(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

suika, no epi? wow steady gal...

ashley, me also starting my ML on 12th... cannot tahan liao... so heavy...

sus, yah what is sheng hua tang?

janjan / ashley, me also dun like nite time... sleep is so gan kor... wanna turn very difficult these few days and keep having to go toilet... then when get up for toilet break, bladder so pain but not much output...

sus
I heard the sheng hua tang b4... advice the chinese medicine hall must drink after delivering (the 1st week). main purpose to clear the blood clog inside.

nova, me also still waiting for bb to make apperance, but from what dr says, looks like i'll go overdue too!

jade: can try green papaya soup also...helps...
depends...sometimes wake up once sometimes wake up twice...now he is drinking 70ml..at 15 days old. if still got bm, CL will feed BM or else FM lor...then next morning i wake up and pump again.
sometimes i let him latch on...but coz i only have right side for him (left side is short nipple), so i usually latch for 20 mins or so...then after that pump again...can still pump around 60ml...(enough for next feed)

dazed: dont u hope for bb to come out now?? coz after baby out...no more waking up in the middle of the night to pee lor...no more pig trotters leg and can sleep comfortably liao..

samval: so you be inducing earlier right? i think since dilated liao...cannot hold too long...

i checked with the CL liao...
she said if the lochia didnt come alot then must drink the sheng hua tang...continuous drink for 2 days...
if lochia come alot then no need to drink...wait will giddy...

gelato: u here? i think i'll be the one going to visit you lor! i'll be delivering 2 days before you! you single bedder or double?

sperzz: i heard about the OL ward too.. i'm gonna request for it... hehe!

suika: steady la! congratulations!!

<font color="ff0000">tumble</font>,

where to get confinement receipe book huh? no CL for me this round, would like my 2 maids to get a guidebook..

<font color="ff0000">suika!</font>,

deliver so fast! was msning u previous night and so fast pop! and brave mummy, no epi! jia you on BF!!

<font color="ff0000">sperzz</font>,
thks for update on OL ward in Mt. A. I had good experience there previously in 2 bedder for latching learning, post natal classes etc, cup feeding of bb .... this round, i chose 1 bedder(cos i scared my DD make alot of noise when she visit), but now wondering if should downgrade back to 2 bedder?

Those who bought the pigeon steriliser set which includes milk bottles from Takashimaya last year, have you started using the pigeon milk bottles? Any problems? my CL commented that the milk flow is too slow. I read the instructions that the pigeon peristaltic nipples, the baby mouth also need to squeeze near the wide base part, so that the flow will be faster, but the base part is a bit far from the tip of the nipple for the newborn to reach. So it means these newborn bottles are not usable even though the pigeon nipples are meant for newborns.

Any feedback or comments?

jasmommy..i got this book which was a gift to me - The Chinese pregnancy and confinement cookbook which is from Times bookshop, author ng siong mui which I find it useful.

Hi Sus

I think u can jus tell the medical hall ppl that u wanna cook the Sheng Hua Tang and they will pack the necessary ingredients for u.. Jus have to throw everything into a pot &amp; boil, then jus drink in the morning can oredi..

<font color="ff0000">jade</font>,

yours is standard neck or wide neck? cos pigeon standard neck peristaltic should be ok leh..

avent one even wider leh.. maybe u can switch to avent?

<font color="ff0000">confinement receipe book</font>,

thks for advice, is the book in chinese or english?

Jasmommy, i got mine from Popular bookstore.. Title is Confinement Recipes by Ong Swee Ngoh.. It has 108 recipes in it and it features diff recipes for diff days so at least we dun have to keep eating the same stuff for the whole mth..

yiwen: ok thanks for the encouragement
u jia you ok? lets support one another. do update us this coming Fri.

mercs: actually ah, i a bit paranoid lah. cos this fri exactly 37 weeks then next thurs will be abt 38 weeks like that when gynae will induce. i know 37 weeks is full term, but of course if bb stays in longer, the lungs will develop better etc etc lor. just worried abt that only. when i asked gynae ystdy for her opinion, she just said anything aft 37 weeks is ok. like that only lor. then she warned me that bb may wanna come out earlier since aldy dilated, so gave me admission letter just in case.

willting : settled with auditors liao... oso settled YE closing liao... now is busy with YE reporting, recon, performance appraisals, &amp; handover of job.... r u in acctg line oso?

Samval : haha... maybe she enjoy scaring pple...

