(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

yes whitegalz, naomi also perspires in aircon room and sometimes her hair is even wet from perspiration.

SY, sometimes when naomi sleeps in the car, i can hear her "snore" but only for a few seconds and only in the car. what about sarah, is it continuous in her sleep that she snores, and even at night in her bed? if its prolong snoring, its better to check it out because when a person snores during sleep, he/she is not getting enoough oxygen.

Whitegalz,
Yes Zac also perspire in the aircon room even though the fan is blowing directly at him. Temp was set at 23 deg.. and I don't know why is he still sweating so much. I think their body temp are higher than us?

SY
I have not heard zac snore so far.. could it be the pillow too high/low for her?

perspire in aircon:
chi mun does. Regardless of with aircon or without aircon. Then we can see a round patch on the bedsheet where her head was positioned. haha! think their sweat system hasnt stablised yet so still cant regulate properly.

snores:
ahh .. this one I duno. chi mun seldom snores leh. paisei cant help :p

Hi Mummies...

Sorry to interrupt,

Hot selling baby qipaos are back by popular demand!

Though it's still early from Chinese New Year 2011, why not order the qipao now as they are Pre-order! They are very suitable to send as gifts as the quality of the material is good.

Pls give support or anyone interested, pls PM me.

You can check out the designs @
http://picasaweb.google.com/100929652793268324939

My case is like lonerunner's.. Kylene will leave a patch of watermark on the bed.. I was shivering in cold and covering myself with thick blanket but she seems to be so warm..

But glad it is normal.. hehe

Think our bbs mostly not afraid of cold... Mer is also one... normally, we dress her in a sleeveless top and 3/4 pants when we don't have the AC. I remember one particularly cold nite a few months ago where I actually stole her blanket to cover myself, cuz mine was sent to the cleaners after she dumped a bottle of milk all over it! Hahaha...

Re Snoring: I noticed when Mer does that, usually means she is hvg flu liaoz... not drippy type of flu but abit stuffy nose type... else its the sleeping posture... tryputting bb to slp on the side, with a small bolster to hug, will help with the snoring. If not, better get GP opinion to be on the safe side!

Hazy hazy hazy week. I have been grounded by my GP from today until Fri... sigh... hope all our bbs will not be affected by the silly haze!

haiz. These recent weeks this terror has been glue-ing like mad to me! If I am separated like just 1mm from her, she'll cry and cry until eyes red red, wet patches on her cheeks as well as the floor where the big tear drops had landed. Very chiam. Even wanted me to carry her wherever I go. The only time she'll forget abt me is when her grandma comes or when her aunties and uncles are around.

Hb was greatly amused by this. He said her separation anxiousity came 1yr late. Somehow I am not amused. I can only start my nite after 10.30pm if I managed to get this terror to bed, whereas hb is already playing duno how many rounds of games on his PC already. Life of Daddy vs Mummy. haiz.

djmama:
haha ... u actually stole Mer's blanket??? hehehehee!
take care woah. Weather's really bad.

lonerunner, kylene also like that.. superglue.. clinged onto me leh..

She pinned me down to the floor, sat on my legs, my tummy, my back.. everywhere she can sit on..
When I put her down, she will hold her legs up.. just want me to carry..

Sit on the chair also must make sure her hands or legs touch me.. must have skin contact..

so tired

Long time nv post, busy moving home.

Need some advice from you all, thanks in advance.

For the past 1 week , my little one is having trouble slping in the nite. when he fall aslp, about 1 hr later, he will wake up crying and saying in chinese 'bui ya', then we carry him then he stop crying and when we put him on bed, he cry again. he never like this since he was born.

Any mummies having this problem and how to cure it? Many Thanks......

Ah Zi: where did u move to?
Han also have the same experience, but we carry him for a while and he will get back to z.

lonerunner: haha... han clinged onto his daddy, and i'm the one playing on PC. :p

yesterday was busy busy for me. cos these few days observed that han is walking on his heels, then yest morning in-laws was saying that a bit swollen. we quickly sent him to kk.
then took x-ray, blood test, etc. he cried and scremed like no tmr... *sigh*
in the end, cant find root cause have to go see specialists.

keeping my fingers crossed...

