(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

WAH FINALLY CAN LOGGIN AHHHH....btw mummies.. vernice inf the clinic at SK - i checked out package for 6 in 1 - 327.40 including consultations and fever medicine!! helathway clinic at rivervale plaza

ya. manz.. finally can log in...

I wanted to inform u gals that sembawang giant can pre order the mammy poko too.. I very kiasu, order quite a bit since we are using mammy poko.. find it such a deal that my hb told me to order more.. even order till L sizes.. opps

Ohhh also, those with cradle cap prob...
Do go to guardian to buy this cradle cap treatment shampoo for infant.. it's very effective. my boy had terrible cradle cap and it's so ugly to see his scalp with those flaky cradle cap. I bought it last night, used it once, and his condition is much better.. it's only $8.35!

Irene,
hope you get the same doc too. Very fortunate indeed to have met a caring and experienced doc. See if you can get his office no? hehehe

Cindy,
oic. Aii I thought you meant unhook the bra at the back. Hehehe of course of course, need to unhook the cup. Never tried nursing clothes so I don't know. Very restrictive n expensive leh. Somemore I find most of them not nice. Nice ones lagi more exp.
So in the end I usually wear tube tops or spaghetti straps.

Ann,
wow so near. Sure sure. Can catch up? Are you still doing confinement? How about Tiong Bahru Plaza? I like Great World City or Tanglin Mall as well.

Pepper,
Pupsik rocks! In fact on sat I brought BB out on my pupsik on a 4hr long cafe + shopping trip on my own. Walked from tanglin mall all the way to tangs somemore. Needed to nurse her in the Tangs nursing cubicle, nice and clean. My bb is much more well behaved outside. Think she likes shopping. Hahhaa

Idaarshad,
the GP I found is within 15 min walking dist from my place. $300 is total amount for 6-in-1, no consultation applicable. Cannot use CDA. I think only polyclinic can use CDA. Try the one suggested by vernice? Can save, should save!

Prosper,
funny, yesterday my wt went up again. So instead of 2 more kilos it's 3. Then just now back to 2. Yo yo wt. Hahhaa I would never have guessed that the sound is from breast pump had it been in the past. Oh dear there is alot of milk to dump! OMG.
Eh ... why cannot just leave inside your pump? the breastshield part just cover with clean tissue first. SOmetimes when I am pumping halfway and bb cries, I will cover the breastshield with tissue and attend to her first. :p

Prosper, Moomooland, Irene,
I am also sick of pumping. So now I am slowly bringing my bb back to direct latch only. It has been great thus far. I need 50-60mins x 4 pumps a day previously, now I just latch her for 15-25 mins each time, no need to wash & sterilise. And she can clear blocked ducts much better than pumps somemore. NO need to massage.

Bluebell, Ann,
try the front hold, only thing is wth a newborn you need to support their necks. I find this position easiest to BF while bb is inside the sling/pouch.

Misscandy ...
but when the rings are at the front, BB's head is squashed against the rings leh. Looks v uncomfortable. So I wear it such that the rings are at the back, the way my mom does it. Actually even in te front the rings are uncomfortable for me. :p maybe I don't know how to use. hehehe

Sembawang? ahh headache, Maybe we should all meet in town? Keen?

Yeah....Finally can LOG IN.

Wintertime
Sat wanted to go to Giant @ Sembawang but alot of cars queueing up to go into the shopping centre carpark, all nearby carpark also no space to park the car too. No choice i have to turn back home and brought my mamypoko from NTUC instead.

guys,

my hubby says NTUC will surely follow with a similar promotion on Mamy Poko soon. Don't know how true it is but he is in this business so maybe you guys want to keep a look out for NTUC promo as well.

Right now Cold Storage has promo for Huggies comfort dry

Alfafa,
Me too, have been latching more regularly....but always worried tat he may not have enuff...hee~~ But will still pump a few times to ensure bb got milk to drink when i go back to work!!!!

Grace,
do you always pump out the excess? cos I still have alot of excess after latching her on. And I'm worried that if I do not pump out the excess, my supply will eventually re-adjust downwards by itself.

How how? The whole idea is to minimise the need to pump. :p

Alfafa
Wat is the promotion like for huggies dry comfort? Considering to change to Huggies bcos Drypers always make my bb's bums red....

grace, I'm sure you have enough. If in doubt, go for a one to two day exclusive pump and bottle feed just to see how much you have. I did exclusive latch for 1st month and then the subsequent 3 plus weeks was exclusive bottle feed. So I know how much milk I have and how much she consumes. Now I am trying to go back to latch on only. 3 days now and so far so good except for engorgement issues.

I cannot stand dryers. It always make my bb's bum red too. I suspect it's becos of its poor absorbency. Drypers is supposedly more of an economical brand.

Huggies comfort dry was selling at $30.90 for two packs, one pack $15.45. Think if I didn't rem wrongly usual price is $20+ per pack.

Just it yesterday also, but not sure if it is still running this week. Promos usually last for one week or while stocks last? can call first to check.

