(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi Daphne,

Thanks for the encouragement. I told my hb that he should go for his career's sake. This is only a small sacrifice. I guess if we already have kids who are running abt, i would be more willing to take No Pay Leave and get the time off to pay full attention on our kids.

Asura, quite afraid of the long flight to go states, and not enough energy to do shopping and sight-seeing although would really love to go.

misscandy
i dun tink so my aerola is expanding lei... is it norm for me too??
norm aft 1st trimester is safe to travel, juz double chk w yr gynae b4 gg will do...

Missycandy
I planning to go to my parents hometown(Negeri Sembilan) in dec too. Whne i had my #1, i also had went to malaysia. Think that time i was like 6 to 7 mths.

Hi Sun96,

i dunno if she is popular..but i did call up to check her rates. Her nurse quite unfriendly so i gave her a miss.

i just forced myself to have biscuits cos my tummy is growling now i feel a bit sick.

asura79
but must get approval fr hb... he sure dun allow 1... he's those KC type... preggy no travelling... =(

strawberrys79
u try take honey water... might help soothe yr throat...

corene/ sun96...

according to my mom....i can't mee siam too...coz it has assam..so meantime avoid altogether....but at moment..my carvings has been soury stuufs....soupy ones too..

Hi Sportyger, thanks.
But it won't be too cooling right?

My mom was saying barley on it's own is ok..but i dunno. anyway, before i realised i was pregnant i kept drinking the warm homemade barley drink from coffee shop near my workplace.very nice

crosailo
mayb tat's the reason my mum asked me to avoid ba...

norm b4 sleep, did u eat anything? i felt tat stomach growl if i didn't eat anything aft dinner n b4 sleep...

Sun/strawberry, didnt know starfruit is liang. Then strawberry you better dont take.

I am still drinking barley too, oops can we drink barley?

Hi sun96,

I feel very good the next morning if i had oatmeal with condensed milk (good and nutricious for bb). If i never take anything b4 sleep, would kena MS, just like today... seems to be more nausea than previous days.

sportyger - i think im weird ba.. i also think too early... feel tortured.. =(

sun - i nt sure leh... maybe becos im sick and having fever so maybe affects the aerola? hahaha... i dunnO...

Kome - preggy travel xin ku or not ? i only afraid badly affected with MS then cannot enjoy the penang food! argh!! im so looking forward to the char kway teow, laksa, hokkien mee, lok lok and char siew... yum yumx!

i still havent gone for my 1st appt... its scheduled for next week Monday... hope all is fine... i tested my urine again last night jus to make sure im not dreaming... the line is dark now... haha hubbs says im crazy... keep testing... =X

hmmm why cannot eat crabs ah??? my frns thinking of goin to eat crabs this thursday wor... hmmm...

Hi Sun/Sportyger..
i think better check with our elders better. dun want to risk anything. i still think barley should be ok. i think a little bit of starfruit should be fine not too much. i think everything in moderation is best.

missycandy, you are not weird, just that your MS strike eariler. I also keep testing that time when I fisrt found out I was preggy. Tested total 4 times until my dh scolds me and stopped me from testing anymore.

heehee, lucky for me, early this year, I went on a biz trip to US so quite contented now. Hb kind of grumbling...
Once bb comes, it is difficult to travel long trips. Have to worry for their meals, like her porridge (how to cook), brings lots of stuff like diapers, milk powder, milk bottles etc. Also, young kids tend to catch virus more easily esp. in outside env when they travel.

Seems like lots of mtbs crave for curry puff ...hehe
I am still longing for my char sao rice for dinner...hehehe

strawberry...

you can ty drinking camomile/ mint tea ( no caffine and all natural...soothing effect...it's good for the thoat, nose and also help with relaxing the mind and body..esp camomile)

esther....she was my sister's gynea...she helped delivered 2 of her kids and i used to visit her for my regular pap smear...well..i thought she was nice and assuring as i have the frequent spotting...so worried..but she does assure me quite abit..price..we;; if there's no jab..it'll be consult $65..medicine quite reasonable..my normal check up is about $85-$100..unless with the jab it's $165..
since she's monitoring my condition..i have to see her weekly....till it stables...does worries me sometimes....

asura...yes......when the child is in the picture...parents like us will make the best out of our decisions for them...so i wish you happiness and also hlathy baby growth..even when hubby not ard...you have us..to morally supoort you...

