(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi hi mummies,

Back from the 2nd gynae check. Heard the baby heart beat... everything is fine

The next vist gonna go for blood test... OMG I am afraid of needles... aaarrrggghhhh....

What abt other mummies here?
Hope everything is fine too... Good luck mummies..

Think the policy is to take one week at a time. Dont know leh.. prior to this, used to be first 8 weeks than next 4 weeks take within 6 months. Am hoping that there are 8 flexible weeks. Let's wait for the policy to detailed.

jus wondering... where are all the mummies for this thread... hmmm... seems to be left with the few of us daily... hurhurhur...

oh well... PM mentioned higher subsidy for childcare... hope much higher...

i cant wait for my next appt... shld be 3 weeks time ba... la la la...

Oooohhhh great,
Hope all the new enhancements plus incentives get implemented soon! Sounds good! Hope it really is!

1) Maternity Leave Increase to 16 weeks
2) Baby bonus increase
3) Childcare centres made more affordable, more centres, improve quality
4) Childcare Leave increase to 6 days and Infant Care Leave one week per year

Anything else I missed?

yeah la, I'm suddenly perked up by PM's speech. He made my day. Hopefully can sleep tonight, very excited now...hehehe

missycandy,

I think there are 50 odd MTBs here right? Maybe not everyone 'free' like us hahaha. Sometimes, I feel that I no longer have a 'life', always glued on the PC after learning that I'm preggie. No social life like before...sad..

Oh yea, not sure if that means 6 days per parent?!!

Haha, I'm one of those dragon babies that he highlighted during his speech!

Promeganate,

Current childcare leave is also for both parents. It is entitled as long as u have a child below 7 yrs, regardless of the number of child. So for me only got diff when i got 1 child. Cos my company can take child sick leave with mc, up to 5 days per child. But childcare leave is subsumed under the child sick leave.

Hi Sassybaby,

mi just came back fm 4th visit. BB now 10wks 2D. & 3.7cm!!

had blood and urine test....paid $10 for the cough mixture.

Wah, everybody talking abt the national day rally... but not much info on the baby bonus leh... at least govt is helping those couples who wanna to have BBs...

-6 days child care leave/ year
-1 wk infant child care no pay leave (either parent)
- 12 maternity leaves + 4 more weeks (flexi to be used within the year; paid by govt)

but hor my next question... when are they rolling out? in time for us?? hope the cut period will benefit us...ke kee

Should be in time! In 2004, when they roll out the incentives. Maternity leave starts in Oct 04 and bb bonus starts in Aug 04. So we definitely can make it! Am confident that the latest they implement would be Jan 09.

becos he tryin to get those FTWM to have babies... muahahaha... cos all too engrossed with work la... thats their concept la... but im also a FTWMTB but if given a choice, i wld like to be SAHMTB... heehehhehehe

i dun mind if my company lets me go... i dun really like the workload anymore.. im staying for the income... =P

Queenie,

ya loh...
Now i have a bad feeling that next year after give birth will be difficult for me to get a job. I think I will check out what jobs NTUC has to offer next year...keke

gingal

me same as u mah sahmtb..
all no benefits us one+_+
juz hope bb $ is more lor for #1 bb..
but aniway add oso add abit. lol
unless we have #2 when we are wrking dan will benefits us more.. but #1 oso haven come out..who noes wan #2 or nt. haha

i am new here. first time in any forum. i found out to my shocked surprise that i was pregnant late june. my LMP was 30th May and my EDD is 7th Mar 2009. well, it is totally unplanned and unexpected. i planned to have kids only after 2 years of marriage but it came sooner than expected. i got married last nov only.

i resigned from my job 1st aug. i was an ex cabin crew.. not good to fly when preggie.. my hubby also a cabin crew..my bb was conceived in san francisco..haha...

i am really bored at home.. i just want to chat with anyone of u.. how is it being pregnant..etc? i am totally clueless in this area..

going for my down syndrome scan this fri.. anyone has done this before?

hi jana.. welcome to this thread.
maybe u can provide details abt urself?

ur #_ bb?
ur age
ur gynae
the hospital u delivering
ur edd
ur residence area

so u gg back to fly aft delivering? haha.. now u have to slowly get use to staying hme..
for me i on n off will get Morning sickness and gets tired at weird hours.

i maybe going for the oscar test next week. havent discuss w hb yet.

how many wks are u in nw?