So far I've used pampers, huggies comfort dry and ultra, and drypers. Don't like dryers :p but I like pampers and huggies.

Alfafa
I've been exclusive pumping & bottle feeding him since his day 1 until last week (7weeks). It was oni the past few days tat I latch him more regularly. So far so good too but reduced no. of times of pooing but till wet his diapers...so shld be ok, rite?? Hmmm...as for pumping after latching..sometimes I do it oni if I feel that he din really empty both breasts...

Diapers
Yup economical but damaging to his bums. Think really need to change. Ok will check out the huggies dry promotions bcos $15.45 is their usually promotion price. Thanks =)

Grace, initially the cashier told me 11 +.. but on the shelf, it stated 8.35... so she recheck and only charge me 8.35

alfafa, ya.. give it a try.. yes, NTUC is also having promotion, but it's still more ex than giant promo.

rashi, too bad, i think yesterday was the last day of promotion.. so i think u won't be able to reserve anymore.. else do check out NTUC

Kome, ya manz.. the shopping centre carpark is stupid right?? damm bad design.. we q up lor..

hi mommies,sorry to interupt ur thread
have a few items up for sale -
1. moses basket, only used 1 wk. mint condition
2. my brest friend BF pillows, 1 brand new, 1 used twice
3. my first years baby sleep positioner, used twice
all items going for very reasonable rates and self collection only. pls PM me if you need more details, images.

grace,

should be ok lah. I'm sure the no of poos will increase once your bb gets used to "working" for milk again. my bb always don;t empty my breasts ... I have more milk than she can consume. sian ... that means have to pump again. Oh is it? $15.45 is usual price? Thought that is special price, usual is $21+ r $22+

Winter,
my hubby worked with Giant, CS, NTUC and also ShengSiong etc etc before. He says knowing NTUC, they have to be the cheapest price one. So before long we should be able to see the same mamypoko promo at NTUC also. They will either match or beat Giant price. Don;t know lah that's what he says.
So maybe can just keep a lookout.

alfafa

Finally log back in.

Like the sling your mum made for you
beautiful batik material.

Yup, I pump only once a day, some days I don't even pump. All usually done after midnight when breast feels the fullest. True, my bb doesn't always empty the breast. Don't worry about it though, unless it becomes really hard, then just pump out. Emptying the breast is more necessary if you want to increase the milk supply. Think you have good MS so just latch bb on. Yea, latching does require a lot of stamina and patience.

Alfafa,
No...wat i mean is $15.45 is their usual promotion price... =) So can buy...

How much is your girl drinking??? How much are you able to pump out after she latches?

I using drypers for my #2 now also, but all the while i don't like drypers but as he is always poopoo alot so we just get the cheapest diapers. My mum will change his diaper every 3hrs to prevent rashes lor. Later will change to use mamypoko during night time and Fairprice diaper during daytime instead.

babe,
I like the material but wish it doesn't come with rings. Thinkin of asking her to re-do ala pupsik style. hahahah ungrateful daughter.

But I'm worried about future growth spurts. what if I don't have enough then? heeeeee kiasi
Am really tempted to do as you've said, unless really unbearable, if not then just skip it. True true, have enough BM for her now.

Grace,
last week she was taking 90 to 100ml 8 times a day. yesterday I pumped immediately after I latched her cos I had been feeling full the whole day. Managed to pump 130ml out. I know she had a full feed cos she slept for 3 hours after that.

Lazy to pump after latch. One thing good I like about latchig is ... omg, my diaper bag is so much lighter without the stupid cooler bag and stuff. Feels wonderful. Meanwhile I have another 5 days full of stored ebm for hubbies to use during times when I am not around.

Kome,
taht's true. Esp in the beginning. My bb changed about 12-15 diapers a day. Probably due to the photolight theraphy, she had to pass more motion to pass out the birulium (sp?)

Grace
Haha.....I am KS. Now NTUC got offer for the fairprice brand 2pkts @ $18.85. I had got 3pkts of size M and 1 pkt of size L to keep first.

Alfafa
Ya lor, just change his diaper only and he poo again and i had to throw the diaper away even there is no urine at all, so heartpain.

maybe should get some to try also. btw, there are often mommies selling/exchanging their unused diapers on the respective forum sections as well worth checking out.

alfafa - i got the one vernice inf - having promo = not bad - $327.40 inclding mmr jab at 15 month and can use CDA to pay... good hor? no consultation fees also

mmr jab is compuslory - given free at polyclinic for sporeans so included for this package of 6 in 1. additonal package of rotavirus is 168.. usually 95 per dose w/out the 6 in 1 package

idaarshad,
good deal.

the gp i found is $300 for 6-in-1, no consultation fees. but cannot use cda n rotavirus is at $180 for full dosage.

near enough fpr me to walk there so will stick to it.

btw, do you know when do we start the 6-in-1? my bb turning two months old on 23 april

im feeling the blues again...blocked ducts is my permanent enemy these days....why why why!! really feel like giving up..everytime pump, then super disappointing results like 60ml..then the breasts not soft also...