Hi missycandy..
for me if i crave crabs i will still take it.:p and bear the consequences in future if any. hahaha..

i can suddenly crave for one type of food then lost interest in it when another craving kicks in. anyone is like this? i used to eat like a birdie..now i can eat like a pig. my hb is amazed.

Sportygers & strawberrys
My mum had asked me drink barley yesterday also. She said bot too much is ok one, so don't worry.

missycandy
That time i do not have MS, so my journey overall is enjoyable. That time only scared been chased back by the custom polic, so i use a pillow to hide my tummy. My tummy that time was not that big too lar.

Hi Crosailo...no worries..im sure u are ok. i've read from books that a bit of spotting here and there is fine. it just differs from one person from another. thanks for your tip to drink camomile. maybe you can get this book call " what to expect when you are expecting" it's a good book. It gives you lotsa information about what to expect for pregnancy and the kind of things to note. i planned to get my own copy soon as my current copy is a loan from my ex-colleague.

I craving for laksa and nasi lemak, but got alot of coconut milk leh. Don't knoe can eat or not. I miss them.......

Sun/Strawberry, starfruit is liang, better dont take.
Sportyger, i heard barley not recommended but soya bean can. Maybe try to avoid barley for now...
Not sure about sugarcane, but no coconut yet for now...
as for travelling, when i found out we were holidaying in US. So the long flight 18 hours back to Sgp i was rather worried too so next day came back quickly see gynae. Right now tummy hurts each time i cough coz too much vomitting...oh dear, i hope this week and next week pass faster... this is so xin ku....

hmmm so many things cannot take... =\ too cooling cannot.. too heaty also cannot...

i think il be like strawberrys.. hee hee... il take it.. but il take it in moderation la... =)

anyway planning to keep pregnancy frm parents and in laws til after my scan and if possible until im into my 3rd month...

one of my bosses at work know... but i told him to keep it from everyone else... he told me i shld take care of myself and inform our big boss as soon as possible... so that i can do less work.. because i was having high fever yesterday... 39.4 ... it went up to 39.8 later at night... =( today come down to 38... then jus now 37... hope it stays down... but cn feel my throat is sore... and ears blocked on and off... he says i shld put myself n my baby 1st priority... especially since its my 1st pregnancy... 1st trimester must really take care of myself... he told me to take 3 days MC... hahaha... felt so touch... hee hee... but i will wait til 4th Aug... then il inform my Boss.. 1 more week to go... I WILL SURVIVE! unless i start vomitting in her presence then cnt hide it liao... hehehehe

actually i think we shldnt really restrict ourselves from so many foods... im sure last time everyone jus ate what they wanted... look at our grandparents and our parents... they all turned out fine right? and so did we... i think we cn eat anything but in moderation... but its really up to you all bah... i go thru the can eat and cannot eat its like starving ourselves...

i only know ... no alcohol.. no smoking.. no pineapple.. everything else moderation bah. =)

hi strawberrys - the book you are talking abt, who is the author ah? is it words only or has pictures as well? am thinking of getting a book but nt sure what to get... thanks!

missycandy
You are quite right. I was telling to myself to eat moderation. Don't need to go and find out from my mum what can eat and what cannot. Not eating too much shld be fine.

Hi kome and crosailo, thanks. I love drinking barley so guess will take in moderation. Kome, I just had katong laksa yesterday :p

strawberry...

thanks for the ecouragement...yes it does worries alttle..but guess jut need to rest alot..esther did assure me alittle too...claiming that there's pregnancies that bled all the way and babies are fine..

missycandy...
yes...there's plenty for us to keep track...sometimes i wonder wat about those pple living in the 3rd world countires??? guess we are blessed....we have good guides...

