(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Morning Mummies!

st,
try 1 type of teat first, see if baby can get used to it. Then again, if you start at 1 type from the beginning, they will not know others and hence cannot possibly reject right?

meebaby,
I usu hold my breath and swallow the fish capsule quickly. It's the burp afterwards that I cannot stand...

Morning Irene

st
Regarding contaimnation wise between transfering the milk from milk bag to bottles, i don't think will be much issue as long as the opening for the milk bags is clean. My friend had been storing her EBM in milk bags since her gal borm till now. Most imptly is to sterilise the bottles daily and keep everything clean, should be ok.

Regarding washing wise, i got no problem washing the standard milk bottles. Must get the brush and brush the inside.

Re: Milk bottles

Have bought Pigeon standard plastic bottles, was deciding between wide and standard neck but eventually decided to go for the standard one which is easier to hold oso...
Wanted to get BPA free bottles initially but abandon the thought...Mrs Wong did mention in the last class that whether BPA anot doesn't realli matter cos even if the bottle is BPA free and we don't wash the bottles properly other chemicals might leak too...not just the BPA chemical...

im backie... went ntuc gai gai again lols
im like ah soh nowadays+_+

cindy
i agree sometimes hor tot got urine leh but when i visit toilet is so little..
esp nw in 3rd trimester sometimes when i walk wil feel the urgency. but i noe tts bb pressing on it.

tok abt milk btls and teats
i oni got 2 myself .. 1 free avent free frm mrs wong class, another one is the Bfree.
kns lor. after hb bought Bfree den mrs wong mentioned cleaning for Bfree muz be beri throughly.
sian. i feel like bringing it back to metro to exchange or refund. hahas.

Good morning mummies,

meebaby,
I also took fish oil. but mine no smell de. my brand is called the Natal Care Plus yellow golden packaging.. anyone eating this brand.

Kome,
ya i agree with you, multivitamin very smelly. orange in colour rite. i stopped taking after 1st tri. Now only took folic acid and fish oil.

Hi kome, being a FTM I'm also quite curious how mummies store and treat EBM. Eg, during the 1st couple months when mummy breast-feeds bb directly, does she still have to pump out the balance (to maintain supply, I heard)? If so, then is it better to store that in milkbags to freeze since I can imagine the frequency would be high and the stock will not be needed in short-term since mummy keeps breast-feeding bb directly? Say if lucky enuf to have lots of supply until stop breast-feeding, then what to do with these frozen milk? Throw?

prosper
^5 im oso tking the same fish oil as u.
so far so gd. oni 1-2 times i blurped and got abit fishy smell. but the smell is very light.

meebaby
maybe u wan try the brand we are tking?

multivitamin
the one im eating is pink color one... no smell one leh..

Prosper
I taking the same fish oil as you. My multivitamins is pink in colour one. The smell quite strong. When taking it for the first start, once i open up the bottle and the smell came out make me want to vomit. Now ok already but still don't like the smell.

i hate my multivitamins also.. got a yucky smell.. mine is pink in color.
Then my DHA pill is quite big that I always got problem taking it

I'm also taking the Natal Care Plus and only experience the fishy taste abt 2-3 times when I took some time to swallow it down (coz I always have prob swallowing pills)

Re: Fish oil

still ok for me leh...hehe dun realli smell the fishy smell....but when i burp ya i do get a taste of it...gross....
i dislike more of the obimin and calcium tablets...hahaha

Nancy
To maintain the milk supply, it will be good to pump out any excess after latch on. Actually, it will be best for the start, just use bottles to keep the EBM. Coz the supply will not be alot initially and it will be a waste to use milk bags, as you can only use once. For any excess BM, you may donate them to hospital or throw it away if you do not breastfeed any more.

St
Initially, newborn will not reject the teats unless you had been latching on for long time and the teats does not shape like our nipples they will reject it. If you from the start let the baby to drink from bottles, you can change the teats alternately for each feeding.

prosper
haha. abit smell for me to bearable.
is too strong i might throw up. i guess i ate too full during my meals b4 tkin the fish oil.

btw, i always forget to tk both fish oil n multivit on times de. bad mommy. sometimes i can few days each 1 time.
esp when after i dirnk milk den oh no..muz wait awhile den can tk multivit. n wait awhile i 4get liaos. lol

all mummies still took the multivitamins?
i have stop taking it leh... dunno can a not.. cos i hate the smell. anyway the pills is free from my gynae. So everytime, the nurse ask me finish anot, i say no need i still have.

prosper
i tink better eat for me. coz i don tink i really havea wellbalanced diet. so i try my best not to skip tking it....

kome
pai say huh when u mean "If you from the start let the baby to drink from bottles, you can change the teats alternately for each feeding"

does it mean..i can one day use avent wide neck one then another day use standard neck one??