Hi Grace,

I moved to Eunos crescent. Is it for many nite or just 1 nite? But when we carry him, he okay stop crying then when we put him on bed, he start again.

Yesterday, took him to 'yu guo' for massage, then he slp by waking up once crying, then I carry and pat him, then put him on his bed, then he slp. Going back tis Thurday again, hopefully that the massage will make slp soundly in nite.

Ah Zi: Thot u will choose somewhere nearer to your mum's place.

So now Eunos crescent is v near 'Yu Guo', more convenient for you.

For Han, it is occassional.
Took Han to 'Yu Guo' before too. But too lazy to continue.

ah zi, i brought my boy in the past to yu guo to build up his immune. good to stay in eunos, so near to yu guo. hee.
think ur boy is not use to the new environment. are you a buddhist? if so, bring him to temple to pray pray? sorry ah, me a bit superstitious, is your house 2nd hand? if so, do see if there is something "disturbing" ur boy. get some "you zi ye (pomelo leaves)" to clean ur house? is your boy crying "bu yao = dun want"? cause it is seldom such young babies will wake up crying and saying words like that.

Of course if you are a christian, you will not believe.

grace, hope ur boy ok now...

lonerunner, and sandy, i am not against montessori, but do make sure that the schools teach the proper manners, and right ways to speak up. I realise kids from montessori tend to be a bit defiant in school as they are used to speaking up their minds. good and bad. cause the teachers will be angry for them interuppting, and not having proper manners. yes, montessori kids tend to be smarter, but they have harder time adapting to the normal school environment, and mixing with the other kids who come from normal kindergartens. that's how i observe with my kids.

If the kid who goes to normal school keeps getting scolded by the teachers for being disruptive in class, he may lose interest in studying too.

But as a teacher, i know it is really very difficult to encourage students to speak up their minds freely as they like in a class of 30-40 students.

i have one kid in my class like this, and he is the kid who doesn't have the right manners. his mum defended him saying he came from a kindergarten that allows them to question and speak out freely. well, ok, but honestly, being a teacher, my main concern is his manners. he doesn't have good manners, when i ask him not to interupt, he gave me that kind of look. he will suddenly laugh at his classmates without considering their feelings, suddenly speak up and interrupt, question and question things not related to the things being taught etc (well, yes, the boy is giving me a headache now).

he had a hard time getting used to the traditional school system like what sandy mentioned, and i have a hard time disciplining him to do the right things at a right time.

We are not in western culture, whereby principal walks pass, see the whole class actively participating will applause. so we teachers also have a hard time...

I am not trying to say montessori is not good, but do choose a school that let the kids learn proper manners, system is still needed.

Hi Grace,

Yah, 'Yu Guo' is veri near to eunos, but dun know will is reali help him to hav a better slp, as yesterday nite he wake up again. haiz...headache.

Hi kkf,

Yes, my flat is resale. we had moved in for more than 3 week , for the 1st 2 week, my son is okay, slp and eat gd... Is from last week than like tis, I oso dun know how, is so heartpain to see him like tis...

I am neither buddist nor christian, more to free thinker, is my hb is buddist.actually my home got put thai god and b4 we move in, we got ask 'shi fu' come and 'lian jin'.

yes, u r rite, 'bu yao' is dun wan, dun know is it because tis is his fav. word, when he dun wan someting, he always say 'bu yao'.

Ah zi, maybe he is just not used to environment. after a while shd be fine.

ag_gal, I manage to get the tickets for babies prom for hari raya haji, 17th november. I realised there are tickets selling on that day in sistic (think is new additional session). I maanged to get category 2 tickets 230pm (left only that). You may want to take a look if you haven't get the tix?

Ah Zi
could it be he watched any particular tv prog during the day that 'scared' him?

