(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

iceblue..

actually i am more to thinking that my baby is drinking too little lay...woah but 3 weeks already 100ml....that quite something.....

I read from internet that baby's weight double their birth weight or more by 3 months old.. this is the period they grow fastest in their lives..so okie to feed more as per demand. dont deprive them from nutrients by giving pacifier or plain water..

i think PetPEt quite ok....all my niece and nephew using that...i am going to start buying that too...cos it is quite affordable.

bcos my baby frm birth is big...3.75 kg.. the followin aft she born go PD check up, PD suggest giv her 80-90 ,3hrs interval.. but along the way we increase to 100ml, then nw she cant tahan 3hrs de..

pet pet seems gt gd review sia. n so much cheaper..haha but me nw dunno buy wat weight de.care she vry fast over 6kg!

Hi Whitegalz...

Oh Kylene is so adorable with the headband hehe..
And the AXA thingy from the FBI,they will contact u and the policy will only be of effect aft u bring Kylene for 1stmth check up since they wanna make sure that she is of gd health...oh well free stuff are like tat i guess...i haven met up with mine yet.Let me knw more info ya...

Hi LemonT,
How come yrs so long mine already gt the 1k fm "Mr Lee" le wor..maybe u shld call and check with them.

Letter i think i receive it by the 3rd wk of his birth to inform that he is eligible for the baby bonus and etc..Oh ya very excited to receive letters for Bryston haha and he also have his own atm card liao haha...

Shirlyn,
If you think your bb is jaundiced, you can ask the doc about it. Late onset jaundice may have other causes.

My bb seat is at the back middle, facing rear. I can't see my bb at all. If he cries, I let him cry. He sits at the back with his kor-kor and jie-jie. The first few times we brought the kids out in the car, kor-kor actually stepped on bb's face!!!! We disciplined him for it. He seems to have gotten over that now. Doesn't do it anymore. *phew*
Sometimes bb will wail, even if they're satisfied with everything else. Just have to 'ren' and drive on. Fortunately, our trips in Sg are usually short, not more than half an hour.
Yesterday, I drove alone with jie-jie and bb. He cried too. Can't be helped lah. Used to it already.

Lemon,
Why do you need the letter to open the baby bonus a/c? We opened the a/c at the same time as applying for the baby bonus.
But on the topic of letters, I received the confirmation and other mailers when my bb was about 2-3 wks old. We applied at the hospital.

Ramy,
Don't think it was me talking about bb sales. I don't shop
. Anyway, saw in the ST that Taka is having a baby sale now.

Ramy: He fusses like nobody's business...refuse to sleep and tear the whole roof down...he is already 5 weeks old, dun seem to be able to distinguish day and night...hmm...delaying his bedtime doesn't help. It seems that he is waking up at 4:30am like clock work.. :-(

seems like more babies here r drinking a lot.. keke.. i was hoping my boy don become fat fat cos his daddy used to be a fat boy when he was small. its so hard to control his drinking now..

lol... kylene always sleepyhead, cut hair also in sleep mode..

i also helping my sis to promote her headband, so post kylene's pics here.. she sold 2 headbands after kylene become her model n she said give kylene free headbands.. so happy..

i think huggies not bad, got one day i too tired, >12 hrs nvr change, it still nvr leak but v heavy.. day time i use drypers cos cheap.. how much is petpet?

ok, lili.. will let u know

iceblue : It is ok to give your baby more milk per feed... if she cannot finish, she'd stop.. just don't force feed or deprive her. How old is she now?

Grace : How often is ur bb feeding now? Mine is quite erratic.. this morning after feeding him for 90ml, he was hungry again 1.5 hours later...so fed him 125ml(PD advised can feed between 120-150ml) and now, it's 2.5 hours liao, hez sound asleep... he was fretting and crying whole morning =( I am really quite manzhang cos he is not taking his medicine also. I forgot.. when was ur bb born ah?

lonerunner
i aldy start using Avent #2 (for 1+mths) teats for Breana.. & shes taking it quite well.. hv to do it slowly, concurrent w #1 & observe. ur instinct will tell u when is e right time for #2.

olively
a few of my gfs using PETPET for their babies/ children too... good feedback. but NEPIA is even cheaper. so which is better? got to save cost.. haha

LiLi
yah lor... got contact in the MCYS letter anot? can give me so i can call.. u MSN me? think i better chk.

too bz w baby & house... aiya.. all excuses la.. just being lazy :p

we should exchange info on milk powder and nappies. Currently, i am using nepia but realised that quite heavy on pockets cos change abt 10 pcs a day leh.. my boy urines alot...

peachmomo,

yr parents are REALLY persistent! think if my parents kept nagging me abt it..i will break down, always been sensitive abt my weight..but yr dad ask u to watch show that part..quite funny.hahah..

wa..nose canal congested with fats sounds scary..my girl also breathing louder,was worried,heng saw yr post..feel more relieved..

lemonT

i tot Petpet cheaper than nepia lay...let me go check....cos if nepia cheaper, then maybe continue with it....nepia can hold urine quite well.

but i read that nepia is not so good when baby gets older and can move ard a lot.....but i dun know how old they were referring to...

