivery only.

<font color="#FF00FF">Wintertime</font>
for me, I aso latch on for 3.5mth. only get my pump (borrow) when I return to work. now still looking for medela mini plus motor only.

bm is based on supply and demand. the more bb latch on or pump cum stimulate the breast, the brain will tell yr b to produce the letdown reflux. of cos, must eat a lot of fish, red date with longan(during confinement), brown rice water or papaya (I did not eat). relax and rest well. all these will build up yr bm supply. that's the experience to share as I bf for a yr 1 wk liao.

when one is in the hospital, one can borrow the pump fr hospital too. for me, the moment when I delivered after my stitches, the midwife carried my gar to me. then greedy gar just latch on automatically like hungry hippo.

wish a boy
Count me in. i want to store as this is my last one already. My 1st one also never store as that time i don't see the need, but i think now it is better to store.

Actually can call my gynea to extend my MC but don't want lah , pai seh lah my boss all ok and somemore I still have about 10 days last year leave to clear so take my AL these 2 days and Fri see my gynea see what he say . My spotting very little and is dark brownish so should be ok but play safe lor .. stay at home and less movement till see gynea again ..

I am new to motherhood. Just some updates.

Pregnancy: 8 weeks
Estimated due date: 31 March 2009
condition now: Placenta a bit low. On pills to prevent miscarriage
Gynae: S C Chew (mount E, my sis gynae)
Staying: Kovan moving to PIL's place soon. at Paya Lebar

I heard and saw the NDR, wonder the 16 weeks ML is with immediate effect? Does it benefit us?

Actually have an appointment with Joycelyn from TMC on 25 Aug but when i called i have to wait 3 weeks till 25 Aug so in the end i went to my sis gynae. He is quite famous at Mount E. My first consulation was nearly S$250.

Drinking Anmum milk now. Stopped eating fish for a month as the sight and smell just makes me puke.. I used to eat fish porridge, noodle and soup at least twice a week...

my appetite very bad don't know want to eat what .. thought cannot swallow plain water so take some ribena worst man , immediately puke all ...

as for different preg different symptoms , my first is a gal and no MS at all ... second got bad MS and pp tell me might be opp sex but also turn out to be a gal .. hee hee .. so to me this don't make scene to gauge gal or boy .. just different preg different symptoms and maybe age play a part ... old liao so more tired and more weak so more symptoms ..

Welcome guest123.
Kome &amp; Irene,
I have brought a 2nd hand medela Mini dual pump at $80. The mummy uses only 2 times and switch to PIS. So I got a good buy, the warranty till april next year. So can post to look out for 1 if you both intend to get 2nd hand. For my #1 I also buy 2nd hand 1, as new 1 is so ex to buy, buy already will xin tong de.

Wish a boy,
Yeah Im feeling very tired too nowadays. And my gal still wake up in the night for milk. In the morning I soooo tired and can't get out of bed to prepare to go for work. Me too, old liao... like no energy.

Welcome, Guest123!

I don't like the smell of the fish too after I become preggie. But I still force myself to eat coz doc said it's good for bb's brain development.

afcai,

I suspect now would change to 6 days per child. Means 1 child, all no need MC, 2 child then can take 6 days no mc and 6 days got mc. Yeah... i also told my colleague should be latest Jan 09 implement the maternity leave. Need it now... cos with the leave, can afford to go visit my hb with bb for a longer period.

Re: Gynae Consultation Fees
Please remember to keep the receipts properly. We get to use them to claim from our medisave upon delivery. Cant remember the cap, am hoping that the cap would change.. hee hee..

afcai - yaaaaaaaaaa... i agree... i havent told my mum abt it... becos i worried she wil come over and start plying me with food... =|

jus had my lunch... bak chor mee... not nice... but i still ate it anyway... hehe... now very very very full... =(

i also lookin for breast pump am interested in the avent duo pump but quite pricey lor... =( $799

maybe il get ameda... it is cheaper... see how...

Eliz maybe u not enough potassium... i used to get it last time... then doc ask me eat more bananas... hmmm... of some salt imbalance in yr body ba... hehehe

afcai,

The SBI card can either send in application form +cheque to apply or apply directly at counter at TMC, near the escalator.

