(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

daymoon: after clearing the breast...should feel soft soft one...hard hard is still engorged...and do u feel small lumps around the breast? you might have blocked ducts...massage it...i used warm compress. but i realized massage helps

piyo: that means your baby should arrive soon too???

miyuki: different FM the scoops and quality is different...my son drinks 80ml...but 4 scoops of milk powder leh...every 20ml is 1 scoop of powder

blessedmum: how you coping with your NB?? yours should be easier to take care hor...coz bigger already...mine still like tau hu...

mercsboy....im not too sure wor....see if got more signs tonight or not lor...cos got show can oso means dat labour might progress days or weeks lata...

mercs: tryin to cope lor, esp w feeding FM and BF.. got so stressed out last week cos of BF issue and bb kept crying middle of night..

then my mum kept saying i got v low milk supply, my mil kept insisted i must BF BF BF... prepared soo much soup i also cant finish drinking.. tootally stressed out..

thank god my hubby is super supportive and encouraging..

hey wat FM u using? im using friso leh.. its 1 scoop = 30 ml of water woh..

mercs: haha say urs bb until like tat .. mine is stil ok lah.. easy to carry.. my friend's arm got tired after a while of carrying him! hehe.. btw which pd r u seeing?

piyo: very fast one lor...maybe u dilated also leh...hehe...baby is coming to town...hehe

blessedmum: its like that one lor...my mum also commented i got low milk supply...starting i was really stressed...now i take things easier...have then feed lor...dont have then give FM. no choice one, not everyone have tonnes of supply. Like me day 19 liao i only managed to pump 80ml for 30 minutes. some of them here day 6 already 80ml liao.

i using mamax gold...its 1 scoop = 30ml water. i see wrongly....hehe. i brought bb to the pd assigned by TMC that day lor...but i dont intend to bring back there leh...crowded leh

miyuki: sorry error on earlier message...80ml for me i put 2 scoops close to 3 scoops of milk powder..me seldom makes FM for son la...usually is CL do it...coz midnight feed usually gives FM

Rachel,
pls update my status.
ADD: 7 Jan
Baby name: Audrey Beh
Baby Weight: 2.92kg

Have more time to surf the forum now that I need to sit myself down for a full 30-40min to pump.

Am in my day 5 now, pumping only 40ml every 3hrs. Hope supply will continue to increase cos my baby girl is already demanding 60ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs!

Will probably "see" some of you here at 3am later, when I wake up to pump again.

mercs: haa think im not v hardworking! i need my zz.. my mum all kept naggin me to zz and rest cos i c sec.. duh..

hope to increase my supply more this week.. tho feel latching on better, easier haha...

blessedmum: me also sleep thru the night ma...while the CL still around...later part got to wake up liao.
ya..latching on is better la...anytime anywhere...i also want but bo bian i cant...so got to diligently pumping lor

mercsboy....could be d case oso....skarli pull over tonight only to have VE tomoro to be asked to admit...high chance probably?? hee

piyo: looks like ur turn soon huh? ;) ur baby so guai, wait for 90 days then start to show signs of coming out :p keep us updated on ur appt tmr!

So many mummies now
Must be so nice to cuddle ur little one in ur arms.. glad u all still persevering in bf.. next time sure got lotsa questions to ask u all one

piyo: nothing is impossible lor...u see me also suddenly ask to admit...wasnt prepared also mentally..hehe...keep us updated alright?

sus: your turn coming soon too...not to worry about baby weight ok...catch up quite fast one...u see kyler 19 days liao...not as tau hu as when he discharged... starting really too tau hu la...

sus....likely wor...hee tis mummy itchy mouth lor...just told him on sat that he can meet us earlier if he wans to but let mummy enjoy the weekend at the very least 1st....haha his daddy's turn pleading wif him to arrive next week....
will definitely keep all updated....=D

mercsboy...agree...anything is possible judging from the turns of events faced by mummies so far...im oreadi mentally prepared either suddenli admit in the early morning or tomoro after woody visit....it's hubby who's panicky when i told him skarli we might need to admit in the early morning....haha

piyo: haha he's really a guai boi =) so ting hua even in the womb! ur hubby cant wait to see him ah? hehe

mercs: Kyler 2.7 kg born still like tau hu ah? Im still waiting for Caleb to show me some signs leh

merscboy....perhaps got instinct last 2 days...keep packing things in hosp bag...now bag is like full to the brink liaoz...im gonna have more of the pineapple tarts and bah kwa in case after tomoro gota stick to 'boring' food liaoz...

