(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

anyone bought the breastpump already?? today i just bought the stroller (S226) and infant car seat(S1100) from kiddy palace at Causeway Point, total costs $320. Quite a deal actually cos hubby and me waited for the promotion for some time already. Both from Capella.

Went to hyperstore and bb kingdom today, we were looking for cot, but realised they sold all the bedding set separately, so decided to hold on.

Anyone got good playpen to recommend? we saw Latido and Looney Tunes brand today but cannot make up our mind, mind to share pics and prices of the playpen that any of you bought?

kris i bought latido playpen =P

for breastpump i havent bought.. initially eyeing avent duo... but was recommended to buy medela... and am eyeing the freestyle but i think its quite expensive... =( hopefully i pop after the march fair so can buy from there.. hahaa!

2003331.jpg

pic of the playpen i bought... ya bought blue colour... was between blue or dull brown... hubby say get blue lor... =\

keron&Jeris,
my friend was telling me to hold on to breast pump 1st since not sure if we will have adequate milk flowing..so no pt investing in a high end one and end up not using..anyway breastpump choice i don see a lot. it's either avent/medela.

missycandy, i saw this model too, got a few colors to choose from, think yellow is a more neutral colour.. how much did you get? does it comes with the mattress?

the salespple at bb kingdom recommended medela electric swing to me, saying between avent and medela, medela's power is stronger, so still thinking about it, but hubby said why not wait till the bb popped then see how cos we wont know if we will be breastfeeding for long too...

moomooland,
good for u to have gal..i only managed to spend $56 at carter sales. Bought 5 pieces romper set, 3 blankets and 6 other misc rompers only...the sale really depend on luck one..the staffs keep bringing in new stuffs very hard to catch.

vernice, true enough, i tink will hold on first. Decided if breast feeding was too tiring during confinement or during my maternity leave, at least hubby knows where to get it, esp when i cant step out of the house... heard too many stories about mummies getting up at night to breastfeed, spending 1 hour every 2-3 hours interval..

vernice..i bought $69 worth of goodies heh...just abit more than you ha!

got the following items:
1) 2 5 romper sets - $8ea
2) 5 dresses - 2 for $10
3) 6 dresses - 3 for $10
4) 2 blankets - $4ea

quite happy with the purchases, but hubby said no more buying, since we have bought from NB to 9mths...

i will probably buy the breast pump becos when i go back to work, i will still pump milk at work lo... wait for sales ba... i bought it at 119 if im nt wrong.. doesnt come with mattress.. i bought at OG chinatown... ya they say medela stronger... within 10-15mins can be done which is good for me... hehehe

swing is only single pump??? hmmm i prefer double... =) then have to pay for it lor... haiii...

i will try and try for BF... i dont wish to give up easily... anyway 1st few days bb wun be that hungry so no need to feed so much... keron nvm ah... next week the class i think will talk abt BF.. can ask more then.. hee hee...

i intend to breastfeed day and night for 1st mth at least... then see how things go... if really bth then i will only BF at night then day time let my mum feed with expressed BM... =)

yea, i will hold on the breast pump purchase, in case no production...quite interested in the breastfeeding cushion thingy too, looks very comfortable, but it cost around $80, so will hold on that as well...

will probably be purchasing things like steriliser, bottles, detergents etc...

nursing bras - will check out this few weeks later ba.....

keron,
ya..the pumps are available everywhere so easy to get..medela like don't offer discount. Avent do offer discount ard 20% at certain dept store. so unless u really decided and want to get avent then can buy now. if not better wait. i don't even know if i can provide my bb EBM after maternity leave as i might have to resume my travelling...

moomooland,
wa..also not bad liaoz..i bought a night gown for myself too heehee..don feel like wearing pants cos they are too tight even if i wear them below my tummy.

misscandy,
they also can dual pump better...since when u r feeding one side, the other side will also leak so don't waste..and expressing both side at same time will save much time

i think i overspent at the sale.. haha i spent $102... actually wld be less than 80 but i itchified and bought the 3 pc carters sleep suit for 18mths -_-" each set costs $12 if im nt wrong... hahaha!

