(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

caca, your little girl want to celebrate cny with u separately Sia. She wants mommy to herself Heee.

Me just finished eating. So bloated!

Gingal, Haha, soon you can have all the coke you want!

asura

uterine resistance level.. is one of the tests during the detailed scan when u did at 20 weeks... usually ppl would be 0.5 mine is 0.69....

gingal

thanks for the encouragement.. it makes me feel better.. thank u so much.. oh btw i have received the baby sling but cos hubby is away for 2 weeks i am at my mum's place... the sling is at home... so will let u know on thurs after i see the sling.. but from reviews it seemed to be good...

caca

bed rest is the best... take care... maybe ur little gal wants to celebrate cny with u.. err.. its 15 days right...

i know u cant drink water during confinement... so u can drink anything except plain water is it?? i am not sure...

caca..hee..glad to noe tat yr bb weighs 2.2kg liao...jiayou, cont't to eat more. =) lets hope yr bb can nua inside much longer...happy new year to u!! u are a great mummy... jiayou!

nana...u also try to eat more n hopefully bb can try to absorb more from u these days.. =p

gingal..so sweet hee first time giving ang pow to yr bb.. =)i wish her best of health, full of happiness and grow fast fast. gong xi gong xi..hee
talk abt coke..tink tmr shall open a can to celebrate CNY wahahha...aldy started eating all the pineapple tarts, bah kwa n cookies..hee..enjoy sia.

caca - rest as much as u can now.. once bb out no time le.. hee hee... maybe baby wants to be rat baby dont want to be Ox.. =P but bb's weight is good! =)

gingal - hw heavy must jerlynn be b4 she can go home??? r the hospital bills very expensive? is she out of nicu already??? u are very positive! admire u! =)

last night cldnt sleep... woke up ard 3am+... then sat up in bed.. thought of coming online but lazy to get out of bed into study room.. hehe.. so jus looked at hubby sleeping... plus bb was super active! she kept on moving ard for ard 10-15mins wor... hmmm... also past few days, tummy seems to harden pretty often... hope its not a bad sign or anything... luckily today pain at V area not as bad as previous days.. i think maybe im pushing myself too hard at work.. plus carrying so many things... i have to request to stay put in office and not move ard le... if not really will have feb baby -_-"

holding urine - its actually not good... can cause UTI... usually when i sit, i wont feel the urge.. the moment i stand up... feel like going all the time!!! and when go to pee its only little bit -_-" at night i go whenever i have the urge... once in a blue moon when im super tired/lazy i will try to tahan... hahaha!

bak kwa - yeh.. finally managed to eat some today.. hee hee... this yr quite bad.. we didnt buy any... too lazy plus no time to Q... plus i see the prices a bit overboard... so this yr didnt give parents n in laws bak kwa... usually every yr will buy... end up gave my parents love letters & pineapple tarts... then give in laws... abalone and prawn rolls... =P better than nothing lor!

coke - wahahaha... hubby so good to meeeeee *muacks* he jus nw went to buy drinks becos our fridge almost empty le... so he bought green tea... and coke! muahahaha 24cans! initially i said buy Mug Rootbeer la.. becos no caffeine... but he says only comes in bottles.. no cans... then he asked if i wanted coke lor.. i said anything... and i thought he wld jus buy 1 or 2 bottles.. end up he bought 1 carton of cans... muahaha... yeh.. i will try to control... 1 can a week.. hee hee =P

birds nest - hubby and me no $ to buy... so sis in law actually bought and gave to me... wooo =P mil says every week drink 1 bottle lor... its those already premixed de... oh well better than nth.... =P so i said jus nice.. inside 6 bottles... 1 bottle 1 week... nw i week 30... so drink til week 36 =)

i cant wait to eat tmr!!!!!!

Nana,

Yeah, I wanna buy the sling, cos now I carry my tiny baby already my arms no strength...Haha, carry her for 15mins already very sore...Let me know k, I hope I am in time for the seller's next BP...and hope she rembrs to PM me when she got her next BP...I think this Sling looks and better quality than Moms in Minds ones...

Cindy,

another few more days to go...Can't wait for my Coke!