Playtex milk bag good??

regarding teats,
i only got a box of 2 clear silicone ones from medela size S. i did ask Mrs Wong in class on when we should introduce bottle feeding. she mentioned that we can start when baby is 6 weeks old.

i don't know if my other teats can fit medela bottles so i didn't buy any. think i will be using the 4 bottles that comes with my Medela PIS pump. will need to still express breast milk to encourage flow but still haven;t figure out what to do it cos won't be bottle feeding till bb is 6 wks old.

away for last 3 days n too much post to catch up. Too lazy to follow back.

so everyone ready for CNY? I just got my ang paos ready ytday. And i managed to finish a bottle of kueh bahru myself within 2 days heehee.

SG,
u went to studio loft for the photoshoot ytday? I was also at chinatown but for shop and facial.

re:Natal Care plus
i was taking that initially. But the fish oil smeel is really too strong. Now i switch to Mum-to-Be which consist of everything so i only need 1 pill n the price is cheaper too.

st
Eg: 10am - use avent wide neck for feeding
12pm - use standard neck one
2pm - use back avent wide neck

Might work or might not work for some babies.

It is cheaper, but you need to get a clip to secure the opening as playtex does not have a zipper.

vernice welcome back.
wha 2 days u finish a btl of kueh bahru..
salute ! keke. i oni buy 1 btl of love letters.
i hide it away in cupboard. i scare i cant ctrl later den finish b4 cny arrives.hehes

tdy im doin pineapple tarts again.
so happy..

kome
ic...haha like that all my bottles will not be a waste..now i know liao..maybe my SIL gave her son standard neck teats for quite sometime and bb is so used to it so will reject when she gave him avent bottles

but hor will they bb get confuse anot??

i think i dun understand wat wide neck, standard neck. I have to go home check it out or go shop and see see.Think this mummy really no experiences!!!

prosper,
storage bottles can be changed to feeding bottles. Just detach the circular plastic piece to expose the hole on the cover, and attach a feeding teat.

st,
I believe as long as it's the same brand, eg, Avent, can use interchangebly. I used both NUK standard and wide neck teats and he was fine. I remembered he did frown a bit when I changed him from standard to wide neck in the same feed, but he was ok to suck properly after a few seconds.

Lenny,
If I'm not wrong, only NUK standard teats can fit Medela storage bottles. I rem trying Avent and Pigeon teats but they could not fit nicely. Then again, that was 2 yrs ago and Avent and Pigeon only had 1 sized teats then. Now I know they also have standard and wide neck too.

st
Wahaha....the prupose is to confuse them so that they will not be choosy for the milk bottles right? =P

Prosper
The thin thin one and the opening is quite small is the standard milk bottles and wide neck one are those types that have a wide opening easier to wash and put in milk powder also.

hihi queenie,
heehee i ate the kueh bahru for breakfast consecutively for 2 days :p Nice leh..cos its soft and sweet. Those got honey one.
u doing pineapple tarts again? must be "flying off" the bottles like hotcakes ah?

re:lim chee guan bak kwa
when i was @ chinatown ytday ard 2 plus, their original sliced bak kwa already sold out lor n the queue is still ridiculously long! I saw the price increased to $48 too. When i was there 2 weeks ago, only $44 and no queue at all so i quickly buy 4kg to keep and giveaway. I wonder why ppl want to wait till last min then buy and got to pay much more and waste more time queuing too!! Even Bee Cheng Hiang also got queue!

prosper,
no problem. There's always a first time. Well, as a general rule, skinny bottles (you can almost close your palm and fingers around the whole circumference) are called standard bottles and hence use standard teats which are also skinny. Wide neck bottles are fatter, and normally can only wrap your hand halfway around the circumference. These bottles use wide neck teats.
Once you put the 2 types side by side, the difference is very clear. Hope this helps.

any thoughts on what to wear after birth? i mean as in what to wear for bottoms when we go out apart ffrom nuring tops.

should we still wear our pregnancy bottoms?

Grace,
Agree with you. I'm also learning new things and tips everyday. And it's fun.

Asura,
Yes, we can. As to the number you can get, depends on the number they have for the day. E.g, if all bbs are tbf that day, I think you won't get any. Rem to ask for the metal caps as well to cover the bottles.

Asura,
Normally can request them the nurse in nursery. Not every hospital have the glass one, need to check and ask. That time my SIL took back are plastic bottles.

vernice - Actually tried the lim chee guan bak kwa and find it is not that fantastic la...ok lor...dunno why ppl always buy last min like u say, my guess is cos of the freshness ba...but i find the owners might anyhow do the bak kwa during this period since so many ppl buying and they need to clear the queue...mayb on normal days it should taste better

i bought my bee cheng hiang liao cos colleague has lobang to buy the handmade ones so i dun have to queue...good oso...hehe...

Lenny,
i was thinking if got C-sect then wear dress more comfy. If natural, then which ever pants can fit in will wear which one lor.

asura,
i recalled some mummies saying we can ask from them wor.

Lenny
If still able to fit into my pre-pregnancy shorts/pants etc, will wear those. If not able to fit in yet think will get a bigger size bottoms. I don't think i will be wearing back the maternity one. Look abit baggy if wear that after delivery.