Grace
How you train han not to disturb u when u are using the computer? My zac will clinged onto anyone who's using the lappy.. =(

kkf
It seems like not easy to be a teacher ah. Handling students, parents and ur boss! Haha.. mind to share with us which school did the boy attend?

thanks kkf, I never log in for so long. suddenly thought of checking sistic earlier and found that they have additional 230pm show. I just finished ordering the tickets. wasted left only $20 tickets and my seat is EE...argh. mumnies who are interested in babies prom, get it quickly.

btw mummies, I heard those aunties that massage our babies from yu guo are not so really certified. when they join,the center just teach them. I went there consecutively for 3 days few mths back, the physician and auntie is different everyday. they say different things and massage differently too...so I guess its really up to you to decide if they are good or not.

whitegalz, my boy also perspire a lot esp on his head in aircon room. I cover myself all the way to my neck but both my hb and boy wont use blanket and my boy will even take out his socks in the middle of the nite. lucky me is that if daddy is around, i am his 2nd choice. so he will stick to daddy like super glue. I am actually happy with it so I get to settle myself whilst daddy make him to sleep. but if daddy not around, he sticks to me like super glue. he also learnt something, clinging on to our legs.

I'm finally back from taipei! This terror has been more or less quite corporative thruout the trip, except for meals and sleeping time. Her taste bud changed daily! She'll refused her usual porridge diet and went from plain toasted bread to taiwanese breakfast to mee sua to mian xian to basically all sorts of local food. We were joking that maybe next time she'll marry a taiwanese since she liked the local food so much. haha! She gained approx 1kg from the trip.

unfortunately due to the climate changes, this terror developed cold rashes that slowly spread from her face to her entire neck, resulting in watery spots (similar to those water that came from abrasions). They only dried up after we applied a cream we got from the local pharmacy. And luckily we were home 2 days after the outbreak so she's on her way to recovery now.

anyway it's a nice trip lah, apart from my poor arm and back aches from carrying this little fellow for the entire trip (she refused everyone else except for her mummy). I missed going on holidays! Luckily she din complain much during flight time since she was too busy muching on her tibits. haha!

AG/kkf:
hey glad to hear that u got tickets to the bb prom! Enjoy urself!

Ah Zi:
hey welcome back! How's ur boy now? Is his sleeping better?

gracechua:
ei I envy u alot leh! I missed playing my computer games! haha! How u managed to keep Han off the PC while u are at it?

kkf:
I totally agree with u that proper manners is impt! Otherwise ah, when kids grow up, they will be "mei da mei xiao" and rude to teachers or peers. This is something I find unacceptable too. I feel that it is ok to speak up but must do so in a constructive manner and not anyhow interrupt a lesson.

Actually contary to popular belief, in a montessori environment, one of the key basic area is discipline. For example, a worked item must be worked on a mat, and upon completion, the child must return the worked items to their original position on the shelf. And the mat to be put away after class has ended. When see teacher, must greet teacher. Whenver this terror accidentally poured her e.g. beads out of the tray, her fellow classmates not much older than herself will immediately swarm over and helped her to put the items back into the bowl. After awhile, I saw chi mun returning the same favour to another classmate when similar incidents happened. Somehow kids learned from each other too.

Of course I cant say that this happens for all montessori trained kids cos ultimately it all depends on how parents educate their kids at home. I feel lah. No point send kids to best schools and end up with zero manners cos the parents dun care or are overprotective. like tat it somehow defeated the idea of getting an education. :p

SY:
hehee ... my own CL is a disaster so I definately wont recommand her. Will check around for reference! when is ur friend due?

whitegalz:
think we both jialak. Hope that kylene will kick herself out of this habit soon. I actually went to have my arm n back looked at by doc yesterday late aftn cos it's so painful from carrying this girl!

long time no post....still rem me anot lol....

Anyway just to share news la hehe that now i with no2 and just step onto the mark of 2nd trimester and i must say that this preg is so much beta becos Ms is not that worst....dunno got chance to have a girl anot wa hahhaa....

Lonerunner,

glad you enjoy yr trip leh got buy alot of stuff anot...nxt time i must try taiwan man hehe eat the chua bin with lots of fruits....ai seh hee

Grace,

Bry will cling on to his daddy becos once daddy use lappie he go daddy daddy then cling...so he cannot do that... Daddy watch tv he goes humming music of the dvd he wanna watch becos mummy me dun let him watch tv that much...so no soccer for Daddy LOL....nowadays quite sticky to daddy which i totally dun mind hehe...

