(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

iceblue,

i cook me and hb's meals myself..me hb and bb go supermarketing once a week to buy 1 week's meat and veg then i separate the meat into 2 persons portion. then i plan what to cook 1 day before..usually lunch if hb not coming home to eat, i just make mee sua with pork and egg, or simple porridge...dinner must spend more time..my bb's feeding interval is approximately 1.5hrs to 2hrs (feeding by demand) so i quickly finish doing 1 chore at each interval..in terms of cooking, i feed her first then i start cooking..i never cook when her 1.5hrs interval is nearly up..so cook at the start of the interval ..so far she only started asking for milk when i finish cooking the last dish.

amelia,

my PD says 37.5 degrees is low grade fever and need sponging. 38 degrees need paracetamol

im at my 5th week and im still wearing pantyliner...still have brown discharge

lonerunner,

are you taking dang gui?? like you, i thought the lochia is finishing cos its brown discharge then suddenly became red and came alot...dont know if its the dang gui cos it coincides with me taking dang gui the previuos night

sartayeo

have not yet tried fenugreek...... but tried to have it as a spice itself ..coz we use it at home in our dishes...i dont think thats helping much...mine is fluctuating..night time the supply is real low ..i mostly use EBM and FM once in a day...i have fear that it will reject me and BF when i give too much bottle...but then if supply not enough ..what to do..cannot keep him hngry right ..so for the health of the bb i give him

you seem to be having trouble with your CL.... dont let it affect your mood..i noticed that the days am upset..i have too low supply...and the days i dont sleep well is also a problem....somehow my hubby keeps me happy and he buys all things to keep me fit .. he always keeps supplementing me with fruits ...vitamins ..drinks ..because he feels i look very tired......
so u dont strain..... my mood is also low

sandy

how do u manage to 100 % latching...do give me yur schedule and how much u feed every time ..does proper timing every day for feeding affect supply?

Sandy
Seems like it's the adult that need to fit into bb's routine.. and not getting bb into routine.. Then do you have enough rest? End of the day must be really tired.. think it's worst than working!

the simz

actually its abit of both...i fit into her feeding routine, and she fit into our other routines..for instance, feeding by demand, i cannot force her to drink..she determines when she wants to drink...this is the only part that is difficult and tiring...one day she can feed on 1.5 to 2 hours interval, sometimes 3...but somedays she cluster feed every 1 hour or 30 mins...the routine i set for her is her night routine...she starts getting ready to go to bed by 9.30pm. good thing she only wakes up twice a night to feed and fall asleep immediately after feed so i get to sleep also. daytime nothing much just the demand feeding that i have to follow...i also never set time for bathing her...then in between when shes awake we play. i get to rest when she sleeps and when i have nothing to do..kekeke...but yes, its worst than working..working still can eat snake...now cannot eat snake :p

ramy,

i think to 100% latch on needs alot of perseverence...and my foundation was set in the hospital..i kept latching and latching and never look back..so when baby reaches home, she cries for milk, i latch, cries for milk, i latch..and after latching, she stopped crying and sleep and the cycle goes on, and my milk supply just increased as my baby feeds. i did go through the difficulties that the mothers go through here like sore nipples, breast engorgement, cracked nipple, but i just bear with the pain, continue with latching while i look for lactation consultant to solve the nipple pain problem. there was also a period of time when i really dread feeding time cos it means pain again but just press on and now no more painful latching.

my schedule is as follow:

7am - baby wakes up to feed ( i usually latch her on my bed lying down cos i want to sleep longer, hb wakes up for work so will carry baby to me)

7.30am - hb brings baby down while i continue sleeping

9am - 12noon - baby stays awake while i make my bfast, surf net and prepare lunch..in between this time, baby feeds about 2 times..keke but if she cluster feeds, my net surfing will be forfeited.

12 noon to 1pm - have lunch with hb, baby stays awake so that i can bath her

1pm to 4pm - bath baby, and nap..2 feeds between this time

and the cycle goes on...feeding every 1.5 to 2 hours while i do my stuff in between the intervals

9.30pm - 10.30pm- sponge bath, last feed and put her to bed...some days she falls asleep while feeding, somedays she falls asleep on her bed herself..