SG,

Thank U for the well-wishes...

missycandy,

Jerlynn gotta be >2kg and more than 35 weeks old + able to be bottle-fed before she can go Home...Right now she is 1.648kg and 32+weeks and has still on tube-feeding. She is out of NICU and is in Special care Nursery for quite some times already...

Really don't know how much the hospital bill will end up to be...but we have a rough guage it's gonna be $20k+++ after Govt Subsidies. You know, I realised give birth at KKH also not cheap leh, my Bill is $4k+ for C-Class rate...but got Govt Subsidies la, so pay only $1k+. If I'm give birth full term at TMC can opt for 1-bedded already? Cos I natural without Epi ma..so shld safely not more than $5k bah in TMC...

I so envy u can have Coke...

Re: Birds Nests

I eat alot Birds Nests since 1st Trimester...Once a week or sometimes alternate weeks boiled ones that my MIL cook for me, and Daily 1-2 teaspoon of Concentrated Bird Nest and alternate with Bottled Bird Nests...And guess what, my baby not very fair leh...Duhzzzz...She abit "Hitamanis" (dunno Spell Err anot), takes after me, cos I was "Hatamanis" when I was borned also...So I guess Birds Nests doesn't work leh...So Don't worry if you don't wanna spend on Birds Nests, cos IMHO abit Waste $$$...Maybe few months later she will turn Fair? I shall update you all, but by the time also too late liao, cos you girls should have given birth also...Hmmmmm...

I think use the $$$ and spend on our cravings better Coke and Ice Creams better Trust me, you will miss it soooo much during confinement...

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all Mummies and MTBs

Gingal
Your gal is so cute and beatiful. Hope she can go back home with you soon.

Caca
You be a good Mummy and stay in bed to rest. Let your gal stay inside your tumtum 1 day also good. Jia You

Nana
During confinement, can only take red date & longan drink. Not too sure if there are any other drink. Can only take warm drink during confinement.

Gong Xi Fa Cai & hope that all of us will have a great time Moo Moo-ing =)

Nana ...

I had a friend who was the same as you ... placenta not working well so had to induce the bb earlier but my fren was saying the plus side of it is that it very easy to push ... cos bb q small in side.

Trust that your gynae knows what best for you and your darling =)

Chinese usually believe that can only take red dates & longan drink to get rid of the wind in the tummy and replenish the energy cos after giving birth ... our body is considered very 'cooling'. Take throughout the whole confinement and trust me ... its a super heaty drink cos my mum took just 2 cups of my longan drink and she had soar throat and my maid who 'stole' the drink throughout my confinement ended up with a super terrible pimple outbreak - thats how we caught her hahahahaha

Gingal ...

I always love to see your little princess smile ... warms my heart. Just hope that they can remove those tubes soon and she can go home with you =)

re: reunion dinner

had mine at 7th storey steamboat at Marina Barrage last night ... was so so so FULL ... yummy food at ok price heehee drank chinese tea for dinner and bb was super active last night ... must be the TEA and ever once he kick me and i actually felt PAIN!!

anyway now waiting for my MAN and BOY to wake up ... going to join the jam to JB to visit my MIL's relatives ... though hoping there wont be any lar

Hi Morning mummies
Guess most of u out to bai nian lor.

Gingal
I in Mt A now lor got wireless so can online this morning Gynae saw me say I can onli be out of hospital on fri as by than I hit 34week he feel sae le once pass 34week hope by than I go home baby can at leats stay in for 1 week more hit 35week I very happy le just hope baby can go home with me after birth.Now I quite relax le as can go tiliet can walk abit around but not too much.

Haha anyway baby confirm OX lor pass rat year le ya think she very naughty dun wan let me go ba nian lor.Purposly make me gt contraction and cervix open gynae dun dare let me go home.

moomooland
Haha ya she made me spend so much on hospital bill le will tell her next time come out cannot buy things le ust keep bill when she grow up show her how mischevious she is haha. Gynae says I can onli go home on friday after 34week.

hi mummies, happy 1st day of the moo year!