i also bought 1 5pc romper set $8, 9 of the $5 sets, 3 of the 3 for $10, 3 blankets at $4 each and 2 of the 3 pc sets $12 each...

now thinking abt it shld have bought more of the 3 for 10... but becos its 1 piece... cnt remove the bottom.. in the event kena poop or urine must change everything =\

moomooland,
i saw the breastfeeding cushion too..but like not worth it leh..i remember in mrs wong class she showed women breastfeeding using stiffer pillows..thats what i intend to do too if i am bfing

ya... the breastpump is really an investment... but its quite amazing becos medela like has so many parts to it... but i see avent like doesnt... maybe it does but no one sells it or nt much adverts on it... hmmm.... medela must change the valve la.. membrane la... =\ cheem...

oh yah, heard that nursing bras dont get to choose cups, is it true? sighs.. now then i gancheong to source for the stuffs, hahahaaa...

went for my gynae checkup on Friday, bb is 1208g at 28wks, double the size one month ago, but i put on 9.7kg since pregnant!! Argh!!!! nowadays tend to walk slower already, walk or stand longer will get backaches, so better to finish buying all the stuffs then i can relax liaoz....

misscandy,
i saw the sleep suit too..but only got 1 design more suitable for boys and was for 18mths..so i tot maybe by 18mths i can wait till the next sale liaoz..heehee

my buying principle now is to only buy from 3-9 mths cos at 9 mths it will be YE again so more sales going on..heehee..even the GSS also ard when bb is 3 mths..so better wait till then in case bb grow too fast

missycandy,
ya i am also confused with the medela breastpump..so many accessories..so tot wait till mrs wong class 1st then see how..medela pump is not cheap..the electric swing also need $193 liaoz...

Keron,
if i am not wrong, other mummies were saying that we shld buy nursing bra maybe like in jan/feb cos our breast will till "upsize" wor..so u might want to wait.

i also walk slower nowadays...i will be at 28w this coming tues heehee..i guess my bb also grow a lot since i put on abt the same as u
but i am cutting down my food intake. just take enough will do

is the breastfeeding cushion that you gals talking about referring to the one that can clip on our waist like a swimming float? i saw a daddy helping his wife to carry while the wife is carrying the bb, hahaaa.. ignorant pple might tot why they bring a swimming float ard...

vernice - after buying and thinking abt it then realise.. ya.. hahaha! i actually dun have 0-3mths clothes yet... LOL! i bought mostly 6mths to 1 yr... worried bb big or grow too fast.. haha! i will wait nearer to my edd b4 i buy the smaller sized clothes ba... see how big bb is then... =P 193 is cheap liao wor... the freestyle is 600+ lor... =( so sian...

i tot of getting the float thing for bf-ing but jhto said the c shaped cushion like quite good leh... i havent gone down to paragon to check it out yet... but heard that shop quite pricey lo... hai... very hard to budget liao... LOL

vernice which day did u go ??? today there were 2 designs.... one is frog and one is fruit... maybe the frog one a bit boyish but the fruit one is yellow... quite girly wor.... but 18mths... ahahaha!!! anyway i plan to go again next yr... for the sale... hee hee...

missycandy,
the float thing and C shaped cushion is different meh? ya the shop at paragon is "The first Year" right? the stuffs there are all upmkt type leh...went once before and saw all the strollers are like near 1K+ lor..fainted..
eh if i don remember wrongly, someone actually had discount at that shop leh but i forget who..

i think don't need to buy much 0-3 mths clothes..can wear home clothes..even if go out cos bb will be wrapped up most of time..no pt too nice..a few pieces will do..

missycandy,
i went ytday morning before 930am i think..not many ppl..i think i saw something in green color leh..so boys cn wear..

hmmm... float is like c-shaped but its a float for Bf-ing... the one that jtho bought is quite big c shape wor.. she is using it as a bolster/pillow now... for support.. then she said cn use it to BF baby in future... the float i dun tink cn use it to sleep now right???

