(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

seems that the forum is so active today, after a super long weekend.

Chere:
Here in my sis place in KL now. Driving to Club Med Cherating this Friday. At least I can take a breather when here.

ann01Jan: 1.2l? dun think my boy drink that much. He hates plain water.

Yanling: that is this type of mattress with raised edges. But the size is not a full single size bed. What I did was to get a single size mattress & stuff the sides with bolsters/pillows to prevent him from rolling under our bed.

Just wondering, what toothpaste are you all using for your dear little kiddos now? I just got Orajel Toddle training toothpaste. Wonder how my son will take it.

Happy roaring year mummies!!! Hope all little ones enjoyed their first cny!!

I feel so blue after the long break, that I checked next year's cny! It's gonna be another long weekend! Chu yi will fall on Thursday, feb 3
wohoo...

Ni, you went to casino? I heard freaking long q for foreigners, but local no Q.

Yanling, you can try first teeth toothpaste. Can get from gaurdian. My boy loves it

precious/dink: no lah i no go lah, i was lugging kyan how to go in???!!! underage lah. haha.. maybe next time. but i have a good time at Blackjack & MJ! hehehe

I'm looking for some advice.
My boy just turned 1 in Jan, and I'm worried that he might be drinking too much FM and not enough solids!
Just wondering if mummies here can share their child's feeding sched? Mine is as follows:

7.30am- FM 240ml
9am- B'fast: Cereal + Mixed Fruits (1 baby bowl)
11am- FM 270ml
1pm- Lunch: Porridge or Pasta + Protein (alternate fish, chicken and beef) + Vege + Potatoes (1 baby bowl) + Fruit
3.30 pm- FM 270ml
5.30 pm- Dinner: Same as lunch but only half bowl
7.30 pm- FM 150ml

Hi Ashley, no we just went to a GP near our hse cos PD gotta wait for at least 3hrs! N Chloe did nt hv rashes on the 1st day of fever, but the GP did say look out for rashes. When her rashes broke out on cny day 1 we didn't bring her to see doc again liao. :p Her fever did went up to 39.7 one nite but I guess she's oredi on Nurofen wich is quite strong med liao rite, so fever up n dwn shud b quite ok de. Like wat u said they gota build their immunity with this virus, as long the fever din continue stay so high even after med shud b ok de.

Hi Yan Ling, my PD said tt actually no nitto use toothpaste for the 1st two yrs de. Can jus intro toothbrush to them wil do. So I hvnt started using leh, actually I oso dun even brush daily. But she enjoys whenever I brush her teeth thou. Do u all brush daily liao?

Hi Athlete, my gal's feeding schedule abt same as urs. But she dun drink so much milk oni abt 210ml ea time. N she drinks at 6am, 2pm, 8pm, sumtimes even 2am she will wek up n drink again! Wonder y she can't sleep thru the nite at times?? Hv u all tried dream feed b4? Cos she sleeps ard 8+pm so wonder shud I dream feed her at abt 11pm? But sumtimes dun dream feed her she can sleep till 6am leh. Really duno hw to catch her pattern... Any advice?

Looks like your toddlers are drinking lots more milk. My schedule is as such.

7.30AM - FM 150ml + 4 tsp of nstle honey oats
8.30AM - Cakes or some sweet treats
1PM - Lunch: Porriage(alternate fish, chicken) + vege
2PM - Fruits
5PM - FM150ml
7PM - Dinner. Rice with soup
9.30PM - FM150ml + 4 tsp of nestle rice.

He can sleep through the night but usually wakes up about 3-4 times per night crying for his pacifer or just wants to be comforted.