Bry have become such a whiner now....a little bit only...Daddy.....Mummy....sometime call me daddy plus mummy then call daddy mummy....faint...then al name call out...daddy..mummy...nai nai... faint... Terrible two = terrible whiner...

Thanks for all the concern.

had bring my son to KK emgrency on Sat morning as he was having high fever since Wed. given him parnold and bufen but no use, so hav to rush him to kk.
doc told us he is suffering from UTI, no wonder he can't get to slp at nite, kept on crying, becos pain when urine. they had given him antibact., now he is much better...
does any of the mummies of bb here hav this problem, wat cause it? (found from website that more commonly is gal will get, boy not that common.)

ah zi, hope your boy is ok now.so you back at home..did the doctor say how he got infected?actually ask mummies with boys, is there proper way to clean their p*****?
lonerunner, may I ask what u do during the flights take off and landing...my planning is to give him milk but wonder what is the best time to give it to him. I scared plane havent take off, he will finish his milk liao. me stress..i am flying on Fri.

ah zhi,

my girl had UTI when she was 7 weeks old and becos she was just a neonate, they suspected the cause of the UTI to be something to do with congenital problems. fortunately it was not because she doesnt have a relapse anymore. so its most likely due to the bacteria that went from the poo to the pee area becos the urine culture showed the presence of ecoli bacteria, which can be found in poo.

did the doctor do a urine culture test for ur boy? if the bacteria is e coli, its most likely hygeine problem and adding to that, your boy is a toddler already so unlikely to be due to any congenital problems (e.g. urine backflow). good to hear that he is recovering well. gotta make sure his poo doesnt go to the front and as our kids gets older, they will start playing with their genitals and poo poo hole so gotta make sure they dont touch the poo poo part then go on to the pee area (naomi had started doing this a couple months back
.)

kkf: thanks. going for specialist visit tmr. and then another one on 19...
sigh.

the_simz, lili, lonerunner: let him have my iphone. :p
or let him biow his fav tv programmes
han is a super youtube addict.
i connect the laptop to the tv, and the use the dual monitor feature to let him watch youtube, while i use my laptop. :p
i'm totally pro watching tv cos i also watched tv all the way... from super small as young as i can recall.
my friend was telling me she also stopped watching to get the kid to watch less. i guess i'm still not prepared to give up watching tv yet. :p

ah zi: so UTI is the reason?

ALOHA!!!!!!

How's everyone doing???!!!???? Hehe think I MIA longer than you Lili ;P... Miss all the sharing here ;)

Whitegalz... Breana also perspire when she sleeps. I think its common. I agreed they hv higher body temperature than us.

SY... Breana snores occasionally & it's very loud! Nowadays, i place a big L-shaped pillow for her to sleep & realised the snoring had cut down. If she coughs or runny nose, worst, it's even louder but dripping 1 drop of Oblas oil (can be purchase at Guardian) on her pajamas near to the neckline & everything was well again.

Kkf... That school kid in your class is a spoilt brat by the parents. At the end of the day, it's the parents duty to reinforce proper manners to the kid.

Grace... Breana walked in her heals shortly she learned how to walk. She wasn't using the walker at all before that so I think it's out of curiosity that Han did it. What I did was, I kept reminding her "walk properly, dont walk on ur heel", everytime she did it, I look at her sternly. Then I make her run & hv fun w me. So she got cant do the heel walk

AG:
I think try give only when the plane is soon approaching the main runway. Else the milk can run out pretty fast. After I board the airplane, I ask for warm water for my thermal flask so that my girl got water to drink while muching her tibits. u can make the milk while they are preparing to leave the parking zone?

