(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

samval: ya lor...dont be sad la...20% BM better than nothing...at least still got feed him ma. feeling down and lousy or stress will also affect BM ya...take it easy..

samval: dun give up yet....my boy feeding on 120-150ml now but i'm oni pumping 60ml....oni half or less the wad he needs....did u take the med? i took it n still oni get 60ml...

afternoon ladies.

i dun understand the freezing part.my gal intake now is abt 80ml,so i try to freeze 240ml per bag so can be 3 feeds.
i thought we can defreeze the whole pkt of 240ml den pour into 3 containers to chill,cannot meh?

samval > dun give up,as long as there is some ml to feed,good enough.
there was a time when my ss also decreased,so sad to see so many empty containers lying arnd.
i jus persist in my pumpn,drink LOTSSSSSSS of water and resume my supplement intake,the ss slowly increases.

pinkie > wanna join us for a drink at tiong bahru plaza at times since u so nearby too.

mercs,daymoon > u 2 putting into infant care soon,got buy hospitalisation policy liao? recommend to buy before sending in ah.

jasmommy
me just back from GP. she checked on me and said i yet to have breast infection, but if i leave it unattended, it will develop to one. so she did not give me antibiotic.

she concluded its due to engorgement that i have some redness and pain around the bottom left of my left breast.. was feeling feverish too... so she want me to massage alot and clear my engorgement. i should recover soon. my ms still there, managed to get 120ml out from my left breast this morning.

maybe yours is a block duct, lots of massage and latching should clear it.

babystarlet
its advisible to pack individual feeds instead of lump a few feeds together to freez. main thing is the freshness while defreeze at room temperature or in warm water.. for example if you defreeze 240ml and pour into 3 feeds. the last feed will be 9 hours later... best to defreeze and feed straight away.

re: oral thrush
did any of your bb having oral thrush??

mine has, can see whitish stuff inside the wall of his mouth. at 1st thought its milk residue but after monitoring it should be oral thrush. could cause pain and discomfort on our breast.

was told by doctor to clean his mouth with cloth and warm water. the thrush should go away, if not got to apply cream to clear it. can latch on still, just to make sure clean his mouth and my breast before every feeding.

funny thing is i heard a different story regarding this from my friends. we should stop latching and throw away the milk till the thrush is cleared... ???

mercs: tks, i think will let hubby decide where to bring baby for vacination.. one reason why i m keen to bring her to pd is that clinic is in our company medical scheme, so we can let baby follow one doc thru out (but the scheme doesnt cover vaccination)..

i delivered in mid jan.. returning office in mid may. now thinking of going holiday with baby. remb reading somewhere some of you bring baby to japan? cant find the posts liao. now natas fair is over, missed the promo deals.. lugi.
i guess coz i delivered later than your so.. the things i encountered will be later, just like vacination... aiyo..

pinkie: check with you, can the blue egg milk bag be 'frozen flat'?

my gal also drink very little during each feed, so i divide my ebm into small amt, about 2 oz. the remaining i will put back into fridge. if she want more then i give another 2oz. troublesome though..

as for my husband and mum, they will just thawed and warmed the whole bottle. if she didnt finish within an hr, we will discard the milk lor. but each time, i will only give them 100ml max to feed her.. reduce wastage.....

suika: i take the med. initially it was effective but aft that doesnt seem to work anymore. guess i will just let him latch and give whatever i have till all dried up..definitely cant maintain once i go back to work.

samval: dun give up! I endured a lot of pain during mastitis.. ss drop till about 60-80 ml, less than half a feed (he drinks 150 ml). My ms is still not coming back after the 2 breast infections (my right breast was infected earlier on, now is my left breast), but will still persist as some bm is better than none? understand how u feel.. my fridge now also no more bm already.. we jia you together ok??

Samval,

dun fret, iz tougher when we have to take care others kids also..n also depends on temprement of bb.. if guai enough for u to put down n pump for instance!

u can still latch? believe that u only pump out so little, cos ur bb drink n drain ur breast well.. after i latch my boy, and even if 1 hr later, i pump, only 40ml max cos he drank all..

i accumulate over 24hrs in fridge. each day can freeze about 4-7oz/ pack.. but per pump(i pump 1x before zz @11pm after latching & 1x in morning abt 8am). iz only 2-3oz and 3-4oz respectively..