Priviledged
i called OCBC, they said need e MCYS letter to open Baby Bonus acc..

Whitegalz
its not good to keep wet diaper on for more than 5hrs. its bad for their skin & will result in UTI. My nephew got UTI & PD advised to change every 4hrly. but i changed every 5hrly.

PETPET Size S 46pcs
Shop & Save - $8.10
NTUC - $7.95

Cold Storage - Size M 5-11kg 70pcs $15.20

yaer,

my girl has the same top (the one where yr girl is tearing the house down)! haha

olivery,
i like yr " u wanna to challenge mummy right, i dun believe an adult cannot outdo a baby" mindset..hhahaha

iceblue,
yr bb really fast lei..i thought babies turn over at 3 months onwards..

GT: we try not to sudly increase her feed.vry scare she wil end up get use to tt amount..she's 22days old nw

thn she gt strange habit of kp mil under her tongue..dunno y!

sataryeo:
ya lor she scared us lor.nw she no turn but shes lik halfway there, there vry forcefull, we wry is she cant balance herslf while struggle then sudly turn over.

for the baby bonus, u al nvr open 1 shot at hospic plus register name?

me yst recv ocbc's the baby bonus-cda atm card.. but for the baby bonus 1k cash no news yet le

sarteyeo, mrslim, GT
thanks for the encouragement... trying to get over the guilt...

oliverly, lonerunner
thanks for the comments on my bb

whitegalz
ur bb very cute with the headband... thanks for the recommendation. i have oredi email u...

sartayeo..

hah...esp at night..i need to feel powerful and inspired....so must come up with such "inspirational saying"..hha

iceblue..

my baby too.....half way there liao...now he can turn until the "banana-like" shape liao.
remind me of the live fishes, jumping about in the market....

sartayeo..

and when he finally "surrender" and fall asleep...i will tell him " see la...i told you u cannot outdo mummy one....next time dun try again..."....haha

ok think i need to go sleep liao....bye

yar...
In the morning, he sleeps in baby cot, like that more dangerous cos got space to turn but he with the popo...and being the first grandson, my MIL eyes always on him...if not, she ask the maid to take a chair and sit beside him and "Jaga" him, majiam like security guard.

At night, he sleeps in this small pan...no space to move so safer lah...

Ramy
Last night not so good. After his 6am feed, refused to go back to sleep so I'm super tired today.

Tmr I'm bring my #1 to Disney On Ice so really looking forward to that. A little breather away from the baby will be good

oh iceblue, i ever try to see whether the beanspout pillow can hold him down or not...woah guess what, the next mmt, i find the whole pillow on his face..

cos i put the pillow on top of his arm lah...and he fling the pillow up....so use the beanspout pillow on ur baby but put the hands over it...should be able to hold her there...but rem u must spread the beanspout to the two sides lah..so she like stuck between like that.u know what i mean??

iceblue...

Now the arrangement is..me and baby sleep in the living room...i sleep on the sofa, he sleep in his pan beside me..
Hubby takes the room.
Cos i scare disturb his sleep then morning no energy to go work mah....

hi mommies

any PD advice on how much fm for a 2.5 week old?

priviledged
u dont like shopping???? then how shop for bb?

GT, Grace
i guess we are all going through the same phase...my bb also like that sometimes its scary

peachmomo, mummyo, lonerunnr, sandy, priviledged

today my boy fed from 1 to 2.30 almost 60-70 feed but then still crying for more i was so tired that i supplement with fm then he drink around 50ml and hen trying to sleep now...am i doing right????

Hey Mummyo...

like that ur breast how huh? how to pump milk huh?

cos my sis also ask me to bring my niece to see the disney ice...but i dun noe what to do with my breast lay?? cos definitely will exit 3 to 4 hrs one...

Olively
I dun remember already how tough it was. That's why I had #3! hahahhahahah but yah, I hate being pregnant the most. Now that baby is out, it's much better for me, at least not lugging watermelon around.

olively, i also put the pillow tt way liao nw(mine is tea leaves de)MIL do de

whao u vry nice wife!

me also wry hubby not engh sleep..bt i think for a period aft CF leave i wil nd his help

btw wat pan u referring to ?the bassinet?

Long time to talk.