1.30am - wake up for feed and diaper change.

3.45am - 4am - wake up for feed and diaper change. then next awakening is 7am.

ramy, do note that demand feeed is very versatile and flexible...no fix timing and if baby go through growth spurt, can change all your feeding times and duration. i dont know the amount (in mls) she drinks cos i never bottle feed but on average, she nurse for 10 to 15 mins now. once shes dozing off, i will compress breast to make her drink more. once she stop responding even by compression, i will let her sleep. day time she will spit out my nipple on her own when shes done.

ramy, i realise that our bodies will accustom to baby's feeding time...whenever its time for feed, my breast will start to leak even if its not full or engorged. i went out with baby over the weekend and i was also having leaks minnutes before she start rooting and i nurse her in public with my shawl..if i miss a feed, my breast will become full and sore. i guess regular feeding throughtout the day will maintain supply.

my gal suffering from umbilical hernia leh. going to see pd tomorrow

lemon T
congrats on ur new house too !
ur gal of course look dif from birth, in fact prettier!

olively
i hope ur boy is getting better

sartayeo
my gal also like urs, wants to be carry. not necessary cry means want milk. my CFL some times make 40 ml when only 1.5hrs passed. now i strictly told her NO NO.it is a bad habit cos she is already drinking 105ml per feed. i carry her and she sleeps and manage to drag to 2 or 2.5 hrs

lonerunner
wah piang eh. ur CFL really seow leh. how can anyhow say things? u musy have freak out! fr me i will end up crying again.

sandy

Yes u are right ...it requires lots of patience. Looking at your schedule i follow the same nad its very very similar to mine ..so its somewhat encouraging...its just that sometimes my supply is not enough for him and i have no more ..that i supplemen with EBM or FM. So once in two days ... we have to give the extra feed..its either EBM or FM..some days it goes without the other also..... so i am on an average 99 % latch ...some days 100 % and some day 99...coz of one feed of EBM or FM..coz i dont have any

my schedule is like ..( provided he is not on growth spurt or cluster feed ! )

he gets up at 6...and feeds until 6.30

sleeps between 6.30 and 8.30...gets up at 8.30 and goes for bath..

feed from 9 to 9.30 and then plays until 12...or sometimes he sleeps until 12. its during this time i have my breakfast and do my washing

12.15 he starts feeding...somtimes cluster feeding until 2....if am tooo tired or no supply i give EBM...and after feeding i usually have my
lunch with hubby

later bb sleeps until 4 and then i feed him from 4 to 4.30...he is either awake or sleeps until .30

6.30 he feeds until 8 ..or even 9...and slowly sleeps by 11 or 12...most tiring time is this .....

then he gets up two times at nigh for feeding once at 2.30 .... and once at 5.00

this is the schedule ....

I am a new mom and my bb boy is 2 weeks old.I feed him about 50ml breast milk and 50ml formula. Or 90ml formula (if breast milk not enough) Is the feed too much? He also wakes up for milk in less than 2 hours. If he sleeps longer, we can still drag the feeding time to 2.5 to 3 hours. I dont know if he is taking too much milk in such short time as the usual is 3 to 4 hours per feed. He also sleeps very little. Max 1 to 2 hours after fed. I am going crazy sometimes.. Appreciate advise please. Thank you.

Koli
what is a umibicial hernia?

Re: discharge
I am in my 7th week.
From week 1-6, my discharge mostly brownish.
Then i think week 6, discharge should be over.
But on this monday ( my 7th week), i have a lot of fresh blood discharge, very scary i tot i going to die liao....until now on off also have.

Hi Lonerunner,

OMG yr confinement lady siao isit i think she is the one who kena possess lo... or i think she watch too much freaky supernatural show liao la abit haywire liao lo.

Wat a scary experience u must have freak out big time lo some more at night... faintz..

