(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

jasmommy: I also use 'The Chinese pregnancy and confinement cookbook, author ng siong mui' recommended by Jade, then another one is by Auntie Patsie (forgot the name exactly but something like Confinement Recipes). Both I find quite useful, nice variety of dishes, and most importantly, got English! My friend used them to train her maid to cook and it worked out well =)

Samval : oic... but i m sure ur hb will visit u & bb @ ur mum's place whenever he can... isit possible to admit earlier, so that the chances of dragging the delivery into late in the nite will be reduced? Fm ur own experience, will the induction take long? or maybe it'll be shorter tis time round, since it's ur 3rd bb?

samval / gelato: are you guys gonna bring breast pump to hospital? i'm bringing but do i need to bring my own bottles too?

ZiLL: Thanks for the info on OL.. Im just afraid if there no single bedder, maybe will have to choose another ward.. Ur gynae allow u for C-sect by choice? =)

Hi cjteng / sperzz / willting,
thanks for sharing the info on the jabs...I'm also having a headache over it... plan to call GP / Polyclinic to compare prices once baby 1st month party is over this weekend.
My pd is also charging skyhigh like $550+ for 6in1 and abt $80-100 cheaper for 5in1. Not sure if it is becos his KinderClinic is based in East Shore Hospital.

I also heard polyclinic q is v fast and so much cheaper...yet hubby thinks there is a price difference cos the vaccines are from different locations...got such thing? Anyone knows?
He asked me to also call GP and ask price and where the vaccine is manufactured....I seriously think the GP nurses will laugh at my qn man!

sus: i also afraid no single bedder but let's be positive!
ya..he allowed & he asked me why, i told him, i scared pain..then he said ok...

ZiLL : i m not bringing, 1st few days no milk, only columstrum lor... will juz let bb latch on. In fact, i dun intend to pump until engorgement kicks in... the more we let bb latch on, the more milk we'll produce. =)

gelato: is it advisable, i let bb be half breast fed, half formulae fed? or latch on all the way? will Mt A leave bb with me whole night since i'll be in single bedder?

bluen16 : i oso pd $550 in 2006 - Kinder Clinic @ Mt A.

Fm what i heard, it's true that polyclinic will give infants priority - that is, the wait won't be long. but they dun hv 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 kinda package - bb hv to take indiv jab 1 by 1. & hor, heard that the needles used at polyclinic is bigger than those in pte clinics, so it'll be more painful for the babies... but hor, i hv no personal experience at the polyclinic - this is only what i heard.... =)

gelato: ya hb will visit me at my mum's place as and when he can, but think weekdays difficult cos of my gal's sch next day and she gotta sleep early lor. i also wanna admit earlier maybe around 7am like that, but the nurse at my gynae's clinic said gynae will only be in around 9.30am like that. i'm not sure if induction this time will be faster or not, cos first time putting the pill inside. the last 2 preg which induce also was using drip, like suika like that and it was fast. i did ask my gynae can put on drip or not, she said if put on drip, will be confined to hosp bed, so she rather insert pill and i can still be mobile, able to walk walk and wait for contractions, then check into labour ward. what u think?

zill: me not bringing breast pump. think first few days no milk so will just let bb suckle.

ZiLL : actually, it's ur choice & belief. For me, i m a strong believer in bfg & my target is to fully breastfeed for 1 year, so I'll avoid FM as much as possible. As for bb bunking in with you - normally nurses will let u rest in the nite & push bb back to the nursery. Then when bb need to feed, they'll push back to u - if u r for ttl bfg.

Samval : if u dun mind not being able to walk, might as well opt for drip - since it's faster. Now we hv elder kids to take care of, time mgmt really impt lor. How abt ur hb? what does he think?

samval: hee if u really ks, can insist on drip lor.. tried and tested, then can keep to schedule =) anyway good that u will move to mum's place during confinement and get some rest and quiet..

ZiLL: hee ur gynae so nice, mine I try testing water during last visit, ask him about C-sect, he say y? no need, ask him about induction, he say the same thing, only if reach EDD and thats only cos I got GD worh.. think other gynaes would have induced me by now cos my baby small and not putting on much weight =p

gelato: My friend who was keen on total bf told me that to prevent newborn from confusing formula milk from breast milk, she ask nurses to feed him glucose instead. What do you think about it?

Jade: Do you know the size of the peristaltic nipple teats that came free with Pigeon? Is it S size? So far I read reviews from other forums that the nipple teat comes highly recommended cos it makes baby suckle harder then they wont reject breast. But dunno if they poor thing got to work hard =p

sus : i m not sure - hvn' try that b4. =) I wasn't successful with ttl bfg with the 1st kid, & gave in to FM. But, thank God bb was ok with fully bm again, when the milk started to kick in... =)

jasmommy: pigeon peristaltic nipples wide neck bottles for new born. You got use before? Suitable for new born to drink milk? The confinement book is in English.

Sus: Think the bottles don't come free, it is already priced in the set. The set comes with 2 wide neck pigeon peristaltic nipples bottles for new born and 3 others for i think 3 to 6 months also wide neck pigeon peristaltic nipples bottles.

Jade: The two bottles with newborn came with the starter kit is it? Then the other 3 bottles for 3-6 mths came seperately in another box? Oh dear I think I already mixed them all up. Are the two newborn bottles the taller or shorter ones?

bluen / gelato: my son is also with MT A Kinderclinic, under DR KH Lim... ya their 6 in 1 jabs $550. how much is polyclinics charging ah? anyone checked it out alrdy??? just went for pd visit and found out that i seem to be under feeding my poor boy.. supposed to be giving ard 70-80ml for his size, but i give 60ml only.. me so blur, no wonder he keep crying at nite..

