(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

LEmonT

Yar lor, so small already on netraliser lay. i got a shock when the PD say must use it. going back for review on friday. I hope he will be well soon....

you loss all the weight too huh/....so nice...

yaer: let's see how things go after bb has settled down without the CL.

my bb nose also keep stuck with "gold" and mucus. and also having a lot of phelgm keep "choking" himself.
then the CL ask if I took a lot of oranges during pregnancy. then i recalled, i was eating the mandrain oranges during the CNY period, like noboby's business...
then kana blamed by MIL for causing the phelgm.
sad.

lemonT: now got CL, really want to "capitalize" on this privileged period and dont want to wake up to pump. most prob when the CL leaves, will see how the routine goes.

thank you mommies for booger advise :p

olively,

agree with you too on the correlation between sleep and milk production..my boobs get so full whenever i nap..regardless day or night but on days when im busy and go without a nap, no full boobs.

Re: training to sleep w/o night feeds

im doing total latch on so my baby wakes up twice a night; and i feed by demand only. actually i have no plans to train her to sleep through but let her do it at her own time. once she gets older and ready in next few weeks or mths, she will adjust to her own appetite. cos shes growing now, i feel that we shld let them have whatever amount of feeds they need ..

Re: Should baby be waking up more now?

yes, as our babies grow older, they stay awake more. in fact my baby is only 5 weeks plus and she can be awake the whole morning and KO in the afternoon...shes also fully awake when me and hubby are having our dinner so we place her on the dining table with us (lying on a carrier). she looks at us and i realise she imitates our mouth cos she will open and close her mouth at the same time. i started playing with her since week 2 till now. i do tummy time with her, sing to her, talk to her, imitate her coos, hums and ahs (started week4)...when shes lying on the sofa awake, i will sit beside her instead of carrying her and i will stroke her chest, arms and head and she'll look at me...its never too early to start playing hee hee

lemonT,

agree with you that can lose weight through BM..and like you, i still eat alot...i need to snack..and i feel hungry easily but i did not put on weight despite eating alot..mommies on BF shld not try to lose weight excessively cos there will be toxins excreted when there is rapid weight lost..just let the breastfeeding do the job

lemonT,

my baby also sleeps in A/C rm since day 1.. she also sweats and perspire in A/C rm keke..the back of her neck and hair feels wet when i lift her up for feed; even in the night..

mrslim,
I doubt it's due to overcleaning lah. I mostly clean around his mouth, but the rash is at his cheeks too. I don't use soap at all, just dab dab with cotton balls dipped in warm water. My #2 had worse rash, and I didn't have the habit of cleaning him after feeds. I thought this time I might do that to see if the rash occured, no diff

iceblue,
My hb doesn't like soups so we order 4 dishes.

Yaer,
I have heard pple say not to cut nails in the first month cos still very delicate. But I cut my bb's nails the day we came home from hospital cos he was scratching himself and me, Had no problems. Been cutting every week since.

olively,
Most bbs will 'sleep through' by 12-15 weeks. Defn of sleep through is a stretch of 5 hrs or more. Usually we don't have to do anything. Only if your bb has a habit of waking at the same time every night for a feed, then maybe you might like to 'train' him.

olively: my baby PD at the hospic was vry encouraging . he try nt to stress me tt time wen i brg baby for her 1st checkup aft birth. PD say FM also ok, dun wry, it has al the nutrients too. aft his encouraging words i felt betr, as he did not giv me unnessary stress

whao i nvr go see my bab nose gt gold anot.. dint do anyth to her nose. my baby abt 3wks old only can i go suck her nose wif those pump alrdy?

my baby often chokes on her saliva, or plain water. me quite wried leh. looking forwrd to 20th go hospic for her jabs then shun bian ask PD abt al this..n her buttock hole redness

princessdella,

my baby too...starting week 5, she never poo as frequent as past few weeks. previously, every diaper change has poo but now, not all diaper change has. instead,she poos all at one shot and its really alot. my PD says as they grow, their bowel systems matures and they can process and hold the bowels better...dont worry k

haiz nw my baby kp eee rrr there..so poor thg lik tt craving for CF's attention lor want her carry.these 2 days she gt listen to us finally..carry her less liao

