(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Fion -> Esther has the same birthdate as Adriana ... what time was she born? Adriana popped at 1848 hrs in the Observation room ... no less! Hee~ And she has been showing signs of crawling since last week. I guess in no time she will start to crawl. Hopefully!

Joannelim -> Usually when I buy Adriana's food I will check the ingredients, will skip the ones with sugar, skim milk or salt. Prefer the natural flavors for babies, better though. Healthier as well.

I was looking for teething biscuits the other time and was shellshocked to see that most of the baby biscuits here contain sugar. Finally I found one without sugar at Marketplace. It's not teething biscuits though, more like a snack. Is it okay to give baby a treat some times? Will they be hooked to snacking and make it a habit?

How do you mommies make porridge? Do you mix it with ya BM or with juz water?

joanne i read smwher we shld nt replace milk feed wif porridg..true? is tt y u dun giv full meal?

hahah btw early this mth ii finally gt my beco.. lady vry frenly

morning!

sandy, what veg did u use for mixing with porridge? guess only sweet potato and carrot are the sweeter ones?
Btw, i tried steaming zucchini but it's quite tough to scrap and mash with spoon rite. I dont use blender. Do u remove the seeds in the middle?

oreo: LOL ya, sometimes i laughed while supposed to act stern. hahaha... how does he jump???? on d toilet seat???

snow: my mil has been telling me that's how they did it before too but i still cannot do it yet. cos when i woke up n finally carry baby, i am still blur blur hahahaha.... aiyoh must really discipline myself or else if not routine, i think baby will also confuse... Good Job, snow!!

overload
same here ah...haa... wake up blur but still gotta rush through my morning procedures then rush for work... i only potty my boy over weekends... my mum will take charge on weekdays... ;p

my BM supply is almost NIL now ..probably because of my stress and work and skipping meals !! ...dont know !

Dbaby, Joannelim
By the time i sleep ..it becomes 2 AM and then i have to get up at 6 for the next day la !!

Lonerunner
sorry i was not able to post yesterday ..are u unwell or something ???

Dbaby
yes i was busy with work and also was sooooooo tired. ..coz i went out too much during the weekend ..esp the COMEX exhibition !

Dbaby
ya managed to get a laptop for my BIL and a netbook for myself ..... almost 100 to 200 dollars below the usual market price plus upgrades !

How to differentiate between HFMD and heat rashes ah?
My bb got rashes like bumps all over body, knee caps, soles and side of feets and inside of the elbow area. My nephew just been diagnosed with HFMD so I just want to make sure.

Food worse than Junk Food:
wah .. these foods are even worse than Fastfood and chocolate digestive biskits!
- Farley's Original Rusks, made by Heinz,
- Heinz Toddler's Own Mini Cheese Biscuits

sandy:
after u express one breast, you'll offer the other breast to bb rite?
if not ah, u might just end up with uneven breast leh :p

Ramy:
did u pump at regular intervals? if not, then with additional of stress and skipping meals, BM supply sure get a hit one. Especially if u skip BREAKFAST, cos it is the most important meal of the day.
Yeah me got sick. Still fever on-off as of today. But throat super sore! Going to see doc later again.

arghh ... I missed the COMEX again!! Stupid virus!

Lonerunner,

Ya, pump 1 breast, offer the other. Does chi mun have sores in her mouth too? Fever? Since shes exposed to ur nephew who has hfmd, its better to bring her to the pd.

Ginn,

I added squash and zucchini wor. Very sweet. In fact when i added zucchini, it taste like porridge with spinach but sweet. U have to remove the skin first then steam. I never remove seeds. And i use munchkin grinder to puree it.

zucchini :
hahaha .. actually I am wondering how am I going to intro this food to my bb cos I dun take it! if bb dun finish, I will find it wasteful to dump it into the bin :p any mummies in the same situation?

