(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi missycandy,
My dh just trying to do everything he can lo, but i'd do some la, cos he can't manage! Some more need to clear my doggy's poopoo too!

Hi Koi,
The best method is to do a Blood Test at gynae. If spending is not too much of a concern, then u can arrange an appt with ur gynae now, can do scan to see waterbag to confirm pregnancy, then go back again in week 8 for heartbeat

Missycandy, dont think you should wash or hang the clothes cos its heavy. Its better not to lift anything heavy now. Better ask your dh to do it.

koi
You may just go to your gynae and check. Its just that if you go now, you might not be able to hear bb heartbeat if less than 6 weeks. But you may go to your gynae to get confirmation

Sashamama
Glad to hear that your spotting has stopped. Me also quite bantang. I don't even dare to cut and move things at all.

sasha.

u better don clean ur doggy's poopoo.. coz u will need to bend over or squat to clear ..
i heard not good to squat too much..

Koi just to share my experience. when i was preg w 1st child, I visited gynae at wk5 (i didn't know then and wanted to see gynae as soon as i missed my period) unfortunately she said - can't see anything, can't detect heartbeat so sent be back and said - come back at week 8! That wait from week 5 - 8 was torture for me. If I had just waited 1 more week to see her i'd be able to detect heartbeat n wont have to wait an additional 2 weeks.

Koi

me oso have similar exp with pammie..
my first visit to gynae nth detected at all.. so oni did urine test..
second visit wasnt appt made by us. is bcoz i had spotting so i go chk up 4 days earlier dan my orginal appt.. detected a sac but no heartbeat.
third visit, which is 4 days ltr, heartbeat is detected. so don worry .. try remain positive.
like was sasha always say.. happy mommie=happy bb

starflower - i have a friend who delivered at Raffles.. I shall sms her how much she paid.. post it when I hear from her. are u considering Raffles? I must say it's a very nice hospital..

thanks Pammie, yeah some gf psycho my dh say Raffles very nice blah blah but my gynae already at GEH...

A cousin told me, less squating and less walking stairs, she had a m/c & thinks its becoz she walked the stairs too much...

dog poo, rabbit poo shud be ok, but my gynae say be careful of cat poo, some term called tocoplasmosis or something...

Koi,
dont forget every visit costs money so if it's just a urine test, it's not likely going to be anything diff from the test you already did at home or at the clinic.

starflower - ultimately how much you pay depends alot on 3 things :

1. room size ( double or single or ...)
2. delivery mode (natural or c sect)
3. how long you stay at hosp.

remember added costs are epidural or other aid, and doctor's fees.. room rates u can easily call the hosp up to check. for some ppl, they can leave within 2 days. Others choose to stay on longer in case C sect or baby has jaundice n they want to stay in hosp to BF the baby. So all these will add to the cost.

Hope this helps

starflower - yes u can drink essence of chicken but in moderation. My sis drank alot in 1st preg n developed gestational diabetes. i think doc did say it was too much cos my mom didn't know, kept giving her.

pammie, starflower

I drink Brands Chicken Essence every morning before breakfast. My momee wants me to drink it twice a day, but i oni drink once a day. Scare drink too much.

Luckily my dh tries to do everything and even when i say i wanna help, he says no need
Anyone of you still doing housework? I also think that hanging clothes, raising the bamboo pole full of wet clothes, shouldn't be done by us, cos it's heavy.
1598748.gif

me still doin hsewrk. coz im a hsewife mah.. but i dilly dally doin it lor. hahas..
i oni mop floor once a wk. =P
im still doing laundry as well.. but i dont raise bamboo poles. coz i use hanger to hang clothes in door.
for mopping floor, i try to keep the mop pail in the toilet instead of carrying it ard the hse..

Minnie
pammie had mention that her sis drank alot in 1st preg n developed gestational diabetes. My mum told me if drink too much bb will be too big to be born natural

Question: My daughter-in-law is 13 weeks pregnant. I have bought her 2 dozens of Brand's but she is not sure if it is advisable to drink it during her pregnancy. Kindly advise. Thank you.

Answer: Congratulations ! We'll be glad to recommend that you consume BRAND'S® Essence of Chicken as it is an ideal food supplement for pregnant and post-delivery mothers, not only for physical and mental health during pregnancy but also blood restoration as well as for breast feeding after giving birth.

