(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

joanne: so why are we suffering from mood swings and all?

Joannelim
I think best not to take bao ji wan. I heard from somewhere might have trace mercury in it.

Mummies...
Don't worry about baby not getting enough nutrients, cos they take from mummy and usually we have to eat to replenish ourselves. I didn't eat well for any of my pregnancies cos I have MS throughout kind. But both my babies were very fat when they came out so no worries there. Haha.

jas, my next appointmenet with ann tan is next thursday, 2pm. yours?

i ate a lot during 1st trimester, so does that mean it is all worth the fats? haha.

ah zi, you seeing dr watt? Dun mind me speaking, why choose her? I find her the worst (sorry for my frankness) gynae i have ever seen.

I am kinda confuse with the weeks i am in too, jas, I just based on weekly, like starting every monday, will be a new week for me. So I count this week as week 15.

mummyo
oh didnt know that. I took 2 bottles, dont dare to take too many medications. BTW, are u on any medication for you lactose intolerant problem? i am thinking of eating back the digestive care tablet.

As for baby fat a, u know for my first pregnancy, i lost 2 kgs in the first trimester, and hardly gain any weight until 3rd trimester gain 5 kg. total 8kg. I got heavier during chinese new yr. Tat doctor on TV actually mention about the growth in the first month.. that is wat i am worried about. I didnt take any fish oil pill until he talked about the importance of it.

Now trying my best to take all the pills. I cant drink milk, so i guess i got to take my calcium pills also. Sob.

chinalok
all in all, all the problems are due to hormone loh.. according to that doctor on TV.

kkf
u should be in your 15th week, cos i am in 16th hehe.

Hi mummies...

Anyone of you feeling the baby move/kick? sometimes i feel some discomfort in my lower abdomen, but I cant tell if it is from baby's movement or jus cramps?

Anyone can help describe what a baby kick/movement feels like? haha...

Its my first baby, so quite anxious, wants to know wat it feels like =p

blueb, it feels like alot of gas or bubblings at first.. some describe as butterflies flapping wings or fishes swimming inside.. Then it will be strong kicks and will go "pop" "pop" like that..

have been so busy with work for the last week.
supposed to sort of work part-time but in the end worked 3 times, cos one colleague on 2 wks+ MC, the other on leave cos school holiday.
finally have sometime today, cos tmr on leave.
going to explore infantcare tmr.

joanne: I have the same observation too.
i.e. tummy below the belly button didnt grow much, but the one above the belly button became bigger n bigger.
my colleagues are making fun of me that all because i grow fatter.
so sad.

bra: I cant wear my old ones like 1 month ago.
bought my new ones from Marks & Spencer too @$29.
only they have bigger cups and v comfy.
and can take time to try as few people there.

headache: I also having more frequent headache now. have been having headache like nearly every day.
headache, headache, headache.

DHA: Pills prescribed by gynae.
brand: prolacta with DHA for mother by Novell
saw NTUC unity selling it, but buy from gynae cheaper. quite easy dosage, one pill per day

durian mooncake: I love durians than mooncake.
but avoiding durians as having sorethroat since last week.
take antibiotics liao still havent recover.

Yoga: I also interested in going.
MrsLim: Want to go together to get better deal?

lonerunner: Congrats! Hope you having good time now with hubby back.
my hubby going off in 12 days time.

blueb: me too, yet to feel baby's kick/movement.
looking forward to my 16 wks scan on Wed.

Peachmomo, I saw a few dresses on old navy. Dont mind to order together if it saves on postage. Let me know ya if not much on postage than we just order on our own cause must think of the postage we have to send to each other. hehehe if same y all the hassel rite?

hi joannelim,

you can ask your GP to give you charcoal pills for stomach upset or diarrhoea as well. It works quite well for me =)

my gynae asked me to go for a detailed scan at week 21. any idea on what's the purpose of this detailed scan since my oscar test is ok?

Hi FatJo,

Where is the Robinsons' Baby Fair? At both its Centrepoint & Raffles City outlets?

Until when huh?

Tks

Roxanne,

Yeah.. If you feel regular paced "motion" (feels like bubbles to me), then its baby hiccups..

I feel baby kicking, cos its once time only and quite hard lor...

baby bjorn, detailed scan is much more than that. they will check for cleft lips, heart defect, any problems with baby etc. its a crucial scan.

I am in my 18 weeks now, will it be possible for mi to feel the baby movement. As I am 1st time mummy tat y nt sure how it felt? Thanks

baby bjorn
Like kkf said, the detailed scan is to look for physical deformities, if any and also to check for the gender of the baby! i'm doing mine in mid Oct. Can't wait! I want to confirm it's a boy ASAP. Hahaha.

