(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Agreed with irene, 1st few days is best if they can feed direct to let the floe smooth. Must pump more frequent to increase the milk supply.

minnie, if you don't pump out, your breasts will be very hard and painful. might even suffer from infection. so it's good to pump out and relief your breasts.

hey girls, regarding BM pumps, sometimes one brand works for one woman but not the other. That's what I realised having heard my friend's experience. One of friends used Avent manual pump and it worked wonders for her so my other friend bought that too but was only frustrated cos when she used Avent manual pump, not much milk came out for her. So she bought Medela electronic pump and wahlah! it worked just nice for her. So right now, I don't really know what I'll be buying.

minnie, i can't imagine breasts full of milk too...oh i feel sick by the idea. Munching on pear now and drinking meiji low fat milk...

oppsgal, that's why. I think I'll opt for electronic pump too. I don't think I'll have to patience to handle manual pumping with imbalanced hormones and a crying baby!

promeganate, I think we can rent pumps from the hospital to try out, but I do not know the cost of it.
Momsinmind also have trial services, so you can try it before purchase it.

Haiz, bb haven't born out, we need to spend so much already.

Irene

Think is free to borrow from hospital. But 1st few days don't think got much milk to pump out. Plus is it hygiene to share pump?

My blood test is bad. Dropped from 57000 to 52000. The doc says there's no way it can increase again. Scanned and only see yolk sac/bb (can't confirm), no heartbeat tho i should be in week 8. I'd do a final scan next monday morn then going for a wash in the afternoon. Am 99% sure already. Will try again in October after 2nd cycle as doc advised. Will still drop by now and then to say hi! Yes it's painful but I'd pull through this period. At least dh and I know we can conceive. I'm just the unlucky 1 in 5 that have to go through a m/c
Thanks for all your praying and well wishes, mummies

Dear Sun,
Please take me out from the list. Thanks!

sasha..

u wan to seek for a 2nd option? before washing out?

if washing out is oni the way out, pls rem to tk some off at hme n do a mini confinement k? nurse back ur health first..

Sashamama : Take care . Remember to do a mini confinement so as to build up your health for the next one . Rest well .

Sashamama,

Feel so sorry for u. Regardless, would pray for miracle to happen to u on mon. Dont think we should take u out from the list until mon... All is not lost until u really need to wash out.

sashamama,
pls do take care and be strong.
I've been though that and I empathise with you.
what you said is right, u and hubby can conceive.
2 cycles later, if you are ready, you can try again.
after my D&C in 2006, i was pregnant again in the 3rd cycle
and now my boy is coming to 13 months. so you must be positive okie!

Shashamama,

Got to take gd care of ur health n rest well after tat.. Nxt will be a healthy 1 cos as those mummies hav said usually after wash will hav a healthy BB. Do let us know ur gd news after tat...

I've went for 4 scans already since last Monday and there's no heartbeat. Moreover the HCG level dropped. I'm reading up to see if there's any case of drop and increase again but i really doubt. Anyway, will be doing a final scan next Monday morning before the wash, so that's my 1% hope, but will be mentally prepared for the 99% probability. Thanks for all your concern

Dear Sashamama,

Don't worry...At least You know u and HB are fertile. That's what my gynae re-assured us too, no need to do fertility tests etc etc...we don't need to worry that we cannot conceive and IVF etc etc

Did I tell you, after M/C God will not delay much longer for your next BB. Since he has already prepared you, the next one will come soon. Mine is here within 7 months, my close fren got back her pregnancy within 5 months. Rembr I had M/C last Nov. As wat Queenie and WishABoy says, u gotta do a mini confinement to nurse back your health. I did mine for 2 weeks and MC for 2 weeks. Try not to try for baby until 2-3 cycles later.

Hope the link helps u understand better, sometimes it might be a good thing too, as the cells might be defect anyway:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_understanding-miscarriage_252.bc

Stay Strong and Remain Positive...

sashamama,
so sad to hear abt that. lik wat the other mummies said, it's not difficult to conceive again after this. i only had one cycle before this preg. do take care of yourself... *hugz*

mummies who r interested in bfeeding can consider looking here:
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

oppsgal,
it's ok to share the pump as long it's sterilised, just that there r some parts u need to buy yourself lik the valve or something coz may not b hygenic to share those.

Oppsgal,

The pump is not free from hospital, need rental for the motor itself and u got to buy new valves, shields everything that is in contact with breast milk for hygiene purposes. That's for TMC, cuz my last delivery, I got bad engorgement during my stay and my son isn't helping to drink fast enough and I got to tahan the pain throughout the night and couldn't sleep on my sides. I ask the nurse, they said rental only for the pump. So forget it since it's so ex for the rental.

