(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Re: BD

We (actually it's me) didn't dare to try till after 3mths. Mind u, the 1st few times were PAINFUL!! think worse than breaking the hymen for a virgin. It just didn't seem right and felt that something was obstructing inside and was dry. Probably that's the cause of the pain? Didn't have the courage to use mirror to see. Queenie, what did u see? My 1st bb was also natural and I was quite scared to do it actually. Errr..hb already asking me when can start lor but now I'm only in wk 3 leh. Doc says after 6wks shld be fine. Guess he can't wait after so many mths of pregnancy.

re : BD
we started exactly 1 month after delivery, it was painful and the whole process wasnt enjoyable at all cos 1st, can feel the dryness and worried abt the raw feeling of the wound though it was healed, 2nd is my milk is leaking and looked messy.

btw, can we drink bubble tea if we are bf? aiyoz, what food to avoid? i wish to eat the foods that we missed during pregnancy like shark fins, sashimi, half-boiled eggs, etc... pls advise

jtho,

Not sure when devil's confinement is ending. U might want to check with her when and ask whether her CL can do another 2 weeks for u after she finishes the confinement for Devil. That way u get a good CL and only need to wait a while.

missycandy,

U take dang gui everyday? I only took it as part of the ba zhen black chicken soup, which is quite minimal and only once a month. Mrs Wong did say it would reduce MS. Also dang gui is very heaty, no wonder u falling sick!

fairymoss,

Har... painful arh.. how sad. Before i got pregnant, BD always a bit painful for me.. I was hoping that after giving birth naturally, BD would be easier..

Cos i think i got a small case of vaginism (dont know how to spell).

nono not everyday... every other day... one day the soup is black chicken with the dang gui.. next day is the kidney with i dunno what... but i took a lot of the dang gui one leh... diao... no wonder la... -_-" well it cld be a reason it may not be... but still... GAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! blardy hell... anyway my confinement finish le... YIPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BD - hubby keep asking... nvr hint okie.. ask strt out.. LOL... but i said wait half way bb cry then how? plus bb stil cranky... anyway if u all are nt to shy abt it then can always do oral.. =x... LOL.. he did ask me but i also no mood la... poor thing...

bokebiegg - til nw.. my bb 1 mth le... my MS every time pump is ard 30-40mls each side... so dont worry la... hahahaha... jus jy jy jy!!! =) drink a lot of fluidsssss! take hot/very warm towel and massage boob b4 expressing... dunt stress urself.. a frn said 1st child not everyone will be blessed.. usually 2nd child then a lot... i guess it depends also la.. =) some of the mummies 1st time here also have endless supply... but dun worrie if u have little bit like me.. jus feed her what u have... =)

latching - i managed to latch her for a feed earlier today... but not full feed la... heh heh heh... feel so happy to see her suckling... i guess positioning is very impt... but funny thing is, during suckling i dont feel the pain... i feel the pain after... dont knw if wrong latching again... so sian... but anyway i faster apply purelan after latching... oh well...

asura79,

yeah cuz due to the dryness lor, that's why painful. need to ask hb to be very very gentle and go very very slow, but most likely, they would not be able to go slow, cuz has been suppressing it for very long liao. lol.

miss83, i think only alcohol, caffeine, nuts, beans, broccoli need to be abstained during bf

just to share on burping

- Kelly Ross, M.D.
Pediatrician at St. Louis Children's Hospital in Missouri, and mother of triplets:
Some babies need to be burped more often than others. Get to know your baby and her feeding style. Look for signs that she needs to burp — if she's squirming, unable to get comfortable, or crying when you try to feed her more, it's time to take a break and burp. Some babies, especially really young ones, won't start to eat again after being removed from the breast or bottle to burp. Other babies need to be burped frequently throughout the feeding in order to be comfortable.