<font color="ff0000">caca</font>, you rest well in hosp and focus on telling your bb gal to be guai guai and stay with you till past thu
after 34 wks, at least more settled a bit. hopefully she will be very good and stay a while longer in mummy's tummy yeah.

i hate being on the drip, can't go toilet and must use bedpan, so paiseh. oso quite painful for the hand. still as long as good for bb, must tong k. jia you jia you!

<font color="ff0000">nana</font> hope your bb boy can gain more weight before you need to deliver. watever the method of delivery, dun tink too much and listen to your gynae for the best way. hugs!

<font color="ff0000">gingal</font> your bb gal so sweet
must be so heartwarming for you to see her smile. tong another 3 more weeks then you can bring her home with you!

update for myself: can still feel contractions from time to time. haha sometimes freak myself out when i feel the contractions (hardening of tummy, can feel it coming on) a couple of times in an hour. but so far so good. dun really like the medication ventolin though coz it makes me breathless. now in w32, sayanging bb to be good and stay with me for another 5 weeks then safe to come out. haha i bribe bb, promised him a scope of ice cream every week if he stays good in my tummy hee hee ;P still am very relieved to pass the mouse year into the ox year hee hee

welcome sangy, i tink there are a couple of mummies delivering at nuh, can't remember who though. dis few days, the thread will likely be quieter, hee may hv to wait a while, before anyone respond to you

caca, good mt a has wireless. gleneagles dun hv, if want to surf, must pay for it and somemore only designated areas, not in the ward. so will be boring haha...

Sung

you also have contraction problem also on drip before? me now no more on drip just on 3 different kind of medi just pray hard 4 more days to go gynae says i can go home on fri if everything is good.I told my own mum wait she after I go home bb stay in there dun wan to come out haha best is I think if she can hang on to 35weeks even better but I think 36 or 37 weeks than consider full term lor.
I think for our case right contraction on off is not possible to go off wan so die die must stay in bed most time.Remember dun rub ur tumtum will trigger contraction de.

Ello gals, and a happie new year to all of us xD This year special year with new member in our family

I remember reading from somewhere abt the sayings of the fenshui master, for this year, after lunar 10th day then its actually considered year of ox..so today is still considered year of rat wor..

Re: Gambling
Haha.. gambling probably sets the rush of adrenalin, gan cheong and excited mah...so maybe cause baby also wanna join in the gambling hehe

Re: Iced coke
Seems like many mummies have craving for coke.. For mee, gassy drinks sort of turn mee off, cos drink liao tummy bloated and makes mee burpy.. in fact nwadays more burpy than usual..
i change the soft drinks to iced milo if i order fast food set meals..

Re: Bird Nest
Hmm.. shld be taken near the end trimester cos baby's skin aldy developed and bird nest is to enhance the complexion?

Caca and gingal's gal..
Hope that both of u can go home soon ler..

Re: Longan drink
I didnt know longan drink so heaty cos i take something like longan drink, today my MIL make gingko with longan drink soup...maybe got gingko thats why nt so heaty? I'm not sure..
Red dates have to take out the seed so that it wont be heaty..

Re: Hard breathing
Lately the hubby said that i'm breathing loudly when he is besides me.. but to mee, i didnt feel breathless or panting leh.. he just mentioned that my breathing very loud..
Not sure whether the mummies here encounter that nw..

Cheerios

happy first day of new yr mommies!

May all mommies have a smooth delivery and all our cow babies be good and easy to take care!

Gingal, hope your darling can go home soon.. Heee.

So happy got some pepsi to drink!

miyomee, me me me! Haha hard and deep breathing. Hubby say I snore wor. Hmmph.

<font color="0000ff">Wishing everybody a Happy Chinese New Year!</font> <font color="ff0000">恭喜发财</font>

RE: Pyjamas
Where can I get cheap cheap pyjamas for hospital stay?
Is it selling at those HDB shops at old estate central (eg. AMK/ToaPayoh/Bedok/Clementi)?
What is the pricing like?