Envy the teachers leh...got sep holiday to look forward to for a week's rest.

oopsgal, is your mum or mil doing confinement for you? my mum got to take care of #1 so she hint to me that she can't do it for me, as for mil, forget it, will never do it. Me headache over confinement lady now, dunno which one to go for, also dunno which one gd.

Re: cord blood banking
I think now cordlife got promo for this month or something, if you sign up with another person together, i think got greater discount. I only save it for my #1, with #2 coming, I don't think so, cuz costly and is a long-term investment.

The cap is $450 which we can claim from medisave . This is based on current one , new one yet to annouce .. hope they increases and we can then pay less for delivery ..

Jasmine : Ask your hubby to help to make milk , luckily these few days hubby help me with my gals milk , pass urine etc .. bring them around if not I sure tired out ...

got this website from one of the forum
A place for us to send in comments via online.
Can comments and feedbacks so that the govt can re think about the benefits, policies, etc.

<font color="#FF00FF">kome</font>
u mean store BM? I also did not store. give either fresh milk or one day behind milk when I delivered daily after work to my mum 's plc.

<font color="#FF00FF">Wish a boy</font>
that 10 days is for emergency use one mah. I also got left over last yr. got to clear this yr. this yr leave have not touch and intending to save it for next yr so that can take 1mth in a shot.

how old is yr gar? mine 20mth this mth.I got MS fr wk 6-wk 8 on and off.but now, no MS not really no but just no action of vomitting. just felt uncomfortable got the feeling of nausea when came to evening time or night time. shd call NS (night sickness). I also wish for a boy too.

dun think they will change the cap of medisave claim leh.

<font color="#FF00FF">Guest123</font>
welcome. most mummies (including me) here are also in wk 8. did u consume duphaston? I'm also consuming it cos there ' a gap behind my placenta.

yup, fish got those fishy smell but dun choice got to eat for omega. fish like cod fish and salmon are the best cos they are high in omega. but avoid mackel (batang), sharkfish, swordfish, tuna and some other fishes (forgotten liao) cos they are high in mercury.

<font color="#FF00FF">Jasmine</font>
u mean full set of medela mini dual pump at $80. that's consider cheap. now, I'm only short of the motor only and ppls are offering me $80 for that motor. that's a gd deal then.

<font color="#FF00FF">Asura79</font>
yup, if u go hospital for consultant, hospital will auto help one to calculate the bills after delivery for the medisave claims. cap is only $450 leh.

<font color="#FF00FF">missycandy</font>
I got to tell my mum once I knew my preggie cos she always cook pig organ, cooked a lot or other 'pu' for me. so now, at my first trimster cannot eat so much 'pu'.

wow, $799 for a breast pump very ex leh...we only used for a short period leh unless u want to bf for long. my friend wean off when her son is 23mth only.cos her son very difficult to wean off, luv mummy brand milk so much.

wondering which brand of breast pump gd leh?

thks for the infor. so far, I have not been to TMC hospital yet.
hmm...think this time round, my mum also cannot do confinement for me cos she has to look after my no1 and also my no#1 will start her playgrp next yr.

for cordlife, I only donate FOC.

dunno how true is this, found it in another mommy forum:

Consider the pros and cons, risks and benefits of storing cord blood,
not just the cost, or which company has 'better service'.

If you choose to store cord blood, then the cord has to be clamped
and cut immediately after birth. This is not a natural third stage.

The amount of blood taken for harvesting is as much as 1/2 to 1/3 of
the baby's total blood volume. This will clearly affect the baby in
many ways - low blood volume, low blood pressure, pooer hematocrits,
lower levels of haemoglobin, poorer iron stores at 3 and 6 months of
life etc.

If you choose to store cord blood, try and find out more about the
uses of cord blood. The stem cells in cord blood can only be used for
some, but not all, blood disorders. And the amount harvested is also
insufficient for adult use. Autologous stem cell transplants using
cord blood may not be appropriate in certain instances since the stem
cells may contain the same genetic material that triggered the
disease/disorder in the first place!

The AAP says: "Parents should be informed that autologous cord blood
would not be used as a stem cell source if the donor developed
leukemia later in life. Parents should recognize that there are no
scientific data to support the claim that autologous cord blood is a
tissue source proven to be of value for regenerative medical
purposes."

The AAP considers private cord blood banking as 'biological
insurance' to be 'unwise'.