Hi mommies and babes, hope u all had a great time celebrating in the past few days. i enjoyed myself so much that i had a blasting headache when i went back to work. haha... slept from 2.30pm till 6plus and then rolled in bed till 10pm. now i am so alert. hai.. cannot get to sleep

dink: ya, shyan could walk 2 steps or so on her own without support, but she refused to walk more. need us to hold her hands. aiyoh. i not only super mom brought her out alone, last week i brought her out to tiong bahru plaza.

i was happy that i finally found new clothes, but sad that i had to upgrade to L size. and i literally went into the fitting room with shyan. tried all sorts of pattern. from making her stand against the wall, sit on the stool to putting her on my lap while trying out the tops and bottoms. thats it! no more fitting room with her alone. its a gtotal disater. hehe

Hope all mummies had a good rest over the long CNY holidays. Have a good year ahead.

Yanling/jazzy: LeAnn's milk intake is about the same as your son. 150ml the most. LeAnn also wakes up a few times in the night, crying with her eyes closed. I assumed that it's not for milk because if i stuffs the pacifier back into her mouth or put her between my hb and I, she will stop crying but will wake up another few hours later. i think i will have a harder time when i tries to wean her off from her pacifier. My sil asks me to try the cry out method. That will be my only last resort.

Morning mummies! I must make sure I make full use of my leave today. Yesterday I was busy catching up on my sleep plus taking care of the two monkeys at home.

I have wrote a list of things to do which include cooking for the kids. Ashley has been more fussy with food nowadays. Her breakfast is 1 piece of pancake today with cream cheese and she barely finished half.

Kelly: last nite Leon did exactly the same thing, cry terribly with eyes closed. My gosh ! What's happening ? !!!

JanJan: I can never try that, Leon will either walk out or crawl out of the fitting room if he can, and pick up everything on the carpet and put inside his mouth !!!

Good Morning, everyone...

Yan Ling : your intention is to let sleep btw the 2 of you? maybe can consider getting a bedrail? that will prevent him fm falling, & does not take up space...

janjan : You're very steady! bringing the lil one out alone is already quite a task, you're still able to try on clothes... salute you! Shyan muz be very co-operative too. =)

Kelly : r u feeling better?

cherryale : hope you hv a fruitful day today! =)

btw, if anyone going to visit PD soon, can shun bian ask how much is recommended fluid intake for our 13mth olds and share here ? Thanks thanks.

ann : personally, i think as long as the baby has no signs of dehydration, hv regular wet diapers, no dry/cracked lips... shld be ok. Dun get worried by what you read ya. =) I was oso doing the calculation for caden : 10.5kg X 150ml = 1575ml... i find it quite unachievable lor... ;P

dink: the 1.2L includes milk wor...

Also a small announcement that Leon is finally permanently holding his own milk bottle and finishing his milk all the time. In fact, he will put the teat into his mouth and suck again to double confirm that there's no more milk in the bottle. I find it so amusing and amazing ! For a mummy with feeding problems since young, this is a great great relief !

gelato: u can try try, just put his hands together on the bottle and then let go after a while... he might just hold on to it !

ann : i still latch him, so no chance to try. hehe... but i do see him holding his own drinking cup... that 1 comes with handle, so not counted tho... =P

Jan: I used to bring the stroller into the changing room with me, strap bb in with some toys & quickly try out the outfits. Can't help it if we are out alone with bb. Was easier when I brought both #1 & #2 out, I got #1 to entertain #2, either inside the changing room with me or just outside.

I have yet to try taking all 3 out on my own though.... will wait for the day when I am more confident in handling all 3 by myself... kekeke.. the other day I almost wanted to try strapping all 3 in the car to go out, but abandoned plan after awhile. I'm afraid if #2 or #3 whine, I dunno how to drive...

gelato: oh ya hor... in this case, he might skip the bottle altogether and move straight to cup... wah cool, still breastfeeding ...

EmQ : sama sama... i can't bring #2 & #3 out by myself. #1 + #2 or #1 + #3 still ok. hehe... i ever read a mummy's blog.. she has 3 kids... she oso mentioned she can't handle 3 by herself... she says maybe if she has 4 kids, then she'll be able to handle 3... ;P

ann : oh, he still uses the bottle when i m at work.. juz that i m not there to witness... =)

Emq & Gelato: I feel so 惭愧, that day first time I took Leon on the feeder bus with me, I thought was a great achievement liao... even got strangers to take picture for keepsake...

gelato: Yup, #1 & #2 or #1 & #3 combi is fine. But not #2 & #3 combi. Short walks around the estate still can, but definitely not a shopping trip.