hehe, share with u a story. there was another mum bringing along her 1yr old son on our flight to taipei. She gave her son his milk when the plane started taxi-ing along while I gave my girl her tibits. Both of us ran into the same problem - we din expect the plane to stop just before the main runaway and wait for a prolong time for 5 aircrafts to take off! so I ran out of tibits whereas her son finished his bottle just before the take off. haha! luckily my hb's sister got a spare packet of tibits at hand so that kept the terror distracted. The boy dozed off to sleep so he was ok too. But the other kids around 5 or 6yrs old kept crying until I kept crossing my fingers hopefully that tis girl wont follow them. :p no amt of toys or food can let them stop

actually the take off part is ok. landing is the more difficult cos of the ear pressure. as the pilot started to go to a lower height even before the real landing, the pressure on ears will start. the kids on both flights started bawling. luckily the terror was too busy eating and drinking to cry. haha! tats why I think it is very impt to bring tons of tibits and the water bottle along on flight. And put them at our seats around the hip area so that we can reach for them easily (cos nothing is to be placed at our feet due to safety regulation). Dun be sotong like me on my 1st flight take only 2 packets and put the rest of tibits in the overhead compartment only to run out of tibits due to the waiting. haha! after the take off, I immediately reloaded my tibits box with tons to spare for the touchdown later. luckily it worked. the other boy had his milk again on the way to landing. it worked well for him too.

on our return flight, after taxi immediately take off, but the landing was very rough n abrupt. we think the pilots 'chong' too much in taipei pubs when they stayed overnite so they no mood to work. haha!

hence take it easy and enjoy the flight experience! your boy will love the flight as much as my little terror did

ah zi:
hope your boy is ok now. poor thing!

lili:
Terrible two = terrible whiner! hahaha! hey u take care, it's winter. dun catch cold. but then pregnant ladies are usually feeling hotter so maybe u are ok to wear less? hehe!
i din buy much things in taipei except for tibits cos their clothes are mostly winter wear now. And I'm not much of a shopper so duno wat to buy :p haha! just go there makan and makan!

lemonT:
hey welcome back!

gracechua:
u good leh. my phone nearly spoilt by this terror liao. ppl who call me kept "hello? hello?". haha! I'm eyeing the samsung galaxy now :p

Hi AG gal,

doc is bacteria infection(ecoli) and ask mi is it tat my boi will touch his bottom when diaper change. Yes lor,recently he had been doing tis. will have to stop him from doing tis.

Hi Sandy,
Yes,they took his urine for culture and result is ecoli.

Hi Grace,
UTI is the reason that y he can't slp soundly. after having the antibact., for the past few nite, he slp gd.

Hi Lonerunner,
Thanks for the concern. he is recovering.

Ah Zi: so everything has a reason...

LemonT: Welcome back! Yah, I also hope it is just that he is trying to explore new things.
But i really scared leh, cos i still believe everything has a reason. Just hoping it is just that he is playful.

lonerunner: iPhone! :p

Hi mummies, I am so unlucky! Waited for a few weeks for my boy to recover from bronchitis, thought now a bit more free after school exam, can bring my boy out more often, but haiz,
Doc diagnosed me as hfmd on Mon, since then, cannot see my son until now and got to stay at home.

Usually hfmd will not itch but my hands are super itchy and the red spots start to swell too. Went back on Wed, then doc says he classify me as hfmd bcoz of the red spots in my mouth, not hands.

Anyone has advice to this? I am seeing the doc again tomorrow for review. Hope I can get clearance and can go back to see my son!

My boy is very naughty too. He will scream for anything that he wants but when we refused, he will cry and scream until we give in. And he usu will want things which are quite dangerous, like metal spoons, glass bowls, cups etc. He will take water and milk bottles to roll on floor. He will rush to answer phone when it rings, say hello, then throw it on floor. He will also throw all his toys, books and everything on the table which we have painstakingly kept for him onto the floor - like to mess things up. He will try to close doors and sometimes even lock it! He will refuse to wash his poo poo, refuse to bathe, etc, full of nonsense!

But he does have his funny side - He will take my brother's book and say "I know", then when we say he is clever, he will say "I don't know", and his accent is a funny one, so amusing.

But he has not started to talk or communicate what he wants yet, only can point and bring to us, cry or shout. He still cannot drink well from straw or from cup but he refused to let us teach him, preferring to do it himself and end up getting wet.