The Simz,

Yester brought my ah boy for his one month check out at clinic near by plc and manage to purchase one more tube of Desitin creamy at 9bucks.. The doc say it is quite hard to find the creamy version outside...maybe u can start asking the doc nearby yr plc bah,does nt need any prescription..

hi mommies

hey mommies who give FM and EBM to their babies..i have a doubt...my baby is around 2 weeks 5 days old...how much ml of FM or EBM should i give him per feed ????? and what should be the gaps between feeds

just came back from NUH... finally got some gd news... the prof said it is normal for bb to have blood in stool cos the bb might have swallow some blood from mummy when delivery...

lemonT
congratz on ur new house n ur bb very cute leh... me going to try ur method of EBM starting tonite... dun noe can wake up anot... heehee... hopefully tis can increase my milk supply...

privi, mummyo
thanks... will cut my gal nails tomolo...

wat is the difference between normal bath and sponge bath? so far onli bath my gal once leh but never use sponge...

dun anyone have tis experience on EBM... my left breast can onli pump out half the amt compared to my right breast for the same amt of time... anyone noe why? can tis be resolve?

iceblue
ur PD very gd leh... so far my gal went to see 3 PD, every PD stress me abt TBF... haiz...

Hi Mummies..

Today was a frantic day for me. Realised that my son has been quite cranky the past few days, always fretting after 1 hour of feed and then the cycle goes on for a few hours, especially in the afternoons - night. I decided to bring him to the PD this afternoon together with the CL cos hubby couldnt leave work to go with us. I guess I decided to be kiasu cos I suspect bb having colic - alot of wind and uncomfy - want us to carry upright all the time.

PD suspects that bb could be having heartburn =( he wants me to monitor the situation for 2 weeks and see if giving concentrated gripe water(5ml GW : 5ml water) 4 - 6xs a day + rid wind helps..

Weighed my boy today - he is 4 weeks old(born 11 Feb 09).. Wow.. he is now 5.07kg! good weight and happy that he is growing.. he was born 3.435kg. He has gained abt 50% more in the last 1 month. PD advised that since his appetite is big, can step up on his per feed intake to btwn 120 - 150ml, every 2-4 hourly.. I tell you, hear already also stress - cos mummy's EBM has to be supplemented at every feed liao, coz per time can only express between 75 - 120ml in total.

sartayeo (sebstay) : at least your baby latches on and drink directly from breasts, while the EBM is for excess.. my EBM(which is not fantastic supply) is solely for his feeds and I have to supplement.

I am feeding bb with Friso, any mummies here also?

Ramy : When my son was about 2.5 - 3 weeks, he was feeding abt 85 - 90ml per feed, every 3 hourly, sometimes 2.5hourly. For EBM, it depends how much you can pump per time. You may wish to express between 80-90ml or if you can only express less than that, you can store 60ml EBM and then use another bottle of 30ml for FM. For me, I supplement when I have not enuff - just dun wanta stress myself. Of cos ideally, good to do total BM but not all are blessed in that area.

yesterday nite me got a scare oso... but from a big cockroach... somemore it is inside the mosquitoes net of my baby cot with my gal sleeping inside... scare the hell out of me and i keep shouting for my mum (she is in the middle of preparing milk for my gal) cos i myself is damn scare of it.... dun noe the cockroach got molest or kiss my gal anot... lolz...

Ramy
it is depending how much BM u express in a bottle... like myself, if i can onli express 60ml BM in a bottle.... i will top up 60ml FM to make it 120ml for my gal...

qingsiew : I am using PIS. Y u say got problem with that leh?

ashleigh : We seem to have the same experience abt bb wanting to be carried upright - put down only will C-R-Y big time... sigh...

GT
so i understand that its around 100 - 120 ml ....whether it is EBM or FM...the total combined is this much... my boy drinks from me ..for abot 10 - 15 min and then sometimes when i dont have enough he has arond 30 - 60 ml of FM or EBM..i was wonderingf whether this was enough....

ramy,
if he doesnt cry after supplementing with FM shld be fine la..really dunno how much they drink from breasts one..my girl will push away the teat with her tongue when she is full..

sartayeo

ya my bb spits e FM after he is full...but when he is feeding the breast..he likes to comfort suckle ..so i dont know ...when he stops ..so sometimes i compress my breast and thats when he either drinks or pulls out or stretches to unlatch...this is how i have been identifying...

initialy i thought babies always sleep after becoming full..then i realize that now their waking times have become more therefore if they do not cry then they are full ! . ....its interesting to understand them step by step !

sartayeo..is this your first child?

