(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Lenny,
I also didn't give ang bao for the 1st year after married. As I got married in Dec. And CNY fall on Feb. But I do gave a ang bao to my mum only. Some do follow but some don't.

Jasmine,
no didn't make it to the carter's sale. was contemplating to go on friday, but hubby scared that it'll be too crowded and i'll be too tired as i went to dinner with the mummies also.

then sat and sun, my schedule was packed from morning till night. so no chance to make it there

lenny - we give ang baos even during the first year but we received from some of our aunts/uncles as well...

we give the ang baos to our cousins leh...those same generations as us one as well as our nephew...my hb onli has one nephew....for my side, no nephews/nieces at the moment...

also heard first yr don't need to give but MIL told us many times must give..so we gave but some aunties did give us Ang Bao too

Pinksorbet
So nice. No need to give alot of ang baos. Both my hubby and my side siblings + their spouse and godsister, we got total of 10 people. Haiz.....got headache as do not know how much should we pack this year.

Hi Mummies! It's Christmas this week! Time flies

sportyger
Yea, Aussino - guess all the nice stuff were grabbed on the 1st day. Not much space inside the room down the trolley aisle. My tummy was really in the way! haha

We also went to Mothercare @ Harbourfront yesterday. Their bb clothes and accessories are really nice but $$ even with discounts. My hubby bought 5 x bb shoes and one hat costing $56 after discount.

kome
10 people not a lot already lah...
i got 6 other siblings, lucky only give my younger brother. but have 10 nephews and nieces, 2 cousins to give in spore. lucky, all other cousins, nephews and nieces are in msia... if not i faint

morning mommies!

this week is holiday week! kekeke...
I had a bad week last week. Got admitted to hospital for pre-term labour contractions. So scare, coz scare will deliver BB so early. BB's only 25 weeks last week. Now taking medications to stop the labour pain and resting at home. Lucky got u mommies to keep me company.

Saw the pics in facebook! All mommies looked great! Hope I can join u gals for the next gathering.

Next year is also my 1st year giving out angbaos. Got my customary this March. Dunno how much to give out oso, but lucky not many cousins/nephews on both our sides.

kome,

wah.... 10 pax in total... think my total is abt 50 pax... haiz...
Actually not the last time u give them ang pows lah... u got to give them a big one for their wedding... when they serve u tea.. so if really feel that their last one, u can always give them a bigger one for their wedding..

minnie24
are you feeling better now?
no wonder didn't see you in the thread recently. hope you are ok.

yeah, the dinner was great, we had a good time. i think missycandy is organising another gathering, probably in Feb.

minnie24,

so early got pre-term labour contractions? Did the doc tell u why? U better take care and dont move abt too much! Actually what does contractions feel like?

kome - haha u're wrong...jus from my mum's side alone, i have abt 12 cousins already, this is not including my father's side....who has 9 cousins...
then my hb's side one leh? oso have about 10 over cousins in total....

i give ang baos to my cousins as well, even tho same generation....

I have a total of 32 first cousins from my end only.. if i give all.. i die...

My Mum had 10 other siblings and my dad had 2 cos my grandpa passed on when my dad was 3 yrs old.. else.. more wor.,..

lenny - wow thats a big family u have there

besides one of my hb's younger cousins gg to get married this sun, he wants to offer tea to us and we gotta give ang bao to him oso....then the wedding dinner ang bao oso have to give...

Jtho
Haha.....me too. Lucky all my mephews/cousins and their children in Malaysia, if not i will be very broke liao. Don't know got how many of them. Saw them also don't know the children below to which cousin of mine.

Asura,
Ya....you are right. Hee....never think of that. Still need to give Hong Bao when they serve me tea. Mmmm....might need to reconsider their Hong Bao $$ liao.

Pinksorbet
Same generation if younger than us, i will give also but for friends i won't give lor.....

Will you give to firends who have not marry?

Kome,

i dun think we give to friends le.. its so weird..

for my customary, my hubby's younger siblings also didn't offer us tea. so i dun bother also.

kome - i'm the eldest in my father and mum's side...so all my cousins are younger ones
as for my hb, he got biao ge and biao jie....so those two we won't give lor...jus give to their kids will do...
my sister and brother's ang baos will be much bigger than the cousins of course...

as for frens who have not married, dun tink i will give leh, cos my PILs or my parents will give them if they realli do pay a visit...