Wondering if this is a sign of Terrible 2?

liting:
oh u poor thing!! Hope that u get well soon so that can faster go and play with ah boy! Last year hb got a mild case of HFMD on top of some other stuff. He went see chinese doc, got archipunture and took some med to cool down body. I'm not sure how western doc treats HFMD for adults. Maybe when u see doc tmw for follow up see what he says and also to ask wat food to eat to recover? is fruits ok to eat for vitamin C?

My terror also like ur boy now - will scream and cry to get her way. I opted to take the hard stand to deal with this period of time.

Like at bedtime, since we returned from taipei, she absolutely refused to sleep without me carrying her. So I just let her continue to cry until she slp lor. Her clothes, bedsheets etc were all wet from her giantic tears after each 2hr+ battle daily. Very jialak. The good thing that came out of it was that after this period of time, she slowly reduced her resistance to go and sleep on her own. I told my hb if every nite must fight a battle like this I'll die soon. Mummy is always the devil when comes to bedtime whereas daddy is the angel.

Then during day time, she had picked up a habit to throw her color pencils from her dining chair down to the floor (She likes to scribble while sitting on her dining chair). So sure ganna scolded by daddy. Recently she devised a strategy - she'll first called out "Papa! Papa!" to see if her dad is around first. (Daddy had made it a point to answer her whenever she calls him cos it took her like 19mths to learn how to say Papa) So if daddy din reply, that means the 'govt' is not around and she is free to throw her pencils! Then when the entire floor is filled with her mess, she'll act innocent and climb down from her chair to escape asap before daddy comes around. mummy always have a fit when she steps in to see the entire mess on the floor, then she'll pull the terror back to pick up the stuff only to face with a yelling n screaming toddler. Then it'll be a see-who-win battle again. usually mummy won lah, after a 1hr crying battle as usual in the naughty corner

Bathing time is another big battle. I think the blocks around our flat will hear her cries during bath time. She just hate washing her hair! Once I even heard mil scolding her from outside the main door on top of her cries from the closed bathroom door where she was bathing the terror.

Ants love our hse now, esp after meal time where the floor will be strewed with bits of rice etc from the little terror. But I'll just let her continue to learn how to self feed. I can live with cleaning of the mess in the hope that I can eat in peace soon without this terror fighting for my food while I eat! haha!

Maybe terrible 2 have decided to come early.

Hi Lonerunner, thanks for your encouragement! I saw the doc yesterday, he said I am fit to go back to school, but my hands are still having red spots which according to doctor, more likely to be ezcema. But he still told me not to be too close to my boy, so my mum refused to let me go back as my sis having A-levels starting from tomorrow and I have a 10-yr old brother, my mum is scared if anyone even my boy gets it, no one can take care of him for fear of passing the virus around.

So sad, my boy was crying to follow my brother and 2nd sis to Jurong Birdpark just this morning. We booked the tickets as I wanted to bring my boy and my bro initially, now that I am sick, my boy cannot go. He must be so sad! And I cannot even be there to comfort him. I really miss him so much!

I just went to see another doc this morning and he cannot be sure as well if I still have hfmd though my mouth is clear. So annoying not to be confirmed what exactly is wrong with my hands!

I just wish these terrible spots could go off soon!

Wah, u let ur gal cry for so long? We cannot tolerate his cries as he is very LOUD. So usually after a few minutes, we will usu give in, thus we always lost the battle. Looks like I have to be really more firm, if not next time cannot control him le.

However, when we try to talk to him slowly and gently, sometimes, he buys it and give back what we want to us, but he will usu whine for it first, then we must be in time to substitute with another thing, or explain in time, but it also depends on who the person is, usu if my MIL, he will listen, though he only sees her on weekends now. My boy also hates washing hair, especially the top part. He loves pressing the shampoo, body foam etc out from the bottles now.

Really terrible to deal with the Terrible 2 syndromes!