Mummies...
wanna check with you if any of your babies stay awake from 4:30am onwards and dun sleep...any babies are like that? Any way to cope with this problem?

Sherry

how old is your bb...my baby in his first week was awake from 4.30 ... until 7 or so ..in the morning ....but after this second week...he is sleeping ..... does your bb cry and stays awake ...or just stay awake?

lonerunner: mayb ur CL pretend dunno hw to use cloth diapers?CFs nowadys al dun 1 their clothes wet by urine de

mine alrdy 21 days.

then i finish my gynae's med liao.. tdy lik the peeing pain get back as b4 i took med.. think is more to heaty.

mayb nd to go back gynae tak med agn?haiz dunno wen my pain wil totally go?

Any 1 out there has completed their "locia"? I am into my 4th week now. intitially, it looked liked it was going to end(brownish & alittle bit).. then, after I did another session of massage at week 3, suddenly, the flow back and even had small amts of clots. Think the body is dispelling it.. just wondering how long it'd be.

sherry martini.. my baby can be awake anytime for long stretch hours.. jus want to be carried. Sometimes i am so tired too.. i put him on my chest and let him go up and down with my breathing.. i am now awake, waiting for him to scream only as i have put him back to the cot.. the cycle goes every nite..

I went to PD today, baby is ard 4kg and has gained 1kg from birth weight! I also checked abt the consumption, PD said as long as baby is not vomiting after the feed, its ok.. my boy now eats ard 80ml every 2 hours. Told the PD we r giving him NAN which is very much like BM, prob the milk digested quickly so he needs another feed soon.

My boy also suffering from eczema on his face! Not handsome anymore!!

sartayeo:
No leh, we are finding another master to compute bb's name. Becos when we find the 1st master, the name we like when translate into cantonese, it sounded like "Raining". When we wanted to get another name, the receptionist said we have to pay another sum. So we find a master who can converse in cantonese so that we know how the name is pronounced lor. HAHAHAHAA

AmeliaXu:
Me still got locia after 15 days. Some ladies will get longer. If you are worried, maybe can check with gynae?

Sandy:
Dang Gui? Yeah sometimes to repenish blood and promote growth of red blood cell and improve blood circulation. My chinese gynae said is ok to take so I take lor.

koli/LiLi:
I also feel like crying in fustration too, but no choice have to keep calm to deal with a crying bb and a panicky CL at 3am in the morning while moving like a zombie. Wat to do? If dun handle the situation, we all no need to sleep liao. Luckily I dun watch horror movies much. haahhaa ...

Yaer:
glad to hear all is well with bb!
Hahahahaaa ... I will scream like mad if I were in your shoes. I am scared of cockroaches!!!

iceblue:
I think most prob not. Becos if I am to use cloth diapers now, I would have problem handing this Little Terror too. She simply hates to have a wet bottom! She'll cry like mad until the hse like want to collapse. aiyo! really headache!

u mean ur Cf al along use diapers for ur baby?

my baby also lik tt cant wet bottom..day time we use cloth..so if she sleep she wil wake up cry super loud..lik having a bad dream.. nite time use disposables she can sleep bet..

Btw, my appetite has dropped significantly.. i jus don have the mood to eat.. each day i'm jus forcing myself to eat, esp those confinement food.. i think its affecting my BM supply as well.. i din have much to start off with, now its getting worst. somemore my baby likes to latch on me.. if i no more BM, how am i gg to let him latch?

how shld i wean him off my nipple?