<font color="ff0000">baby starlet</font>,

me also freeze like 240ml in 1 bag.. and will plan to take out and defroze the night before in lower fridge before giving to caregiver.. milk after defroze only last 24 hrs.. so if no finish muz throw.. i also prepared in smaller bottles like 60-90ml for those times when bb growth spurt or refuse drink and muz throw away the other milk and not enough for his 9am to 7pm feed..

depends on u lor.. if u freeze smaller amount, no finish, lesser to throw away.

<font color="ff0000">how much milk can ur bb drink and can last how many hrs?</font>

Since birth, i never fully replaced ashton's feed with bottle.. so not sure now he drink how much.. it seems he drink more from milk bottle then from me?

how much ur bbs are drinking now huh?

in fact, i not sure will he reject bottle? its been 2 weeks since i put a bottle teat into his mouth!

pinkypiggy, yes the bag can be frozen flat but you need to 'shape' it a bit by putting other things on it to make it flat...

babystarlet, sure, can call me if you gals are meeting up

jasmommy: my kyan drinks abt 120ml, used to drink every 2hourly, now changed to 3 hourly. he used to be able to finish his milk happily now, he take ages and fuss so much. is it time to change the teats? i am using 1month+ teat from avent, time to change to 3month+??

ladies, me went to jalan taka bb fair again cos v bored. the giraffe toy is back again if anyone cldnt get it that time. there is still elephant and bear also

ni, was it cos he was going thru growth spurt now its normal appetite? u can try to change to 3mths plus teat if he is ready. sometimes they get frustrated when the flow is too slow. My boy was like that last time, cos I forgot to change the teat
Once I changed, he stopped fussing. Your kyan really very good looking boy, features very symmetrical. I like his eyes

Your mario lagi cute, so fat!

mummies, do u notice any increase in supply if u pump 4hrly compared with 3hrly? I noticed that for me there is no difference at best 10ml more if I pump 4hrly. Why huh?

Pat, anymore cute toys? What did u get from isetan the last time? I also want those with nightmode so not so noisy and the song can play for very long type. Forgot that I need to stock up toys at mil's plc once I start work in 2 weeks time. So got to buy more toys

bbstarlet: can la...but once defroze liao cannot freeze back la...so make sure u defroze 3 feeds one...then can finish within the day lor..individual preference la...
ya, i bought policy for kyler liao, bought junior protector plan from GE which covers HFMD also...
haiz...thinking of putting him into infant care make me sad...now he is so playful, nobody play with him in the afternoon liao.
when u sending crystal to infantcare? when u back to work huh??

pinkypiggy: pigeon milk bags can be put flat leh...so easier to store and see also...
but pigeon ones too ex leh...blue egg one cheap, but ya i also think it take up alot of space leh. flat can stack up..

jasmommy: kyler is drinking 130ml now...i usually bottle feed him...sometimes can drink 140ml...

cherryale: for me 3 hr pump and 4 hr pump got difference leh...3 hr pump sometimes cannot pump even one feed, 4 hours pump can pump more than one feed

merc: if you keen on medela mini electric.... I have one which i bought last september but never even used at all....still in the box. will include the medela 3 pack of bottles (also brand new n sealed) all for $140.......ended up not pumping as scared of over supply like last time...

mercs: i can sell u mine. i buy from the bb expo fair, but nv really use. useful lah. but ley chey. haha. u wan????

cherry: ya, mario is so fat!!!haha, so is kyan! was telling hb that everyone is our home will prosper, and grow fat! LOL!!! oh ya, the vtech toys have nite mode de. and can lower the volume. worth buying!!! but not sure whether the 30% is still on anot..

cherry: the last time ni n me got vtech toys fr isetan. is v worth it cos as long as baby can respond n stay entertained by the lights n music fr the toys. u can try the bear that ni got. there is also another one that has nite mode so slower music etc. at the taka fair i got a leap frog toy, it is a frog in a red t shirt that sings abc song ard $25. is john's all time favourite. he kicks n waves n talks alot to his frog in the day when i put him in his rocker wif the frog hanging on the bar. it sings long enuf so i dun nd to kp pressing many times

ni: sorry ask u.. u said u saw the diaper organizer at the fair is which fair? taka issit?

eh? i tot got another gathering at jasmommy's place on 25th? on or not ah?

Rachel: Yeah... me having a tough time trying to remember who is who... so though we might as well include our nice in FB in the table... then easier to cross refer.

What do the other mummies think?