ZiLL : u changed to Thurs? how come? but ur EDD ahead of me hor? i m taking single... but i m worried no single rm available... last time, they sent me to double bedder until a single rm is available... but still charge me single rm lor...

gelato: no i was contemplating on Thurs or Friday remember? my EDD is supposed to be 20.1.09, yours leh? Actually hor, should complain leh...it's not that we wanna downgrade to double bedder ma, it's their problem no single bedder ma... u mean u didn't complain the last time ah? how long u waited for the single room the last time?

ZiLL : oh, i thot u were contemplating btw Fri &amp; Sat... hehe... my EDD is 26/1, DS EDD is 29/1, but my gynae majiam so scared i anytime gonna deliver like that... hehe... no leh, i didn't complain, cos'i didn't even chk the bill until much later, but anyway, tahan half a day only - aft that my hb went round the ward &amp; see if got pple chk out or not lor... then he quickly book the rm with the nurse... hehe... &amp; then hor, according to suika, the policy is such that no matter u upgrade or downgrade, they'll still charge u the higher rate lor... so argue with them oso no use lah... their policy lor... =)

gelato: na... was Thurs or Fri cos Sat i scared got extra charges... hehe! u intending to top up how much of cash for everything? me scared i put not enough aside...
wah.. your hubby so sweet! what time will yr surgery be? you chosen yr PD Liao?

ZiLL : if i rem correctly, last time pd ~$1.5k cash - mine was c sec with GA, stay 3D2N. anw, will be paying by credit card, the rest i'll worry later... hehe... my surgery shld be ard 7.30a.m. (aft 7a.m. no surcharge)... My 2 elder kids used to see Dr Terence Tan, but he's soooooo popular - difficult to make appt with him. So, i asked my gynae to recommend - he hasn't get back to me... if i deliver @ Mt A, dunno if i can send my bb to a PD @ TMC for follow up or not hor?

gelato: ya me too! was just thinking a while ago, worry later la! now i got more things to worry man! ahahahhahaah!! i taking simon ng.. heard from mommies here that he's quite good next to terence tan.... i think after u discharge, yes u can choose whatever PD u want... no problem one...

ZiLL : ya lor, worry later.. hehe... is simon ng's clinic in Mt A itself? i was thinking if i send my bb to a PD @ TMC for jab, then i produce the Mt A booklet for them to do recording - weird or not? haha.... cos i dun drive lor, if go Mt A, gotta depend on hb to send, or take cab. Then if i send my bb to a TMC PD near my place, take cab oso much cheaper lor... =)

ZiLL : ya, 1st delivery - stay with me throughout. 2nd delivery - stay with me both nites, but got 'sneaked' off to send my gal for class. This time round, maybe stay 1 nite with me only. cos he need to send my gal to sch on Mon morning.

gelato: err... simon ng whether got clinic there or not i don't know leh... but i think even if u product Mt A booklet for TMC, they'll not say anything..just act blur lor... they got money to earn, where will reject u? hehe! you can ask the nurses at Mt A when u're still in hospital, no harm...

you this time round will be under GA or epidural?

ZiLL : still opting for GA, hb dun encourage epi - he knows i super chicken... sekali scream in the OT.... hehe... maybe he oso scared to accompany me lah... GA no need to go in with me mah... haha...

gelato: ahahhahhahaha!!! so funny!!!! i just received the brochures all from Mt A yesterday &amp; realised that the single bedder under GA is more ex than epidural.. weird... my hubby also another chicken...i was telling him, pls dun be wheeled out together with me after the op! pls walk out with the baby &amp; nurse in style!

gelato: i dunno leh... i gave gynae the date &amp; he just said, "ok... we shall book for u!" my gynae super cin cai one lor.. sigh....

ZiLL : ya, GA more ex than epi... lotsa mummies here oso claimed that epi recover faster than GA... so, seems like epi is a better choice...

haha... u sooo funny, tell ur hb that! but i heard he won't get to see the op - they'll cover up with a screen or whatever... but hor, cannot be spared fm the 'bloody' smell lor... =)

ZiLL : maybe he dun anticipate ur labour will come earlier than that... good oso lah, more time for bb to grow, &amp; more time for u to enjoy bb in you. =)

gelato: dun worry, it's only about $180 more ex nia... not very big diff... hehe!

ya i told him that we'll be covered up with a screen then he was like " then wat if they ask me to stand up to see baby then i'll see all the blood!" *faint* what's happening to men these days? sigh...

suika gave birth w/out epidural ah?