AXA>
The agent met me a few mths before i give birth leh. weird. N she didnt mention abt the 1st mth check up b4 the policy take effect. Anyway, they try to introduce plans for us and end up we didnt take up any.

Pacifier
Are mummies giving your bb pacifier? I was determine not to give till my bb cry alot, take in alot air, tummy super big...went n see doc n the doc say can try give pacifier. Faint. Cos my MIL keep on saying for the past few days to give but i just ignore her. Now that doc say to give what can i say right. Actually what is the consequence of giving pacifier ah?

gracechua,

maybe ur bb got overstimulated from the PD outing...my baby was also overstimulated last weekend cos we went out everyday after confinement :p and i realise she startle alot , more than usual..open the room door also startled her..then she keep sucking and spit...what i tried doing was swaddelling her again and she stopped getting startled and slept very well...did not even make the usual noises that she made before..mommies whoes baby are unsettled maybe can try swaddling them again...swaddle then feed then put to bed rather than feed swaddle and put to bed..if too hot, use cloth nappy to swaddle

iceblue...

Not bassinet....can find it in most store lah i think...it is a swinging pan...quite deep...so when he fuss,,,,i swing him. i dun noe what it is called lay...oh the pan can double up as a baby feeding chair too when he is older...it is a hand me down from sister.

Dear GT,

As for your bb, do you have a sling? Sometimes bb feel comfy by the wrap near to your body smell. Last time, I use to sooth my bb by carrying her in the sling and once she asleep, I will put her down to her cot. With the sling, your both hands are free to do things

LemonT,
Hmmmm, is it? Maybe cos we applied together, that's why can. Dunno leh.

Ramy,
I HATE shopping. I only went out to shop for the bb once or twice. Just go and buy everything I need. This is my 3rd bb, so everything else is recycled. Lots of people give me clothes for my kids, so I never have to buy them clothes, except maybe at Chinese New Year. Even pyjamas. Sometimes if I really need something for them, then I will purposely go and buy. But I don't enjoy it
. I don't shop for myself either.

Sandy,
My bb is still swaddled to sleep. Yes, he sleeps much much better when swaddled. Today he's napping in the big cot with his kor-kor. He looks so little in that big cot. He's nearly as long as his bassinet, so will have to transition him to his more permanent cot soon.

olively,
So your bb doesn't sleep flat? Is it like the car capsule seat?

iceblue and olively,

my baby also started to turn to her side alredy...like a banana crescent shape...then can also wriggle wriggle out of her blanket and to the edge..dont dare to place her alone now..must jaga

Olively
I'll just hand express during the interval to relieve the fullness. After that when I get home just latch more often to keep the supply going.

Ramy
I think your baby might be comfort sucking more than actually drinking milk. I practice the latch latch and latch but I limit him to 20 min each breast and after 2 cycles if he still fusses I'll put him down to take a breather for myself and re-latch again an hour later after I stop if he still seems unsettled. Cos my boobs need a break too and to refill with milk.

If he fusses in between being on the boob as so, then I just let him fuss. I will offer him the pacifier when I find he wants to comfort suck but usually he won't want to take it.

SY
There's no harm in giving baby the pacifier in the first year. I read somewhere before (when I had my #1) that it actually helps to prevent SIDS. In fact, it's also helpful to soothe colicky babies. Better to give them the pacifier than to let them wail and wail if you ask me.

Only thing is, try to wean off before they hit 9 months. After they hit 9 months and older, it gets very hard to wean them off things and habits you don't want them to have.

Taka baby fair
just came back from there.
bought nothing.
wanted to buy the bundle 6-pack pigeon wipes, but it is oos.
the queue to pay is super long!! at least 20 pple/cashier!! *faints*

had my first sashimi and ice cream after confinement.
shiok!

Chris : Have PM-ed you the contact number liao. Yes, I do have the sling but duno have to use yet. only thing is that scared I clumsy and start to fumble... I need to express milk in between his feeds so that can bottlefeed him with whatever supply I have and supplement the rest.

Ramy : You may wish to consult your gynae. Actually, the amt of feed also depends on weight of your baby. I obtained this guideline online from babycenter : amount of milk = baby's weight in pounds X 2.5-2.7 oz of milk in a 24 hour period. (1 oz = 29.57ml, 1kg = 2.2 pounds)

Yaer : I can totally understand what you are going through cos I went through exactly as you did. In fact, I cried the whole day and feeling guilty and finally, I snapped out of it after 3 weeks.. sigh.. just want to make you feel better and that it is OK not to be too hard on yourself.. just try your best and that's what that matters.

What brand of detergent r u using for washing your bottles etc? I am using the pigeon brand and within 1 month, CL already used 3 packets... at the rate it goes, duno how to sustain man.. expensive leh...