Ann: It will come. No worries. We din have a helper in the past, so it's only me & #1 when I'm on leave. So, it is either I lug her with me or stay stuck at home & I wasn't going to be stuck.. so just had to learn to take her on my own. & #1 was such a huge bb (compared to her younger sisters)... after that, #2 & #3 seem so much easier to manage.. kekeke..

ann : 1st kid mah... very good liao. I oso 1st brought my #1 out alone when she was ard 1. That time oso take feeder bus fm my place to causeway point only... haha... (last time used to stay in wdls) & my ILs kept asking me if i can handle... hehe..

gelato: yeah! much better thanks but on two days mc.

ann: I have not brought LeAnn on bus or mrt rides. However, my hb did. He to changi airport taking bus when he was on leave. (i'm living in sengkang.. it's about 20-30minutes bus ride to Changi)I "cheonged" there after work, worrying that he could not handle. He said that LeAnn didn't even make a single noise during the bus ride.

Emq/Gelato: u gals are so encouraging ! actually I was sort-of forced to take bus cos I din have the car that evening and the taxi queue was simply too long due to festive season... turned out to be very pleasant ! Me and baby both enjoyed the trip.

Kelly: To my surprise, Leon simply loves the 10-min bus ride, I think he'll like mrt ride even more, I'm planning to take him on MRT during off-peak period.

gelato: our intention was for him to sleep on his own matress on the floor beside our bed. but we don't want him to roll out of the matress and into the bottom of our bed.

Kelly : since ur hb is willing to venture out with the bb, let him do it. He has his daddy's instincts too. =) If we worry this & that, then we'll end up doing everything ourselves... =P

Yan Ling : oic, maybe can place blosters to prevent that fm happening? If you hv sufficient space, you can try putting 2 matresses - 1 flat & the other folded up in L shape - the folded up part shld block him fm going under the bed... hmmm.. i duno if you get what i mean... i m not good in describing... hehe

ann/kelly: kyan also does that, but i think he will cry looking for pacifier when he is over stimulated in the day time. esp cny!!! he cry at 330am, 530am, wan2 die ah! but yday no more cny visiting, he sleep thru.

i haven brought kyan for any bus/mrt ride! hehehe, so guilty. but i made full use of cny lah, went marina barrage and sentosa, now today where??? hmm...

ann01jan: Good job Leon! My boy still can't hold his bottle. Last night, my boy cried & fussed from 1-3am, with eyes closed & woke up at 6.30am! I am so tired now. When will this night terror thingy ends?

Janjan: I like to bring A to T3. Less people & ample space for him to walk & there is no rubbish on the carpeted floor so nothing for them to pick & mouth. That time, I even brought his walker there for him to push around & learn to walk. Parking is also quite reasonable.

ni/kelly: A also woke up to look for pacifier. Thinking of weaning him off. I xianz already...every night gotta help him find his tutu.

i didn't want to give him pacifier/milk cos wanna train him to sleep through thus my auntie ask me to give water. My boy really no need to drink milk after drinking the water wor, just give him the water bottle and he will drink himself, but this is the 3rd night of water training, he still seems to wake up for water....I wonder when he will stop waking up during the night..

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

ashley: Doesn't mean that without pacifier, they would suck the thumb. I think sperzz's girl, delia, doesn't suck pacifier or her thumb.

dink/ashley: my niece is sucking her thumb. Difficult to wean. They tried smearing wasabi, chilli, lime on the thumb but it still goes into my niece's mouth.

my boy auto wean off pacifier a few months back. he will only rub his gums with his index finger whenever he's teething.

but he still need to latch to sleep at night and whenever im around

kelly: that's one of the reason why I keep delaying the weaning. of course, the main reason is that I am lazy & need my sleep.

dink: we used to give him pacifier when he fussed and before bed. then one fine day, he rejected it. He should be 10 or 11 mths old then.