Yaer
Like Privileged, I also cut my son's nails the next day after we got back from the hospital, when he was merely 24 hours old. Was ok. No problems. Some people believe the first haircut should either be when baby turns 1 month or 4 months but for me, I cut when I think the hair is too long. Anyway, by 4 months time, baby's newborn hair will be falling out by itself even if you don't cut and he'll get bald patches, very ugly. That was what happened to my #1. #2 i cut his hair when he was about 2 months.

iceblue
If you don't see anything boogers in the nose then no need to suck anything out. I've not used the nose suction thing on any of my boys and they just sneeze out whatever boogers they have or I just wipe off with tissue when it gets close to the outside.

olively
yup all weight gone by 1st week
.. i was surprised too cos i m on the plump side. my hubby so happy too cos b4 preggy, we were speculating that i will be a fat mama during & after... but it turns out the other way. hehe..

Grace
haha.. all the most u shld make use of her.. u shld ebm more & stored it. so that after CL left, u can pump regularly w/o sweat & still can care for ur baby

Sandy
yes, hungry ALL THE TIME!!! this is the time i m so happy eating all the way... haha..

i think all babies r afraid of heat. n their temp r normally higher than us. & when we carry them, worst still.. we like to hug them tight. yes, no doubt they r comfit.. comfit w/ perspiration.. lol!!!

Priviledged
babies nails tend to grow faster is it? i trim mine almost every few days.

RE: Oranges
i took alot of oranges during preggy. good for vit C. & baby is cleared of phlegm till now

mommies with CFL leaving:

dont worry that you cant handle your babies. have faith that your maternal instincts will guide you along the way. parenting is a learning process, lots of trials and errors. most importantly we have to stay calm and not frustrated when babies cry. before i gave birth, my gynae told me my baby will be discharged from the nursery roomed in with the mommy from day 1 for natural birth and day 2 for c section. once roomed in, i need to feed and change baby on our own. i was worried that i couldnt handle..who knows on day 2 (i had c section), when baby was roomed in, by hook or by crook, i had to do it...so i just wait for her to root to latch her, check her diapers as and then and i realise it wasnt that scary ..its only the c section wound thats giving me a hard time to move around...so mommies, dont be scared or worried...take it as it comes..gambette

Priviledged
Yes am trying my best to hang on..meanwhile i have become convinced to supplement with Fm though the guilt stays iwth me sometimes...but his health is more important to me than anything else ..so its ok ...

today morning i express and i got about 60 ml..so that gives me some encouragement ...from 40 to 60..

mrslim
yes i will check it out in JB..its quite a bargain !! ....when bought in JB.

lonerunner
yes la ..only on 16th..dont know why ...my bandage is still on...went for dressing twice already !

mummyo
oh.. the baby hair will fall off by itself??

i trimmed by baby's nails after seeing how my hubby did it. now it bcome my job :p... i m not pantang too.. but just that the baby hair is so smooth & nice

Lemont
Dunno if it's all babies whose hair will fall off but mine did, much like the hair on the body, they fall out over time, same with the head hair in my #1 case.

i think they should all have to fall out and grow "real" hair over time. Hahahaha.

LemonT
So you still wake up in the night to pump/breastfeed your bb?

How I wish I can shed those extra fats in 1 week. Now coming an end of 2 weeks., I still have a bulging tummy!

Lemont
me too luv my bb hair smooth n nice
my mil said will fall by itself over time

GT
funny is the PIS gt problem , mine dun have problem leh

Olively
I agreed with wat u said abt BM

Sandy
i also give my bb more milk either BM or FM or both to make my bb fuller

As baby is in our womb for 9 mths , they have no security till at least 3 to 4 mth which they want to be carry or swaddled
Now i put my bb in stroller pushing around in house,as my bb scare alone in her room, help alot in carrying as getting heavier

mummyo
actually when i apply lotion on her crown, i see thin hair falling off..