Sus: to know the teats meant for how many months baby, look at the base of the teats. Manage to figure this out this morning.

Think the baby has to suck hard. Water flows faster than milk. Today I put in water in the bottle and try to see how long it takes for the water to come out and at the same time squeeze near the tip of the teat, I give up.

Sus: shorter ones 200ml for new borns (found in starter kit). 3 taller ones 300ml for 2 to 3 months. ( 1 in starter kit and the other 2 in a separate box)

gelato: agree that for us with elder kids, time mgmt is impt to us. my hb ah? he say i'm the type who cannot sit still and will get irritated in bed for so many hours, so he prefer me to jalan jalan to get a breather and more freedom. but men dont think far lah. he din think of the possibility that if give birth in the wee hours in the morning, the discharge from hosp will also be a day later. arrghhh!

sus: i was thinking of asking my gynae again abt the drip. in fact ystdy i asked her abt twice, but she like insist pill better so i can be more mobile. she also mentioned that no need to check in labour ward so fast and just lie in bed do nothing. also, the longer we are in labour ward, the more $$ we need to pay cos they go by per hourly i think. my hb ask me to go with gynae suggestion. but gynae did assure me that will deliver on same day. but i think it all depends leh. she really confusing me and putting me in dilema now.

ni : upto now, i oso dunno how much milk to give bb when they hit certain weight... but i rem my MIL told me, if bb always finish the milk (if u bottle feed), then we can try increasing their intake a little... r u still training bb tan to latch on? if he can latch on, then u no worry liao.. he'll suck until he happy lor.... hehe...

dear ladies, today i went for my post-natal check up with my gynae too. got bad news for myself. my bladder isnt functioning properly. gynae suspect that might be due to delivery loh. that explains why these few days whenever i urine, in small quantities, and even after peeing, bladder still full full de. so gynae had to insert pee catherer to flush out my bladder pee. and i have to put it on for 3 days! the feeling sux man! feel like those lao ah peh with peeing problem. and walk as slow as lao ah mah now.... =(

Samval : wow, like that u hv quite a few things to weigh : time, freedom vs boredom, cost... gotta see which 1 more impt to u leh... =)

gelato: baby tan very lazy one. he dun latch on. i express out for him. today is abit happier, can express 50ml, but still insufficient for him..

forgotten to congrats suika! Suika! u steady leh, can go without epi... and ur boy is of good weight. heavier boys easier to take care of =) u staying in Our Lady Ward? And yes suika is right, the nurses are super caring, the nursery nurses too.

ni : aiyo, why like that? isit due to infection? will medication help?

maybe u can keep training bb tan? sometimes practice makes perfect? or maybe he's juz too hungry, that's why 'lazy' to open mouth big big to latch on, & wait for letdown? =)

gelato: now i on the pee catherer thingy loh, walk slow, have to carry a pee bag whereever i go loh. have to empty the bag when its 3/4 full. but heng only for 3 days.. =(

ni: u ok or not? doc just say put pee bag for 3 days only? then aft that what? btw, your bb is how heavy when born compared to the time doc scan u? same weight?

gelato: sigh.. i will discuss with hubby tonite and see what he says. will paint him the whole picture and see how. actually we not worried abt the cost, because we are fortunate that hb's company allows to claim 80% for all medical/hosp/delivery cost. so we only pay the bal 20%. not bad huh? we are more concerned abt the logistics issues.

ni: oh dear! did u ask dr how did the pee problem come by? which part of delivery process? Did u stay at Our Lady ward also?

Jade: oic.. thanks! I agree really hard to suck!

ni : oh, so juz the catherer will help? no need medication? no wonder they always measure how much is our 1st urine once the catherer is removed...

3 days very fast over, sayang u okie... bb tan oso sayang u... =)

samval: bb is 200 grams lighter den my gynae estimate.

sus: dunno leh. he say mayb i got weak bladder in the first place, and delivery worsen it loh, making it even weaker. and ya, i stay in OL ward too.

gelato: on medication too loh. sat go back review see can pee properly anot

Samval : ya, so good... since ur hb can claim back most of the cost, next time can opt for a more experienced gynae when u hv #4. hehe...

ni : take care ya.

ni: u mean like bladder muscle cannot work properly is it? thats y they say mama zui wei da! all the suffering we go through.. hope u get well quickly wif medication! yar babytan and us sayang u ok??

samval: oh since cost can claim back mostly, u all can proritize based on ur logistics issue lor.. r u gonna change another gynae for no. 4 since she alwys scare you? hehe

sus : i might change to another gynae IF i have #4!
i will ask my gynae again if can put on the drip or not. if she really not keen, then bo bian, i will just go as what she says lor. my hb always say i stubborn, like to defy doctors.

sus: our gynae say the same thing to me also abt C-section and induce.
he said my placenta is fine, baby is fine and everything is fine, no reason why i wanna go for C-section. He assures me the labour won't be very long, won't take more than half a day.
I asked abt induce, he said not good idea unless got reasons. It is better to let bb stay inside longer(but not way past EDD), so tat he can grow, lungs will be fully developed, liver fully functioning etc.

Never ask him if fully functioning liver means low risk of jaundice.

i told him i wanted induce out of convenience coz' don't wanna water bag burst on CNY or CNY eve, very troublesome for me and himself too. coz' he won't get to celebrate CNY too. haha. He said it is ok if he has to work on CNY.

i dunno whether to laugh or cry because i don't seem to like this waiting game.