I'Ching
thkq!

iceblue
i got not time to do blog... i only got time for forum! waahahahah

sartayeo
normally, we dont encourage owners to have any mutual agreement, esp w regards to the extension of stay. the sellers is extending their stay to 30days at the expenses of yours (cos upon completion, u will have to start paying your mortgage loan, sp services, property tax.. etc). this is a very common dispute between seller & buyer. even if they draft a mutual agreement among themselves, theres always hiccups. in HDB's clause, if seller do not move out & delay completion, buyer can claim late completion interest. u can ask the HDB officer to calculate.

In fact, if aldy go thru legal completion, then no case, buyer can only ask seller to move out. if not, make police report. As you had included the 30days extention in the OTP, then just pray hard the seller move out by 30 days. if not, make police report in the worst case cos anything not in HDB contract, HDB wil not interfere. Were you represented by your own agent or you were a direct buyer? Didn't your agent advise you? if your agent committed it, deduct from his/her com%. they r supposed to advise u correctly & not to your disadvantage.

Ramy
thkq
.. its our dream house

Yaer
Ebm - u can do it! just try ur best

lonerunner
ur CL must hv scared e wit our of u! if i were u, i'll shut her off for being ignorant. i m wondering is ur CL really a qualified CL anot? this type of things cannot anyhow say wor. Geez!

lonerunner/ koli/ Yaer/
thks for ur comments on little Breana.. she got e daddy's eyes, so-called "phoenix eyes".

mummyo
waking up in e middle of the night to latch on is definitely more tiring than EBM. when i latch on in e midnight, i always feel like crying cos so tired, drowsy... b4 baby finishes her milk, i dozed off 1st.. haha

Sandy
u r another SUPERB mummy! *salute*

ramy,

when ur baby stretch to pull off or unlatch frm your breasts, does he fuss for more milk? actually even if u realise he is just comfort sucking at the end of the feed, and he unlatches on his own, u dont supplement with FM if he doesnt fuss; chances are he is satisfied. if he does fuss again, offer ur breast (the same one if u feel that it is not soft so that he gets the hindmilk) again. this is how i maintain 100% latching and no FM supplement. there are some babies that suckle efficiently that they can get their stomachs filled within a 10 mins feed. but for some, they are taking in more foremilk during the earlier feed, get full easily but also hungry easily ...so the next feed, i offer same breast and compress, the milk is hindmilk as majority of the foremilk has already been fed during the previous feed.

lemont
how much is agent commission for purchase or sale of hdb flat?
i m feeding 90ml for 5wks bb. i pump every 4 hrs n target 100ml i happi. today i hv rec of 700ml for 6times.
i realised when i tk more naps my supply went up.
me more concerned how to pump 2 times in off n disappeared one time during off hr while another time during lunch hr.
my gal using drypers n she scream like hell as she hate wet bottoms 2. today again she gave me tat evil smile when i changed a new diaper n next moment she shit n urine till i shouted my mil for help. haha
me still hv my locia. sometimes it seem like finishing n next moment some red discharge.
my colleagues gave gd feedback on choz full mth cakes (i order prune cake with 2 red eggs)-not too sweet

just wanna share i went ocbc intendg to open cda a/c. was advised must show mcdy ltr be4 can open. i signed up their 12 yr school plan under oac whereby pay 6 yrs premium only(abt 2800yrly)
lonerunner, i will freak out if i m u by wat yr CL said.

ashleigh, me too.. my boy is suffering from enzema too.. had just ordered the calendula cream hope it arrive soon.. cos my sil swear by it.. says it's really gd for healing enzema!

GT, I had delivered bb 3 wks ago, but now still having my lochia leh.. wonder when it will stop.

hmm. me up here again.. pumping now.. sooo tired.. almost wanted to sleep through the night.

LeMonT,
thanks for the advice.. me same as u will wake up and pump in the night.. normally i pump at 2.5 to 3 hrs interval during the day and 4 hr interval during the night..sometimes when i get really tired den i will slp for 7 hrs without pumping.. will feel really guilty after that.. till now my milk supply quite stable at abt 100-120ml each time.. I guess when baby appetite increase, have to increase the pumping frequency liao..
I also envy you that you can lose all weight.. I've been pumping and latching on but like never lose much weight leh.. Also never eat much throughout my confinement till now.. But nevermind lah.. I intend to start my lose weight plan after i stop breastfeeding..