Kome,

Me dont... i think 50+ pax already want to faint liao... I think i treat them eat new year goodies more like it.. just joking... I would give to those who come to my place to visit and present me with 2 oranges... Luckily for me, so far, no one came.. hee hee... think even if they come, no one at home.. hahahaha

lenny - i oso find it a bit strange my hb's younger cousin wan to offer tea to us...if own siblings ok la, cousins quite wierd rite?

my siblings got offer tea to my hb and i during our wedding....

hi late monring to all mommies... just woke up.. =P
for the first time, think was too tired becoz of my whole day outing yesterday with my family.. i went to converse sale with my hubby and brothers.. so many people down there.. very cheap.. the cheapest pair of sneakers can be as low as $10, not forgetting i went to esprit at parkway.. there's sale going on as well.. i bought one little tee shirt which is so cute at $12.90 (u.p.: $29.90).. i shld say itz a good buy since esprit is branded liao..

Re: Ang Bao
hmmm... i din manage to give out ang bao for the past two years and also coming this one which adds up to three years.. got customary in late 2006 and for the 2007 is consider our first year, so din give out but also din recieve any ang bao from any adults.. guess our families dun practise tat, once customary means no ang bao.. and for this year becoz my father's mom who is my grandmother pass away before chinese new year, so also cant give out ang bao... as for next year which is the coming year is because my fil just pass away this year in april so oso cant give out ang bao for another year.. by the time i can give out ang bao will have some recoup back from my this boy.. hheheehehe.. =P

minnie24
omg... wat happen? how come u got preterm labour contraction? due to wat reasons? and how is the symptoms like?

Hi mtbs,
I saw e Latido playpen in United Sq Mums n Babes...qite like it...oso e same promotional price.

Itz been a great period of learning n sharing from u all.

Taking this chance to wish u all a blessed Christmas and blissful new year...for e 1st time moms like me...2009 will surely be a big jump for us...frm wives to moms...

Like u all, i hav been looking ard for bb items n books on wat to do after birth...my next appt is 1st week of Jan 2009. By then, I shld b in 30+ week...

Woohoo! Something not related to bb...got a funny Taiwanese 7pm show on U channel called Bu Liang Xiao Hua...beri hilarious...if u looking for something to laugh out loud, this is e show u can make time for...Haha is good for us n bbs too...!

Lenny
Why like that? No matter what you are still their elder sis in law. If my hubby's siblings do not call me 'Da Sao' and serve me tea during their customary, i won't bother about them nor will i give them any ang bao. Very angry to hear that.....like not respecting you. Now don't want to give anymore.

Pinksorbet
I will give to my brother's friends if they visit my mum and i am there. Yup, i felt strange to give ang baos to our friends also. But 1st time giving hong baos both my hubby and me just any how gave. Friends my hubby also gave.

Pinksorbet,

Actually, for cousins to offer tea is not common. for my case, realtionship is bad with in-laws so maybe they purposely dun offer tea. if this is the case, i also heck care.. cos i save all ang pows.

<font color="0000ff">Short week this week, we are knocking off at 12.30pm at Christmas’ Eve. Then after that I will be on leave till 5th January.
Hopefully can finish my shopping for CNY’s clothings for hubby and the kids. Then rest well and start a brand new year.</font>

Irene
Woww....have a good rest during that time. My son going to childcare on 01/02/2009 but my colleague had already taken leave that day. She got sometihing on already =( felt so sad that 1st day cannot go with him.

so good, i dun have half day on x'mas eve....

lenny - ya i agree like not realli respecting u...but its ok u can save on the ang baos....

i told my MIL say sound quite strange my hb's cousin wanna offer tea to us but my MIL told me cos we are married, its like hb and i are considered adults so offering tea to us its ok...

Kome,

My bro did kneel down and offer my hubby and me tea.. whereas his side didn't even offer.. of course i dun expect them to kneel la. apart from these, they did many other things that i dun wanna list out.

haiz.. a lot of things that in-laws do to humiliate not just me and my family. that's why till now i refused to see them since my customary in Jan this yr.. this yrs' CNY i also didn go reunion dinner and didn;t bother to visit them during CNY.