- Samantha Maplethorpe, M.D.
Family physician in Issaquah, Washington, and mother of three:
Burping is optional. Conventional wisdom says that burping a baby will reduce air bubbles in the stomach and decrease the number of times she spits up. However, the air doesn't actually cause pain, and spitting up is normal. When you burp, one minute of gentle patting is sufficient, and you don't need to wait for a burp before you continue feeding. Excessive attempts at burping may actually cause your baby to spit up more frequently. In fact, keeping your baby in an upright position during a feeding is ultimately more important.
It can be counterproductive to interrupt a feeding just because you think you need to stop every so often to burp. Overfeeding can also make a baby spit up more often, so rather than insisting that she finish every bottle, let your baby's signals guide you. If your baby pulls away from the breast or bottle, it can be a good indication that she's full.

- Leslie Gavin, Ph.D.
Child psychologist in Orlando, Florida, and mother of four:
In general, most babies will let you know when they need to burp — they'll look uncomfortable or fussy — and they'll do so with or without your assistance. You can help the process along by positioning your baby either on your shoulder, on your lap, or facedown on your knees with one hand supporting her underneath, and gently patting or rubbing her. Keep in mind that your baby may not need to burp. In fact, my first baby spit up a lot, and if I had burped him in any of these ways, he would have lost his whole meal. Every baby is different, and you'll soon know your baby's signals even if she seems very mysterious at first.

anyone knows how much milk shld bb drink? my 3wks plus bb taking 80-100ml every 3 hrs. is this sufficient?

fairymoss,
im taking ecreative for my bb 1st mth. delivery tomorrow, i ordered the 20 boxes at $12.8 per box, free 2 boxes, think is quite reasonable.

Queenie/SG - think i was the one who used the mirror to check on how the wound look like...looks the perinium becomes shorter than before. perinium is the area between the cervix and anus..am i right to say that? are yours like that after your wound has healed?

haiz, i kena fever coz of blocked ducts/engorgement again ;( 2nd time liao...take paracetamol , now feel much better...will be fixing appt with Mdm Rokiah to see how to massage the breasts...

moomooland
u power le still gt time check on that

mummies wonder if i want to stop bf than i just dun latch and pump than supply will slowly go rite.Another thing if dun pump and latch slowly will get engorment and block ducts also right block ducts will become lump which is no good right to sa that than how huh

Alfafa
Hope can get over soon I think its hormoes ba.Making me like everyday think want to feed dun want to feed everyday think of this enough to keep me busy le.

Elina
Think sun busy with her baby ba cos she is one of them who delivered towards the end of march.
As for kome I saw her posting at bulk purchase haha but she nvr come here le.

missycandy
wow. u nv slp well ytd? tdy kirsten's party right? hope u wont be so tired..

SG
same same.. i didnt notice if he nv poo will cranky or not. but to me, everyday sure got one timing cranky. wan milk but refuses latch on. tired but donwan slp.
ya to me, the V like old n haggarded.. like leng leng like tt.. sob sobs..

alfafa
wow u power.. i really don dare to risk it. kekes. im so scare of the V pain. funny right, can go thru labour pain but not sexually pains. i guess hormones oso plays a part why will dry.. i donno i can drag until when. coz i keep telling hb still got to wear pad cannot.. haha. bt i wearing pantyliner.
even if not pain, BDing with baby in the same room abit weird to me. unless the whole process is a soap opera..(mute on)..
12 donuts!!! u really POWER. kekes.

kris
wow. u can drag half a yr? so nice. i doubt i can drag that long. hb have been asking me abt that many times le. am glad he asked for it. but i somehow juz feel everything not the same liao. den i abit paiseh oso on top of afriad of the pains..

cindy
haha.. u say tmr. ltr he tonite sure come knocking on ur door. esp this wk is long wkend!

wintertime
haha ..no la..i mean previously in mrs wong's prenatal class got cover this topic mah??

moomooland
i oso checked once only..i didnt c the perinium area.. i see the cervix like expanded. lol.

mangogal
u got go TCC this wkend?

re: DAng Gui
diao. i tink my mom fed me that too.. SOB

RE: Bringing your Newborn out
how many times have u bring ur babies out? to shop etc.. ?
i wanted to bring him out but everytime wan go out, it rains and my mom stopped me. moreover, she is buddhist say nw is qing ming lagi don go out..
everyday stay at home like tt , im so bored!..