RE: Fingers Pain
I'm getting pain at all my fingers joint! when bend fingers more painful! It starts ~3days ago.
Anybody experience that? I think is due to water retention

caca,
yup got hospitalised for pre-term labour last last fri. so sianz, on drip and kinda scary too coz had regular contractions then but it was painless. now on home rest so can't go house visiting, haha tink i'm one of the freest mummies now, can still surf net coz nothing else to do. hb went visiting with his family lah so home alone. but got bb in tummy accompany me lah hee hee

good that you are no longer on drip, coz once they deemed can remove from drip means is safer liao then gynae will take you off drip
yup yup hoping for you too that your bb will be guai guai and wait till after w37, i tink tat's the best then can be very safe to come out liao haha :p

jia you jia you! hee hee i just sayang tummy now, not really rub. will be careful!

meebaby,
mine is more breathless type so i breathe very hard and loud when the moments come, not whole day but from time to time.

cindy,
yup yup hopefully all our darling bbs are easy to take care of! heard that moo moos are calm and steady personalities so hopefully so!

idlecat,
pjs, can try the pasar malam at the various housing estates now? usually got sell cheap cheap. think i read previously that some mummies got theirs from the chinatown pasar malam for CNY period. not sure if still there. i got mine previously at a pasar malam in amk but not there liao, was less than $10 per set (both for the top and pants set and the full dress front button types) so relatively cheap to me. hope you can find yours.

i dun hv fingers pain, just back aches...

sung haha
we same I thnk onli both of us so free to surf if u wn can add me at msn we can chat haha.For drip wise gynae says if still come still can go for drip but I tell him i dun wan drip any more kind of stress me out made me cant slp but nw that gynae promise me no more drip and jab I very happy liao just hope this week faster pass tha I am even safer le.

sung,
take care! try to bedrest more. I'm also staying at home while hubby &amp; father-in-law went CNY visiting just now.

PJ have to get from pasar malam! like that difficult loh... nowaday prefer to avoid crowded place and can't walk too much also as always want to pee and get tired easily.

caca,
added you in msn hee see if we can catch each other for a chat

oh good good, no drip is good. haha i hate asking for the bedpan when on drip hee hee n we can't move too much too, else the drip can be so painful. do you have bruise on your hand after removal of the drip? i had bruise for a week before ok. quite painful...

jia you jia you! i'm sure this week will pass by very quickly. guai guai bb, must stay in caca mummy's tummy longer!

thanks idlecat! hee you are at home too.

hmmnnn get your hb or mummy if possible to go scout and buy for you? yup yup if go pasar malam must go during the day time, lesser people, else usually very cramped and packed, "dangerous". haha me too, want to pee like very hour or so. i can't go anywhere now but even if can, dun tink i dare go crowded places too.

or else you can buy from deptal stores? but more exp, usually abt 18+ till 20+, i got 3 pcs previously from OG, under the karmy brand. tink quite a no. of mummies from this thread got the same brand too. it's quite comfy but more exp, after 20% discount that time, was abt 18+.

consider if you want to get long sleeve/long pants type coz heard from older colleagues that must cover up but may be very hot later though so can tink tink before you buy

idlecat, i tink will still hv sales. hee usually a lot of post cny sales too. watch out in the papers. and hope you got the pjs you need

hello mummies

sung/ seabreeze

thank u for your encouragement...
i am going to start on a red meat diet this week till my next check up to attempt to put om weight for bb... now i don't care if i put on so much as long as bb put on weight... gained... 14kg already.

idlecat

i have been experiencing that the past week.. but it doesnt hurt.. my fingers...just felt stiff and cramp...i asked my gynae.. he said it is a sign of water retention...

sung, I hope by chance still can get from pasar malam

Nana, initially my pain at least will goes off after sometime; but now seem like whole day also can feel the pain

Did your doctor said what can be done to release fingers pain?

idlecat - fingers pain ... yes yes its due to water retention.. so everyday jus do some finger exercises like bending and gripping... ive already had it for few weeks le... hee hee...