hmmm oo i went this morning ard 9plus... saw some ppl buying in bulk... i guess they are the ones who sell to ppl... after going for such sales, i kinda cringe when i see prices outside... and i really dont feel like buying anything becos the prices are usually $10 above... and not worth buying becos i knw cn find cheaper ones lor... hai...

i havent gone to the 1st yr yet... i think my eyes will pop if i see the prices... hahaha... well also paragon wor... sure upmarket pricing...

if im nt wrong, the float is called breastfriend or something... you can strap it to your waist...

hai... thinking abt it.. stil have big ticket items to buy... stuff like breastpump! and also the carrier... am optin for ergo but will prolly get it later stage... after the bb is born.. but need to get the breastpump ba... then all the small items... detergent la... diapers la.. nailclipper... hai... somemore next yr need to give out hong bao for cny =( january wil be broke... by feb must get most things ready liao...

hahaahaa... missycandy, you just got married this year like me? i got married in june and immediately got pregnant after my honeymoon in june.. everything seems like a flash and cant imagine i will see my princess in 2months plus time..

some families practised 1 year of marriage no need to give angpow, but my hubby side doesnt practise that, so no choice lor, still got to distribute happily.. haaaa.. just hope that the relatives will be more generous during the bb shower, but due to the recession, i dun tink nowadays pple will bao big lor...

oh..missycandy..i remembered the one jtho bought. that one is like 100+ right? too exp for me..cos i simple just use bolster and pillows. save whatever i can.

serious?? u mean those ppl buyin in bulk are the ones also selling in BP? but some BP got very nice designs which i don need there too..hmm...i already stop buying stuffs from BP. Tho they might be cheaper than dept stores but i don't like the way they are earning money from other mummies. I saw a BP on meiji amnio collegen from Japan selling each at $40 but i buy direct from Japan like only $32 lor..even ebay only selling at $37. i don understand why ppl still want to buy from her.

i will prob wait till bb pop then buy pump and carrier. i got backaches often so my hb needs to be comfy with the carrier so just wait and see how then
i also haven get all the small items. think my mum will help me get them ba..then i can save $$ hahaa

this is my 3rd yr giving ang pows..so sad everyyear need abt $2K leh...sianz...

vernice, 2k?????? wow, you got a big family?? unless you included those that you giving for ur parents/ hubby's parents/ grandparents, if not 2k is really a lot worr...

keron,
wa..u just got married this yr and got bb immediately? so u only waste 1 yr of ang pows only..since the following yr ur bb can help u 'recoup' a bit...poor me..3rd yr liaoz..sigh..

waaa 2k... =( yeh i also got married this yr but in Feb... kakaka =P hubby also mentioned 1st yr no need to give hong bao but i said dont be so gian peng lor... his cousin got married last yr oct then this yr feb gave out hong baos liao... so we shld also give lor... and im sure the kids will jus come up to us and expect us to give... so no choice lo... plus need to give to our grannies and parents... haiii

ya jtho bought i tink ard 139... i also get back aches often so carrier wld be better option for hubby =)

im also tired.. need to wake up early... tmr have event.... haiii... sian ah... anyway this week will be short week of work... so happy! hee... im half day on tues then on leave on wed and off on thurs.. so wil be left to work on Mon, Fri & sat half day... not too bad... but the week will pass by really fast =(

goodnight mummies!

vernice80,

Me also 3rd yr giving out ang pows.... Actually the big tickets are the parents/grandparents. Normally i give about $100 to each parent.. so have give out the smaller denomination ang pows already spent $1k liao.

missycandy
Re: Aussino Sale
Yup, we bought Sino Zepheus + Royal Symphony Biella fitted sheets and quilt covers averaging 70+% off. Sino Zepheus cotton sateen has 600TC so thought that's a good bargain. There wasn't a whole lot of other things that we need. Nothing for babies when we were there. Aussino bedsheets didn't have any nice designs left.

keron,
2K includes ur parents/ hubby's parents/ grandparents/my sis too...and i got like 10 cousins from just my side..not considering some distance cousins whom we meet once in a blue moon. my hb family is smaller lor.