Queenie, sigh Haha. Well, men! I bring bb out every wkend since she turned 1mth old Haha! That was like 2wks plus ago le.... Haha.

Queenie,

So far i only bring bb to TMC, GP and ICA to make passport. They say best not to bring bb out for first 6 weeks so i ren lor.. after 6 wks is up, i wanna bring her to bishan park for walks.. good exercise for me too.. forever cope up at home with bb and no one to talk to.. i think would go crazy soon!

<font color="119911">Re: BB full month
can i noe if we shld send the cake, red eggs n ang ku kueh to relatives n frens hm n invite them for the party or to give to them on the party day itself?</font>

moomooland
What is ur face book maybe u can add me [email protected]

Cindy u power lor can bring baby out every week.That time I onli bring her out for her check up I vry stress le scare she cry dunno how haha it was like onli few hrs lor.Dun think will dare bring her go shopping.

cindy
so far how things went when u bring bb out?
wanted to bring my bb out too..but scared he got cranky, and afraid I dont bring enough milk..I dont want to BF in public..i guess i'm still not keen with the idea yet..

Asura
when u bring bb out, u drive? if u drive, then no one look after bb at the back? i want to bring bb to go n collect passport but dare not. so got to wait when hubby free then go.

Devil
thanks for the offer. i actually wanted this week cos my baby is suffering from severe nappy rash and i very heartache to see him cry everytime he poo. so thought if can find a nice carer to help during this difficult period until his nappy rash goes.
but just now discussed with hubby, he said 'no more CL'. guess he has CL-phobia now.

so far i dare not bring bb out alone. today went out to bugis with my family, i oso damn stress... scared bb cranky, scared he wants milk, etc. etc. even going for lunch, i oso stress too many pple, taking too long to eat, etc.
i think my sisters are worried that i'm getting depression...

jtho,

So far i have not brought bb out alone yet.. there's always someone accompanying me. Why dont u book a sat appt with ICA to collect the passport? Quite convenient and cut the queuing time.. not good to let bb expose so long outside.. there's a lot of pple sick nowadays.

I guess all of us r afraid of the "bb trips" but how to tahan staying at hm 24/7? maybe can try take bb on short trips first den slowly extend to further trips?

Books:
Im reading a couple of bb books by Dr Miriam Stoppard which I find good.. Quite informative on bb development till 3 yrs old

devil,

can let me know where you bought the blue egg milk bags? they are cheaper than what i got, i bought the firts years milk bag which i find it expensive.

Miss83,

think misscandy help me answer the question on the needs to burp liao.

Misscandy,
thanks...

now Brianne is demanding feed every hour.. i very tired..

Dear all mummies...

I also from this march 09 thread but seldom post the msg ... I have faced the block duct problem for my breast too. Can anyone give me Mdm Rokiah's contact??
pls email me at [email protected]

Thank you so much in advance

Do u gals feel a little bubble down there when u try to stand up from sitting? Hope u all understand what i mean

Hi ladies congrats on ur new bb,any of u popped at MT A?????Any feed backs??????
cos i'm AUG mommy and hv to book hospital soon

Wintertime,
Chasnging maid is decide by my hubby as we both think that our present maid got no heart to work after she return home when I deliver Ethan. She did return but bring back a HP with her, telling me is her hubby who wanted her to bring it along. After she return, a lot of things she forgot tis and that and can see from her behaviour that she no heart lor. She told my sis maid that she not happy to work for me when my baby have his full month and also say she cant get along with my MIL, she also told my sis maid she expect her pay to be $400, crazy lor, if like that I might as well get a new maid then right? So after considering with hubby we decide to look for another maid lor. I just hope that this new maid will be good at handling my gal and my baby lor. You are right if got maid can help in household and also to look after baby in some ways. Let us hope our new maid will be good.

Wintertime,
Yeah my boy must be taking all the fats from my BM I gave him. Can see he is chubby at tis state. Webri just bring him for his jab yesterday. And I finally have my hair rebond, really cant stand my hair anymore!! Hehe... kind of happy after my rebond.

prosper, i know what you mean, cos i also feel that!!! hahaa.. so far i havent take a look down there yet but i know that area has darkened liao... sometimes when i urinate, can feel a bit of sore kind of swelling down there too, do you feel that too?