caca - take this time to relax as much as possible... dont worry! im sure bb wldnt want mummy to suffer so much also =)

red date longan drink - i read somewhere and according to my dad its actually supposed to be black dates not red dates wor... nt sure whats the diff.. he did mention it but i forgot =P

seabreeze - this 7th storey steamboat its a chines restaurant? buffet style steamboat? whats the price like? =)

cheap Pyjamas - if u aint big sized like me, buying from pasar malam or those shops at amk central... toa payoh central shldnt be a problem... shld be quite cheap as well.. i think even ck dept store will sell.. you can also try chinatown market... =) but sometimes to cheap also means quality not that great ba... hehehe must go look ard... i bought mine for 12.90 each if im nt wrong.. forgot le.. =x but from life store at hougang point? mall? eh.. the one diagonally opposite regentville and hougang st 92 =)

breathing - i release when i sleep, whenever i turn, i tend to hold my breathe.. i do not knw why.. becos after turning then i can feel myself let go and breathe again.. its like auto... though i tell myself not to... quite weird.. and i always feel breathless when turning in bed -_-" i can still lie flat on my back though... but not long.. hee hee...

misscandy,

i went to 7th Storey steamboat and didn;t find it impressive. The fish slices are not fresh and not worth the price that we paid for. if i remmeber correctly, me and hubby ordered the set thingy.

me and hubby wonlt be going back for it liao.

Re: Pyjamas
I bought cheap ones from neighbourhood shops.. I wore aldy but find that the material not so good and don't feel very comfortable..
Still like the Karmy's PJs.. very soft and comfortable.. really is 一分钱一分货!

Cheerios

happy new year...

ytd got come in n read but nv post hehe

caca
rest well during tis period. pray bb can stay as long as possible inside u

idlecat
i started having fingers joints pain since 1 mth back. is so tight until i got v pissed off.. feel like chopping off my fingers.LOL

i find tt wash our fingers w cold water helps to relieve the tightness a lil bit..
i even tried soakin my fingers n feets in warm water with 3-4 tbs of sea salt once when i came upon a thread in smh 2008 - swollen feet..
but still donno if effective or not. lol

meebaby
breatheless? i got it too.. initially juz sometimes feel it wheb lying flat on bed. but gradually even during normal activities oso got it den muz tk deep breath..

missycandy
we get breathless coz bb getting bigger, pressing on our lungs lol..

i muz go prepare le.. sian .. to go out.. lol..

arlow mummies...hee waiting for leave the house go grandma's hse nothing to do so pop in n read the postings..

caca..hee so happy for u..fri can go home liao..rest well and i'm sure bb will be good gal stay longer till full term. =)

sung..u also rest well at home..anyway, CNY good to nua at home also..boring watch tv, surf net n eat goodies. haha..

aiyo..tink i aldy very heaty liao..gt abit of sore throat..n small small pimples popping out on my face liao. ate many ba kwa, pineapple tarts, pork floss roll yest'd. wahahhaa..enjoying sia. =) this fri going to see gynae..hopefully everything will be ok.

Re: breathless &amp; swollen feet/ fingers..me also getting breathless nw n then..very xin ku like heart weak, if too warm can faint man. realised my sole like getting reddish..n numb tink the water retention is coming to see me.
swollen fingers: din feel any pain but rings not easy to take off liao..morning can wear, end of the day need sometime to take out. hee..intend nt to wear liao..tink after cny also take out all my earrings...get prepared. =)

btw, mummies who are wearing contact lens...can we wear them during delivery? or better to wear specs ah? i scared i forgot just wear my contact lens to hospital wor..later give birth all blur vision if asked to take out..somemore need to stay overnite..if can, i must bring my saline n container liao wor. =)

Re: PJs...caca i rmbr yr MIL helped u buy the PJ at mothercare..having promotion $29.90 rite? i went few weeks back and i tot of getting one..sikali the sales person told me its not $29.90, its $43..so i din buy..doopid me leh, coz i rmbr i saw the range gt some with $29.90 tags. maybe tat pc i too is with the $43 pricing one..sianzz!! sigh...dun wan to spent so much on PJs coz i dun wear PJ at home one..haha..always wear boxer shorts + singlets. =) but PJ will come in handy during BF ba...

Hope everyone is still having a great CNY break. Me hanging out at the National library here in downtown Melbourne and just want to drop in and say "Hi". Still haven't caught up with the fast thread yet so apologies if I can't reply to any posts right now.