ZiLL : haha... ur hb oso sooo funny... then imagine if u give birth naturally, it'll be more scary for him... =) but hor, if he really scared, dun force him to see lor, as long he accompany u, can already. =)

Ya, suika very steady... short labour &amp; no epi! if i were to give birth naturally, i dun think i can ever survive w/o epi...still rem my VE chk - already screamed like hell... haha...

gelato: ya won't force him, i already very afraid he'll really be wheeled out together with me lor! better let him sit down &amp; be safe... ahahahah!!

ahahaahahah!!! i've never done VE check before so i won't know how painful it can get... but i'm still a chicken, even not pain, i dun dare go thru natural lor!

ZiLL : whether natural or c section, whether epi or GA - ALL i SCARED! i m no better... haha... rem i always regretted getting pregnant whenever i m going to deliver... but hor, all these fears will be gone once the little bundle of joy is in your hands. =)

gelato: ahahahahahahah!!! so funny! i think all mothers are like that lor... when nearing delivery dates, it's like "why in the world i land myself in this again??!" i really cannot wait to have tat feeling of having the little bundle of joy in my hands... dunno how will it feel... hehe!

zill/gelato: hahaha ya i also "regretted" being pregnant during labour stage at the delivery ward!

gelato: so your hubby will have to send your gal to sch on mon ah? for me doc asked if Fri ok for us or not, and we chose Thurs instead to induce, then my gal skip sch on Fri and sat can discharge. but hor hopefully bb dont come out before that..

ZiLL : yes, yes, exactly that feeling!

Your turn is coming soon... it's a wonderful feeling lor... until his cries makes u crazy or if he refuse to sleep when ur eyelids are already very heavy, then probably u'll miss him inside u... haha... but as the bb grow day by day, wow... u'll feel so wonderful - so like a mother! hehe...

Samval : so, i m not alone! haha... i already regretted when i was in the labour ward 1st time round, even aft delivery, i told hb tis will be our only child... haha... but i very 'forgetful' de lah...

ya, i purposely choose sat cos my hb can send me to hospital in the morn, then send my gal to enrichment class in the afternoon (i can't get down the bed on the 1st day, so ok that hb is not ard in the afternoon)... then on Sun, my ILs will take care of the kids while hb is there with me... but i was telling him to go hm &amp; sleep on Sun nite, so that he can send my gal to sch on Mon morn, thereafter, come back to hospital to take his breakfast &amp; get ready for my discharge.

Tumble/swan/mercs: thanks for the info on sheng hua tang.

dazed/PVL: Like what they say, my confinement book recipe recommends sheng hua tang to help expel lochia, to be taken 2-3 days after delivery.

sperzz: Does OL ward at Mt A have single bedder? OL sounds good leh =) Im also afraid no single bedder end up double bedder than hubby cant stay over.

sel: congrats! ur baby looks big and cute! =)

Samval : will Fri be a better day for u? cos u can deliver aft ur gal go sch, then after that no sch on Sat &amp; Sun, &amp; you'll be discharged on Sunday already - so her sch not affected?

gelato: i heard about shoving the baby back into you once they get cranky! ahahhaha!

samval: when's yr turn?

sus: i think OL has single bedder too... i heard a lot about OL.. hehe! i also afraid hubby can't stay over if no single bedder

Jade: yah I got the same question as you, cos I just took out the bottles free with Pigeon sterilizer on Sat, then realize the squirt of water is very very small.. wonder if its tough for newborns to suck..

gelato: thats very good planning. for us, the girls will have to miss thier enrichment class on Sat (17th). and once discharge, i will go straight to my mum's hse in sembawang and on sun, my hubby will go back to sengkang with my elder gal cos she got school. so that means hubby and me will be "seperated" during confinement lah. but better for me also, so i no need to back my place and face my MIL wor. now i only worried cos Thurs i suppose to admit at 10am then doc is going to insert the pill into vagina. dunno how long will take before i deliver?? should be at night. but if deliver around midnight or wee hours in the morning, then most probably have to discharge on sun, then all my plans gone liao.. sigh!

zill: my turn on 15th Jan, induce. going for natural.

gelato: ya initially wnated Fri so as not to disrupt my gal's sch, but dont wanna discharge on sun leh. wanna discharge on sat so sun hb can spend the tiem with bb and the girls at my parents place before heading home.