Jasmine, i wanted to perm my hair (of cos is those wavy and manageable kind), but scared to go out for more than 4 hours since my bb is too cranky to handle alone by my MIL.

mommies, i would like to purchase some milk bags, any recommendations? or anyone selling?

Ann, parentcraft number is 91193502.. hope this helps..

elina,guess both kome and sun are busy with their new member now.. I think sun is one of the last few to deliver. i saw her at amk hub on the 30th March, so she must be busying now..

Queenie, i have been brinigng my bb out every wkend.. go shopping, visit parents etc.. first few times are so garang gabo.. but now, quite used to it liao.. diapers bag always ready.. grab and go..

jtho, sad to hear abt ur bb severe diaper rash.. take gd care of ur boy, hope he will recover soon.

lenny, growth spurt?? my boy sometimes like tt too.. don't worry, tahan through a day or 2.. ur bb will be back to normal soon.

Jasmine, wah.. if i were u, i will change maid too.. she's getting too "clever" now.. as for my maid hor, i get a new maid from indonesia with no off days.. but of cos i top up for her off days.. new maid as in she has no experience working in singapore before, so will be "simpler" to advocate her with my style.. else, those with experience might be too clever for me.. but the con is that I can't speak baharsa... will start learning bit by bit.. gd for me and bb also, cos my bb is half indonesian mah, should learn abit of his native language.. luckily my parents can speak malay, so conversing should be okay.
good luck to both of us on the arrival of new maid. when is she coming or she is at ur place liao? mine coming end of this month.
I also want my boy to be chubby chubby.. i weigh him jus now, he's only 4.8kg..

So happy leh.. as I was typing and surfing net jus now, I was pumping.. i managed to break my record and pump 270ml.. but my previous pump was 5 hrs ago as I went out shopping and back late..yesterday I managed to pump 220ml also with 4.5 hrs interval. i was wondering if I should pump lesser frequency to get more milk instead of my usual 2.5 to 3hrly pump frequency..
so gals, don't give up yet.. ur MS will increase with hard work.. jia you..

Keron&amp;Jeris, i have a pack of unopened Blue Bell milk bag (25 bags) and another pack which is opened but only 1 bag used to sell if you are interested. I have resigned myself to the fact that i am never gog to have enough MS to store so might as well get rid of them. I bought them at $7.50 each pack excluding postage and am willing to sell both packs to you at $10 if you are interested.

wintertime, thanks for the number

I finally went out shopping with my husband today without the baby but ended up shopping for the baby only .. but thats also partly cos i still have 9kg to get rid of so can't shop for clothes yet

Yes it comes with a seal. and on top of that, there is a tear off portion i.e. you need to tear off the top before you can open the seal to pour in the milk, so i guess that helps to ensure that the unused bags are kept in a hygenic condition. I bought it from an online website. Can't rem the url already but i got the url from a posting here.

On the box it says:
Leakproof
Freezesafe
Pre-sterilised
Easy sealing
Self standing
Store up to 8oz(250ml)

Wintertime
thanks for your concern. my boy is recovering, just that he will cry murder whenever he poo. so my sisters suggested that i dun give him my EBM for these few days so that he will not poo so much and let his rash recover first. so now i just pump and freeze my EBM until he recovers.
however, just now my MIL called and advised my hubby to tell me to give him EBM bcos she's worried that bb will not poo which will not be good for him also... now so vexed... to give or not to give?
anyone? any advise?

do you all air dry your pumps after washing and sterilise? cos after sterilise, will have water droplets... wonder if the milk will go stale with the water in it?

jtho, i would say continue EBM, but check and change his diapers frequently. Also apply nappy rashes cream with every change.
Daytime if you can, use cloth diaper... more airy....

jtho, hmm.. if i were u, I will continue to give ebm.. at least the poo will b watery.. imagine if give FM, bb poo will b hard.. won't it b more painful?

Irene, i don't dry it.. i used it immediately after sterilise..