nites,
keron & missycandy

asura,
ya mine also abt $100 each plus younger sis too...the smaller one just give $4 only except for those special cases

vernice80,

Yah lor... my cousins mostly married but got lots of niece and newphews... abt 20 of them! Luckily hb's family is small.. else sure very broke.. we dont give alot to our younger brothers cos they are working already.

these 3 days so pissed off with hubby, shows him black face. in summary, fri due to late dinner appt and ended up late dinner and return home late (nearly 10pm). Sat, dunno why men like to drag timing and stoned there, not automatic, need to nag this and that. I got rashes and still want to go for his badminton sports. I told him dunno my rashes will spread to other or not cos I dun dare to carry my gar mah. sunday, suppose to go market but this man hor, dunno why like to zzz...even at 9am. slp late never mind, but with tv or PC on...so pissed off. need to switch off and scold him even weekdays. even tired also want to watch tv.....so pissed so.

even pissed off is at barney show.....on sun noon.

We were at the front row just behind the fence only. I was snapping photos and videoclip the show, a young Malay 'auntie' with a kid pushed me and even called me inconsiderate. I was pissed off and told her that I was standing here and that Malay lady told me she did say excuse me to me. wow come on, the place was so noisy, who know she was speaking and calling me. can't she tap on my shoulder or call once more time. Everyone was too engross in the show, who bother her? that Malay lady was so rude and I nearly fell off (not balance). I was quite pissed off but could not bother to argue with her bec I did not want to miss out snapping and videoclip the show. but I was a bit regret that I can tell her off and said that I dun even hear her saying excuse and already got a push liao. I also can argue that she can come here earlier to chop place and also can carried up her son also mah, why need to push people away and chop people's place. she herself is more inconsiderate. such a rude person man....*&(*&(^**^%&^

tml, me gg for my checkup again for my rashes. think I suspected it is due to my office painting touch up cos my mild rashes only appeared abt fews days later after the touch up of the painting. then before my checkup up on 9/12, I got a very bad rashes on my tummy, tummy like sunburn and super itchy. then the following week, dunno why spread out to face, hands, legs, waist, neck etc.... hubby mentioned that it is bec the air circulation in my office not gd (of cos, no window , where to circulate air) and then with fan on, it worsen bec vapourise will spread. that's why some col also got mild rashes, cold, flu etc....

<font color="119911">mummies,
do yr tummy very low, cos some mummies also 's tummy very high wor....</font>

<font color="119911">SeaBreeze</font>,
re:stretchmark.
same like u last time, i also missed the lower part of the tummy too. only concentrate on the tummy ard belly btn and side. same same, now got to apply all over the tummy. I also applied on my back thigh too and hoping my varcose veins will go away.

<font color="119911">Vernice80</font>,
dun buy so much clothes cos bb grew very fast. if want to buy, get a bigger size one. like my gar when she is 6mth, she can wear 9mth - 12mth clothings liao. then 18mth, can wear 2 yr old clothings.

<font color="119911">pinksorbet</font>,
dunno who tell me before that during the tummy stretching, it started with red poka dots. if one just ignore, fine but then at the end of the day, think it will turn tp streaks of stretchmark - silver liner type loh.

Hi muummies,

Nice meeting the mummies at the dinner.

Babe, I went for the aussino sale too. Bought the sino bedsheet that has 600 threadcount. I agree the rest of the bedsheet has limited design.

Morning ladies.
Enjoy meeting you all last friday. =)

Asura
Same as you, this time 3rd yesr giving ang bao. Haiz.....not sure if want to increase the $$ to sibling and parents....Coz my hb side 2 sibling just got ROM so this might be the last year giving them ang bao, but i need to consider the amt to keep asode for delivery &amp; confinement too. Need to think carefully.

Hie! Gd morng xD
Same here.. not getting the pump yet since doesn't know if really needed and got so much milk anot..
If really needed, hubby can go and buy he knows where to get when baby pops..

I shld be getting the Avent milk bottles and accessories.. is Avent good or are there any recommended brands?

Good morning Mummies...