It says: "Cord blood donation should be discouraged when cord blood
stored in a bank is to be directed for later personal or family use,
because most conditions that might be helped by cord blood stem cells
already exist in the infant's cord blood (ie, premalignant changes in
stem cells). Physicians should be aware of the unsubstantiated claims
of private cord blood banks made to future parents that promise to
insure infants or family members against serious illnesses in the
future by use of the stem cells contained in cord blood."

FIGO (International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics) said:
"The information mothers currently receive at the time of requesting
consent (for the collection of umbilical cord blood) is that blood in
the placenta is no longer of use to the baby and this `waste blood'
may help to save another person's life. This information is
incomplete and does not permit informed consent. Early clamping of
the umbilical cord following vaginal delivery is likely to deprive the
newborn infant of at least a third of its normal circulating blood
volume, and it will also cause a haemodynamic disturbance. These
factors may result in serious morbidity [illness]."

In short, the likelihood that a child will need his own cord blood is
debatable and controversial at the moment. Unless he has a sibling or
there is family history of such disorders, direct personal cord blood
banking is 'discouraged' (AAP).

Check with you gers, what will you do if you fall sick during the pregnancy especially during 1st trimester? Like having fever, cold and cough? Do you see GP? Do you consult your gynae?

I am feeling feverish...

Wah, this thread is moving fast.. =)
hello guest123, i'm also new here. Forget to update:
Pregnancy: 12 weeks
EDD: 2nd Mar 09 / 28 Feb 09
Gynae: Dr Heng(EastShore - Eastern Specialist Centre)
Location: Bukit Panjang but staying at my mum's place Hougang very often.
Got married last Nov, quited my job and currently helping my hubby with his business thus no benefits on Maternity Leave, Childcare Leave. haha, abit wasted but lets hope the baby bonus will increase bit more. 1st time mtb.
btw, anyone knows whether its ok for us to take Vit. C drink like redoxon? hmmm..lately my MS getting worse, fast heartbeat, breathless and fainting spells. =( and i tot my 1st tri over soon, MS shld get better...

Hi Afcai

wah you have so many posts already.. i took that pills, prescribed by the gynae. Thanks for your advice. I told doc. He said will give me fish oil the next time i see him. I try to take sardine (ayam brand). all fishes turned me off leh..

Oh i thought of drinking chicken essence.. think i can only start after first trimester right? Twice a week?

guest123, tink its better to see your gynae. I only realised i'm pregnant when i'm 7 weeks coz my mense always irregular. I took few flu tablets before that coz i suffered from bad flu, kind of worried after i know i was pregnant. Just hope everything will be fine..maybe u can call your gynae if panadol is acceptable if u feel feverish?

Hello SG. Helping your hubby is good. at least flexi working hours.

Thanks Irene for your advice.

The last three weeks i lost appetite and ate little. This week better but feeling nausea. Wanted to vomit leh..and my work place at kallang way and food choices very limited..

Guest123,

i had hives (feng mo) when i had my #1 at wk 6.
i went to a GP and trusted the GP that the medicines were safe for pregnancy.
and after i recovered, i told my Gynae what I took and it was then that i found out the medicine were not safe for pregnant women!
i regretted not consulting my Gynae in the first place...
lucky baby is fine.

irene,

Dun think she is irresponsible.
i feedback to her that my Gynae said the medicines are not safe for pregnancy but she insisted they are safe!
so i really dunno who is right or wrong

sian, just now call bck co cos receive sms to ask me how are u? got this sad remarks that why so fast preggie tough body still weak....ai-yo...maybe col not happy with the new bb bonus scheme loh.

<font color="#FF00FF">SG</font>
better to go and consult gynae for any additional supplement to take cos dunno if redoxon is too strong for the bb.

re:panadol. depend on which type of pandadol loh.

<font color="#FF00FF">Guest133,</font>
better to go and consult doc if u are unwell to take medicine (but got to tell doc that u are preggie)?

haa..I'm an old 'bird' migrate from sg bride forum mah since 2004.

yup,essence of chicken, better to start after first trimester. I also retricted my mum to cook any 'pu' or too much for me cos I dun have much appetite.

wow, u so informative.but where did u hear it fr? like that, many of my frenz gg to deliver end of aug and sept can't enjoy the new implementation liao.

<font color="#FF00FF">bliss</font>
ai-yo, why that's GP anyhow give medicine one.

