Hey, any gelare near west side huh? Dun ask me to drive to Suntec...
gelato: Maid takes time... whether for us to get used to them or for them to get used to our family... maybe we are preggy now, emotions a bit more eratic... give yourself some time... as long as maid toe the line & not too much, give & take a little... but she MUST respect everyone at home, even the little kids. That's what I tell all my maids... I also teach the children the same thing.
If maid does anything you do not like, tell her matter-of-factly... no need to get emotional or upset. Just let her know you do not like things done certain ways and that you'd appreciate if she meets your expectations. I tell mine matter-of-factly... if I find that I dun like certain thing they do, I'll tell them and they need to try to accommodate me... if they can't or feel oppressed by my request, by all means tell me & get tansferred. I stress that me & my family's satisfaction & happiness is most important... we also dun wish maid to be unhappy as during their stay, they are also part of the family... if they cannot comply or dun wish to, then I'm sorry, I'd rather send them off then wait till everyone gets upset...
hee hee.. I think this way, it's mutual understanding... of course other adults in the home also need to sing the same tune... it's like disciplining kids... all must be consistent... can never take sides with outsiders...
If my MIL try to give maid some leeway that I do not agree with, I'll tell MIL off as diplomatically as I can... not easy la... but gotta lor... we've had 'clashes' of opinions, but I always explain my stand... good thing is PILs do listen & back off... either that or HB & me will insist on having our way... hee hee... good thing this is our house ma... we still get final say... not that we don't respect the old folks la...
Look at big picture lor... good maids hard to come by, there's no perfect maids... if they are 70-80% acceptable, just give & take... just ensure basic manners & respect is there lor...
cheekygal (& other mummies): If you gals thinking to get the nepai delivery, can consider deliver to my place, then no need to carry stock & bring from home... also since my MIL & maid home on most days, there's always someone home to receive the items... only request is make sure goods are paid hor... & you might want to send me inventory list, so I can ask maid to check when she receives the goods... PM me if you need my home address.
BTW, for all the mummies coming to the BBQ, it will be at Varsity Park Condo, Pit 1. Ask for directions to the treehouse. Let me know if anyone needs directions to the condo itself. Also, does everyone coming accept PM? We may want to compile a list of mobile numbers for ease of communications that day.