sus....he oso notti boi lor...told him to stay in tum tum till edd but he defy it...hee no la..hubby ask him to stay in for another week at least cos he's rather busy wif work usualli approaching CNY....oh yes...more pineapple tarts...haha

twws
do you pump every 3 hours even in the middle of night? can we pump jus once in the mid of night and still maintain milk supply?

kamy > hw's ur checkup with doc woo?after e VE check?
when's ur nxt checkup?

mercs >nwadays me at night always gt discharge leh,but is colourless,normal?

ni > u remove ur bag liao? hw issit?

hello all. bb is latched on the mummy now so got time to come in.

mercsboy: your hubby is good sia. can tahan. i first night abit see god liao. could be because of late nights during wife's stay at hosp after delivery. My mum is doing confinement for us in the day and will go back in the evenings but today, she'd decided to stay overnight to help us. hehe, hope things would be better.

Im not sure why but bb tends to sleep more in the day. Once evening comes, he cries quite frequently. Once my mum carries him, he keeps quiet and starts looking ard. Put him down and he'll start again 1o minutes later. Initially wanted to let him cry till he tired but isn't very nice because it'll cause disturbances to neighbours. U know bb cries can be very sharp..

anyone experiencing the same? got any remedies?

then now having some problem with expressing. Wife is experiencing engorgement and we're trying to express milk so at night can use but to no success. we're using the avent isis uno but we'll later gota try the medela which I borrowed from my bro.

anyway, bb just finished milk. after i put him down to bed, he opened his eyes and started his crying again. but wife managed to pacify him. haiz!

aiya, gota go. see ya pple

ex-dtb: thats super normal ah! at least for my case.. most babies tend to mix up. cannot differentiate btw day and nite. daytime likean angel slp n slp, nite falls, eyes open big big!!! my PD suggestion is to feed them slightly (10-20ml)more milk inrake to last them longer nite. and they should slp better...

mine is in my arms now too, after a feed, hope can last him 3-4 hrs of slp.... =)

babystarlet: yes the pee bag is removed,feeling slightly better, now on medicATion loh... hows things for u? did ur gynae say when is ur turn???

piyo: all the best! update us!

Hi ladies! I am going to hospital tonight =) Tomorrow morning is my turn to go under e knife =p

Wont be able to log in for about a week though as it a 6 day stay in hospital here.....and worse no internet =( Will use the time to bond with bb though =)

ex-dtb: I experienced engorgement on the 4th night as well... i used warm towel to put on the breast, massage then pump out the milk...you need to keep repeating the steps and I did it for several hours and now milk supply started to come in...

Cjteng, how much are you giving him now? I know 60ml of water 1 scoop of milk powder but how about 80ml of water? how many scoop of milk powder should i put? any idea?

mercsboy, yes my hubby is teochew and malaysian. myself is singaporean. is your hubby's family roots in malaysia too?

valc, i empty my breasts before i sleep, and get up once to pump in the wee hrs of the morning. usually the interval from the last pump at night till the early morning is abt 4hrs. i think shd be fine. but definitely have to wake up at least once, if not breast will be very engorged in the morning and not good for the supply also. while i establish my milk supply, i'm getting my CL to supplment with formula at night so that i dun have to wake up every 2-3hrs.

ANGE,
If you really want to bf, then just bf him at night lah. Don't bother about the formula. Especially NOT formula FIRST then bf, cos then the bf becomes just a snack. Won't help your supply. With full latching on, you of course can't measure the amt, but bb will stop when he's full. With bottle, the milk comes out very easily, so it's easy to overfeed.

Here's a milk calculator for all the mummies out here who have been asking....
tp://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html
But this is for exclusively breastfed babies.

For formula feeding you could try this one...
http://www.justmommies.com/articles/formula-feeding-calculator.php

ni,
Glad your pee bag has been removed. Must have been really uncomfy. Did the gynae says whether there might be permanent damage?

piyo,
Probably your turn soon. All the best!