They just got to know that i am preggy right before my FIL's birthday, heard from hubby that they are happy . For his birthday celebration, i still refuse to see them. They know that i am still pissed so FIL bought the Eu Yan Sang birdnest for me .. the 6 bottles pack.. when hubby pass to me, i told him to drink himself or i can throw it away.

Don't plan to go for their reunion dinner as well as sun visit them for CNY either.

I was on the bringe of cancelling our marriage at that time, i told hubby he can have the wedding without the bride showing up.

haiz.. then i give way la and go thru it and didn;t expect them to humiloate me and my whole family. but after that, Hubby agreed that he won't force me to see them cos he knows the consequences of forcing me..

I told him upfront that i am prepared to leave him anytime even if we have kids. when his parents apologised, then i will visit them..

sorry for letting all these out..

Lenny
Its ok. Understand how you feel. Don't need to care about them too much. Take care of your health now.

Asura,
=( No. My dept got 4 person handling different customer accounts also the backup of the other party, so each time they only allow 1 staff on leave.

thanks mommies!

I dunno what causes the pre-term labour contractions. But asked my gynae, he says I moved n walked too much. So no shopping for me and only bed rest. The doc in the hospital didnt say much, was admitted via Emergency. They sent me to delivery suite to prepare for delivery!! Siao! BB so small. How's the pain??!! Oh MAN! painful, so much much much much....painful than menstrual cramps. So both of us (Hubby n I) panic, so Hubby send me to the nearest hospital NUH! The docs there keep "scaring" me by saying I may deliver BB. I think I got worse staying there. Lucky no bleeding. Now staying at home, having bedrest. Trying to relax and "bathing" in the holidays mood from u gals =p

GYnae did a scan for me, BB is fine. Still very active.

minnie
Oh dear, do be careful!!! That must have been quite scary for the both of you. Must follow doc's advice and do bedrest. Glad bb is doing fine.

hi minnie

take care. my first pregancy was admitted at wk34 and delivered at wk35 after water bag leak. gynae suppect i walk too long about 2hrs continuously.

so this round gynae advise me not to walk too much.

minnie
good to hear tat.. omg.. u really gotta rest well.. dun worry.. stay on with positive thoughts and u will get better..

oh dear.....walking too much will cause water bag to burst? I thought on 3rd trimester must wlk more so that we can have a smooth delivery.

Lenny
Just ignore them. Dun make urself unhappy. =D

Kome
Yah, mayb i strained myself too much by walking too much. me a naughty mommy.

Thanks mommies. I'll be good. Staying at home to rest.

so mommies try to rest even after u r shopping. My gynae say now the BB is gaining weight, giving us so much extra weight, stressing our uterus.

ivy
i thought walking more is oso good for delivery..? wa then wat amount of time to walk per day? so ma fan ar.. aiyo.. think i better turn to swimming next month.. another plus point for my decision to take up the aqua course conducted by kkh in jan then.. =)

minnie
true.. totally agree, like my long outing yesterday casue me to sleep thruout like nobody business when i reach home.. aiyo.. damn tired expecially stress just underneath the big tummy..

hi kone

you are encourage to walk only when you are more than wk36 cos by then baby is not premature.

last wk i told my gynae that i can feel the pressure below same thing he said dont walk......

hi p3pp3r

yah i also listen from pple said must walk so i go and walk then that very night water leak...

i still remember that night i was transfer from hospital to hospital....

this round hubby stop me for walk and i hv been taking taxi to/from work. last wk after shopping start to feel whole body pain maybe i am too heavy.....

i think just listen to your body if you feel you are tired and feel the pressure below than stop walking after 30min and hv a rest.

Ivy is right. Now BB is too small and premature. But by 34 weeks, BB is strong enuff to be delivered. Anyway, we have to walk moderately. take rests in between walks even in our late trimester.

But now I'm refrain from walking. Can only walk around in my house. Now cant even pack my BB's nursery. Haiz... guess i have to be good and try to recover.