In addition, BEC is 100% natural made from wholesome chicken and contains no fat, no cholesterol, no preservatives, no added msg, no stimulants, no artificial colouring and flavouring. It is also sugar free and low in sodium.

The recommended intake of BRAND'S® Essence of Chicken for pregnant lady is 1-2 bottle(s) daily. You may take it on regular basis for long term benefit as BRAND'S® Essence of Chicken is safe to be consumed.

BRAND'S® Essence Of Chicken (BEC) has been scientifically proven and especially beneficial for pregnancy:

1. Enhance iron absorption and utilization. Iron is very crucial for healthy blood formation.
2. Increase energy and relieve fatigue
3. Help to keep blood sugar level and blood pressure under control to prevent from pregnancy complication.

Besides, it also benefits women during confinement:

1. Stimulates the restoration of blood.
2. Promote early milk secretion, improve milk production and maintain good quality of mother's milk
3. Reduce physical and mental fatigue

Nevertheless, please consult your health professional if you are in doubt or have certain medical condition

Found the above here: http://www.brandsworld.com.my/cms.www/askexpertreply.aspx?sid=241&fid=12#313

Hope it helps!

eh i dun hang on bamboo poles.. i hang on clothes rack... those foldable type? cos sun dont shine at our service balcony... so hang at our balcony where the sun shines. hehe... its not too bad la... only 2 of us... nt that many clothes per load...

hubby told me not to clean the hse.. he said he will do it... but i cnt stand all the hair(mine) on the bedroom floor and toilet floor.. so i use the magic clean lo.... shld be okie ba...

now im jus thinking if i shld mit my galfrns to eat crab beehoon or not... hmmm... i wil sure crave for chill craBs... arGh... torture... so tempting...! hubbs says up to me... hmmm how... craving liao... hehehe...

oic...but now BB is still not able to absorb from momee yet rt? So the chicken essence is for me (the momee) not the BB?

I think moderation is the word... Thanks!

minnie/kom - my nephw was a 7+pounder ! Im not sure due to genes or chicken essence. But the kind my sis drank was not exactly from a bottle. My mom bought the chicken and made it into essence for her - speak of labour of love!

Re hsework - im fortunate as i rely on maid. the only heavy 'thing' i carry is my 13kg daughter..

missycandy,
hmm.. i still eat crabs during my pregnancy.. i dun believe the myth lor.. but dun overeat cos it might caused ur bb to have allergies nex time..

crab is really not advisable due to high levels of mercury. But then again so is tuna and a host of other fish.. how to find out how much mercury each contain?

missycandy

for me i have alrdy eaten 3 or 4 times of crabs le.. lol if u crave dan eat lor.. but don overeat k.. everything in moderation

i tink mercury will oni be found in big fish like shark etc.. i dont tink crab will have mercury leh. lol anyway , is my mom who bought me crabs to eat.. maybe i will ask gynae abt it agn..

Wah!
Can't follow the thread moving so fast. Well I don't take chicken essense at all coz I don't like the taste and smell. Throughout my #1 I don't take tonics during pregnancy only birdnest.

According to the link that steph gave,

<font color="ff0000">The four highest mercury level ones are:</font>
Shark
Tilefish (Gulf of Mexico)
Swordfish
King mackerel

<font color="0000ff">The medium ones are:</font>
Bass (Chilean)
Mackerel Spanish (Gulf of Mexico)
Halibut
Snapper
Lobster Northern (American)
Tuna all (Fresh or frozen)
Grouper (All species)
Monkfish
Bass(Sea bass/ Striped Bass/ Rockfish)
Orange Roughy

<font color="119911">The low ones are:</font>
Tuna (canned)
Pollock
Trout Seawater
Sablefish
Trout Freshwater
Crab(Blue, King, and Snow)
Cod
Squid
Anchovies
Catfish
Carp
Oysters
Scallop
Salmon (Fresh or frozen)
Herring
Tilapia
Crawfish
Clam
Shrimp
Salmon (Canned)
Clam

Enjoy your crab beehoon!
1598900.gif

Hmmmm.....seem like stingray nvr fall into any of the category....I luv Samba BBQ stingray! Yummmy... Then I can oso enjoy my crab liao....Heeheehee...