Sandy:
No sores in mouth as of yesterday. fever is on off since the teething biz started. But she is still as active and playful as ever. Just that her intake of BM and solid food is very unpredictable, depending on her food. So I am abit hestitating on which option to act now ...

lonrunner
no breakfast everyday...very less lunch ..manage to scrap some dinner ... i know its because of that ..now i have no chance !

sandy
as i was telling lonerunner my BM has become NIL almost coz of my hunger patters !
very upset coz of it and i am not able to do anything about it too

Ramy:
hey! ur meal intake is extremely insufficient for yourself, let alone to produce milk! If u dun take care of yourself, how do u expect to work and be efficient? It is a guaranteed method to fall sick as well. U wan to have BM but u are not eating? The formula doesnt work this way! If you have time to take a break to the loo or go home, then u'll have time to take some cereals, or some high energy food or even some bread. Pls start this asap before u fall sick!

lonerunner
u are right ..am making a big mistake by not eating well...have started having from yesterday .... i do feel weak and horrible ....its just that i always keep working at home too ..so i feel so tired by the time i get to eat and therefore dont eat as well...its right ..thanks lonerunner ... i should have someone to whack me up like this for neglecting myself !

snow_bb
ya .... same ....session drop...BM drop ..freq also drop !

sandy
i latch my boy once every morning at around 6 am ...he latches only 5 min each side and he is not interested after that ...difficult to latch him during day as he is distracted and the flow does not satisfy him ..am able to latch him only once early morning when he is asleep thats all...... i will drink more water and see ..... but what i feel is i cannot increase it appreciably to satisfy him any more ..i think i lost that race long back !

nanaxoxo:
My baby eats around 2-2.5oz per meal. So it is fairly small meal compared with most babies here. The reason why I gave her three meals instead of two is cos I feel it is easier for her to digest small meals. But at the same time want her to have enough solid cos dun wanna starve her. I usually feed her at 10am, 2pm and 6pm... :D hehehe

Finally I got the time to read and reply to your advice.

Joannelim: The brown rice cereal we bought from medical hall consists of "shi shen". You are right. I also suspected that it is too heaty for him and also he might be allergy to it as well. Ironically, we tried the Nestle cereal too. He can't take that as well. BTW, thanks for the list of items to avoid. I will bear that in mind.

Sandy: 1)Yes, the brown rice cereal from the medical hall is his first try on solid food. We cooked it before feeding him. After we stopped for 1 week and try again, he threw out all his milk he took earlier. And he feels better after everything came out.
2) He does reguritate milk once a while but not very often. He threw up the milk he took after "tasting" the porridge.
3) All along he is all BM most of the time. I do give him FM during night feed. Lately, I increase his intake on FM as I want to stop BF anytime soon. He has been on the same FM. There is no change in FM.
4) Yup, i think he don't like the apple sauce. My niece who is 9 mths older don't like it too.
5) I suspect he might have phobia with spoon now. I'm trying to play with him using the spoon (without any food) to let him get use to it.

Grace: Yup, I will seek all mummies’s advice to start him off with plain cereal first. In fact, I just bought the Heinz plain cereal. But I still don’t dare to try out yet. I intend to wait till his 7 mth before I start again. Indeed, it is heart pain to see him vomit. Everytime my mum called me and tell me my son vomit, I will take urgent leave and rush home to see him. I simply can’t concentrate in my work when such things happen.

Lonerunner: Yes, I will start off with plain cereals first. I’m quite keen on Bellamy too. Guess what, being a Kiasu mummy, I actually stock up boxes of Nestle cereals during the motherhood fair. Hopefully he can take it few months later once he is totally fine with solid foods. In fact, my hubby is not very happy about my eagerness to start his son with solid. He finds that it is no rush to start him. Haiz… If I don’t listen to him and things happen, he will start to grumble again!
Yes, indeed a lot of patience and energy needed to take care of bb.

Iceblue: Yeah, same birthday!
Yes, I will seek mummies’ advice as not to bottle fed cereal to him. I will use spoon now if I start trying again. I suspect he might have phobia with spoon now. The moment he sees the spoon getting close to him, he will use his hand to push it away. I'm trying to play with him using the spoon (without any food) to let him get use to it.

Littlestar: Yes, a lot of precious advise from all the mummies!