Guest123, good in the sense can rest if unwell..hee..but i still work from home doing some paperwork + a/cs etc. =)
My hubby's workplace at paya lebar, food choices also very limited. I smell the fish soup mee bought by my colleague can really puke. Can't take those Char Kway Teow, Carrot Cake also..anyway just can't stand the "oily smell" esp. walked past coffeeshop. Maybe u can take small bites/meals like 4-5 times a day? like hotcakes from Mac (whoelmeal bread) in the morning, before lunch take cereal bar like uncle toby's. Prepare some 3-in-1 milo + wheat crackers to curb the giddiness. Tink milo still the best..haha..i tried EnfraGrow Mummy Chocolate flavour, taste very much like hot chocolate frm Coffee Bean. Can't drink alot but at least gt DHA...but dun go and smell the milk powder coz very fishy. =)

Guest123,

we have the same Gynae.
Dr Chew was my Gynae for my #1.
find him very pro and knowledgable. fully trust him.
but i must say his fees are the highest so far.

Afcai, yah i tink better check with my gynae in my nx appointment on 1st Sep coz my MIL owns a Chinese Medical Hall and she told me shld be able to take redoxon. She even prepare packets of light herbal for drewing chicken. So far i din take them yet coz i heard better dun take herbal stuff 1st. Act. i drank abit of redoxon liao..me really not careful enuff, shld check with my gynae first but sometimes i just listen to old pple coz 1st pregancy everything also blur blur.
Btw, anyone know if we can take chamomile/ peppermint tea? Heard its good for relaxing emotions etc. I read from those "Ang Moh" books abt pregancy. I guess alot of westerners eat lots of food that we Chinese deem unsafe wor. Like i saw smoke salmon salad..yummy! wonder if we can eat that to subsitute for sashimi salmon. haha.

SG
ya, my colleague had fish soup this morning. the smell made me wanna puke..
Last fri i had laksa craving. went sungei road for laksa.. love hums.. but cant take. Took a few only anw...

Morning mostly i drink Anmum with bread. lunch depends. dinner too.. hungry easily. bought wheatmeal biscuit from marks and spencer so i can snack. store up prune, nuts too.

Guess 123,
i was so sick over the weekend for fever, cough and flu. sort of bed ridden for 2 full days.. i only recovered yesterday for it even though now still coughing a little.

Kome &amp; Irene,
Abou the clothes, i can;t really fit into my regular clothes and maternity clothes are too big for me at this stage.. rally feel lousy and no mood to dress up.. really prefer to stay at home. my skin start to have outbreaks of pimples and beocmes coarse and make up is not staying on for long.

SG,
my heartbeat start to race, and last night i woke up in the middle of the night hearing my heart thumping. yep and giddy spells starts kicking in and i find myself grasping for breadth

MTBs,
I don;t know if you gals are experiencing this, i feel tightness and cramps at my womb area. its quite substantial for yesterday and today. i feel it with every step that i walk. everytime i feel fluid flowing out, i was so scared that it will be blood, but so far its clear fluid.
i didn't even dare to walk around much these 2 days.

Fairymoss,
Thanks for the info.. i just don;t know how my boss will react to this as he is currently on leave this week. haiz..

Bliss
so how many weeks preg are you? My sis gave her second one on 6 aug. going to meet s c chew on 4 sept 2pm. Sis told me that his charge is very high and the machine he used v high tech too. the last time i went alot of indonesians were there to see him..

SG
Camomile tea can be drunk to curb nausea and calming effect.
No uncook food please, even hum, half boil egg, sashimi etc... all those are my favourite.. sobz..

afcai,
I only buy the motor from her as she say she want to keep the parts for own use as she is using PIS mah. So no choice Im looking out for the valves &amp; membranes now. Think $80 for the motor is reasonable, but is it still under warranty?

Talking about fish. When I had my gal that time I can take a lot of fish bee hoon and fish meat. And also vegetable I can take a lot. But this time round I can't take fish also, if I do take can only take Tom Yam with fish, and for vegetable I can't seem to make myself eat it at all sigh, also don't know why??

Lenny
When should we start wearing maternity wear? I feel so weird to wear them.. i have a little tummy coming out le.. My neighbour told me she after 5 months then tummy obvious..
New pimples popping out everyday.. does it means it is a girl?

I have cramps during the day and night.. Last night din zzz well cos right buttock / thigh cramp...

Be careful. Dont walk and do streneous activities. rest more. drink more water or juices.