Hi Jana,

Welcome to our thread. Wah... ur EDD is 7 Mar 09. Means you have passed ur 1st trimester or going to pass ur 1st trimester already.... so envious. Most of us here are still suffering from the 1st trimester woes.

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another stroller for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.

morning asura79
still the same, now enduring, hoping faster disappear lor... wat abt u? u looks ok lei...

Morning gals!

Welcome and congrats Jana, it must have been a happy surprise for you and your hubby, I'm sure! I'm not doing the OSCAR test so I won't be able to advise you. But there are some previous postings on this subject. I think it involves an u/s scan to measure the nuchal translucency. Then drawing of your blood and putting it into 3 test tubes.

The test is regarded as positive if the computed chance is higher than 1:300, otherwise it is negative. If a negative screening test indicate that the chance of having a down fetus is very low, though it cannot be totally excluded.

Gals, I passed my 1st trimester today!! Yayyyyy!!! Jia You everyone!!

Lenny,
Nope, OSCAR test is not a must. It's more of a personal choice between you and your hubby. I believe it used to be more for women age over 35. But now, all preggies will be asked if they wish to have it done. For us, we rather not know as my age is already a good indicator for low risk of DS and also I don't intend to abort. OSCAR is only indicative and not a "Yes" or "No" to DS, so why make myself worry more? So I decided not to do this test.

Lenny,
Highly recommended to do the OSCAR test. Since your gynae at TMC, he'll ask you to do it. It's to test for Down syndrome and blood test for other purposes as well.

Lenny
Or you can just do the Triple Test which I'll be doing. This also tests for DS (70% accurate), Edwards Syndrome and another type of chromosome abnormality which your gynae will also advice you to take.

Morning ladies

Welcome and congrats Jana.

Yesterday i was so excited abt all the benefits, but abit disappointed as don't have so much details yet after waiting for so long for the speech.

Oppsgal,
re:douching when pregnant
Your Q:Cannot wash inside V? Can wash outside?
A: Errr...normally i wash outside (using the spray gun) after visiting the loo. So far, no prob. If u want some reassurance, check with gynae

Welcome jana,
I've done the triple blood test for down syndrome when expecting #1 last year. This year, will be doing the same test for #2. Gynae did mentioned to me that if i am above 35yrs of age, it's recommended to do OSCAR.

morning ladies.
think PM Lee mentioned that the actual package will be out later, announced by Wong Kay Seng?

Somehow I feel the 4 mths maternity leave is too much. The company can easily replace you by someone else and 4 mths is enuff for that temp staff to learn in what she/he needs to learn.

I prefer more benefits in $$$ value.

Kome,
Relieved la but still have 6 more months to go!!!

Irene,
According to his speech, the 4th month can be spread out within the year. Only the first 3 months must be taken together. There are some increases in benefits but the figures are not out yet!

Really hope that $$$ wise will be good also. I really in need of $$, but i like the 4th mth maternity leave also. Heehee....can keep for a year to be use mah for the 4th mth.

Thanks Ladies,think my hubby will want me to go thru the OSCAR test or whatever my GYnae will recommend. me is more anxious than me, e is already out there looking for baby stuff and we don;t ven know if ours is a girl or boy yet.

Hi Mint!!
nice to see you pop by!!

Steph

I am also going to do triple test, is there any risk? What's the test do? Test blood?

4 mths...maybe more got fired, or make to do more work so resign faster. Hmm...