For those of who having your #1, you can invest in a good pump like Medela PIS. I bought from TMC pharmacy and got 10% discount for FBI card which was a neat savings of $70. Since already invested on an ex pump, my motivation to tbf is even stronger, cuz whenever think of the $ will die die press on. Brought pump to work and pump 3x in office to boost the supply and after work must quickly go home to store milk and couldn't go anywhere else. This went on for a year and I was glad I made the decision to TBF. It's tough but good for baby's health, and u get to your pre-pregnancy weight quickly. If you want to successfully bf, don't standby any formula at home. so only you are the food source, like that you won't easily substitute with FM or supplement. The more you sup with FM, the less will be the supply.

For those of you interested in cordlife, you may go to their free seminars to get more info and have all your doubts cleared. They also have lab tour to show you how the cordblood is processed and stored. I signed up my #1 with cordlife and #2 don't intend to, cuz likelihood of sharing is higher and also the storage fee would be hefty for 2 children. storage fee then was $250 per year.

oppsgal,
You can find Medela Electric pump in most department store. Yeah talk about it. My sis just went to TAKA she say the Baby Fair is on now till 24 August, so mummies who want to grab good deal like breast pump maybe can go and take a look.
For me I don't buy new pump. I buy 2nd hand. I just brought a set of medela duo electric plus from a mummy for $80 still under warranty till next year, but only the motor set. I brought the bottles and parts from store.

sashamama,

My heart goes out to you. *sob sob*

Pls take care of your health and try again. I'm sure that you would be getting a healthy bb the next time round should the scan fails on Monday. Health very important, must still take tonic to nurse back your body to prepare for future pregnancy. Jia You!

Jasmine,

Since Cordlife has shifted to Science Park, I presume the lab would be there where they hold the talk. U can check the webbie for details. I visited Cordlife lab when it's still at Camdem Medical Centre and the talk also there.

gingal, Asura,

Your gynae charges really affordable! I went for my 1st gynae visit today after my hospital discharge last weekend and it set me back by $350! paid upfront another 200 for 1st payment for package starting next visit, and total bill $550. the initial consultation is 80, u/s is 70, urine test 5, jab 50, duphaston 30, folic + another med 10, fish oil 50, calcium 40+ GST 36 etc...oh so ex.... I asked why TMC charge only 30 for the jab whereas gynae clinic 50, nurse said TMC got bulk discount for medication, whereas they dun.

To update, bb is now 7weeks and measured 10mm. Can hear heartbeat too.
EDD still not sure leh, if by LMP is 8weeks now and due 20 Mar but scanning shows 7weeks and EDD 26Mar. I guess my cycle is long and ovulation could be late so that explains why showing 7weeks only. going for my next check in a week's time.

sashamama, take care gal.. sorry to hear that.. Please take good care of your body now n I am sure everything's going to be alright. You will be blessed with a new angel real soon.. hugs...

Raining soooo heavily at my workplace... all mummies, if it is also raining at your workplace, remember to walk carefully...Or just take a Cab back...

Wow fairymoss, I won't be able to afford what you are paying...Jobless sooon...
Yah, i rather stick to my "fatherly" gynae, although the long wait is sometimes unbearable, but he is very affordable and very cautious and caring. Not forgetting he is very experience (old)...keke

Thanks fairymoss.
Going home soon and yeah its going to rain soon. Better go before the rain come. Lets continue tmr...

prom:: hah okay, i think i will not go with a full bladder then! haha a bit uncomfortable! no idea how many cm is bb now! hahaha..

sasha, how are you? where are you? do update us!!

re: BF
I totally am pro BF! eheh i do hope this bb will be ok with BF too. this time i am not going to make the first mistake as my #1 where i succumbed to giving FM in hosp. Totally gave me a hard time cause he preferred teat to nipple then. hopefully this time with more experience will be easier! now am still BFing my #1, want to stop but don't know how, maybe when he's 1yr old in 3 months time!

re: Pump
haha i bought the avent duo but seriously, not useful and i hate using the PUMP! this time i'm not going to invest in one already!

cindy, won't you need to do a sugar/protein check which is part of the usual routine check before you see gynae? If yes, then you need at least some wee wee in your bladder to pee on the stick

Abt BF, one of my colleagues ordered the nurses at the hospital to only feed water (don't plain or what) to her baby until she could pump milk successfully. She didn't want her baby to get hooked to FM hence the decision.