oh there's 2 books i recommend for the MTB
1. WHAT TO EXPECT WHEN YOU'RE EXPECTING - HEIDI MURKOFF (it is a detailed book from queries to myths)
2. THE NEW ART AND SCIENCE OF PREGNANCY AND CHILDBIRTH- TAN THAIM CHYE( by 4 sin doctors)
more homebased

i am new here. i am 8 week pregnant with my second child. my first child is only 11 mth. me used to be very active in aug 2007 thread n now when i am here, it reminds me of all the excitement when i realised i was pregnant with my 1st baby. now that this is my second, my attitude is not as kiasi as the 1st time. more relax now, hah!

i have got a big problem. i m still doing full breastfeeding with my 1st child n its so diff to wean him off. he doesnt take bottle n fm. that really makes me very tired n hungry! yes! i am so hungry every hr. if i dun eat, i will shiver. but if i eat, i will vomit! i really hate morning sickness n hope it will go.

the thought of taking care of a newborn n a 19mth old toddler makes me tremble at my knees man!

sportyger...

hmm.....katong laksa....i had that too the other day minus the HUM...

it was the highlight but have to make a skip...guess those sheelfish has to be TOTALLY COOKED.....so you never know are they properly cooked....

oh craving for fried oyster...yum yum....crispy ones..but guess it won;t be yum yum without the oyster......have to give it a skip again....

Welcome & congrats cin & crosailo

cin
Although my son already 19mths, but its tremble me too to start all over again and had remind me of those sleepless nights too.

cin, welcome
like yourself i am also not that ks and enthu abt #2. :p ya... the thought of 1 bb n 1 toddler is scary but just dun think abt it now. hahah.. wait till the time comes then worry.

missycandy, me also keeping my pregnancy from my parents, in-laws and boss. at least your boss is understanding. my boss is not. that is one reason i m delaying telling her.

Wow ladies..

Saw u mentioned alot of food & im start to feel hungry already.. especially the katong laksa!! Im craving now...

hi kome
i am still having sleepness nite. my son still wakes up for comfort sucking abt 3 times each nite. now trying to wean him n let him sleep on his own b4 the baby comes along.

hi sy
thanks for the welcome. how old is your bb?

SY
Although i had just told 1 of my colleagues but i think some of them maybe including my boss also already knew that i pregnant. Coz gt 1 time i need to called my gynae from my office and i think they heard that i pregnant. They might be just waiting for me to break the new to them only ba....

cin
Yes, think you better start training him early. If not when your #2 come, you will sure be very very tiring.

welcome cin...

it's nice chatting ahring views witht he ladies....it really cheer me up and chase the loneliness...as hubby not in town yet again..

sy....your boss is a SHE?? gosh thought women will be more understanding when it comes to these kinda situation???
do take care.....

cin!!!

Happen to chance upon this thread and was super surprised to see you here! Congrats!!!

Do the rest know your good news?

thanks crosailo & strawberrys.. will go check out the bookshops on wed... =)

sy - that one is mini boss... he is okie.. big boss i havent told her.. becos i also afraid she wun be understanding... i actually tendered resignation on 18th July but retracted just before I found out I was pregnant... she did ask my supervisor how come i retracted... im jus worried that she will think that i retracted because im pregs... *siGhx* ... i retracted becos i wanted to give myself 1 more yr in this job...

for those who breastfed, the pump parts must change regularly? im thinking of getting the avent duo pump... but quite lost on the parts and stuff... ?

crosailo
I don't think so lor. Although lady boss understand, but still they will be unhappy. Coz its affecting the work and they have to do planning.

missycandy...

the book i have jut stated "what to expect" has lot of texts and very little illustration it's $21.40...if you want more pictures the local published one from the 4 doctors has more coloured photos...it's $40.66

kome...

sorry ..yah maybe i never know about the working environment...coz my ex-co...has a policy that if we discover we are pregnant...they won;t bear any responsibilty and has to quit within 3mths of knowledge (given the benefit of the doubt) that some gals are unware of their pregnancy...so i resigned once i know i am preggy..

cin, my gal now 13mths..

crosailo, ya, a lady boss. in fact i m in a all women team. previously both my col were pregnant. our boss can just ignore and dragged the meeting till 1plus 2pm and demanded them to bring work home over weekends.. sounds bad right?

missycandy, oh mine.. your big boss could have that thought. but hope she wont think that much.

kome, when u intend to tell them? i am thinking it will not be too nice if i tell them too late.