Thank you so much for all your precious advice. Glad that I posted at the right channel and I really appreciate all the advice.

iceblue: yes, i still need to give milk to my boy after porridge... after cereal very minimal 10-20 ml only...

lonerunner: i wanna go but dun hv swimsuit for my boy yet... dun hv time to go buy him one yet...

gerly: yeah, i tend to leak milk during weekend when i exclusively latch on... rash around mouth? inside or outside? like milk stain? if like milk stain, probably thrush... may need to wipe bb mouth regularly...

my pumping session normally last 15-20 min, can yield 260-300 ml in the morning session and about 200-250 ml in the afternoon session...

nanaxoxo: my bb 7 months 3 wks... still no sign of teething... woa, ur bb is quite an eater yah... im giving my boy only BM, i still need to give him some dilluted prune juice (my boy loves it, it helps constipation a lot) and water since started on solids... before that if exclusive BM, i dun give any water... BM contains a lot of water... best to maintain movement once a day... your MS alot yah... keep it up... hee hee...

no i dun mix porridge with BM, cook rice with stock only... if mix with BM will be same as those cereal (contains milk and is kind of milk sweet)

lonerunner: how come u work weekend and still ganna retrenching? got OT pay meh? ur CTO sucks leh... fire him lah...take care of ur self yah... not enuf rest will lead to MS drop

stranger anxiety: my boy started crying when some strangers steps into the house... since I'm selling some of my stuffs... but he din cry for some viewers... dun know why ...

joanne: yeah... u're super mom...if i were u i'll just give the elder son dad's pork porridge... congrat on joel 7th month and his first tooth... my boy still no tooth leh...

thanks for the website Food worse than Junk Food... i bought this heinz rusk but i myself find it sweet so i stopped giving him... I'm giving him rice rusk and gerber's puff... i find it not sweet

sandy: so you haven't started on meat for porridge yet? you mixed veg with porridge ah? I have stopped mixing veg into porridge alr... that way we will have a better idea what he likes/dislikes...

ramy: take care of ur self, really... think about ur bb
... at least it's good that you can work at home... me work and having lunch and the same time lol...
I also went to COMEX... wow super crowded... we ended up q-ing for 2 hrs to register for starhub... then i hv to rush home to latch bb leaving my hb there alone... anyway, we've got the kid's channels on for bb to watch hee hee...

hello mummthks for advice.. hmn is it the milk rash will come n go..been very clean wipe bb face after every feed..

hello lonerunner hope tat u feeling better, if alot rashes on gal best bring bb c doc..

hello bbwee, you might wan try healthy times brown rice n others its organic, just mix w bm not too much..quite nice

thooyan is happy with frisocrem...is it necessary to start him on brown rice ?

littlestar
no i dont work from home ..i come to office ...but i have plans to work from home next year !!
..yes what u say is right ..i have to take care of myself ..am just going mad with lots of responsibilites that i dont have time for myself right ..my hb is also shouting at me saying that i dont eat well !

lonerunner
did u take your bb to the doc ?????

bbwee -> If I can remember correctly, most of Nestle cereals contain skim milk ... it's either that or sugar. That is the reason Y I didn't introduce my girl to that. Maybe your son is allergic to the milk content. The safest is plain rice cereal and I chose Heinz as it was recommended to a fren of mine by her son's dietician. Her son is also allergic to milk.

Littlestar,

i am currently letting bryston having 3tablespoon of Nestle rice cereal with bm plus puree (veg,potato and etc) mixed together.

after the food smetime he dun nid bm then he will be tired then he will have his nap hehe...

Oh oh reporting bryston milestone,

he now loves to stand in his cot then there was once my hubby got scared off by him because he was lookin out to see wat he is doing in his cot at night.Then he saw a head pop out lookin at him hahaa bryston stand up to look at him and in the end hubby kena scared :p

And and i saw two little tooth today haha not out yet but on the brink of the gum,no sharpy feelin or watever but like 2 beige colour line hehe...so happy :p

wonder when will it be out.

Ramy,

Please take care of yrself ya if not no one can take care of u plus yr kid when he need you the most...

LiLi
yes u are right ..i will take care ...as i said i have lost the BM supply now ..but atleast i should keep my health together ..

hey ramy,

maybe u start right now on yr meals maybe the bm supply might come back again?? now sure but worth a try?unless u plan to wean him off already?

Hi Ramy,

Heard from a fren of mine that Organic Mother's Milk Tea boost her milk supply. Can try.

I believe in supply = demand philosophy still. But since ya baby doesn't want to latch on, perhaps pumping will maintain the supply.

LiLi , nanaxoxo
my supply is so bad that i latch once at 5 am and then pump once at 5 pm ...only with around 100 ml of milk ..tahts it ...
may be u guys are right ..will try out things and see whether i can get back the supply !