New Customs at Malaysia.
We went in to JB early morning on Sat. The new custom was so ridiculous. Such a long way in for cars driving in. I think anyone can just take a bus in, do some shopping and then take the bus back without going thru the Malaysia Customs. No need to chop passport also no one will know... We went in about 7am and reached about 8.30am. Cannot trust the OneMotors website on the Woodlands side now. Sure no jam.. It's jammed at the long way into the Customs at J.B. side.. And all Singapore cars need to have the "Touch and Go" card before you can enter Malaysia. But coming out was very smooth. I think not many ppl wants to go in after one or two times... Haha...

Corene
Haha.. Just joking. Ya.. Her items are very unique. Wonder where she get all those lobang from.

Dinner
Sounds like all those going to the Dinner had a fun time. Was the steamboat at Coca nice? Next time ask my hubby to go. I saw the photos.. So nice.. All the pretty mummies... Next time must plan for one more...

Caca
Was just joking...
Dun take it for seriously lah... Your stuffs are very unique... Was actually interested in your Flower Sunsuit but my sis said wanna go to Carter's Sale and see see first... She bought alot of Sunsuits for her gal..

Miss83
Dun buy Avent cups. No good... It will leak.

Misscandy
I still recommend Medela PIS Advanced. I used the Avent dup before. Not as good and as powerful. You can invest, since it is your No 1 only. Can keep for the next baby.

My ger's rashes/insert bites
My ger went back to J.B. and kena with insert bites back. So xin tong. She keep on scratching. Dunno if it is bed bugs.. So scary... Bought her to the GP and he gave some cream and flu medicine to prevent itch. Anyone any idea on even faster way to heal? Is the Dr Lily's Aloe Vera cream good fot this if anyone as tried?

Its a brand new week again, btu this week should be quite easy to pass cos got x'mas eve, x'mas celebrations and all =)

afcai - oh dear sounds like u realli had a bad weekend...i guess thats the problem with crowds, ppl pushing here and there...i was at robinsons on sat with my hubby, mum, aunt and my bro to shop for bb stuffs and omygawd, the place was so crowded! i was so scared ppl might bump into my tum tum too, but my hb was looking out for me and placing his hand in front of my tummy so he could push it away should anyone bumps it unknowingly...but the good thing is, i manage to spend my $150 robinsons vouchers by spending it on the bb stuffs...getting the person to deliver the items this fri cos can ask for free delivery. And thanks for the infor on the red dots...i've beginning to discipline myself to apply the stretchmark cream everyday...

I saw the mummies photos on facebook...nice nice...the smiles on the faces are as bright as the lights on the x'mas tree

Did u all like the coca food?

this week should be relaxed and good for me. boss on leave today till wed, so not so much work to rush. then i'll be on leave on fri... hehehe

Morning jtho,
Guess everyone must be clearing their leave ba. So did you went to the carter sales? I saw few preggy mummies there but dare not ask if they're from March MTB... peisay to ask... I brought quite lot of clothes but mostly 9mths and above only 4 sets are 3-6months as they're really nice pieces... Spend $140, but I got myself 2 tops and 1 set of PJ set for myself...

Me still here, but need to clear some work so just read all the post only. Heehee....but last few days one got no time to read.

keron &amp; jeris,

I am surprised to hear that you mentioned about no need to give ang pow after first yr of maariage.

My dad told me that too.. After the first yr of our customary, we are still supposed to receive ang pows for us to have babies soon.. (Zao Sheng Gui Zi)

then after that, we are only to give ang pows to ppl who are in in our younger generation. Meaning our nieces and nephews or our friend's children. for our cousins, in the same generation.. we are not supposed to give them ang pows even if they are kids or young adults and not married.

I am just amazed by how ppl here treat new yr as a money making scheme by extorting ang pow.

Hmm .. I thin according to the books that i read about customs, the meaning of elders giving the younger ones to "grow up fast" (Kuai Gao Zhang da)

and for those married couples and working adults giving to their parents or grandparents is a gratitute for bring them up..

sorry... Red packets are also known as 壓歲錢/压岁钱 (Ya Sui Qian, which was evolved from 壓祟錢/压祟钱, literally, the money used to suppress or put down the evil spirit ) during this period.