Oppsgal
Yah lor. Very limited brands. I'm taking Harvey Fresh Lactose free skim milk. Taste a bit weak. The full cream one better but i want to try avoiding putting on too much weight so taking the skim one

mummyo

I am using milk powder lactose free. So far the powder Vanillia favor taste ok, but the powder has to finish within 3 weeks. I am sure I cannot finish up the powder all by myself.

Oppsgal
I didn't even try the milk powder cos I've never liked powder milk since i was a child... hehe.

Mine is the 1L pkt kind. I just leave it in the fridge. have to finish within a week. I guess it forces me to take my milk!

hi Grace, i oso using same DHA pills prescribed from gynae... outside sell ard 70 is it?
gynae sold me $50 only.... tell me the cost price is $45....

Hi Roxanne...ur descriptions are very interesting! Thanks
Sure will look out for it! So far, i dont have any such feelings yet... Maybe cos the baby too small. Now my baby should be about 9cm or so...

Hi Grace Chua...So tmr is ur 16weeks scan! Maybe can tell gender tmr...

Thanks for the well-wishes!

QiqiT: What pimples? Erm.. touchwood..no pimples YET! but i heard some women who have boys will have a red dot on their nose. eeeeee... so horrible right?

For the record, I vomitted for the first time today. Went for a movie with my hubby. Then while driving back, i just puked! luckily i had a airline puke bag ready in my hands. Sigh.. feel so sick now. Not sure what caused this. But i have been feeling quite queasy these 2 mornings. I pity those mommies that have MS and those that needs to hug the toilet bowl all the time.

By the way, anyone of you wearing a bra to sleep? Read somewhere that it will help to support and prevent sagging breasts. I tried putting on a sports bra but it was really tight and choking. So i gave up!

grace,
i also went TMC for scan today but not detailed scan =( , gynae said detailed scan on 20th week. Anyway today got blood test, i think gynae too busy, anyhow poke, poke until i so pain and the vein is bleeding internally. Got a whole patch of blueblack over there now. still pain sob. and before i left, nurse says my urine infected, need to send for further testing. sian...........

oh ya, i also sign up the SBI from TMC. got a nice bag and some goodies.

peachmomo
actually i gave up wearing bra at home. So hot, so uncomfortable. My first pregnancy when i wear bra everyday, i ended up with alot of heat rashes around that area.

I usually wear those straps tube-like material with built in padding kind of top at home. Think it is too hot and uncomfortable go around in actual bra at home. If breasts sag, then no choice lor. I preferred my comfort level more :p hehehehe ... :p

Grace Chua:
haiz. no choice. our husbands' job required them to be on the move often. Luckily we have our baby with us, so got "company" :p

Peachmomo
Try to get those non-wired bra. Will be more comfortable. If it's too hot then just wear the bra and nothing else. Once your boobs sag, the only thing that can save them is a breast lift so prevention is better than cure.

hi mummies..
jus now i wen marks n spencer, 1 2 get their bra.. but seems they hav limited size?end up dint manage to get
which marks spencer outlet biggest?i wen PS de.

then u al seems so healthy! me havnt drink milk, m lactose intolerant n dun realy lik milk.. but i recently buy the anlene 1 litre pack..havent try actly

oh roxanne, i think i gt the felg u described, lik gas bubbling jus now bt im stil nt sure.hee hp to fel the real strong kicks soon

btw kkf, i same as u ..alwys dreaming nearly everyday for the past few wks, n 1 day can hav many difnt dreams abt many ppl, many thgs.. bt tis wk seems bet le

Sorry Peach.. abt the pimples thingy, i think i got the wrong person.. One mummy was wanting a boy and said she was likely carring one cos of her pimples outbreak... OOps guess that is not you...

I wear sports bra to sleep.. not that tight... I have friends who did not wear good support during pregnancy & breastfeeding, ended up with saggy breasts... The bigger the breast, the more impt the support...I agree with Mummyo that prevention is better than cure...

Iceblue, i find M&S bras quite ex, esp those pregnancy & nursung ones... Cup sizes are European sizes, so not suitable for petite Asian size.

I oso dreamt a lot recently even i nap awhile in MRT... now and then very tired... always fall asleep in office... jia lat...
I drinking enfamama milk.... this time drink on and off... prev preg, very onz... drink everyday....
Now my breast a bit sag but still ok... cos now become small again after stopping breastfeeding (no milk after preg)...