later getting Mdm Rokiah to come in 2nd session, anyone managed to save the expressed milk for feeds? dont feel like wasting so much milk and have to mop the floor, coz the other time spread in all directions...sian

alfafa,
ya, i have finished my confinement abt 2 weeks ago but act my cl only left this morning cos i extended her. tanglin mall is out for me even thou its very baby friendly cos its too near my workplace; would have a compulsion to go into office to check things out :p
but erm, i will have to figure out the sling first before i can bring him out!

any other babies stay near redhill/queenstown area, or dun mind coming ard this area or town?

my husband has finally wrapped up some stuff at work and will be on leave this wed till end of next week so first week of may onwards will be good for meetup
Any takers?

diapers - any mummies using goon or nepia? isit good? thinking of only using mamy poko for nite so tryin to find a reasonably priced but good one for day use.

alfafa,
tanglin mall is out for me cos too near my workplace, will feel a compulsion to go into office to check things out! though its v baby friendly. i need to figure out how to use the sling before i can go out though haha!

any other mummies staying ard redhill/queenstown area or town - then we all can meet up : )

diapers - anyone using goon or nepia? ok for day use?

moomooland,

I heard that some mommies use breastshield to collect some of the milk.

*hugs*

would it better to latch your bb for a bit before you pump? or simply latch all the way? I had to pump for 50-60min each time in the past because of blocked ducts too. First 15mins will be fast flow, followed by really bad flow for the rest of the time. Plus I had to squeeze and massage in order for the droplets to continue. Now that I go back to latching her, I noticed that she can clear my lumps much faster and I don't even need to massage. Only thing is she takes 2 to 3 feeds to empty my breast someimtes.

Ann,
I know what you mean! hahaha thank goodness I quitted to become a SAHM, if not everytime I meet my friends at vivo I wil want to go back to tower one to do work!

heheheh

Anytime is fine by me. Yah any mommies want to meet up around redhill/queenstown/town area? More than happy to show you how I use my sling/pouches. But I must confess I am not very good with it yet, still need to tug tug here and there to adjust.

In fact, Ann, where in redhill do you stay? I can come and visit you but you have to meet me at the train station. :p

Am slowly getting used to bringing her out on my own liao

formula milk

OMG I didn't know that milk powder can go up to 50+ dollars. My friend's bb is 3 months ahead of mine, and already on semi solids. The milk powder they buy is $44+ a tin. There are even more expensive ones at $58 a tin. This is ridiculous!

I think I might want to BF her all the way till 1 yrs old. At least then we don't need to buy as much milk powder.

alfafa - yeah - coz gp having the promo =- u should send ur bb for 6 in 1 at 1.5 months leh dear... 1st hep b taken at doctor's rite... so next one at 1.5 months

Ann - nepia and goon are good enuf for nite use also lehhh

Haven't had time to post, only read through some of the postings while baby is asleep.

Re: diapers
I'm using petpet in the day and mamypoko at night. Petpet is cheap & can last like 3-4hrs, so quite reasonable.

Re:colic
My boy has been suffering from colic on & off, give him ridwid, rub ru yi oil, place him over my shoulder, let him sleep on his tummy etc. Seems like not burping is really the silent killer. Whenever he does not burp after his feed, he will wake up from his sleep with colic.

thanks idaarshad for getting all the info

alfafa- the 6 in 1 jabs can take when bb turn 6 weeks old. so urs should be no prob.

moomooland - don't despair. *hugs* my MS also suddenly turn low now since i took antibotics. left side can pump 100ml but right right like 30-50ml only.

ann - i did use Goon. so far so good. but the S size still slight big for my boy.

these few days..i got really scared thinking if CL leaves..how am i going to handle bb alone at home..
how do u all manage to do that?
I'm really afraid if bb cries and I cant calm him down..
I cant wait for bb to grow up and when he wakes up he doesnt cry but can play play- easy to entertain..
how many months till that come huh?

another hot news update

Re" krisflyer miles

been going on for a few weeks but didn;t check my email.

Krisflyer miles at 50% discount for online redemptions, limited destinations by month. Normal promo is now 25% discount.

I will most likely use my miles to redeem tixs for a trip to LA in Sep, when bb is about 7 to 8 mths old. Damn good deal.

mummies on total FM
how many tins u spend in 1 month? a friend of mine can finish 1 tin within 5-7 days..woww...but she's got a big baby..wonder if u all also the same..

Re: Diapers
Newborn huggies ultra dry were good but only gripe was it was too small & often leaks.
I already started using infant huggies ultra dry.

alfafa - me too..beginning to pump for a longer time now..used to be 30min, then now 40-50min...wrist so tired...

the thing is, i dont have enuf MS for bb yet, so she will end up crying for more..then i gotta pump out the excess, let her drink, then she will cry somemore, then i gotta make formula for her...wahh...wanna cry man...