Thanks to all your recommendation, I managed to buy the Elancyl stretch mark cream at promotional price. Bought all of them on the shelf since that's all left and the new batch won't be on promotion.

Another good news, I managed to get refund for my tickets to london, only required to pay $400 cancellation fees. Phew! glad things went well and I don't feel so heart pain now.

As for maternity clothes, are you ladies going to check out Zara and Top shop? I think their collection are quite nice.

I am also going to start drinking more papaya milkshake now, helps to generate more breastmilk.

Hi Scrumpee,
I thought cannot take too many papayas? Hmm... Unsure of the reason though! Congrats for getting the refund! Now you have more money to splurge on ur next trip. Have u decided where?

Hi Funny,
i like stingray too! But i read before something abt stingray and bb's skin... Should be a bantang thingy. I also wonder if we can eat stingray!

Shashamama,

Errrmmmm....bantang...when I had my gal, I oso ate stingray...but in moderation lah...after heard ppl say stingray hav high mercury content then I try to curb having stingray....mayb moderation bah....shld be okie....I tink I wan to eat crab n stingray 2nite...Heeheehee...

Srumpee.
Where did you get the Elancyl stretch mark cream from? JL or Watson? When will the promo end hah? Wah you brought all ah, how many tubes is that?

Sashamama
Still London but will not go to Amsterdam and Berlin. Hubby wants me to cut down on flying. So I will be spending 10 days in London in end Sept, perhaps take trains out to cities near London.

Cannot take papaya meh? My colleagues who were pregnant drank a glass of papaya milkshake everyday before and after birth and they said it helps with breastfeeding.

BTW, feel like a glutton now. Ate lunch at 12pm and feel hungry by 5pm. Just had a cheese pancake to ease my hunger. Then at 7pm, going to my mum's place for dinner..eat again.

Hi Srumpee,

Really envy your appetite. I eat only to keep my nausea away. Appetite very small... occassionally i got cravings for buk kut teh... weird craving. But i make sure i dont take more than 3 slices of liver.... I miss the times when eating is my fav past-time. have been losing weight since i tested +ve.

Asura
Don't envy me, I don't want to grow too fat. But I guess, this is better than having bad MS like many of you here. Will be so hard to concentrate at work right? and nausea is a terrible feeling.

Jasmine
I bought at Tiong Bahru Plaza's Gardian. Only 6 bottles left so I bought all and the sales person said that 6 bottles are enought to last through out the pregnancy. I think there is no deadline for the promotion, once the promotional packs are sold then thats it.

The info below is on consuming papaya during pregnancy:

http://health.yahoo.com/pregnancy-resources/papaya-avoid-during-pregnancy/healthwise--tn9779.html

If you are pregnant or trying to become pregnant, avoid eating papaya or using a papaya product. Papaya is sometimes recommended for soothing indigestion, which is a common ailment during pregnancy. Although a fully ripe papaya is not considered dangerous, a papaya that is at all unripe contains a latex substance that triggers uterine contractions. Contractions of the uterus could lead to a miscarriage.

The papaya enzyme that helps soothe indigestion is called papain, or vegetable pepsin. Papain is found in the fruit's latex and leaves. Researchers have noted that unripe papaya latex acts like prostaglandin and oxytocin, which the body makes to start labor. Synthetic prostaglandin and oxytocin are commonly used to start or strengthen labor contractions.

Thought liver cannot take when pregnant? Oranges cannot take also? I every night take. Will stop taking orange juice then. Then what can pregnant women eat for their fruits intake? Durian also cannot take, papaya cannot also...

Then can only eat banana and apples? I just started drinking Brand's essence of Fish.

Srumpee,

Tell me about it man. It is real difficult to concentrate at work these days. Other than fighting my nausea, my mind is too tired to work. And when i have energy, all i can think of is my bb. Got to admit that productivity has gone down a little. through i make sure that there is reasonable progress in my work but i definitely cant work as fast. Walking to printer also slow cos i make each step carefully.

Oppsgal,

Liver eat minimally should be okay... that's my fav also... used to eat up one entire plate of it..