Scan is in the afternoon. So waiting patiently for the scan. Hope can tell the gender today...
Boy! Boy! Boy! :p

Joanne: also went to draw blood this morning. Going for the triple blood test. but no urine test leh. maybe afternoon then they do. I blur blur.

ahLin: cant rem how much DHA costs me. got to go home and check the price.

lonerunner: yah lor, lucky got baby with us. else i dare not stay at home alone.

bras: i also wear sports bar at night, or some run-out not so tight ones. M&S bras good for me, cos i v big size, and they have more cotton choices. bought mine at parkway.

dreams: i having non-stop dreams. funny ones, scary ones, etc. yest had one funny one and was telling my hubby when he happened to wake up. both of us laughing in the middle of the night. :p

milk: i am drinking marigold HL. my favorite milk so far, the rest i dont like them. and no milk powder for me, though my friends are telling me milk powder got more nutrients.

hi all, never log in for quite some time and alot of reading to catch up...i see so many mummies having girls now. i went for my OB scan and asked to see the gender but the lady say she unsure. Then my gynae say he can see something in between the legs which look like 2 flaps but think is a boy...

can any mummy who is having a girl share with me how does ur scan of ur bb girl gentials look like so i can guess mine is boy or girl..i am dying to find out.....

my DS is due 3rd OCt so still got quite some time to go before i know my bb gender..haiz..can't wait to find out...dun know boy or girl...i am so confused whether i prefer a boy or girl now though my 1st bb is a boy...

I have been having dreams everynight too! I guess that's normal for pregnant women right?
Last night was the ultimate. I sleep on the right side of the bed and that's my spot. Somehow in the middle of the night, i'm on the left side and my hubby is on the right. Ha ha! In the semi-sleeping mode, he told me that i pushed him off the bed until i am on his side. Ha ha... no choice, he has to sleep on my side instead. That's so funny! I also chuckled in the middle of the night.

We have the weirdest happenings at night huh?

Milk: I love Meiji's low fat milk! I love the milky taste, so i will always get that only.

I'm doing my diabetes test next Friday. Sigh i really hope i wont get the diabetes!

Hi BabyGab,
From my understanding, gal genital scan will see 3 lines parallel... and boy will see 2 lines meet at the end....

Really? I never knew that. I only know if it's boy can see the balls and they get bigger closer to the due date...haha

My DS is on Oct 23...guess i'll be one of the last to know my baby's gender. Hope it's worth the wait! Me want boy!

oppsgal: usually detailed scan can confirmed but sometimes some gynae can confirm early if the normal scan shows clearly lor...last time my boy my gynae confirm his gender as early as 16th week.

I m the odd one out? I wanna a gal!

If I am not wrong normally 16th week if can tell, already can know sex of baby.

Ah zi, I just dun have very good impression of that gynae. the way she speaks ah, very discouraging one, I went to her during my very early stage of pregnancy, still can't see sac of baby yet, so she told me 3 possibilities "ectopic pregnancy", "false pregnancy" or "maybe still too small", well I can accept that, but she was like stressing on the first two more than the 3rd, and she refused to give me mc, said can't even scan anything. Anyway, just that I do not like the way she speaks. The way she talked to me...I really hated it. I prefer the previous gynae dr vincent lee but he migrated. My 2nd boy was delivered by him. Sad he migrated. He is more compassionate.

me going for my 16th week scan next thursday, really hope can tell the sex of baby by then...

Oppsgal
you can buy neutral colours like green, yellow or orange! For me I like my babies in white. My husband calls them the PAP babies...LOL

I think 20 weeks on can confirm already. I was just told to go to the NUH for scan on my 22nd week.

jas perhaps we can exchange number leh, maybe one of these days, we will be able to meet up at dr ann tan's clinic! haha.

oh btw, i remember for my previous two pregnancies, during around 16th week, already can tell the sex of my boys.

kkf
i want a gal too. cant wait to beautify her with all the cute clips and beautiful clothes.

yest went for the scan, but gynae says cant see, but he jokingly says, cant see also can means its a girl.

mummyo
ask u hor, your lactose intolerant only towards milk product? I think mine is not the same, i practically can rush to toilet after every meal. Once suspected for IBS, but confirmed to be lactose intolerant, so was put on medication. Actually those pills are like yakult. Good for digestive system.

Babies clothes i dont like whilte, cos once stained, super hard to remove. So dont like it hehe. I am now learning to crochet babies' booties, once i finish learning will show u all the photos of the complete job.

ahlin, why gal 3 parallel lines and boy 2 parrallel lines? thot boy is see penis one..

anyone got good fengshui master to recommend? feel kinda suay recently.. just involved in a car accident yesterday morning