The_SimZ
yes, i still EBM at night.. 24hour activity

anyone's baby can tahan being awake for 5 to 6 hours? my baby has been doing that for last few days.. cant get him to sleep! The moment i put him down, he cry.. and very loud too! End up i have to put him on my chest and i lie down (cos i am realli tired too).. and he sleep on my chest.. i tot baby can only tahan 2 to 3 hours awake! we fed him, use towel wipe his face, change diapers, carry and cuddle him, gave him my nipple to suckle.. jus cant do the job!

At my wits end..

LeMonT (lemont): You are very brave leh.. I wish I can have 1/2 your courage.. my son is 4 weeks today, dun think i can manage him cos he still has no feeding routine and I duno why, he seem to be hungry almost every hour despite having increased his drinking amount to abt 110-120ml per feed. I very stress leh - duno why he is so hungry so soon.

Also, how do you manage pumping for 1 hour each time? You use electric dual pump or single? Think I am worse off than Yaer - cos my per pump yield is only abt between 80 - 110 ml at most for both breast =( the lactation consultant told me to rest between 12am - 4am and only pump after that time slot lei.. duno.

Any of you experience bb not wanting to sleep in the day?

Mommies:

Don't be in a hurry to lose your baby-weight. it took 9 months for us to put on the pounds, so it'll normally take more than merely 2 months for us to get back into our pre-preg jeans.

LemonT:

you're right - the more one pumps, the more one yields. i'm pumping more now and i'm getting slightly more...

C-Sect moms:

do you know when we can start post-natal massage?

ashleigh/GT
how many weeks ur bb is ? any how much u feed ur bb?

my bb is 5wk 3day is drinking 130 - 150 ml of FM if is BM 100ml + 60 ml FM
bb drinking nt enough will keep crying

GT
its not brave.. like wat I'Ching quoted "There's no way to be a perfect mother but a million ways to be a good one." i m just doing my best
.. i also standby FM at home, just in case :p

Yes, using Ameda Lactaline Personal dual.

Me just done w EBM earlier.. from 7am-930am (break 740am-750am for feeding) :p... siting in front of laptop, reading & reply to post, didnt realised 2+hrs gone :p..

okie.. gtg.. going to play, bathe & feed little Breana.. 2day is our HDB completion. so happy! finally a place where we can called "OUR HOME".

lemonT.yes a big dif leh! haha baby change fast.i c my baby also look vry difnt liao.
mayb e can post their recent photos in the blog page?

omg..i just took goat's rue in liquid form and it tasted horrible! argh.

hope it increase my milk supply..

lemonT,
congrats too!
paisei..want to ask..if the 30 days is something we agreed to during signing of option, we can still ask them for rental and all is it? my agent cmi one..want a second opinion..

lemonT
congratulations on the new house !!!!!!!!1

sartayeo
how u doing ? how old is your baby..hows your milk supply now ? mine is a low just as i discussed a few days back....trying my best to boost ...

qingsiew.. mine is 3 weeks and 3 days (born on feb 15th).. giving him 80ml FM per feed last ard 2 hours. Used to be hungry in 1.5hours.. now i try to make it last longer by playing with him or latch him on.. cos my BM supply is low.. he can latch half hour but prob drink 10 or 20 ml.. Pple tell me i am feeding too much, make me so stress!! but he is hungry and can tell cos his mouth keep moving and he will cry too.. how not to give him?

ramy,
i am doing so-so..hormones abit weird nowadays and bad mood..now enduring till confinement lady leaves..
baby 3 weeks old already, but milk supply still low..yield only abt 40-60ml each time I pump..think goat's rue is the last new thing i am going to try..if really doesnt help..then i am just going to accept the fact that my supply is just low..
did u try fenugreek?

ashleigh,
just now my baby cries too and mouth opening/closing..then my confinement lady assume she is still hungry cause i latch her on earlier (she always think veryyyy lowly of my breasts..)and went to make some milk for her..
turns out the baby fell asleep once i hold her in my arms and reject the milk she made!! (yay!! when holding the baby i was telling her 'see la, u cry, now auntie make milk for u already..but if you're full, dont drink later k..' haha)

did u hold him when he cries? maybe he just wanna be held..