Hi, mommies
I have desitin creamy 4oz for sale $9. Exp 2012. Self collection at Sengkang or local postage at $1

Due to unforseen circumstances, we'll need to bring forward our plans to enroll the terror to childcare by Jan 2011 instead of June. I am in 2 minds if I shld send the terror to the nearest one 2 blocks away just for the convenience (as the cirriculum sucks and heard from other parents there that this CC sure will have HFMS every 6mths+ and lotta mozzies), or I shld enroll her to better ones that are at least 15min walk away and cost at least $200 more. tough decision. haiz.

liting:
dun worry, I'm sure the spots will go away soon, and you'll be able to make up for the lost time with ur boy then! No harm to err on the side of caution in times like this.

someone told me that it's not advisable to let my girl cry for such long hours - scare get colics. I duno how true this rational is lah, but if she does get colics from all the cryings, I'll deal with that when that time comes. haha! In the meantime, the lines are drawn this way. May not be the best solution, but it works well for us for now lah.

Hi Lonerunner, thanks for your encouragement. I was thinking if they cry too much, will they have bad dreams?

If I were you, I would not send my child to the nearest cc which u mentioned. Full of mozzies! Scary, what happens if the mosquito bites makes them sick? Already, they are exposed to much more germs in cc, if get bites too, so pitiful. If they fall sick often, we have to pay huge bills for pd as well and the little ones will suffer, then this defeats the purpose of sending them in to learn right? Just my 2 cents' worth

Liting,
take it a chance to rest from work? I think u must be very bz with sch work as I can only see you in the forum when it's sch holiday.

Lonerunner,
2nd liting. Mosquito bites still alright, if it's dengue, then it could be dangerous? Moreover, every 6 months there's HFMD? That sound very serious. Even if your gal didn't get it, the sch will close if too many students are down with it. So it's better to find some place where the "MC" rate in that school not that high.. hahaha.. can save ur leave for more holidays!

Terrible 2
So far, handling Zac is getting more challenging. Opp from Lonerunner, I will let him take whatever he wants, giving him the leeway that he's exploring. Haha.. just too tired fighting the 'power struggle' with him. So far, no major meltdown.. phew!

terrible 2..
my boy also.. if i scold him.. he will come beat me leh.. sob sob.. then i will have to hold him down.. to stop wadever he is doing.. and he will scream and kick.. and he super attention seeker.. if we shift attention to other little boy(my nephew or his classmate).. then he will go push that little boy.. aiyo.. headache..

lonnerunner.. i also prefer a better school.. 15min walk not that far.. unless that school near your place is normal i will still accept for convienent sake.. but the way u describe that cc is lke putting your gal at risk leh.. money and time can't buy health of your little one.. and u need to consider the close down time of the cc.. if they alway kena HFMD cases.. that will be more mafan..

Hey mums, just wanting some advice and/or opinions.

My girl ALWAYS cries/whines when she first wakes up in the morning or from a nap.
She goes to bed very happily and is generally a happy, sociable toddler. I don't understand why she does it. Am I missing something here? Is this common for your kids?

Take care for those who had HFMD, UTI, bronchitis etc!! It really gives us a fresh wrinkle each time they fall ill.
My little one had roseola/false measles recently and it was so worrying. Fortunately no febrile fits although she was trembling at some points.

Lonerunner, I'm trying to plan for a short trip to Taipei. Let me know if there are any child friendly places!

pumpkinseed:
hey u're back! my gal also cries whenever she wakes up, unless she is still sleepy or if I happen to be beside her then she'll be ok. maybe to seek some attention?

taipei - We only been to areas nearby taipei city like Dan Shui, Yang Ming Shan, Jiu Fen, Xi Meng Ting, Silin (nite mkt/National Palace Museum), and areas nearby Taipei Main Station (Sogo, Taiwan's Sim Lim square, comic stores etc). In city area, actually it's quite child friendly. Just look out for the bb room sign and there will be 1 in most buildings/ railway/ MRT stations. Most come with hot water and 1 even has a massage chair! I love the one they have in the airport (checkout my facebook!). It's really cozy and with FREE diapers/wipes etc! Its only in the mountain area like JiuFen that we cant find any bb rooms. Luckily my girl din poo there so quite convenient for us to change her out of her pullups when it got heavy.