Yea, sounds like a mad decision to come all the way here to give birth but believe me, it was done with a lot of planning and thought!

Anyway, I decided to purchase the Medela PIS Advanced in the end. I got it from an Aussie online website (Nursing Angel) so it cost AUD$485 (shipping incld) with some freebies like 3 pack milk bottles, nipple cream and milk bands. Guess it's still cheaper than in Singapore so think it's a good buy.

If any of you mummies need something from here, do let me know. I'll be back in May for a week with the bb!!!

Ciao for now.

quiet thread today.

sg,
thanks, haha i'm taking the opp to relax lor.

caca,
you ok, din see you online today

re. blue egg breastmilk storage bags
any mummies use this before? is it good? i saw recommendations for this in the 2008 thread, tinking of buying some to stock up in case i need ;P

devil,
just saw you r helping your fren with the ergo carriers. is it cfm? deciding if i shd get it now, not sure if bb will take to a carrier though. very tempted by the ergo carrier haha

btw, do you mummies tink carrier is better or sling?

hi mtb,
i am new, didnt know abt SMH until my friend told me. Hee seems like this forum is very informative...

EDD 1 mar , bb gal...

Hi, siohchong,
for breastpump my advise you don't get it now. Me too did not buy it till my postnatal massage therapist advise me to get Ameda dual pump as she really encourage me to bf my bb. Express out after latching the balance of milk, so that it will helps to stimulate the production and its really works on me. Till now my milk suppy was very gd and my bb enjoy her bf time and not struggling at my breast always.

hi sue,tks

So tiring after all the CNY visiting,,,,
I hear that approaching labour we must take coconut juice?
any mtb can advise which week can take?

sian ah.. back to work today.. =( only good thing is that short week... kakaka... wed thurs fri and sat half day... weee! chop chop!

gingal- congrate , you delivered early.

tummy like keep hardening for few times but after few hours gone.. is this braxton hicks?
how do u determine real contraction? must it be like every half an hour????

Welcome to all new MTBs

Haiz......i can't get to sleep again.

Missycandy
SO fast you already back to work? Yesterday and today went out to look for food, but alot of shops still close. Got a hard time to find something that i will like to eat. Yeah.....lucky short week, i need to work on thurs and fri only. Need alot of rest, very sian to go back wok after so many days of resting already.

siohchong
After week 36 you may start to take some coconut juice, but tried not to take alot as i heard that its very liang also and might not be too good to baby.

Re:Breathless
Me too will felt breathless sometimes and even if i am not walking. Just felt that i did not have enough air and tried to breath more harder to catch more air.

Wintertime
Woww....you already in 35 weeks and in another 5 more weeks and you are going to deliver soon. Its good that baby can stay inside your tummy till full term, but you must be careful and take care also.

Gd morng gals xD

Re: Swollen fingers
My fingers turned all plump and swollen but no pain leh..aldy took off my wedding band when i was in 2nd trim i think..

Babe in melbourne.. Nw summer very hot rite?

Cheerios

Welcome siohchong!

SG..

I think i wear glasses loh.. haha.. dunno will suddenly doze off after giving birth, after that wake up eyes sure very dry when lens still inside eye..

I'm thinking whether to bring my eyebrow pencil and makeup kit there haha cos if i didnt draw, i'll look like mona lisa and may scare nurses away..haha

Cheerios

morning everyone..

Gong xi fa cai.. been so busy these 2 days for house visiting. came back late last night at 12am. luckily don't have to work for the whole of this wk. so now resting at home and nua. May want to start swimming later this evening liao.

Kome, me today officially 36wks liao.. hees.. so can deliver anytime now onwards. let's see when does bb want to come out.. hopefully don't let me wait for too long. wk 37 or 38 will be gd.

meebaby, me very vain too, i thinking of brining some light makeup, maybe juse powder, so that I can discharge "mei mei" on tt day. cos will take some photos..

siohchong, welcome to the thread.. real contraction should be at regular interval.. say every 15 mins once and once near labour, will be 5 mins interval. the normal ones which we r experiencing are fake ones, call Brixton hicks.