think we are giving our babies agar agar the same amt..mine feed on 110ml average every 3 hours..but no one tell me i am feeding too much..in fact, everyone more than willing to feed her..dunno y..

aiyo .. mummies ... tell u all something ... last nite hor, I ganna scared by my CL for nothing. My girl hor, last nite after crying nonstop for minutes, broke up in cold sweat, then suddenly threw up all over the flr. And kept crying non stop until 3am plus. My CL told me something wrong with my girl and tat my girl has been processed by duno wat spirits and she has to burn duno wat incense and papers to bring her soul back but she cant do that becos bb hasnt got a name yet. What nonsense is this? My hse got Fengshui items one. All no good things already blocked out liao. And if there really is a spirit in the hse, I would have sensed it too just as per past isolated incidents. Nearly killed my CL. Scared me to death. End up is just colics that is making my girl unwell. Today she's ok liao.

mommies with CFL leaving:
Dun worry so much abt the incoming events. We just have to pick up things from there and move along. It will be tough initially but we will get better as time passes and does trial and errors, like wat sandy said
Jiayou!

iceblue:
Dun worry. U think I so kiang to learn everything abt bb handling ah? HAHAHAHAAHAA
I just being very kpo to observe how CL does it so next time it will be easier for me to pick up :p

koli:
hard to handle bb : Yeah I know. My Bb is sometimes like tat one. Have to do indian, chinese, african etc dances to let bb sleep. haiz.

The Simz:
No harm trying out the binder ;) Better then having no support at all rite? I find that it helps for me lah. Tummy nearly flat liao.

LeMonT:
Wahhh!!! I love her bright eyes! Same bb face, but definately smarter looking!

haha ya lor funny lah. ur CF kuku leh.

ya lor nw i observe her more...haha means mus less PC time!

btw any1 of u has such experience--ur blood flow lik vry less, smtims brown or light red color, giv felg of it may end lik tmr..then sudly cm back fresh red again?

wah my frens vry funny de lor... hmm kp ask me to cook my own meals wen CF leave..how to huh? alone hw to go marketing etc cook stil hav to look at baby..

Lone runner.. ur CL really funny.. Goodness!! Scare you in the middle of the night? Thank god it's just colic! Ur CL must be very pai sei to see u now.

Where can I get the binder? Prob will get one this evening!

The Simz
can get at watson, i just bought one less than 25bucks

Sartayeo
Goat Rue shd work , & fennel seed but i dun knw where to get

Ashleign
Can go up to 120ml,slowly wait for bb stomach to big if u nt give enough milk bb will make noise

Lonerunner
Your CL is mad. I really beginning to think some of these CL really dunno what they are doing and don't understand babies at all.

Lemont
Wah. You very good. If I do EBM, i for sure won't wake up at night one. I'm only waking up now cos my baby direct latch.

sartayeo/iceblue/mummyo/thesimz:
I am beginning to doubt her experience to care for bb. I know for sure she hasnt any bb on TBF or c-section previously. She doesnt like to use cloth dipers. Wat's next? Luckily she got 2 weeks more with us only

thesimz:
u bet. she today super nice to me ;)

iceblue:
my locia still ongoing after 15 days leh. No sign of stopping. At times brown and very little. At times bright red and lots. I also duno.

qingsiew:
25 bucks only? I bought for $50+!! urgh!!

erm... i try to cover my baby with blanket but he always kick it hehe he slps with his arms and legs open how cute hehe..

like to know what temperature for a baby is ok? Sometimes when it is cold I will wrap him up and notice that after a while he get very hot. Yesterday his temperature shoots up to 37.5 deg is it ok for baby? My husband was so worried and we almost rush him to hospital.

Does anyone still have their menses? I have been having for about 3 wks already and there is like no sign of stopping sometimes lesser and sometimes it got more.. Is it ok?