Even when taking public transport, we were pleasantly surprised that those special seats for elderly/infants etc are often left vacant so that ppl who need them can sit once they got on the MRT/bus etc. If there isnt any special seats, ppl will rush to offer their seats! Directly opposite of how things go in singapore! We still got a long way to being gracious.

liting/mrslim/thesimz:
think u are rite abt it. Further abit but at least safer for my girl with better teachers. But it also means that I have to do a mad rush to try reach school before the closure time @ 7pm. Cos only 1 bus from my office to the CC lah. the last I heard there were abt 10 on waiting list for one of the schools I'd shortlisted. Maybe I can go on the waiting list first while I find other CC that I can put her in temporary. Jan is just 2mths away. time is short. haiz. I duno why my cc plans always have to change one.

liting:
haha, actually I also duno if they will have bad dreams from crying too much. So far so good for my gal but every child is different so might need to do some trial and error methods to see which one works best for ur child. I just managed to get her to go zzz at 1030pm at last! tats a very good sign! keeping my fingers crossed that she'll maintain this record from now onwards.

mrslim:
oh poor mummy ... you'd got a jealous little one around!

p.seed

welcome back...im not sure if its a common theme in toddlers because Naomi usually wakes up happy..she would smile and greet us whenever she wakes up ..but one thing is that she'll whine (in frustration), talk (sometimes angrily) and next minute laughing out loud when she is deep asleep..my hb says at this stage, they are having alot of dreams loaded with lots of emotions. one thing bad about this is that they cannot differentiate between reality and dream so if they have bad dreams, they would wake up feeling bad/upset/scared because they feel/think its real

sandy:
that reminded me .... some nites ago hb and I were awaken by the little terror at 2.30am - we kept hearing giggling from where she was sleeping rite in between us. We flipped over only to find her still asleep but yet can still giggle at an invisible joke or two, went quiet, before another round of giggling started again. Super cute to watch her reactions.

Then tonite after I have reached home from school, I was telling her abt the day care arrangement for tomorrow. She listened carefully at wat I got to say and at the end, nodded her head in acknowledgement. Like how an adult would response like that! I told my hb I dun feel like going work tmw. I wan to stay at home with her! Little adult she is now. haha! Time flies. Going to be 2yrs old in another 3mths ...

hi anyone keen to go babies SSO concert this thurs? I just realised i cant make it. A pair. 1030am. Pre concert starts at 945am.

So sad that i mix the dates.

hello mummies, I am back. Had a great trip to Fukuoka. everything was very smooth...my boy was very cooperative..he managed to poo in the hotel every morning so I didnt have to clean him up outside.was able to find changing room at most malls. he slept during take off and landing and didnt make much fuss during the flight. and he loved Japanese food a lot. he ate more than he usually does in SG. put on more weight with rosy cheeks and was able to sit thru all meals. overall he was such a good boy when we were overseas. the day before we came back, we told him we are going back home to SG and he even pretend to cry like so upset. after this trip, he suddenly started talking quite a bit and was able to repeat after us. our babies are no longer babies, they have grown up so much

hey all,

sorry if i nvr reply to post to those who are writing attn to me wor hehe...hv been bz with bry so nvr on com for most of the days else will be too lazy becos hor i like nid my afternoon nap.....else i can get headache...

oh btw hor have a update to share with you guys...i'm having a girl MUA HAHAHA.....yuppie...close factory lo....woo hoo.... ;)

lili:
congrats!!! Can close factory liao! haha!

AG:
glad to hear that you had a nice trip! haha, so cute! Can pretend to cry! :p

grace chua:
ya agree they are getting to know more things liao ... and also started to get into more troubles :p These days ah, my girl got into the routine of calling out for me "mama!" and then when I answer, she'll cheekily smiled back and pretend she'd never call me before. Then once my back has turned, she'll go "mama!" again. super bo eng to answer her leh. End up I'll chase after her and she'll giggle and ran all over the hse. Nice routine. Think I no need to go gym to exercise liao. confirm very fit one.

lonerunner: hehe yap, han also likes to play this game with daddy and grandma. normally when he calls "grandma", grandma will goes oi! in the end, the "gong" kid will go "grandma oi" on his own. super funny
and he is super vain, will go to the mirror and say 'hi' to himself.

but the exercise he gave him, still not enough to keep me fit yet.