Ramy:
maybe u can consider give bb partial EBM so that u can measure some of his milk intake and u need not worry unnecessary?
If I'm not mistaken, I think once u start eating normal meals, ur milk supply will automatically return. That is on the assumption that you are still expressing/latching on frequently. maybe 4-5 hourly, given ur hetic schedule. 12hr interval is way too long if wan to continue BF man!
Becos this was exactly wat happened to me when I first started work. hahahaaa!

Overload:
Just got extra day MC today. On antibotics now as throat is super sore and tats why according to doc, fever kept coming back. *faintz*

littlestar:
with and without swimsuit apparently is ok. At least with a diaper on, thats all they require. Actually Tanglin Village is my first choice becos only this club's pool has got warm water whereas others are normal water. I feel that bb wont fall sick as easily if they are in warm water, just like their bath water.
If u wan to go, do drop ur details(inc bb's name) in the list. The person in charge hasnt get back to me yet.
Me got OT pay but I would rather that I dun wan that. The thing is how to tell him nicely but firmly that he can bark all he like but do not get me into office on weekends. Maybe I'll start applying for 2-3days of MC each time he try ask me back on weekends. hahahahaa!

gerly/Ramy:
Just took my bb to doc. Thanks for ur concern! Rashes outbreak due to virus. Keep area dry and clean. thats abt it. Lucky me! :p

lonerunner
we same boat sia.. me too, on MC til end week.
veins and tendon at wrist area swell. nw wrist on splint and cant carry BB for long at the moment. according to the doc, its due to prolonged carrying of BB in the wrong posture and tactic... =(

dbaby:
oh u poor thing! yeah I got that too previously during my confinement mth. Forgot what is the medical term sandy used for this condition. our bb are heavier now so have to keep a constant watch out for the posture. are u able to keep on making clips with this wrist?

AquaDuck Trial
====================================
+ Per class MAX 6 babies.
+ Per trial 30min
+ 1 adult needs to accompany bb into pool.
+ No need for a neck float
+ Only Tanglin Village's pool is warm. The rest are normal pool water temperature.
+ Bb is to wear either diapers only(if without a swimsuit) or swimsuit if bb has one.
+ Requested AquaDuck to put everyone together in the same weekend slot in October @ either Tanglin Village or Suntec City clubs.
+ AquaDuck has yet to revert to date, although they have juz sent me an email re-verifying my request again.
+ Any last min cancellation due to bb feeling unwell etc, pls contact Aquaduck directly @ 64635554. This way they can slot another bb in for the trial, if any.

** Can I have ur bb's name pls?

1. AG + bb
2. BabyOx + bb Alicia
3. snowluplup + bb
4. GraceChua + bb Han
5. BBYang + BB

DBaby,
I think your condition is probably de Quervain's tenosynovitis. It's a kind of Repetitive Strain Injury. Must rest your wrist or use a wrist brace to keep it immobalized.

Lonerunner
why u say below?
Food worse than Junk Food:
wah .. these foods are even worse than Fastfood and chocolate digestive biskits!
- Farley's Original Rusks, made by Heinz,
- Heinz Toddler's Own Mini Cheese Biscuits

Cereals
On the box, they usually indicate only 5 teaspoon but i see that all of u are feeding tablespoon. No wonder I think that the amt i am feeding is too little. haha

Sick
Aiyo, my MIL vomited a few times today and is feeling dizzy. I have to take childcare leave moro. Realised 6 days of childcare leave is not enough leh. haiz. Then I feel that I have been taking too many leave at the last minute. Will my bonus be an stake? Now I fully understand the why my fellow colleagues who are mummies always been taking leave. Haiz.

Clap hand, stand up, call mama/dada
aiyo my bb cant do all of above leh. I wanna hear her call me mummy leh..

SY
she said tat cos of the link i posted above
http://www.babycenter.com/204_some-baby-foods-worse-than-junk-food_10313279.bc

as for cereal, i dont think they put tsp leh.. i am using both HT one and heinz, all put tbs

stomach flu n food poisoning
all of u be careful of this hor.. now very common. spreading like hot cakes. make sure to eat fully cooked food outside. then try not to use those chopstick but use those disposable ones.

iceblue
yup, i am still supplementing.

dbaby
u injured your wrist still can make clips ah.. not pain?