<table border=1><tr><td>#</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD></TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB Birth Wt</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Chere</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>25-Nov-08</TD><TD>6-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Bradley Goh</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>bluen16</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>10-Dec-08</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>2.670kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>willting</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>12-Dec-08</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Tan Kai Jie Juvius</TD><TD>4.125kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Dink</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>19-Dec-08</TD><TD>5-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Aedan</TD><TD>3.000kg</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Dr Seetho </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>swan</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>20-Dec-08</TD><TD>14-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Atreus Ang</TD><TD>2.870kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Michele Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>mercsboy</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>23-Dec-08</TD><TD>11-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Kyler Beh</TD><TD>2.700kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Sperzz</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>24-Dec-08</TD><TD>8-Jan-09</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Goh En Xuan Delia</TD><TD>3.235kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>A-n-g-e</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>24-Dec-08</TD><TD>8-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Jonathan</TD><TD>3.065kg</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Mint</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>24-Dec-08</TD><TD>5-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Jewel</TD><TD>2.860kg</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Dr Heng TL </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jade</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Dec-08</TD><TD>14-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Min</TD><TD>2.860kg</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chen </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>conniemummy</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>25-Dec-08</TD><TD>13-Jan-09</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Isaac</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hua </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>cjteng</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>29-Dec-08</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Jovan Teng</TD><TD>2.740kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Fiona87</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>29-Dec-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-09</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Jerriine Huang Jing Xuan</TD><TD>2.430kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Met</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>31-Dec-08</TD><TD>17-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Kenneth Zhou Hongxuan</TD><TD>2.145kg</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Precious_bb</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>6-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Jensen</TD><TD>2.950kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>PAT</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>20-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>John Andre</TD><TD>2.700kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Ni</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>2-Jan-09</TD><TD>20-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Kyan Tan Kai En</TD><TD>2.840kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr. Ho Hon Kwok </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>blessedmum</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>5-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Cayden Chiam</TD><TD>3.840kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Miaiko</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>5-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Charlotte Valentine</TD><TD>3.510kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Miyuki1</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>2-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr L C Cheng </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>bawbaw</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>4-Jan-09</TD><TD>31-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Ethan Ow</TD><TD>2.490kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Adelina Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>ValC</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>4-Jan-09</TD><TD>9-Jan-09</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Caitlyn</TD><TD>3.300kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>selenal</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>6-Jan-09</TD><TD>8-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Jaidyn Lai Jing Tong</TD><TD>2.925kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>suika</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>7-Jan-09</TD><TD>18-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Kevan Chiew</TD><TD>3.020kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>daymoon</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>7-Jan-09</TD><TD>6-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.200kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Tanwawas</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>7-Jan-09</TD><TD>14-Jan-09</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Audrey Beh </TD><TD>2.920kg</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>EmQ</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>9-Jan-09</TD><TD>19-Jan-09</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.050kg</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Prof Tham Kok Fun </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>janjan16</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>31-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Shyan</TD><TD>2.880kg</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr SM Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Cheekygirl</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>29-Jan-09</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.700kg</TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>xpink_xuanx</TD><TD>WAHM</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>14-Jan-09</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Bravier Koh</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr. Daniel KK Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

ni > den better take care,probably drink more water ah.
last mon's check,gynae says cervix nt open yet,tonight gg checkup again.

Autumn Leaf > u take care.

ni: thanks for the update! keep us updated =)

piyo: all the best!!

autumn leaf: hi all the best for ur C-sect too! Enjoy ur bonding time n see u in a week's time

Hi hitachi,

My baby also tends to sleep more in the day. After we brought her back home, on the 2nd night onwards, she stays awake for 2-3 hours in the middle of the night. This makes me very tired because as I carried her, I can feel that she is sleepy so I tried to rock her to sleep but once I put her down, she will be awake &amp; start crying again. And the whole cycle continues again for almost 2-3 hours until her next feed. I became very stress and tired.

So recently, my hubby suggested waking her up in the late evening when all the family members came back home so they can carry and play with her till 10pm plus. So after that she will sleep easier throughout the night even after night feeds. I've tried for 2 days and it seemed to work so far.

Hi xpink &amp; daymoon,

Don't stress yourself over the breastmilk. Me too, for the first 4 days after I gave birth, I totally no milk to give my baby. I felt bad as a mother. My gynae said the milk usually will kick in after 1 week. Only on day 5 onwards, I start having milk. But everytime I pumped, I got only 20ml after 45mins (moreover from both breasts). So little... I didn't pump in the middle of the night cos very tired.

Nowsadays (now is my 9th day after giving birth), in 1st pump in the morning, there is more supply - about 50ml to 60ml. But after the 1st morning pump, each pump only yield 30ml. I tried not to stress myself cos stress will affect milk supply. If really low milk supply, there is still alternative which is FM.

So don't stress yourself ya, just keep trying lor no matter what is the quantity like.

twws: my hubby roots are from thai...they are teochew also...

babystarlet: its normal to have more discharge during the last trimester ya

hey mummies, if my pump is ard 90-100ml, but bb only drinks 70-80ml, can i keep the balancE in the freezer?? den accumulate 80ml for another feed??? can anot ah???