Samval: Do you have the address &amp; contact for the medela service centre? Jade is asking for it. I only know it's at Toh Guan area cos HB was the one who sent it.

me got 2 doggies at hme, if u ladies dun mind, i can open up my hse for gathering. will enclose them behind a baby gate so wun terrorise anyone. haha. my plc is in punggol. anyone interested?

sarnval: we got the diaper organiser fr the recent expo baby fair for $10 at the infantino booth, under the brand 'the first years'. ni's organiser is by munchkin.

Anyone notce baby's hair starting to drop?? I noticed today on the cloth napkin that I use to line the mattress,alot of fine bb hairs =( can't imagine my ger going all patchy! If she does...;rather shave all off!

Pat/samval: as usual, any outings me is on de!!! must fully maximize my ML!!! LOL

Sperzz/cherry/Kelly &amp; other eastern mummies, interested to go parkway jalan tml?? me &amp; pat thinking of doing so tml...=)

ni, your hb quite thin leh, maybe cos he is tall? I LOVE fat dogs and fat babies. Last time my fluffy super fat, like 1 BIG furball. so cute.
too bad, by babies not fat leh. Now my ashley also lost weight.

Pat the leapfrog toy is good? actually I quite scare of LF toys cos my #1 hated all the edu toys that I bought for him so all become white elephants. I will go and check out the frog at taka

Pat, when are u inviting us to your plc?
I will be going.

ni, I interested but tomorrow I cant leh, hb coming back, got to go airport fetch him then rush here and there v sian. join u another time.

One of the things that I must do before I go back to work is to start a baby blog. Hope I will be able to do so.

ni, i thought going to jasmommy's place on wed? but seems like no one going leh...???

so how? still on? if not im going for my pedicure le as i finally got my balboa sling liaoz! hehe....=p

pat: i'm available on 30th, 31st march, 1st &amp; 2nd april. other days got driving lessons in between. which date better for u?

I have only tried medela and Lansinoh milk bag. I like Lansinoh, yes coz it can be frozen flat hehee
Medela is expensive, bought it @ last minute coz I ran out of bottles for storage.
Have not tired pigeon or blue egg or. Think blue egg much cheaper then lansinoh? I got 50pcs Lansinoh @ about hmmm $20?
How many pcs of milk bag in one pkt for blue egg? $8 right?

Check with you gals, do you find it tough to seal the milk bag (without introducing air bubbles?) Sometime i tried doing that till very frustrated. The harder I tried, the bigger bubble i got! Grrrr!!

yup, calling shopping kakis tmr to parkway. itchy itchy feet!

sarnval/ni/cherry &amp; all other east mummies: hw does 31st, tue sound for gathering at my place in punggol? even west mummies willing to travel r also most welcome!

cherry: mayb ur gal might like the leap frog's girlfren. she wears a pink t shirt instead n sings some 123 song while he sings abc song.

pat: ok tues 31st is ok. 1pm ok with u?

Gathering at Pat's house in Ponggol on 31st March (Tues).

1) Samval &amp; Zachary

btw, any idea if gathering at jasmommy's place this wed still on?

autumnleaf: i dont want medela mini liao...me now using at home and i had bought a 2nd hand PIS ya...thanks for the offer...

ni: ok great..how much u selling? can u pass to miaiko on wed? how come u not using? ameda can pump handsfree ah?? i only need the pumping pal strap...
miaiko: can u pay for me 1st? i collect from u ya...sorry for the trouble..

1) Samval &amp; Zachary
2) Cherryale &amp; Ashley

btw, who will be coming my plc on fri??

cherry: me me me! walking distance only! PAT onz too..

1) Samval &amp; Zachary
2) Cherryale &amp; Ashley

Gathering @ Cherry's place (Tampines) on 27 March (Fri)

1) Ni &amp; Kyan

mercs: i bought at $27.90.. sell u $20 ok with u anot??? ameda can use the pumping pal handsfree. but i lazy to use! hahaa... i will pass to miaiko at ange hse... when my lil kyan can see his buddy kyler again??? haha

actually i also lazy to use the handsfree straps

ni, so 1pm at my plc this fri. wat shall we order for lunch?

hey, I FINALLY started the blog for my kids
Still work in progress but at least got started.

cherry: i nt fussy abt food, mac also can! haha... oh, btw, we postponing the outing to parkway tml, u wanna join us? got me, kelly, pat and sprezz...

hi mummies, when is the next bp for blue egg milk bags?me want to try it,cos running out of storage liao.

Ange:so confirm ur house on 1st or 8th?