Sandy,
I tot she was constipated cos the GP at polyclinic say should have at least 3 to 4 poo per day..
Recently still gt chat on MSN? I now seldom logged in liao.. Always so busy at home.. My boy now always bully his mei mei and we have to keep a look out on him.. The other day when we were busy, he went into the room himself and dig Renee's ears till gt blood loh.. lucky its oni on the surface of the ear and not inside..

Ramy,
Congrats! Milk supply will slowly increase.. Dun worry.. Especially you are doing TBF rite?

ashleigh,
try putting baby to lie on his chest to slp, mayb after when he is in deep slp then you turn him back to lie face up.. my baby likes to slp on my chest also.. think because got our heartbeat sound.. but my mum always complain that she will get used to it..But what to do, she will calm down only in that position..

sartayeo,
Goat's rue in liquid form really taste awful.. maybe you can try putting it in the fridge..
i think the taste is not so trong when chilled.. I'm also taking it now..
I think with the help of supplement, frequent latching or pumping is essential as well.. if not also not much help..

Baby Jaundice
----------------
My gal is now 6 weeks and still have jaundice.. Tomorrow have to go back polyclinic to test her blood for special test since after so long her level so long still haven came down..
Anyone else bb have the same problem? She cant take her Hep B injection since jaundice level still not below 100..

Lili
Thanks for the infor!

Ashleigh
Same here.. no appetite at all.. think it's not the food.. if hubby bring me out for confinement food buffet I can eat much more!!

Daphne
Don't worry! My boy is drinking 100ml now.. and he's only 2 weeks old. My PD told me to do a simple experiment; feed him 240ml. He said surely there will be left over. =) So just feed when he wants!

Wintertime
If only I'm like u.. but really impossible to open my eyes in the middle of the night!

LemonT

Woah ur baby look so sweet.
ACtually from first look, like got difference, but look longer, in basic still look the same, just the "just give birth" picture, the baby look more stretched..cos just came out from a tiny passageway mah.. haha

Simz, i wanted to wake up 2 times to pump.. but it's really hard.. so i only managed to wake up once at 3am to pump... so terribly shag i must say.

sandy
yes thanks ....for the support ...i tried 100 % latching yesterday and due to cluster feeding my supply fell down at around 5 am and i was tired so had to give FM...trying hard to avoid FM.... and maintain 100 % latching ....... i hope i succeed...only then will i get completely satisfied i think...

princessdella

thanks a lot ...how old is your bb ? ... i didnt see u quite some time in teh forum

butter
what happened..? taking rest ? how are u and how is your bb

mummyo
how was your kid yesterday night ?

DK..
what no news from you ???

my bb yesterday woke every 1.5 hrs for feed ! ..was tiring a little but atleast he fell asleep on his own..

Ramy,
Keep latching on. Like Sandy says, if you avoid giving formula and just latch latch latch, your supply will eventually increase and your bb will be satisfied. Maybe there are other causes to his crying also, must investigate that.

I managed to get sleep from 1+am to 6.45 this morning! Woo hoo!!!

<u>jaundice level</u>
my baby has his jaundice level checked and the nurse said his bilirubin level is low in the 1st week (good news right?)

the older folks commented that he looks 'yellow'. hmm, and i thought the white part of his eye does look a little yellow. so now i am back to give him the suntan, hopefully, it is just false alarm.

today taking him for his hep b jab and also to check with the doc about it.

<u>driving with baby</u>
btw anyone has driven ur baby out on your own? i am doing that later and the baby seat is going to be fastened at the back. not sure how much i can see him with the mirror. the last time, my old car has no air bag and i could fasten it right beside me.

my plan is to feed him first before leaving the house. cannot imagine him wailing at the back while i drive.

<u>baby's milk intake</u>
when i read about the amount of milk that most babies here are drinking, i got a little worried. at 34 days, my baby is drinking an average of 90ml every 2-3 hours. i am still waiting for his growth spurt, hee.